DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 20, “and. when” in line 2 should be “and when”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 11-12, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pedicini et al (US 2008/0190988), hereinafter Pedicini.
Regarding claim 1, Pedicini discloses a fastener driver (Fig. 20, item 4000), comprising:
a striking assembly (Fig. 20, item 420, 430) comprising a striking member (Fig. 20, item 430) configured to strike a fastener (Fig. 20, item 500); and
a power mechanism (Fig. 20, item 400, 200) comprising a gas spring mechanism (Fig. 20, item 200, 400) (Para. 0148-0151) for driving the striking member (Para. 0148-0151), the gas spring mechanism comprising at least a cylinder assembly (Fig. 20, item 200, 400) comprising a first cylinder (Fig. 20, item 200) that is connected with an outside atmosphere (Para. 0148-0151) when the striking member is at a stop position (Fig. 20-21, striking member 430 is at stop position) and a first piston (Fig. 20, item 220) disposed in the first cylinder;
wherein the first piston is at an initial position (Fig. 21, first piston 220 is in initial position) when the striking member is at the stop position (Para. 0162-0165), when the first piston moves from the initial position to a maximum compression position (Fig. 23, first piston 220 is in maximum compression position) (Para. 0162-0165), a gas compression is completed (Para. 0162-0165), the striking member is released from the stop position (Para. 0162-0165) when the first piston reaches the maximum compression position for an Nth time (Para. 0162-0165), and N is greater than or equal to 2 (Para. 0162-0165, first piston 220 completes two strokes to compress the gas to release the striking member).
Regarding claim 2, Pedicini discloses the fastener driver of claim 1, further comprising an energy storage cylinder (Fig. 20, item 4260) unidirectionally connecting with the first cylinder (Para. 0152-0153) and configured to store compressed gas (Para. 0152-0153).
Regarding claim 3, Pedicini discloses the fastener driver of claim 2, further comprising a valve (Fig. 20, item 4232) disposed at a connection (Fig. 20) (Para. 0152-0153) between the energy storage cylinder and the first cylinder (Para. 0152-0153) and allowing gas (Para. 0152-0153) in the first cylinder to flow into the energy storage cylinder (Para. 0152-0153).
Regarding claim 4, Pedicini discloses the fastener driver of claim 2, further comprising a second cylinder (Fig. 20, item 400), wherein the striking member is disposed in the second cylinder (Fig. 20).
Regarding claim 5, Pedicini discloses the fastener driver of claim 4, further comprising a first valve (Fig. 20, item 310) disposed at a connection between the energy storage cylinder (Fig. 20, item 4260) and the second cylinder (Fig. 20, item 400) of the cylinder assembly (Para. 0155-0157) and allowing gas to flow (Para. 0155-0157) between the energy storage cylinder and the second cylinder (Para. 0155-0157).
Regarding claim 6, Pedicini discloses the fastener driver of claim 5, wherein the power mechanism further comprises an electric motor (Fig. 20, item 20), and, when a rotational parameter of the electric motor (Para. 0158-0160) is greater than or equal to a parameter threshold (Para. 0158-0160, 0162-0166), the first valve opens to allow the compressed gas in the energy storage cylinder (Para. 0158-0160, 0162-0166) to enter the second cylinder to push the striking member to strike the fastener (Para. 0158-0160, 0162-0166).
Regarding claim 7, Pedicini discloses the fastener driver of claim 5, wherein the first valve is configured to open automatically (Para. 0158-0160, 0162-0166) when air pressure in the energy storage cylinder is greater than (Para. 0158-0160, 0162-0166) or equal to an air pressure threshold (Para. 0158-0160, 0162-0166).
Regarding claim 8, Pedicini discloses the fastener driver of claim 5, further comprising a second valve (Fig. 20, item 4232) disposed at a connection (Fig. 20) (Para. 0152-0153) between the first cylinder and the second cylinder (Para. 0152-0153) and allowing gas to flow from the second cylinder into the first cylinder (Para. 0152-0153).
Regarding claim 9, Pedicini discloses the fastener driver of claim 8, wherein the second valve comprises a one-way valve (Fig. 20, valve 4232 is a check valve, which is one-way) (Para. 0152-0153).
Regarding claim 11, Pedicini discloses the fastener driver of claim 5, further comprising a transmission assembly (Fig. 20, item 50) (Para. 0169), wherein the transmission assembly is drivingly connected (Para. 0169) to the power mechanism and the first valve (Para. 0169), respectively (Para. 0169).
Regarding claim 12, Pedicini discloses the fastener driver of claim 11, wherein the power mechanism is capable of controlling, through the transmission assembly (Para. 0169-0173), the first valve to open or close (Para. 0169-0173).
Regarding claim 14, Pedicini discloses the fastener driver of claim 5, wherein the first valve opens (Para. 0174-0180) when the first piston reaches the maximum compression position for the Nth time (Para. 0174-0180).
Regarding claim 15, Pedicini discloses the fastener driver of claim 1, wherein an air supply port (Fig. 20, item 240, item 320) is disposed on the first cylinder (Para. 0155-0157); and when the striking member is at the stop position (Para. 0155-0157), the first piston is at the initial position (Para. 0155-0157), and the air supply port enables the first cylinder (Para. 0155-0157) to connect with the outside atmosphere (Para. 0155-0157, after piston 220 goes through one cycle and has returned to the initial position, the valve 320 has begun to allow air to flow into cylinder 400).
Regarding claim 16, Pedicini discloses a fastener driver (Fig. 20, item 4000), comprising:
a striking assembly (Fig. 20, item 420, 430) comprising a striking member (Fig. 20, item 430) configured to strike a fastener (Fig. 20, item 500); and
a power mechanism (Fig. 20, item 400, 200) comprising a gas spring mechanism (Fig. 20, item 200, 400) (Para. 0148-0151) for driving the striking member (Para. 0148-0151), the gas spring mechanism comprising at least a cylinder assembly (Fig. 20, item 200, 400) comprising a first cylinder (Fig. 20, item 200) that connects with an outside atmosphere (Para. 0148-0151) when the striking member is at a stop position (Fig. 20-21, striking member 430 is at stop position) and a first piston (Fig. 20, item 220) disposed in the first cylinder;
wherein the first piston is at an initial position (Fig. 21, first piston 220 is in initial position) when the striking member is at the stop position (Para. 0162-0165), a gas compression is completed (Para. 0162-0165) when the first piston moves from the initial position to a maximum compression position (Fig. 23, first piston 220 is in maximum compression position) (Para. 0162-0165), and the striking member is maintained at the stop position (Para. 0162-0165) when the first piston reaches the maximum compression position for a first time (Para. 0162-0165, first piston 220 completes two strokes to compress the gas to release the striking member).
Regarding claim 17, Pedicini discloses a fastener driver (Fig. 20, item 4000), comprising:
a striking assembly (Fig. 20, item 420, 430) comprising a striking member (Fig. 20, item 430) configured to strike a fastener (Fig. 20, item 500); and
a power mechanism (Fig. 20, item 400, 200) comprising a gas spring mechanism (Fig. 20, item 200, 400) (Para. 0148-0151) for driving the striking member (Para. 0148-0151), the gas spring mechanism comprising at least a cylinder assembly (Fig. 20, item 200, 400) comprising a first cylinder (Fig. 20, item 200) that is connected with an outside atmosphere (Para. 0148-0151) when the striking member is at a stop position (Fig. 20-21, striking member 430 is at stop position), an energy storage cylinder (Fig. 20, item 4260) unidirectionally connecting with the first cylinder (Para. 0152-0153) and configured to store compressed gas (Para. 0152-0153), and a second cylinder (Fig. 20, item 400) connecting with at least the energy storage cylinder (Fig. 20);
wherein the striking member is disposed in the second cylinder (Fig. 20, striking member 430 is in second cylinder 400) and the striking member is pushed by the compressed gas to strike the fastener (Fig. 20).
Regarding claim 18, Pedicini discloses the fastener driver of claim 17, further comprising a first valve (Fig. 20, item 4232) disposed at a connection (Fig. 20) (Para. 0152-0153) between the energy storage cylinder and the first cylinder (Para. 0152-0153) and allowing gas (Para. 0152-0153) in the first cylinder to flow into the energy storage cylinder (Para. 0152-0153).
Regarding claim 19, Pedicini discloses the fastener driver of claim 18, further comprising a second valve (Fig. 20, item 310) disposed at a connection between the energy storage cylinder (Fig. 20, item 4260) and the second cylinder (Fig. 20, item 400) of the cylinder assembly (Para. 0155-0157) and allowing gas to flow (Para. 0155-0157) between the energy storage cylinder and the second cylinder (Para. 0155-0157).
Regarding claim 20, Pedicini discloses the fastener driver of claim 19, wherein the power mechanism further comprises an electric motor (Fig. 20, item 20), and, when a rotational parameter of the electric motor (Para. 0158-0160) is greater than or equal to a parameter threshold (Para. 0158-0160, 0162-0166), the second valve opens to allow the compressed gas in the energy storage cylinder (Para. 0158-0160, 0162-0166) to enter the second cylinder to push the striking member to strike the fastener (Para. 0158-0160, 0162-0166).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pedicini in view ot Moloznik et al (US 2025/0375865), hereinafter Moloznik.
Regarding claim 10, Pedicini is silent about the fastener driver of claim 5, further comprising a second valve disposed on the second cylinder and capable of allowing gas in the second cylinder to flow to the outside when the striking member is at a striking position.
However, Moloznik teaches a second valve (Moloznik, Para. 0103) disposed on the second cylinder (Moloznik, Fig. 2, item 200) and capable of allowing gas in the second cylinder (Moloznik, Para. 0103) to flow to the outside when the striking member (Moloznik, Fig. 2, item 72) is at a striking position (Moloznik, Para. 0103).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention having the teachings of Pedicini and Moloznik to modify the fastener driver of Pedicini to include the second valve of Moloznik. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such change in order to exhaust any remaining pressure from the cylinder so that the fastener driver returns to an atmospheric pressure (Moloznik, Para. 0103).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/VERONICA MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731