DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “geomechanical pumped storage system” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the term “said” is stated in line 3. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. Claims 1 and 5 refer to a geomechanical pumped storage system, but fails to explain or described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. Support in the specification [0009-0010] is merely a recitation of the term as presented in claims 1 and 5. Par. [0004] also does not give much further detail. The limitations of the claims do not refer to any apparatus/system parts, or any articles that may be linked to such a system, and therefore is non-enabling.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (US 2018/0334903) or D2 (US 2018/0266183).
With respect to claim 1, discloses, or otherwise makes obvious and/or as best understood, a geomechanical pumped storage system with a vertical or near vertical wellbore, comprising: a free flowing fluid access to fractures, wherein the fractures are created with hydraulic fracturing techniques of a surrounding rock matrix that intersects the wellbore at any angle. With respect to D1, see especially Figs. 8-10 and [0047]. With respect to D2, see especially Figs. 1-6, (abs), [0002], [0026], [0027].
With respect to claim 2, discloses, or otherwise makes obvious and/or as best understood, the system of claim 1, wherein the access is enhanced by notching. With respect to D1, see especially notch (with 100). With respect to D2, see especially [0026].
With respect to claim 3, discloses, or otherwise makes obvious and/or as best understood, the system of claim 1, wherein the access is enhanced by perforating. With respect to D1, see especially Fig. 10. With respect to D2, see especially [0002].
With respect to claim 4, discloses, or otherwise makes obvious and/or as best understood, the system of claim 1, wherein a casing is disposed in the wellbore, and wherein the access is enhanced by cutting the casing. With respect to D1, see especially Fig. 10. With respect to D2, see especially Figs. 1-6, [0026].
With respect to claim 5, discloses, or otherwise makes obvious and/or as best understood, a geomechanical pumped storage system with a horizontal or near horizontal wellbore, comprising: a free flowing fluid access to fractures, wherein the fractures are created with hydraulic fracturing techniques of a surrounding rock matrix that intersects the wellbore at any angle. With respect to D1, see especially Figs. 8-10 and [0047]. With respect to D2, see especially Figs. 1-6, (abs), [0002], [0026], [0027].
With respect to claim 6, discloses, or otherwise makes obvious and/or as best understood, the system of claim 5, wherein the access is enhanced by notching. With respect to D1, see especially notch (with 100). With respect to D2, see especially [0026].
With respect to claim 7, discloses, or otherwise makes obvious and/or as best understood, the system of claim 5, wherein the access is enhanced by perforating. With respect to D1, see especially Fig. 10. With respect to D2, see especially [0002].
With respect to claim 8, discloses, or otherwise makes obvious and/or as best understood, the system of claim 5, wherein a casing is disposed in the wellbore, and wherein the access is enhanced by cutting the casing. With respect to D1, see especially Fig. 10. With respect to D2, see especially Figs. 1-6, [0026].
With respect to claim 9, discloses, or otherwise makes obvious and/or as best understood, the system of claim 5, wherein the access is enhanced by abrasive jet cutting. With respect to D1, see especially Fig. 10. With respect to D2, see especially Figs. 1-6, [0026].
With respect to claim 10, discloses, or otherwise makes obvious and/or as best understood, the system of claim 5, wherein a casing is disposed in the wellbore, and wherein the access is enhanced by slotting section of the casing. With respect to D1, see especially Fig. 10. With respect to D2, see especially Figs. 1-6, [0026].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2020/0256173 teaches a method of fracturing a tight (low permeability) geologic reservoir with a U-shaped well, but can also be used for similar hydrocarbon bearing formations. A first wellbore with a vertical section and a horizontal section is drilled from a first location. The first wellbore has a first end at a terranean surface and a second end at a downhole, or distal end, opposite the first end. A second, vertical well is drilled at a second location and intersects with the toe (distal end) of the first wellbore to form the U-shaped wellbore. The horizontal section of the “U” is divided into one or more compartments by retrievable mechanical packers. Fluid pressure is varied from each location depending on the horizontal location of the intended fracture. Fracturing fluid is pumped into the wellbore from topside facilities at both locations (the tops of the “U”) to provide the fluid pressure. The various packers used to isolate the horizontal section of the wellbore are configured to receive flow from both directions, and direct the flow into the formation from the wellbore to initiate a fracture.
/ZAKIYA W BATES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3674 9/25/2025