DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 05/02/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings, Fig 1 and Fig 3, are objected to because they lack text description/labels. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-8, 11-17, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by EP 4061033 A1 (Kim).
Regarding Claims 1, 15:
Kim teaches A method and An edge enabler server (EES) for a communication system, comprising: at least one processor; and one or more memories coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor ([0126] server comprises processor. [0127] In this case, the server may correspond to at least one of an EES, EAS, or edge data network configuration server.) to:
receive an application context relocation (ACR) status update from an edge application server (EAS), ([0043][0044] in step 1 B, the EAS may notify the EES of an application context relocation initiation EAS capability. That is, the EAS may transmit, to the EES, capability information on whether it may initiate an application context relocation procedure. [0051] EES may notify the EEC and EAS of the configured or coordinated relocation mode.)
the ACR status update being associated with an edge application data session between an application client (AC) and the EAS; ([0034][0035] The UE may include an application client, an EEC for interworking the application client with the edge computing service, and a mobile terminal (MT) for accessing a mobile communication system. [0051] In step 3, the EES may notify the EEC and EAS of the configured or coordinated relocation mode. In case that the relocation mode is configured differently for each 20 UE, the EES may include information (e.g., UE ID, UE IP address, or EEC ID) capable of identifying the UE or the EEC in the UE.)
and select one or more ACR scenarios (ie. relocation mode) for the edge application data session when the ACR status update indicates that the ACR is successful. ([0046] In step 2, the EES may select (or determine) an application context relocation mode (hereinafter, referred to as a relocation mode) based on an application context relocation initiation UE capability and an application context relocation initiation EAS capability received from the EEC and the EAS, respectively. [0073] the target EES may notify the EEC in the UE of completion of the application context relocation procedure and enable the EEC to perform application data traffic re-routing. [0116] Specifically, the target EES may transmit the application context relocation complete (or response) to the UE in step 12B.)
Regarding Claims 2, 16:
Kim teaches the inventions of claims 1, 15 as described.
Kim teaches wherein the programming instructions are for execution by the at least one processor to, prior to selecting the ACR scenario (ie. relocation mode): receive an edge enabler client (EEC) context (ie. information on a capability) from a serving EES, the EEC context indicating at least one of a set of supported or previously selected ACR scenarios for the edge application data session; and select the one or more ACR scenarios from at least one of the set of supported or previously selected ACR scenarios. ([0049] FIG. 2, an embodiment in which the EES selects a relocation mode based on information on a capability of the UE received from the EEC and information on a capability of the EAS received from the EAS, but the disclosure is not limited thereto. That is, the EES may select a relocation mode based on information on a capability of the UE from the EEC or may select a relocation mode based on information on a capability of the EAS received from the EAS.)
Regarding Claims 3, 17:
Kim teaches the inventions of claims 2, 16 as described.
Kim teaches wherein the programming instructions are for execution by the at least one processor to at least one of: store the one or more selected ACR scenarios in the EEC context; or store at least one of the set of supported or previously selected ACR scenarios in the EEC context. ([0126][0132] server comprises processor. [0130] The storage unit 930 may store at least one of information transmitted and received through the transceiver 910 or information generated through the controller 920. [0174] The target EES may perform the following operations based on UE service API context information received from the source EES and the subscription modification result: Store UE service API context information (e.g., at least one of subscription ID, notification target address (target EES information), or notification correlation ID) received from the source EES.)
Regarding Claims 6, 20:
Kim teaches the inventions of claims 4, 18 as described.
Kim teaches wherein the programming instructions are for execution by the at least one processor to: receive an ACR scenario message from an EEC when the EES is not allowed to select one or more ACR scenarios for the edge application data session, the ACR scenario message indicating one or more ACR scenarios for the edge application data session; ([0049] The EES selects a relocation mode based on information on a capability of the UE received from the EEC and information on a capability of the EAS received from the EAS. [0050] The EES may determine which device is allowed to initiate the application context relocation procedure based on information on an application context relocation initiation capability of the received UE or EAS.) and transmit an ACR selection notification to the EAS, the ACR selection notification indicating the one or more ACR scenarios for the edge application data session. ([0051] EES may notify the EEC and EAS of the configured or coordinated relocation mode.)
Regarding Claim 7:
Kim teaches the invention of claim 2 as described.
Kim teaches wherein the programming instructions are for execution by the at least one processor to: receive an ACR selection request from an EEC; ([0079] By receiving a context relocation request (or a context relocation request message, an application context relocation request, an application context relocation request message) from the UE (or EEC), the source EES may recognize that the procedure has been initiated in the EEC.)
and select the one or more ACR scenarios for the edge application data session when:
the ACR status update indicates that the ACR is successful; ([0126][0132]server comprises processor. [0073] the target EES may notify the EEC in the UE of completion of the application context relocation procedure and enable the EEC to perform application data traffic re-routing. [0116] Specifically, the target EES may transmit the application context relocation complete (or response) to the UE in step 12B. [0046] In step 2, the EES may select (or determine) an application context relocation mode (hereinafter, referred to as a relocation mode) based on an application context relocation initiation UE capability and an application context relocation initiation EAS capability received from the EEC and the EAS, respectively.)
the EEC context indicates that an EEC context relocation is unsuccessful; ([0081] the EEC may not transmit the context relocation request to the target EES until it knows that the application context relocation procedure has failed or until a predefined timer is completed. [0082][0083] The EEC may transmit information on the relocation mode received from the source EES to the target EES through a registration procedure or a separate procedure.)
and the ACR selection request indicates a trigger (ie. indication) for the EES to select one or more ACR scenarios for the edge application data session. ([0079] The relocation in-progress indication may include information (e.g., at least one of an EEC ID, an UE ID, an UE IP address, or an ID assigned from an authentication and authorization function) capable of identifying the UE or the EEC in the corresponding UE. By receiving a context relocation request (or a context relocation request message, an application context relocation request, an application context relocation request message) from the UE (or EEC), the source EES may recognize that the procedure has been initiated in the EEC.)
Regarding Claim 8:
Kim teaches the invention of claim 7 as described.
Kim teaches wherein the programming instructions are for execution by the at least one processor to: select the one or more ACR scenarios for the edge application data session when: the ACR status update indicates that the ACR is successful; ([0126][0132]server comprises processor. [0073] the target EES may notify the EEC in the UE of completion of the application context relocation procedure and enable the EEC to perform application data traffic re-routing. [0116] Specifically, the target EES may transmit the application context relocation complete (or response) to the UE in step 12B. [0046] In step 2, the EES may select (or determine) an application context relocation mode (hereinafter, referred to as a relocation mode) based on an application context relocation initiation UE capability and an application context relocation initiation EAS capability received from the EEC and the EAS, respectively.)
the EEC context indicates that the EEC context relocation is unsuccessful; ([0081] the EEC may not transmit the context relocation request to the target EES until it knows that the application context relocation procedure has failed or until a predefined timer is completed. [0082][0083] The EEC may transmit information on the relocation mode received from the source EES to the target EES through a registration procedure or a separate procedure.)
the ACR selection request indicates the trigger (ie. indication) for the EES to select one or more ACR scenarios for the edge application data session; ([0079] The relocation in-progress indication may include information (e.g., at least one of an EEC ID, an UE ID, an UE IP address, or an ID assigned from an authentication and authorization function) capable of identifying the UE or the EEC in the corresponding UE. By receiving a context relocation request (or a context relocation request message, an application context relocation request, an application context relocation request message) from the UE (or EEC), the source EES may recognize that the procedure has been initiated in the EEC.)
and the EES is allowed to select one or more ACR scenarios for the edge application data session. ([0081] the EEC may not transmit the context relocation request to the target EES until it knows that the application context relocation procedure has failed or until a predefined timer is completed. [0082][0083] The EEC may transmit information on the relocation mode received from the source EES to the target EES through a registration procedure or a separate procedure.)
Regarding Claim 11:
Kim teaches An edge enabler client (EEC) for a communication system, comprising: at least one processor; and one or more memories coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor ([0126] server comprises processor. [0127] In this case, the server may correspond to at least one of an EES, EAS, or edge data network configuration server.) to:
receive an application context relocation (ACR) information notification from an edge enabler server (EES) or a serving EES, ([0043][0044] in step 1 B, the EAS may notify the EES of an application context relocation initiation EAS capability. That is, the EAS may transmit, to the EES, capability information on whether it may initiate an application context relocation procedure. [0051] EES may notify the EEC and EAS of the configured or coordinated relocation mode.)
the ACR information notification being associated with an edge application data session between an application client (AC) and an edge application server (EAS); ([0034][0035] The UE may include an application client, an EEC for interworking the application client with the edge computing service, and a mobile terminal (MT) for accessing a mobile communication system. [0051] In step 3, the EES may notify the EEC and EAS of the configured or coordinated relocation mode. In case that the relocation mode is configured differently for each 20 UE, the EES may include information (e.g., UE ID, UE IP address, or EEC ID) capable of identifying the UE or the EEC in the UE.)
and select one or more ACR scenarios (ie. relocation mode) for the edge application data session when: the ACR information notification indicates that the ACR is successful; ([0126][0132]server comprises processor. [0073] the target EES may notify the EEC in the UE of completion of the application context relocation procedure and enable the EEC to perform application data traffic re-routing. [0116] Specifically, the target EES may transmit the application context relocation complete (or response) to the UE in step 12B. [0046] In step 2, the EES may select (or determine) an application context relocation mode (hereinafter, referred to as a relocation mode) based on an application context relocation initiation UE capability and an application context relocation initiation EAS capability received from the EEC and the EAS, respectively.)
and the EES is not allowed to select one or more ACR scenarios for the edge application data session; ([0050] The relocation mode may be configured for each UE, configured for each application (e.g., configure a different mode for each EAS), or configured for each EES (therefore, configuration information on the EAS registered in the EES may be the same). The EES may determine which device is allowed to initiate the application context relocation procedure based on information on an application context relocation initiation capability of the received UE or EAS. However, the device that allows initiation of the procedure is not limited to one. In this case, in selecting the relocation mode, the EES may determine in consideration of an application context relocation initiation capability thereof.)
or transmit an ACR selection request to the EES when: the ACR information notification indicates that the ACR is successful and that an EEC context relocation is unsuccessful; and the EES is allowed to select one or more ACR scenarios for the edge application data session, the ACR selection request indicating a trigger for the EES to select one or more ACR scenarios for the edge application data session; {not required (or limitation), but these same limitations are rejected above, see Claims 7, 8}
or receive an ACR information notification from the EES when: the ACR information notification indicates that the ACR is successful and that the EEC context relocation is successful; and the EES is allowed to select one or more ACR scenarios for the edge application data session, the ACR information notification indicating one or more selected ACR scenarios for the edge application data session. {not required (or limitation), but these same limitations are rejected below, see Claims 5, 19}
Regarding Claim 12:
Kim teaches the invention of claim 11 as described.
Kim teaches wherein the programming instructions are for execution by the at least one processor to, upon having selected the one or more ACR scenarios for the edge application data session: transmit a ACR scenario message to the EES, the ACR scenario message indicating the one or more selected ACR scenarios. ([0047][0049] FIG. 2, an embodiment in which the EES selects a relocation mode based on information on a capability of the UE received from the EEC and information on a capability of the EAS received from the EAS, but the disclosure is not limited thereto. That is, the EES may select a relocation mode based on information on a capability of the UE from the EEC or may select a relocation mode based on information on a capability of the EAS received from the EAS.)
Regarding Claim 13:
Kim teaches the invention of claim 11 as described.
Kim teaches wherein the programming instructions are for execution by the at least one processor to, prior to transmitting the ACR selection request to the EES: obtain an edge data network (EDN) configuration information from the EES, the EDN configuration information indicating that the EES is allowed or not allowed to select one or more ACR scenarios for the edge application data session. ([0046] In step 2, the EES may select (or determine) an application context relocation mode (hereinafter, referred to as a relocation mode) based on an application context relocation initiation UE capability and an application context relocation initiation EAS capability received from the EEC and the EAS, respectively. [0047][0048] That is, the EES, EAS, and EEC may identify whether they can initiate the application context relocation procedure according to the selected relocation mode, and be configured to operate according to a condition capable of initiating the procedure.)
Regarding Claim 14:
Kim teaches the invention of claim 11 as described.
Kim teaches wherein the programming instructions are for execution by the at least one processor to, after having transmitted the ACR selection request to the EES: receive the ACR information notification from the EES, the ACR information notification indicating one or more selected ACR scenarios for the edge application data session. ([0109]-[0111] In this way, in case that the source EES receives the context relocation request or in case that the source EES directly initiates the application context relocation procedure, the source EES may transmit a relocation in-progress indication to another device. [0116] The target EES may transmit the application context relocation complete (or response) to UE or EEC.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5, 9-10, 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 4061033 A1 (Kim) in view of US 2024/0137422 Al (Xu).
Regarding Claims 4, 18:
Kim teaches the inventions of claims 2, 16 as described.
Kim teaches wherein the programming instructions are for execution by the at least one processor to: select the one or more ACR scenarios for the edge application data session when: the ACR status update indicates that the ACR is successful; ([0126][0132]server comprises processor. [0073] the target EES may notify the EEC in the UE of completion of the application context relocation procedure and enable the EEC to perform application data traffic re-routing. [0116] Specifically, the target EES may transmit the application context relocation complete (or response) to the UE in step 12B. [0046] In step 2, the EES may select (or determine) an application context relocation mode (hereinafter, referred to as a relocation mode) based on an application context relocation initiation UE capability and an application context relocation initiation EAS capability received from the EEC and the EAS, respectively.)
Kim teaches on sending notification of completion ([0116]). However, Kim is silent that the EEC context indicates that the EEC context relocation is successful.
Xu teaches, in the same field of endeavor, on a method performed by a first network function implementing Edge Enabler Server (EES), Abstract.
Xu teaches that the EEC context indicates that the EEC context relocation is successful. ([0111] Fig 4, Step 3. If the request is authorized by the S-EES 403, the S-EES 403 may send the Retrieve Edge-3 exposure context response message to the T-EES 401. The exposure context data is included in the response message.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kim per Xu to include that the EEC context indicates that the EEC context relocation is successful. This would have been advantageous as discussed above, as it would allow the modified system to provide further flexibility of implementation allowing for notifications to be provided within different message types.
Regarding Claims 5, 19:
Kim (as modified by Xu) teaches the inventions of claims 4, 18 as described.
Kim teaches wherein the programming instructions are for execution by the at least one processor to: select the one or more ACR scenarios for the edge application data session when: the ACR status update indicates that the ACR is successful; ([0126][0132]server comprises processor. [0073] the target EES may notify the EEC in the UE of completion of the application context relocation procedure and enable the EEC to perform application data traffic re-routing. [0116] Specifically, the target EES may transmit the application context relocation complete (or response) to the UE in step 12B. [0046] In step 2, the EES may select (or determine) an application context relocation mode (hereinafter, referred to as a relocation mode) based on an application context relocation initiation UE capability and an application context relocation initiation EAS capability received from the EEC and the EAS, respectively.)
([0081] the EEC may not transmit the context relocation request to the target EES until it knows that the application context relocation procedure has failed or until a predefined timer is completed. [0082][0083] The EEC may transmit information on the relocation mode received from the source EES to the target EES through a registration procedure or a separate procedure.)
Kim teaches on sending notification of completion ([0116]). However, Kim is silent that the EEC context indicates that the EEC context relocation is successful.
Xu teaches that the EEC context indicates that the EEC context relocation is successful. ([0111] Fig 4, Step 3. If the request is authorized by the S-EES 403, the S-EES 403 may send the Retrieve Edge-3 exposure context response message to the T-EES 401. The exposure context data is included in the response message.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kim per Xu to include that the EEC context indicates that the EEC context relocation is successful. This would have been advantageous as discussed above, as it would allow the modified system to provide further flexibility of implementation allowing for notifications to be provided within different message types.
Regarding Claim 9:
Kim (as modified by Xu) teaches the invention of claim 5 as described.
Kim teaches wherein the programming instructions are for execution by the at least one processor to: provide an edge data network (EDN) configuration information to an EEC, the EDN configuration information indicating that the EES is allowed or not allowed to select one or more ACR scenarios. ([0052] In step 4A, by reflecting information received from the EES, the EEC may configure a relocation mode. [0053][0054] The EES may determine a device to transmit the relocation in-progress indication. The EES may identify a device capable of initiating an application context relocation procedure based on a configured relocation mode,)
Regarding Claim 10:
Kim (as modified by Xu) teaches the invention of claim 9 as described.
Kim teaches wherein the programming instructions are for execution by the at least one processor to: transmit an ACR selection notification to the EAS, the ACR selection notification indicting the one or more selected ACR scenarios for the edge application data session; ([0063] In step 1, the source EES or the source EAS may transmit a relocation-in-progress indication to each device based on a configured relocation mode.) and transmit an ACR information notification to the EEC, the ACR information notification indicating the one or more selected ACR scenarios for the edge application data session. ([0064] In this case, the source EES or the source EAS transmits a relocation in-progress indication to only devices (e.g., EEC or source EAS(s)) that allows initiation of the application context relocation procedure in the relocation mode (e.g., the relocation mode selected (determined) by the source EES).)
Conclusion & Contact Information
/RACHEL J HACKENBERG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2454