DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 8, 11, 12 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20080221469, Shevchuk.
In regards to claim 1, in Figure 5 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Shevchuk discloses a hose coupling protection apparatus, comprising: a cover assembly (330, 340) constructed and arranged to install around a set of hose couplings which connects a first hose and a second hose, the cover assembly providing a smooth outer covering around the set of hose couplings when the cover assembly is installed around the set of hose couplings.
In regards to claim 3, in Figure 5 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Shevchuk discloses the cover assembly is constructed and arranged to rotate relative to the set of hose couplings when the cover assembly is installed around the set of hose couplings.
In regards to claim 4, in Figure 5 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Shevchuk discloses the cover assembly encapsulates the set of hose couplings to protect the set of hose couplings against damage from a ground surface when the cover assembly is installed around the set of hose couplings.
In regards to claim 5, in Figure 5 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Shevchuk discloses the cover assembly is constructed and arranged to hold the set of hose couplings together to maintain connection between the first hose and the second hose when the cover assembly is installed around the set of hose couplings.
In regards to claim 6, in Figure 5 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Shevchuk discloses the set of couplings includes a first firehose coupling and a second firehose coupling; wherein the first firehose coupling and the first hose form a first firehose assembly; wherein the second firehose coupling and the second hose form a second firehose assembly; and wherein the cover assembly defines a firehose coupling chamber to encapsulate the first and second firehose couplings when the cover assembly is installed around the first and second firehose couplings.
In regards to claim 8, in Figure 5 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Shevchuk discloses the cover assembly includes a first casing section and a second casing section, the first casing section and the second casing section being constructed and arranged to install around the set of hose couplings when fitted around the set of hose couplings and brought together into engagement.
In regards to claim 11, in Figure 5 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Shevchuk discloses the first casing section defines a set of snap-fit beams (near 334); wherein the second casing section defines a set of alignment grooves and shelves (near 334); and wherein the set of snap-fit beams defined by the first casing section snap-fits into place over the set of alignment grooves and shelves defined by the second casing section when the first casing section and the second casing section are fitted around the set of hose couplings and brought together into engagement.
In regards to claim 12, in Figure 5 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Shevchuk discloses the second casing section further defines a set of snap-fit beams; wherein the first casing section further defines a set of alignment grooves and shelves; and wherein the set of snap-fit beams defined by the second casing section snap-fits into place over the set of alignment grooves and shelves defined by the first casing section when the first casing section and the second casing section are fitted around the set of hose couplings and brought together into engagement.
In regards to claim 16, in Figure 5 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Shevchuk discloses a hose coupling protection system, comprising: a set of hose couplings which connects a first hose (10) and a second hose (15); and a cover assembly constructed and arranged to install around the set of hose couplings, the cover assembly providing a smooth outer covering around the set of hose couplings when the cover assembly is installed around the set of hose couplings.
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, 13 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 5895076, Elliott.
In regards to claim 1, in Figures 1-2 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Elliott discloses a hose coupling protection apparatus, comprising: a cover assembly (20) constructed and arranged to install around a set of hose couplings which connects a first hose and a second hose, the cover assembly providing a smooth outer covering around the set of hose couplings when the cover assembly is installed around the set of hose couplings.
In regards to claim 2, in Figures 1-2 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Elliott discloses the cover assembly defines a first end section (16) which extends around an end of the first hose, a second end section (18) which extends around an end of the second hose, and a midsection (12) which interconnects the first end section with the second end section, the midsection having a larger outer diameter than the first end section and the second end section to lift the ends of first and second hoses above a ground surface when the cover assembly is installed around the set of hose couplings.
In regards to claim 3, in Figures 1-2 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Elliott discloses the cover assembly is constructed and arranged to rotate relative to the set of hose couplings when the cover assembly is installed around the set of hose couplings.
In regards to claim 5, in Figures 1-2 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Elliott discloses the cover assembly is constructed and arranged to hold the set of hose couplings together to maintain connection between the first hose and the second hose when the cover assembly is installed around the set of hose couplings.
In regards to claim 6, in Figures 1-2 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Elliott discloses the set of couplings includes a first firehose coupling and a second firehose coupling; wherein the first firehose coupling and the first hose form a first firehose assembly; wherein the second firehose coupling and the second hose form a second firehose assembly; and wherein the cover assembly defines a firehose coupling chamber to encapsulate the first and second firehose couplings when the cover assembly is installed around the first and second firehose couplings.
In regards to claim 7, in Figures 1-2 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Elliott discloses the cover assembly defines a set of drain ports (14) to drain off any fluid that leaks from the first and second firehose couplings when the cover assembly is installed around the first and second firehose couplings.
In regards to claim 8, in Figures 1-2 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Elliott discloses the cover assembly includes a first casing section and a second casing section, the first casing section and the second casing section being constructed and arranged to install around the set of hose couplings when fitted around the set of hose couplings and brought together into engagement.
In regards to claim 13, in Figures 1-3 and col. 4, lines 12-40, Elliott discloses a method of providing hose coupling protection, comprising: coupling together hose couplings to connect a first hose and a second hose; after the hose couplings are coupled together, placing the hose couplings onto a first casing section; and after the hose couplings are placed onto the first casing section, bringing a second casing section into engagement with the first casing section to form a cover assembly which fits around the hose couplings and provides a smooth outer covering.
In regards to claim 16, in Figures 1-2 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Elliott discloses a hose coupling protection system, comprising: a set of hose couplings which connects a first hose and a second hose; and a cover assembly constructed and arranged to install around the set of hose couplings, the cover assembly providing a smooth outer covering around the set of hose couplings when the cover assembly is installed around the set of hose couplings.
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20230417355, Petry.
In regards to claim 1, in Figures 1-2 and 5 along with paragraphs detailing said figures, Petry discloses a hose coupling protection apparatus, comprising: a cover assembly (1) constructed and arranged to install around a set of hose couplings which connects a first hose and a second hose, the cover assembly providing a smooth outer covering around the set of hose couplings when the cover assembly is installed around the set of hose couplings.
In regards to claim 3, in Figures 1-2 and 5 along with paragraphs detailing said figures, Petry discloses the cover assembly is constructed and arranged to rotate relative to the set of hose couplings when the cover assembly is installed around the set of hose couplings.
In regards to claim 4, in Figures 1-2 and 5 along with paragraphs detailing said figures, Petry discloses the cover assembly encapsulates the set of hose couplings to protect the set of hose couplings against damage from a ground surface when the cover assembly is installed around the set of hose couplings.
In regards to claim 5, in Figures 1-2 and 5 along with paragraphs detailing said figures, Petry discloses the cover assembly is constructed and arranged to hold the set of hose couplings together to maintain connection between the first hose and the second hose when the cover assembly is installed around the set of hose couplings.
In regards to claim 6, in Figures 1-2 and 5 along with paragraphs detailing said figures, Petry discloses the set of couplings includes a first firehose coupling and a second firehose coupling; wherein the first firehose coupling and the first hose form a first firehose assembly; wherein the second firehose coupling and the second hose form a second firehose assembly; and wherein the cover assembly defines a firehose coupling chamber to encapsulate the first and second firehose couplings when the cover assembly is installed around the first and second firehose couplings.
In regards to claim 8, in Figures 1-2 and 5 along with paragraphs detailing said figures, Petry discloses the cover assembly includes a first casing section and a second casing section, the first casing section and the second casing section being constructed and arranged to install around the set of hose couplings when fitted around the set of hose couplings and brought together into engagement.
In regards to claim 9, in Figures 1-2 and 5 along with paragraphs detailing said figures, Petry discloses (see Figure 2 below) the first casing section defines an elongated raised boss; wherein the second casing section defines an elongated pocket; and wherein the elongated raised boss defined by the first casing section engages with the elongated pocket defined by the second casing section when the first casing section and the second casing section are fitted around the set of hose couplings and brought together into engagement.
[AltContent: textbox (Boss)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Pocket)][AltContent: arrow]
In regards to claim 10, in Figures 1-2 and 5 along with paragraphs detailing said figures, Petry discloses the second casing section further defines an elongated raised boss; wherein the first casing section further defines an elongated pocket; and wherein the elongated raised boss defined by the second casing section engages with the elongated pocket defined by the first casing section when the first casing section and the second casing section are fitted around the set of hose couplings and brought together into engagement.
In regards to claim 11, in Figures 1-2 and 5 along with paragraphs detailing said figures, Petry discloses the first casing section defines a set of snap-fit beams (14); wherein the second casing section defines a set of alignment grooves and shelves (15); and wherein the set of snap-fit beams defined by the first casing section snap-fits into place over the set of alignment grooves and shelves defined by the second casing section when the first casing section and the second casing section are fitted around the set of hose couplings and brought together into engagement.
In regards to claim 12, in Figures 1-2 and 5 along with paragraphs detailing said figures, Petry discloses the second casing section further defines a set of snap-fit beams; wherein the first casing section further defines a set of alignment grooves and shelves; and wherein the set of snap-fit beams defined by the second casing section snap-fits into place over the set of alignment grooves and shelves defined by the first casing section when the first casing section and the second casing section are fitted around the set of hose couplings and brought together into engagement.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/AARON M DUNWOODY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679