DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 3/31/2025 and 5/1/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
4. The drawings have been reviewed and are accepted as being in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.121.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 1-14 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strong et al (US 2018/0316708), in view of Wilson et al (US 2024/0152610), hereinafter “Wilson” and “Strong” respectively
As per Claim 1, Strong discloses:
A method for protecting against filesystem minifilter driver squatting attacks comprising: installing at least one filesystem minifilter driver on an endpoint device; and appending the at least one filesystem minifilter driver with a randomly generated fractional to an assigned integer altitude at a time of loading the at least one filesystem minifilter driver. (Par [0047], “Device related data can also enumerate loaded drivers and registered services.” And par [0060], “a container can be configured to hold all of the data generated by the endpoint computer system 105 for a given period of time. When a container is full (e.g. when the preset amount of data is reached or if the predetermined period of time has elapsed), a new container is added to the end of the series of containers and forensic data are written to that new container.
However, Strong does not specifically describes the filter being a minifilter.
Wilson discloses the above claimed feature as follows: (Par [0064], “In some embodiments, the security check is performed by an Input/Output request to a file system MiniFilter driver within a filter driver stack.” And Par [0451], “driver that allows the driver to be notified when a new thread is created or an existing thread terminates. By leveraging this callback it is possible to send simple information such as flag values or integers indicating some known value, from a process to the Kernel.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Wilson specifically providing a minifilter into the method of Strong to take advantage on applying the respective acquired information to create specific profiling. The modification would have been obvious because one of the ordinary skills in the art would implement proving a security check by performing an Input/Output request to a file system MiniFilter driver within a filter driver stack. Instead of a regular filtering criterion according to threats.
As per Claim 2, the rejection of Claim 1 is incorporated and Strong further discloses: further comprising: detecting, by the at least one minifilter driver, at least one of a creation of a new file, a modification of an existing file, and a usage of a named pipe. (Par [0029], “(xii) Request to open or to duplicate an operating system handle to a named pipe” and par [0099], “Embodiments of the present invention detect the modification, prevent the driver from loading and alert the user;”)
However Strong does not specifically describes the filter being a minifilter
Wilson discloses the above claimed feature as follows: (Par [0064], “In some embodiments, the security check is performed by an Input/Output request to a file system MiniFilter driver within a filter driver stack.” And Par [0451], “driver that allows the driver to be notified when a new thread is created or an existing thread terminates. By leveraging this callback it is possible to send simple information such as flag values or integers indicating some known value, from a process to the Kernel.).
As per Claim 3, the rejection of Claim 1 is incorporated and Wilson further discloses: further comprising: registering the at least one filesystem minifilter driver with a filter manager of the endpoint device with the assigned integer altitude appended by the randomly generated fractional, wherein the filter manager is configured to intercept requests destined for the filesystem and pass intercepted requests to loaded filesystem minifilter drivers including the at least one filesystem minifilter driver. (Par [0063], “In some embodiments, the security check is performed by an Input/Output request to a file system MiniFilter driver within a filter driver stack. " and paragraphs [0137-0150], “A callback is a software mechanism whereby interest in an event is registered and a subject function is provided that will be called when the event is triggered. ZEROPERIL registers callbacks to intercept one or more of the following events…” and Figure 18).
As per Claim 4, the rejection of Claim 1 is incorporated and Strong further discloses: further comprising: generating the randomly generated fractional using an operating system function at the start of loading the at least one filesystem minifilter driver. (Par [0047], “Device related data can also enumerate loaded drivers and registered services.” And par [0060], “a container can be configured to hold all of the data generated by the endpoint computer system 105 for a given period of time. When a container is full (e.g. when the preset amount of data is reached or if the predetermined period of time has elapsed), a new container is added to the end of the series of containers and forensic data are written to that new container.
However, Strong does not specifically describe the filter being a minifilter.
Wilson discloses the above claimed feature as follows: (Par [0064], “In some embodiments, the security check is performed by an Input/Output request to a file system MiniFilter driver within a filter driver stack.” And Par [0451], “driver that allows the driver to be notified when a new thread is created or an existing thread terminates. By leveraging this callback it is possible to send simple information such as flag values or integers indicating some known value, from a process to the Kernel.).
As per Claim 5, the rejection of Claim 1 is incorporated and Strong further discloses: further comprising: inserting a combination of randomly generated characters into a filesystem minifilter driver instance name of the at least one filesystem minifilter driver at a time of loading. . (Par [0047], “Device related data can also enumerate loaded drivers and registered services.” And par [0060], “a container can be configured to hold all of the data generated by the endpoint computer system 105 for a given period of time. When a container is full (e.g. when the preset amount of data is reached or if the predetermined period of time has elapsed), a new container is added to the end of the series of containers and forensic data are written to that new container.
However, Strong does not specifically describe the filter being a minifilter.
Wilson discloses the above claimed feature as follows: (Par [0064], “In some embodiments, the security check is performed by an Input/Output request to a file system MiniFilter driver within a filter driver stack.” And Par [0451], “driver that allows the driver to be notified when a new thread is created or an existing thread terminates. By leveraging this callback it is possible to send simple information such as flag values or integers indicating some known value, from a process to the Kernel.).
As per Claim 6, the rejection of Claim 5 is incorporated and Strong further discloses: wherein the randomly generated fractional and the combination of randomly generated characters include the same sequence of numbers generated by an operating system function. (Par [0047], including the operating system, installed applications, BIOS, hardware, computer manufacturer, and languages. Device related data can also enumerate loaded drivers and registered services”).
However Strong do not specifically generates random characters as sequence by operating system.
Wilson discloses the above claimed features see paragraphs [0395]-0396], “…ZEROPERIL user mode hooks reside to determine if they have the correct values or if they have been modified. The checking may be performed by using a hashing algorithm for example a Cyclic Redundancy Check (CRC32) to detect tampering with the hooked memory addresses, but any differencing check can be used. It will then repeat the loop sleeping for a random amount of time before checking again, and so on. See below for an example pseudo code representation of this.”).
As per Claim 7, the rejection of Claim 1 is incorporated and Strong further discloses: further comprising: appending the at least one filesystem minifilter driver with a different randomly generated fractional to the assigned integer altitude at a second time of loading the at least one filesystem minifilter driver. (Par [0060], “The most recent forensic data are appended to the current active container 210C.” and see Figures 2-3).
However Strong does not specifically describes the filter being a minifilter and assigning random fractional to an assigned integer altitude.
Wilson discloses the above claimed feature as follows: (Par [0064], “[0064] In some embodiments, the security check is performed by an Input/Output request to a file system MiniFilter driver within a filter driver stack.” And Par [0451], “driver that allows the driver to be notified when a new thread is created or an existing thread terminates. By leveraging this callback it is possible to send simple information such as flag values or integers indicating some known value, from a process to the Kernel.
As per Claim 8, the rejection of Claim 1 is incorporated and Strong further discloses: further comprising: providing the assigned integer altitude appended by the randomly generated fractional to a remote threat management system managing an endpoint detection and response system of the endpoint device. (Par [0024], "FIG. 3 shows a diagram illustrating a plurality of endpoint computer systems in communication over one or more networks with a server forming part of an endpoint detection and response system;” and Par [0045], “ Artifact data can also focuses on resolving Remote Thread Creation where existing processes have threads injected into them. The artifact data can identify DLL injection through Remote Thread Creation of kernel32!LoadLibraryA/W.
As per Claim 9, the rejection of Claim 8 is incorporated and Strong further discloses: further comprising: maintaining, by the remote threat management system, a list of current assigned integer altitudes appended by randomly generated fractionals from a plurality of endpoint devices managed by the endpoint detection and response system. (Par [0047], including the operating system, installed applications, BIOS, hardware, computer manufacturer, and languages. Device related data can also enumerate loaded drivers and registered services”).
However Strong does not specifically generates random characters as sequence by operating system.
Wilson discloses the above claimed features see paragraphs [0395]-0396], “…ZEROPERIL user mode hooks reside to determine if they have the correct values or if they have been modified. The checking may be performed by using a hashing algorithm for example a Cyclic Redundancy Check (CRC32) to detect tampering with the hooked memory addresses, but any differencing check can be used. It will then repeat the loop sleeping for a random amount of time before checking again, and so on. See below for an example pseudo code representation of this.”).
As per Claim 10, Strong discloses:
A computer system, comprising: a threat management computer system including a centralized endpoint detection and response (EDR) system configured to monitor a plurality of endpoints for threats; (Par [0077], “FIG. 8 is a process flow diagram 800 illustrating an EDR system with efficient data transfer between the endpoint computer system and a backend server in which, at 810, an endpoint computer system monitors data relating to a plurality of events occurring within an operating environment of the endpoint computer system.”) and an endpoint device monitored by the centralized threat management computer system, the an endpoint device including a localized EDR system in communication with the centralized EDR system, (Par [0077], “…The endpoint computer stores artifacts used in connection with the plurality of events in a vault maintained on such endpoint computer system. Next, at 830 and in response to the trigger, the endpoint computer system identifies and retrieves metadata characterizing artifacts associated with the trigger from the vault…” and Figures 1-2)
the an endpoint device including a filter manager, wherein the localized EDR system includes at least one filesystem minifilter driver managed by the filter manager, (Par [0076], “FIG. 7 is a process flow diagram 700 illustrating event characterization as part of endpoint detection and response. Initially, at 710, each of a plurality of endpoint computer systems monitor data relating to a plurality of events occurring within an operating environment of the corresponding endpoint computer system.” And Figures 7-8)
the at least one filesystem minifilter driver including an appended randomly generated fractional to an assigned integer altitude. (Par [0060], “The most recent forensic data are appended to the current active container 210C.” and see Figures 2-3).
However Strong does not specifically describes the filter being a minifilter and assigning random fractional to an assigned integer altitude.
Wilson discloses the above claimed feature as follows: (Par [0064], “[0064] In some embodiments, the security check is performed by an Input/Output request to a file system MiniFilter driver within a filter driver stack.” And Par [0451], “driver that allows the driver to be notified when a new thread is created or an existing thread terminates. By leveraging this callback it is possible to send simple information such as flag values or integers indicating some known value, from a process to the Kernel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Wilson specifically providing a minifilter into the method of Strong to take advantage on applying the respective acquired information to create specific profiling. The modification would have been obvious because one of the ordinary skills in the art would implement proving a security check by performing an Input/Output request to a file system MiniFilter driver within a filter driver stack.
As per Claim 11, the rejection of Claim 10 is incorporated and Strong further discloses: wherein the appended randomly generated fractional assigned to the assigned integer altitude is randomly generated and appended at the time of loading of the at least one filesystem minifilter driver. (Par [0047], “Device related data can also enumerate loaded drivers and registered services.” And par [0060], “a container can be configured to hold all of the data generated by the endpoint computer system 105 for a given period of time. When a container is full (e.g. when the preset amount of data is reached or if the predetermined period of time has elapsed), a new container is added to the end of the series of containers and forensic data are written to that new container.
However, Strong does not specifically describe the filter being a minifilter.
Wilson discloses the above claimed feature as follows: (Par [0064], “In some embodiments, the security check is performed by an Input/Output request to a file system MiniFilter driver within a filter driver stack.” And Par [0451], “driver that allows the driver to be notified when a new thread is created or an existing thread terminates. By leveraging this callback it is possible to send simple information such as flag values or integers indicating some known value, from a process to the Kernel.).
As per Claim 12, the rejection of Claim 10 is incorporated and Strong further discloses: wherein the at least one minifilter driver is configured to detect at least one of a creation of a new file, a modification of an existing file, and a usage of a named pipe. (Par [0029], “(xii) Request to open or to duplicate an operating system handle to a named pipe” and par [0099], “Embodiments of the present invention detect the modification, prevent the driver from loading and alert the user;”)
However Strong do not specifically describes the filter being a minifilter
Wilson discloses the above claimed feature as follows: (Par [0064], “In some embodiments, the security check is performed by an Input/Output request to a file system MiniFilter driver within a filter driver stack.” And Par [0451], “driver that allows the driver to be notified when a new thread is created or an existing thread terminates. By leveraging this callback it is possible to send simple information such as flag values or integers indicating some known value, from a process to the Kernel.).
As per Claim 13, the rejection of Claim 12 is incorporated and Strong further discloses: wherein the at least one filesystem minifilter driver includes an inserted combination of randomly generated characters into a filesystem minifilter driver instance name. (Par [0042], “The artifacts can characterizes files used by one of the endpoint computer systems 105 or otherwise transported across the network in which the endpoint computer system 105 resides including, for example, create, modify, delete, established persistence and renamed artifacts along with metadata and file attributes. Such artifact data can be used to correlate file to process relationships.”).
As per Claim 14, the rejection of Claim 13 is incorporated and Strong further discloses: wherein the randomly generated fractional and the combination of randomly generated characters include the same sequence of numbers generated by an operating system function. (Par [0047], including the operating system, installed applications, BIOS, hardware, computer manufacturer, and languages. Device related data can also enumerate loaded drivers and registered services”).
However Strong does not specifically generates random characters as sequence by operating system.
Wilson discloses the above claimed features see paragraphs [0395]-0396], “…ZEROPERIL user mode hooks reside to determine if they have the correct values or if they have been modified. The checking may be performed by using a hashing algorithm for example a Cyclic Redundancy Check (CRC32) to detect tampering with the hooked memory addresses, but any differencing check can be used. It will then repeat the loop sleeping for a random amount of time before checking again, and so on. See below for an example pseudo code representation of this.”).
As per Claim 17, Strong further discloses:
A method for protecting against filesystem minifilter driver squatting attacks comprising: installing an endpoint detection and response system on an endpoint device, wherein the endpoint detection and response system includes at least one filesystem minifilter driver; (Par [0047], including the operating system, installed applications, BIOS, hardware, computer manufacturer, and languages. Device related data can also enumerate loaded drivers and registered services”).
generating a random fractional using an operating system function at the start of loading the at least one filesystem minifilter driver; (Par [0042], “The artifacts can characterizes files used by one of the endpoint computer systems 105 or otherwise transported across the network in which the endpoint computer system 105 resides including, for example, create, modify, delete, established persistence and renamed artifacts along with metadata and file attributes. Such artifact data can be used to correlate file to process relationships.”) appending the at least one filesystem minifilter driver with the randomly generated fractional to an assigned integer altitude at a time of loading the at least one filesystem minifilter driver; (Par [0060], “The most recent forensic data are appended to the current active container 210C.” and see Figures 2-3) registering the at least one filesystem minifilter driver with a filter manager of the endpoint device with the assigned integer altitude appended by the randomly generated fractional; (Par [0047], “Device related data can also enumerate loaded drivers and registered services.” And par [0060], “a container can be configured to hold all of the data generated by the endpoint computer system 105 for a given period of time. When a container is full (e.g. when the preset amount of data is reached or if the predetermined period of time has elapsed), a new container is added to the end of the series of containers and forensic data are written to that new container) at least one of a creation of a new file, a modification of an existing file, and a usage of a named pipe. (Par [0029], “(xii) Request to open or to duplicate an operating system handle to a named pipe” and par [0099], “Embodiments of the present invention detect the modification, prevent the driver from loading and alert the user;”)
Strong do not disclose the “intercepting a request, by the filter manager, destined for the filesystem; passing, by the filter manager, the intercepted request to the loaded filesystem minifilter driver; and detecting, by the at least one minifilter driver, and specifically the “minifilter”
Wilson discloses the above claimed features as follows: (Par [0377], “a. The SL_FORCE_ACCESS_CHECK flag is set for IRP based file system operations in order to force the operating system to check that the current process has the required access to perform the action” and par [0378] “b. Intercept and execute the action with full security checks in order to force the operating system to check that the current process has the required access to perform the action” and [0382] US 2016/328561 A1 is attempting to detect malware and rootkits whereas ZEROPERIL SCE is not attempting to detect malware, but rather it is attempting to pre-emptively remediate a specific class of Kernel driver bugs which leave a computer system vulnerable to exploitation.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Wilson specifically providing a minifilter into the method of Strong to take advantage on applying the respective acquired information to create specific profiling. The modification would have been obvious because one of the ordinary skills in the art would implement proving a security check by performing an Input/Output request to a file system MiniFilter driver within a filter driver stack. Instead of a regular filtering criteria according to threats.
As per Claim 18, the rejection of Claim 17 is incorporated and Strong further discloses: further comprising: inserting a combination of randomly generated characters into a filesystem minifilter driver instance name of the at least one filesystem minifilter driver at a time of loading. (Par [0047], including the operating system, installed applications, BIOS, hardware, computer manufacturer, and languages. Device related data can also enumerate loaded drivers and registered services”).
However Strong does not specifically generate random characters as sequence by operating system.
Wilson discloses the above claimed features see paragraphs [0395]-0396], “…ZEROPERIL user mode hooks reside to determine if they have the correct values or if they have been modified. The checking may be performed by using a hashing algorithm for example a Cyclic Redundancy Check (CRC32) to detect tampering with the hooked memory addresses, but any differencing check can be used. It will then repeat the loop sleeping for a random amount of time before checking again, and so on. See below for an example pseudo code representation of this.”).
As per Claim 19, the rejection of Claim 18 is incorporated and Strong further discloses: wherein the randomly generated fractional and the combination of randomly generated characters include the same sequence of numbers generated by an operating system function. (Par [0047], including the operating system, installed applications, BIOS, hardware, computer manufacturer, and languages. Device related data can also enumerate loaded drivers and registered services”).
However Strong do not specifically generates random characters as sequence by operating system.
Wilson discloses the above claimed features see paragraphs [0395]-0396], “…ZEROPERIL user mode hooks reside to determine if they have the correct values or if they have been modified. The checking may be performed by using a hashing algorithm for example a Cyclic Redundancy Check (CRC32) to detect tampering with the hooked memory addresses, but any differencing check can be used. It will then repeat the loop sleeping for a random amount of time before checking again, and so on. See below for an example pseudo code representation of this.”).
As per Claim 20, the rejection of Claim 17 is incorporated and Strong further discloses: further comprising: appending the at least one filesystem minifilter driver with a different randomly generated fractional to the assigned integer altitude at a second time of loading the at least one filesystem minifilter driver. (Par [0060], “The most recent forensic data are appended to the current active container 210C.” and see Figures 2-3).
However Strong does not specifically describes the filter being a minifilter and assigning random fractional to an assigned integer altitude.
Wilson discloses the above claimed feature as follows: (Par [0064], “[0064] In some embodiments, the security check is performed by an Input/Output request to a file system MiniFilter driver within a filter driver stack.” And Par [0451], “driver that allows the driver to be notified when a new thread is created or an existing thread terminates. By leveraging this callback it is possible to send simple information such as flag values or integers indicating some known value, from a process to the Kernel.
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claims 15-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Strong discloses an EDR system with efficient data transfer between the endpoint computer system and a backend server in which, at 810, an endpoint computer system monitors data relating to a plurality of events occurring within an operating environment of the endpoint computer system. Hower not specifically the “a second endpoint device monitored by the centralized threat management computer system, the second endpoint device including a second localized EDR system in communication with the centralized EDR system, the second endpoint device including a second filter manager,wherein the second localized EDR system includes at least one second endpoint filesystem minifilter driver managed by the second filter manager, the at least one second endpoint filesystem minifilter driver including a different appended randomly generated fractional to the assigned integer altitude, wherein the different appended randomly generated fractional is a different set of numbers than the appended randomly generated fractional of the endpoint device.” Claim 16 is depending on an indicated allowable claim.
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
MacLeod; Stewart P. (US-11082444-B2) relates to an example filter manager and minifilter drivers for real-time detection of and protection from malware, in accordance with an embodiment
CASSIDY; John ( US-20220021683-A1), relates to configured to provide access to additional content (e.g., network device information, log data, information from Security Information Event Management (SIEM) platforms, information from Endpoint Detection and Response (EDR), and information from other network security devices and platforms) that can be used in combination with the threat intelligence content.
SHADBOLT; Matthew Ronald (US-20210385129-A1), relates to the implementation of a system compromised by modifications to a policy as contrasted to a system in which the policy is locked by tamper protection;
Kannan; Karthik (US-11290483-B1), relates to provides access to pre-built, high quality threat identifier and threat scenario use cases, which include rules across multiple categories. In some embodiments, analysts may create, modify, or add their own rules following a specified format. For example, threat scenario rules may be created through a virtual wizard.
/ANGELICA RUIZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2154 August 8, 2026