DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 9/19/25, 3/30/26, 5/15/26, and 6/22/26 are in accordance with provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Preliminary Amendment
The preliminary amendment filed 8/22/25 has been entered and made of record.
Claim Objections
Claims 21, 28, and 35 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 21, line 5 recites, “a MV correction”. Line 9 of the claim recites “the MVC”. The claim should be amended to clarify the antecedent basis of “MVC” For example, the amendment to the limitation in line 5 could be: “a MV correction (MVC)”.
In claim 28, line 6 recites, “a MV correction” and should be amended similarly to claim 21 above.
In claim 35, line 6 recites, “a MV correction” and should be amended similarly to claim 21 above.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 35-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lim et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0379455).
Claim 35’s recitation of “A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a video bitstream that is generated by a video encoding method, the video encoding method comprising…” is a product by process claim limitation where the product is the bit stream and the process is the method steps to generate the bitstream. MPEP §2113 recites “Product-by-Process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps”. Thus, the scope of the claim is the storage medium storing the bitstream (with the structure implied by the method steps). The structure includes the modes, coding block, and values manipulated by the steps.
“To be given patentable weight, the printed matter and associated product must be in a functional relationship. A functional relationship can be found where the printed matter performs some function with respect to the product to which it is associated”. MPEP §2111.05(I)(A). When a claimed “computer-readable medium merely serves as a support for information or data, no functional relationship exists”. MPEP §2111.05(III). The storage medium storing the claimed bitstream in claim 35 merely serves as a support for the storage of the bitstream and provides no functional relationship between the stored bitstream and storage medium. Therefore, the bitstream structure, of which scope is implied by the method steps, is non-functional descriptive material and given no patentable weight. MPEP §2111.05(III). Thus, the claim scope is just a storage medium storing data and is anticipated by Lim which recites a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a video bitstream (i.e., a non-temporary storage medium according to the present invention, the non-temporary storage medium including a bitstream generated by using an image encoding method; video encoding apparatus) (para[0026], [0111]).
In regard to claims 36-40, please see the above-stated discussion and rejection of claim 35 as the limitations of the claims are also not given patentable weight.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20230300341) in view Gao et al., (“Decoder-Side Motion Vector Refinement in VVC: Algorithm and Hardware Implementation Considerations.” First published 9 November 2020. IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems for Video Technology, Vol. 31, No. 8, pp. 3197-3211.; cited in the IDS filed 6/22/26).
In regard to claim 21, Wu teaches a method for video decoding in a decoder (i.e., decoding system 1800) (Fig. 18; para[0128]), the method comprising:
receiving a coded video bitstream including a current picture that includes at least one block (i.e., the syntax unit 1810 may receive a coded video data stream and may parse the coded data into its constituent parts; pixel block) (Fig. 18; para[0128]-[0129]), a syntax element indicating that the at least one block is to be predicted in a temporal interpolated prediction (TIP) mode (i.e., syntax unit 1810; generation of the corresponding DMVP blocks after parsing the bitstream syntax; the DMVP interpolation technique, a temporal interpolated prediction mode, signaled as “TIP_mode”, can be created; TIP_mode indicator can be signaled at lower level unit within a signaling protocol, such as a region/collection of blocks, or at the coding block/unit level) (para[0128], [0139]-[0140], [0180]), and at least one or more of a motion vector (MV) difference (MVD) and a MV correction (i.e., motion vector differences (MVD) or motion vector prediction residuals are coded and transmitted to the decoder) (para[0086]);
generating, for any of the at least one of a block and a sub-block of the block, and a group of blocks including the block (i.e., current block PB0, neighboring pixel blocks PB1, PB3, PB5, and PB8) (Fig. 7(a); para[0058]-[0059]), a TIP motion field that includes a first motion vector that points to a first reference picture and a second motion vector that points to a second reference picture (i.e., pixel block (pos_C)); forward and backward motion vectors (tip_mv0, tip_mv1)) (Fig. 21; para[0204])…; and
decoding the at least one block based on the first motion vector and the second motion vector (i.e., Fig. 22 illustrates a method 2200 of coding video; method 2200 may operate on a TMVP motion vector (tip_mv) for a block to be coded; the method 2200 may generate reference blocks (ref_block0/ref_block1) by motion compensation using forward and backward motion vectors (tip_mv0/tip_mv1) (box 2220); the method 2200 may generate a final block for the TIP frame from the reference blocks (ref_block0′/ref_block1′) (box 2270)) (Fig. 22; para[0207]).
However, Wu does not explicitly teach based on the at least one or more of the MVD and the MVC from the received coded video bitstream as corrections to the TIP motion field.
In the same field of endeavor, Gao teaches based on the at least one or more of the MVD and the MVC from the received coded video bitstream as corrections to the TIP motion field (i.e., MMVD compensates the merge-mode-coded MVs with explicitly signaled MVDs) (Section IV.F.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the teachings of Wu and Gao because Gao teaches novel features of DMVR that contribute to increasing coding efficiency without having to signal additional side information and reducing computational complexity and difficulty of implementation (See, for example, Abstract of Gao). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Wu with those of Gao.
In regard to claim 22, Wu and Gao teach all of the limitations of claim 21 as discussed above. In addition, Wu teaches wherein the TIP motion field is generated based on a temporal motion vector predictor (TMVP) (i.e., a direction motion vector prediction (DMVP) may be used to derive motion vectors for later-coded frames (called “temporal motion vector prediction” or “TMVP”) (Fig. 15; para[0103]).
In regard to claim 23, Wu and Gao teach all of the limitations of claims 21 and 22 as discussed above. In addition, Wu teaches further comprising adding, based on determining that the TIP motion field is generated based on the TMVP, a parsed MVD to the TIP motion field (i.e., the syntax unit 1810 may receive a coded video data stream and may parse the coded data into its constituent parts; the motion projections of the TMVP…modes can be created using pixel blocks from different reference frames or discontinuous blocks; the filtering strength or method to be used can be decided based on the reference frames used, and/or the differences in the motion vectors and weight prediction parameters) (para[0129], [0153]).
In regard to claim 24, Wu and Gao teach all of the limitations of claims 21-23 as discussed above. In addition, Wu teaches further comprising adding, based on determining both that the TIP motion field is generated based on the TMVP (i.e., the syntax unit 1810 may receive a coded video data stream and may parse the coded data into its constituent parts; the motion projections of the TMVP…modes can be created using pixel blocks from different reference frames or discontinuous blocks) (para[0129]) and also that the block comprises a size equal to or smaller than an 8x8 sub-block (i.e., Fig. 7(b) Current Block PB0 (pixel block) is 8x8 pixels) (Fig. 7(b); para[0054]), a parsed MVD to the TIP motion field (i.e., the syntax unit 1810 may receive a coded video data stream and may parse the coded data into its constituent parts; the filtering strength or method to be used can be decided based on the reference frames used, and/or the differences in the motion vectors and weight prediction parameters) (para[0129], [0153]).
In regard to claim 25, Wu and Gao teach all of the limitations of claims 21-23 as discussed above. In addition, Wu teaches further comprising adding, based on determining both that the TIP motion field is generated based on the TMVP (i.e., the syntax unit 1810 may receive a coded video data stream and may parse the coded data into its constituent parts; the motion projections of the TMVP…modes can be created using pixel blocks from different reference frames or discontinuous blocks) (para[0129]) and also that the block comprises a size larger than an 8x8 sub-block (i.e., Fig. 7(b) Current Block PB0 (pixel block) is 8x8 pixels) (Fig. 7(b); para[0054]), a plurality of motion vectors of the 8x8 sub-block to the parsed MVD (i.e., the syntax unit 1810 may receive a coded video data stream and may parse the coded data into its constituent parts; the filtering strength or method to be used can be decided based on the reference frames used, and/or the differences in the motion vectors and weight prediction parameters) (para[0129], [0153]).
In regard to claim 26, Wu and Gao teach all of the limitations of claim 21 as discussed above. In addition, Wu teaches further comprising selecting a reference picture to correct the TIP motion field (i.e., the method may perform motion compensation for the reference block (pos_A) using the forward and backward motion vector (box 2040) and, thereafter, generates the reference block (box 2050)) (Fig. 21; para[0204]) based on determining whether at least two reference pictures are applied for motion compensation in the TIP mode (i.e., the method may derive forward and backward motion vectors (tip_mv0, tip_mv1) for the reference block (pos_A) (box 2030)) (Fig. 21; para[0204]).
In regard to claim 27, Wu and Gao teach all of the limitations of claim 21 as discussed above. In addition, Wu teaches …to correct the TIP motion field (i.e., the method may perform motion compensation for the reference block (pos_A) using the forward and backward motion vector (box 2040) and, thereafter, generates the reference block (box 2050)) based on determining whether at least two reference pictures are applied for motion compensation in the TIP mode (i.e., the method may derive forward and backward motion vectors (tip_mv0, tip_mv1) for the reference block (pos_A) (box 2030)) (Fig. 21; para[0204]).
However, Wu does not explicitly teach further comprising selecting a reference picture list, from at least two reference picture lists.
In the same field of endeavor, Gao teaches further comprising selecting a reference picture list, from at least two reference picture lists (i.e., Fig. 1. Reference picture lists for the current picture; VVC distributes the previously decoded pictures into two reference picture lists, which are denoted as L0 and L1) (Section III.A.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the teachings of Wu and Gao for the same reasons as those discussed above for claim 21.
In regard to claim 28, Wu teaches a method of video encoding (i.e., a coding system 1700) (Fig. 17; para[0111]), the method comprising:
receiving a video data including a current picture (i.e., the coding system 1700 may operate on predetermined units of video frames, called “pixel blocks,” for convenience, to code the pixel blocks differentially according to predictive techniques) (Fig. 17; para[0111]); and
encoding the video data such that the encoded video data includes a current picture that includes at least one block (i.e., thus, a frame of video to be coded may be parsed into pixel blocks, which the pixel block encoder 1710 processes on a pixel block-by-pixel block basis) (Fig. 17, para[0111]), a syntax element indicating that the at least one block is to be predicted in a temporal interpolated prediction (TIP) mode (i.e., the pixel block coder 1710 may present coded pixel block data to the syntax unit 1790, which formats the coded pixel block data into a transmission syntax that conforms to a governing coding protocol; the DMVP interpolation technique, a temporal interpolated prediction mode, signaled as “TIP_mode”, can be created; TIP_mode indicator can be signaled at lower level unit within a signaling protocol, such as a region/collection of blocks, or at the coding block/unit level) (Fig. 17; para[0111], [0180]), and at least one or more of a motion vector (MV) difference (MVD) and a MV correction (i.e., motion vector differences (MVD) or motion vector prediction residuals are coded and transmitted to the decoder) (para[0086]); and
signaling, for any of the at least one of a block and a sub-block of the block, and a group of blocks including the block (i.e., current block PB0, neighboring pixel blocks PB1, PB3, PB5, and PB8) (Fig. 7(a); para[0058]-[0059]), whether a TIP motion field includes a first motion vector that points to a first reference picture and a second motion vector that points to a second reference picture (i.e., pixel block (pos_C)); forward and backward motion vectors (tip_mv0, tip_mv1)) (Fig. 21; para[0204]).
However, Wu does not explicitly teach based on the at least one or more of the MVD and the MVC from the received coded video bitstream as corrections to the TIP motion field.
In the same field of endeavor, Gao teaches based on the at least one or more of the MVD and the MVC from the received coded video bitstream as corrections to the TIP motion field (i.e., MMVD compensates the merge-mode-coded MVs with explicitly signaled MVDs) (Section IV.F.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the teachings of Wu and Gao because Gao teaches novel features of DMVR that contribute to increasing coding efficiency without having to signal additional side information and reducing computational complexity and difficulty of implementation (See, for example, Abstract of Gao). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Wu with those of Gao.
In regard to claim 29, Wu and Gao teach all of the limitations of claim 28 as discussed above. In addition, Wu teaches wherein the TIP motion field is generated based on a temporal motion vector predictor (TMVP) (i.e., a direction motion vector prediction (DMVP) may be used to derive motion vectors for later-coded frames (called “temporal motion vector prediction” or “TMVP”) (Fig. 15; para[0103]).
In regard to claim 30, Wu and Gao teach all of the limitations of claims 28 and 29 as discussed above. In addition, Wu teaches wherein encoding the video data is further based on determining whether, based on determining that the TIP motion field is generated based on the TMVP, a parsed MVD is to be added to the TIP motion field (i.e., the syntax unit 1810 may receive a coded video data stream and may parse the coded data into its constituent parts; the motion projections of the TMVP…modes can be created using pixel blocks from different reference frames or discontinuous blocks; the filtering strength or method to be used can be decided based on the reference frames used, and/or the differences in the motion vectors and weight prediction parameters) (para[0129], [0153]).
In regard to claim 31, Wu and Gao teach all of the limitations of claims 28-30 as discussed above. In addition, Wu teaches wherein encoding the video data is further based on determining whether, based on determining both that the TIP motion field is generated based on the TMVP (i.e., the syntax unit 1810 may receive a coded video data stream and may parse the coded data into its constituent parts; the motion projections of the TMVP…modes can be created using pixel blocks from different reference frames or discontinuous blocks) (para[0129]) and also that the block comprises a size equal to or smaller than an 8x8 sub-block (i.e., Fig. 7(b) Current Block PB0 (pixel block) is 8x8 pixels) (Fig. 7(b); para[0054]), a parsed MVD to the TIP motion field, a parsed MVD is to be added to the TIP motion field (i.e., the syntax unit 1810 may receive a coded video data stream and may parse the coded data into its constituent parts; the filtering strength or method to be used can be decided based on the reference frames used, and/or the differences in the motion vectors and weight prediction parameters) (para[0129], [0153]).
In regard to claim 32, Wu and Gao teach all of the limitations of claims 28-30 as discussed above. In addition, Wu teaches wherein encoding the video data is further based on determining whether, based on determining both that the TIP motion field is generated based on the TMVP (i.e., the syntax unit 1810 may receive a coded video data stream and may parse the coded data into its constituent parts; the motion projections of the TMVP…modes can be created using pixel blocks from different reference frames or discontinuous blocks) (para[0129]) and also that the block comprises a size equal to or smaller than an 8x8 sub-block (i.e., Fig. 7(b) Current Block PB0 (pixel block) is 8x8 pixels) (Fig. 7(b); para[0054]), a parsed MVD to the TIP motion field, a plurality of motion vectors of the 8x8 sub-block is to be added to the parsed MVD (i.e., the syntax unit 1810 may receive a coded video data stream and may parse the coded data into its constituent parts; the filtering strength or method to be used can be decided based on the reference frames used, and/or the differences in the motion vectors and weight prediction parameters) (para[0129], [0153]).
In regard to claim 33, Wu and Gao teach all of the limitations of claim 28 as discussed above. In addition, Wu teaches wherein encoding the video data is further based on determining whether, based on determining whether at least two reference pictures are to be applied for motion compensation in the TIP mode (i.e., the method may derive forward and backward motion vectors (tip_mv0, tip_mv1) for the reference block (pos_A) (box 2030)) (Fig. 21; para[0204]), a reference picture is to be selected to correct the TIP motion field (i.e., the method may perform motion compensation for the reference block (pos_A) using the forward and backward motion vector (box 2040) and, thereafter, generates the reference block (box 2050)) (Fig. 21; para[0204]).
In regard to claim 34, Wu and Gao teach all of the limitations of claim 28 as discussed above. In addition, Wu teaches wherein encoding the video data is further based on determining whether, based on determining whether at least two reference pictures are to be applied for motion compensation in the TIP mode (i.e., the method may derive forward and backward motion vectors (tip_mv0, tip_mv1) for the reference block (pos_A) (box 2030)) (Fig. 21; para[0204]),…to correct the TIP motion field (i.e., the method may perform motion compensation for the reference block (pos_A) using the forward and backward motion vector (box 2040) and, thereafter, generates the reference block (box 2050)).
However, Wu does not explicitly teach a reference picture list, from at least two reference picture lists, is to be selected.
In the same field of endeavor, Gao teaches a reference picture list, from at least two reference picture lists, is to be selected (i.e., Fig. 1. Reference picture lists for the current picture; VVC distributes the previously decoded pictures into two reference picture lists, which are denoted as L0 and L1) (Section III.A.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the teachings of Wu and Gao for the same reasons as those discussed above for claim 28.
Conclusion
KRISTIN DOBBS
Examiner
Art Unit 2488
/KRISTIN DOBBS/Examiner, Art Unit 2488