DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention II (claims 23-29) in the reply filed on 13 July 2026 is acknowledged.
Applicant’s election of Species AA, BA, CA, DA and EA in the reply filed on 13 July 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 1, 6, 8, 18-19 and 30-31 are withdrawn by the Applicant as being directed to a non-elected invention/species.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 23-27, 29, 34-38, 40 and 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bowden et al. (US 2013/0205717 A1) hereinafter referred to as Bowden in view of Borchard (US 2006/0048482 A1).
Regarding claim 23, Bowden discloses a system for sealing a perishable product within one or more containers (Abstract), the system comprising:
a movable conveyor (102; figs. 9 and 26) for moving the one or more containers (paragraph 0082), the one or more containers having a partially closed liner (90 or 80; paragraph 0091) therein filled with the perishable product (40; paragraphs 0061-0062, 0163);
a vacuum cooling tube (#132, figs. 11, 14-16, paragraph 0087; see also #2106, fig. 21, paragraphs 0132-0133; see also #2402, fig. 24, paragraphs 0139-0140; see also #2708 – “one or more lines, such as vacuum…”, fig. 26-27, paragraphs 0143-0144; paragraphs 0159, 0164-0165) for cooling (paragraph 0166) the one or more containers on the conveyor as the one or more containers move along the conveyor;
a gas supply system (150, 160, 170, 180, 190, paragraphs 0086-0087, figs. 11, 14-16; see also #2110, fig. 21, paragraphs 0132-0133; see also #2406, fig. 24, paragraphs 0139-0140; see also #2708 – “injection lines”, figs. 26-27, paragraphs 0143-0144) for providing nitrogen and/or other gasses (paragraphs 0090, 0102, 0106-0108, 0139, 0159, 0172-0173) to an interior of the partially closed liner of the one or more containers as the one or more containers move along the conveyor during or after cooling (paragraphs 0163, 0166, 0172; fig. 14 - #220, 240; paragraph 0102) via the vacuum cooling tube to create a modified atmosphere within the interior of the liner (paragraphs 0143-0144, 0159, 0172); and
a sealing apparatus (paragraph 0080 – “The machine can either circle the wrapping 80 around the pallet assembly or, alternatively, the machine can rotate the pallet assembly near a dispenser of wrapping 80.”; paragraph 0117 – “Optionally after positioning, the wrapping is secured to the caps and goods by various methods such as by heating, taping, zip-sealing and/or gluing the wrapping to the top and base caps”; paragraph 0129 – “The glue or tape can be… applied by a machine that circles the pallets.”; paragraph 0146) for sealing the liner together as the one or more containers move along the conveyor from the vacuum cooling tube or the gas supply system (paragraph 0144 – “When the gas cycle is complete, the top plate and the lift table pull away to slide the fingers out from between the wrap and the pallet as shown in FIG. 27b. Additional final wraps or sealing may be completed as required. The pallet then advances to the output conveyor to be picked up by a forklift”).
Wherein the Applicant may argue that Bowden does not disclose a sealing apparatus for sealing the liner together as the one or more containers move along the conveyor from the vacuum cooling tube or the gas supply system, the Office notes Bowden at least discloses sealing the liner together as the one or more containers move along the conveyor from the vacuum cooling tube or the gas supply system (paragraph 0144) and alternatively points to Borchard.
Borchard teaches a sealing apparatus (50; 172, 174, 178; paragraphs 0063, 0079-0081) for sealing the liner (92) together as the one or more containers (52, 56) move through the system (fig. 17) from the vacuum cooling tube (144, 150; S60, fig. 17; paragraph 0077) or the gas supply system (150, 152; S62, fig. 17; paragraph 0078).
Given the teachings of Borchard, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Bowden with the sealing apparatus teachings of Borchard. Bowden (paragraph 0144) already discloses sealing the liner together as the one or more containers move along the conveyor from the vacuum cooling tube or the gas supply system. Borchard teaches that such a sealing step can be carried out by a sealing apparatus used in conjunction with a vacuum and gas supply system. Providing such a system would provide an automatic and controlled means to provide a final seal on the containers of the perishable products. This would improve consistency of seal application and automate the process to reduce any manual labor issues.
Regarding claim 24, Bowden discloses wherein the gas supply system (150, 160, 170, 180, 190, paragraphs 0086-0087, figs. 11, 14-16; see also #2110, fig. 21, paragraphs 0132-0133; see also #2406, fig. 24, paragraphs 0139-0140; see also #2708 – “injection lines”, figs. 26-27, paragraphs 0143-0144) provides nitrogen and/or other gasses (paragraphs 0090, 0102, 0106-0108, 0139, 0159, 0172-0173) to the interior of the partially closed liner of the one or more containers during cooling (paragraphs 0163, 0166, 0172; fig. 14 - #220, 240; paragraph 0102) via the vacuum cooling tube.
Regarding claim 25, Bowden discloses wherein the gas supply system (150, 160, 170, 180, 190, paragraphs 0086-0087, figs. 11, 14-16; see also #2110, fig. 21, paragraphs 0132-0133; see also #2406, fig. 24, paragraphs 0139-0140; see also #2708 – “injection lines”, figs. 26-27, paragraphs 0143-0144) is configured to provide one or more of a sanitizer or functional substances (paragraphs 0090, 0105, 0139, 0159-0160, 0173) along with the modified atmosphere to the interior of the partially closed liner of the one or more containers.
Regarding claim 26, Bowden as modified by Borchard above discloses wherein the sealing apparatus is one or more of a heated band sealer, a wide or double seal impulse sealer, or a heat sealer (Borchard - 50; 172, 174, 178; paragraphs 0063, 0079-0081).
Regarding claim 27, Bowden discloses one or more containers move along the conveyor from the vacuum cooling tube or the gas supply system, but fails to disclose a collecting apparatus for collecting and pulling together open edges of the liner of the one or more containers as the one or more containers move along the conveyor from the vacuum cooling tube or the gas supply system, the sealing apparatus being configured to receive the one or more containers from the collecting apparatus.
However, Borchard teaches a collecting apparatus (140, 142) for collecting and pulling together (figs. 19A-J, 20A-B) open edges of the liner (92, 96) of the one or more containers, the sealing apparatus (50; 172, 174, 178; paragraphs 0063, 0079-0081) being configured to receive the one or more containers from the collecting apparatus.
Given the teachings of Borchard, it would have been obvious to modify the conveyor, vacuum cooling tube and gas supply system of Bowden with the collecting apparatus of Borchard. Doing so would allow the film to be better positioned and held so that sealing could be applied in a more standard and uniform manner.
Regarding claim 29, Bowden as modified by Borchard teaches wherein the collecting apparatus is robotic arms (Borchard - 140, 142; figs. 8 and 19) or robotic fingers.
Regarding claim 34, Bowden wherein the gas supply system (150, 160, 170, 180, 190, paragraphs 0086-0087, figs. 11, 14-16; see also #2110, fig. 21, paragraphs 0132-0133; see also #2406, fig. 24, paragraphs 0139-0140; see also #2708 – “injection lines”, figs. 26-27, paragraphs 0143-0144) provides nitrogen and/or other gasses (paragraphs 0090, 0102, 0106-0108, 0139, 0159, 0172-0173) to the interior of the partially closed liner of the one or more containers during cooling (paragraphs 0163, 0166, 0172; fig. 14 - #220, 240; paragraph 0102) via the vacuum cooling tube (paragraphs 0143-0144, 0159, 0172), and wherein the gas supply system is configured to provide one or more of a sanitizer or functional substances (paragraphs 0090, 0105, 0139, 0159-0160, 0173) along with the modified atmosphere to the interior of the partially closed liner of the one or more containers.
Regarding claim 35, Bowden as modified by Borchard discloses wherein the gas supply system (Bowden - 150, 160, 170, 180, 190, paragraphs 0086-0087, figs. 11, 14-16; see also #2110, fig. 21, paragraphs 0132-0133; see also #2406, fig. 24, paragraphs 0139-0140; see also #2708 – “injection lines”, figs. 26-27, paragraphs 0143-0144) provides nitrogen and/or other gasses (Bowden - paragraphs 0090, 0102, 0106-0108, 0139, 0159, 0172-0173) to the interior of the partially closed liner of the one or more containers during cooling (Bowden - paragraphs 0163, 0166, 0172; fig. 14 - #220, 240; paragraph 0102) via the vacuum cooling tube (Bowden - paragraphs 0143-0144, 0159, 0172), and wherein the sealing apparatus (Borchard - 50; 172, 174, 178; paragraphs 0063, 0079-0081) is one or more of a heated band sealer, a wide or double seal impulse sealer, or a heat sealer (Borchard - 50; 172, 174, 178; paragraphs 0063, 0079-0081).
Regarding claim 36, Bowden as modified by Borchard discloses wherein the gas supply system (Bowden - 150, 160, 170, 180, 190, paragraphs 0086-0087, figs. 11, 14-16; see also #2110, fig. 21, paragraphs 0132-0133; see also #2406, fig. 24, paragraphs 0139-0140; see also #2708 – “injection lines”, figs. 26-27, paragraphs 0143-0144) provides nitrogen and/or other gasses (Bowden - paragraphs 0090, 0102, 0106-0108, 0139, 0159, 0172-0173) to the interior of the partially closed liner of the one or more containers during cooling (Bowden - paragraphs 0163, 0166, 0172; fig. 14 - #220, 240; paragraph 0102) via the vacuum cooling tube (Bowden - paragraphs 0143-0144, 0159, 0172), wherein the gas supply system is configured to provide one or more of a sanitizer or functional substances (Bowden - paragraphs 0090, 0105, 0139, 0159-0160, 0173) along with the modified atmosphere to the interior of the partially closed liner of the one or more containers, and wherein the sealing apparatus (Borchard - 50; 172, 174, 178; paragraphs 0063, 0079-0081) is one or more of a heated band sealer, a wide or double seal impulse sealer, or a heat sealer (Borchard - 50; 172, 174, 178; paragraphs 0063, 0079-0081).
Regarding claim 37, Bowden as modified by Borchard discloses wherein the gas supply system (Bowden - 150, 160, 170, 180, 190, paragraphs 0086-0087, figs. 11, 14-16; see also #2110, fig. 21, paragraphs 0132-0133; see also #2406, fig. 24, paragraphs 0139-0140; see also #2708 – “injection lines”, figs. 26-27, paragraphs 0143-0144) is configured to provide one or more of a sanitizer or functional substances (Bowden - paragraphs 0090, 0105, 0139, 0159-0160, 0173) along with the modified atmosphere to the interior of the partially closed liner of the one or more containers, and wherein the sealing apparatus (Borchard - 50; 172, 174, 178; paragraphs 0063, 0079-0081) is one or more of a heated band sealer, a wide or double seal impulse sealer, or a heat sealer (Borchard - 50; 172, 174, 178; paragraphs 0063, 0079-0081).
Regarding claim 38, Bowden as modified by Borchard discloses a collecting apparatus (Borchard - 140, 142) for collecting and pulling together (Borchard - figs. 19A-J, 20A-B) open edges of the liner (Borchard – 92, 96) of the one or more containers as the one or more containers move along the conveyor (Bowden - 102; figs. 9 and 26) from the vacuum cooling tube or the gas supply system, the sealing apparatus (Borchard - 50; 172, 174, 178; paragraphs 0063, 0079-0081) being configured to receive the one or more containers from the collecting apparatus, wherein the gas supply system (Bowden - 150, 160, 170, 180, 190, paragraphs 0086-0087, figs. 11, 14-16; see also #2110, fig. 21, paragraphs 0132-0133; see also #2406, fig. 24, paragraphs 0139-0140; see also #2708 – “injection lines”, figs. 26-27, paragraphs 0143-0144) provides nitrogen and/or other gasses (Bowden - paragraphs 0090, 0102, 0106-0108, 0139, 0159, 0172-0173) to the interior of the partially closed liner of the one or more containers during cooling (paragraphs 0163, 0166, 0172; fig. 14 - #220, 240; paragraph 0102) via the vacuum cooling tube, and wherein the gas supply system is configured to provide one or more of a sanitizer or functional substances (Bowden - paragraphs 0090, 0105, 0139, 0159-0160, 0173) along with the modified atmosphere to the interior of the partially closed liner of the one or more containers.
Given the teachings of Borchard, it would have been obvious to modify the conveyor, vacuum cooling tube and gas supply system of Bowden with the collecting apparatus of Borchard. Doing so would allow the film to be better positioned and held so that sealing could be applied in a more standard and uniform manner.
Regarding claim 40, Bowden as modified by Borchard teaches a collecting apparatus (Borchard - 140, 142; figs. 8 and 19) for collecting and pulling together (Borchard - figs. 19A-J, 20A-B) open edges of the liner (Borchard - 92, 96) of the one or more containers as the one or more containers move along the conveyor (Bowden - 102; figs. 9 and 26) from the vacuum cooling tube or the gas supply system, the sealing apparatus (Borchard - 50; 172, 174, 178; paragraphs 0063, 0079-0081) being configured to receive the one or more containers from the collecting apparatus, wherein the collecting apparatus is robotic arms (Borchard - 140, 142; figs. 8 and 19) or robotic fingers, wherein the gas supply system (Bowden - 150, 160, 170, 180, 190, paragraphs 0086-0087, figs. 11, 14-16; see also #2110, fig. 21, paragraphs 0132-0133; see also #2406, fig. 24, paragraphs 0139-0140; see also #2708 – “injection lines”, figs. 26-27, paragraphs 0143-0144) provides nitrogen and/or other gasses (Bowden - paragraphs 0090, 0102, 0106-0108, 0139, 0159, 0172-0173) to the interior of the partially closed liner of the one or more containers during cooling (Bowden - paragraphs 0163, 0166, 0172; fig. 14 - #220, 240; paragraph 0102) via the vacuum cooling tube, and wherein the gas supply system is configured to provide one or more of a sanitizer or functional substances (Bowden - paragraphs 0090, 0105, 0139, 0159-0160, 0173) along with the modified atmosphere to the interior of the partially closed liner of the one or more containers.
Given the teachings of Borchard, it would have been obvious to modify the conveyor, vacuum cooling tube and gas supply system of Bowden with the collecting apparatus of Borchard. Doing so would allow the film to be better positioned and held so that sealing could be applied in a more standard and uniform manner.
Regarding claim 42, Bowden as modified by Borchard teaches a collecting apparatus (Borchard - 140, 142; figs. 8 and 19) for collecting and pulling together (Borchard - figs. 19A-J, 20A-B) open edges of the liner (Borchard - 92, 96) of the one or more containers as the one or more containers move along the conveyor (Bowden - 102; figs. 9 and 26) from the vacuum cooling tube or the gas supply system, the sealing apparatus (Borchard - 50; 172, 174, 178; paragraphs 0063, 0079-0081) being configured to receive the one or more containers from the collecting apparatus, wherein the collecting apparatus is robotic arms (Borchard - 140, 142; figs. 8 and 19) or robotic fingers, wherein the sealing apparatus is one or more of a heated band sealer, a wide or double seal impulse sealer, or a heat sealer (Borchard - 50; 172, 174, 178; paragraphs 0063, 0079-0081), wherein the gas supply system (Bowden - 150, 160, 170, 180, 190, paragraphs 0086-0087, figs. 11, 14-16; see also #2110, fig. 21, paragraphs 0132-0133; see also #2406, fig. 24, paragraphs 0139-0140; see also #2708 – “injection lines”, figs. 26-27, paragraphs 0143-0144) provides nitrogen and/or other gasses (Bowden - paragraphs 0090, 0102, 0106-0108, 0139, 0159, 0172-0173) to the interior of the partially closed liner of the one or more containers during cooling (Bowden - paragraphs 0163, 0166, 0172; fig. 14 - #220, 240; paragraph 0102) via the vacuum cooling tube, and wherein the gas supply system is configured to provide one or more of a sanitizer or functional substances (Bowden - paragraphs 0090, 0105, 0139, 0159-0160, 0173) along with the modified atmosphere to the interior of the partially closed liner of the one or more containers.
Given the teachings of Borchard, it would have been obvious to modify the conveyor, vacuum cooling tube and gas supply system of Bowden with the collecting apparatus of Borchard. Doing so would allow the film to be better positioned and held so that sealing could be applied in a more standard and uniform manner.
Claim(s) 27-28, 39 and 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bowden (US 2013/0205717 A1) in view of Borchard (US 2006/0048482 A1) in view of Blake et al. (US 6,920,740 B2) hereinafter referred to as Blake.
Regarding claim 27, Bowden discloses one or more containers move along the conveyor from the vacuum cooling tube or the gas supply system, but fails to disclose a collecting apparatus for collecting and pulling together open edges of the liner of the one or more containers as the one or more containers move along the conveyor from the vacuum cooling tube or the gas supply system, the sealing apparatus being configured to receive the one or more containers from the collecting apparatus.
However, Blake teaches a collecting apparatus (48; fig. 5) for collecting and pulling together open edges of the liner (14, 32) of the one or more containers as the one or more containers move along the conveyor (40, 42) from the vacuum cooling tube (64) or the gas supply system, the sealing apparatus being configured to receive the one or more containers from the collecting apparatus (fig. 5; col. 4 lines 1-38).
Given the teachings of Blake, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Bowden to include a collecting apparatus as in Blake. Bowden is concerned with the problem of sealing off the lose end of a liner. Blake teaches how a liner can be gathered up so that a sealing operation may be quickly and efficiently performed.
Regarding claim 28, Bowden as modified by Blake discloses wherein the collecting apparatus (Blake - 48; fig. 5) is a wheel line (Blake – 78, 80 are rollers, i.e. wheels, in a line) that has clips, grabs, hooks, or bars for collecting the open edges of the liner as the one or more containers move along the conveyor (col. 4 lines 17-31).
Regarding claim 39, Bowden discloses wherein the gas supply system (150, 160, 170, 180, 190, paragraphs 0086-0087, figs. 11, 14-16; see also #2110, fig. 21, paragraphs 0132-0133; see also #2406, fig. 24, paragraphs 0139-0140; see also #2708 – “injection lines”, figs. 26-27, paragraphs 0143-0144) provides nitrogen and/or other gasses (paragraphs 0090, 0102, 0106-0108, 0139, 0159, 0172-0173) to the interior of the partially closed liner of the one or more containers during cooling (paragraphs 0163, 0166, 0172; fig. 14 - #220, 240; paragraph 0102) via the vacuum cooling tube, and wherein the gas supply system is configured to provide one or more of a sanitizer or functional substances (paragraphs 0090, 0105, 0139, 0159-0160, 0173) along with the modified atmosphere to the interior of the partially closed liner of the one or more containers.
Bowden fails to disclose a collecting apparatus for collecting and pulling together open edges of the liner of the one or more containers as the one or more containers move along the conveyor from the vacuum cooling tube or the gas supply system, the sealing apparatus being configured to receive the one or more containers from the collecting apparatus, wherein the collecting apparatus is a wheel line that has clips, grabs, hooks, or bars for collecting the open edges of the liner as the one or more containers move along the conveyor.
However, Blake teaches a collecting apparatus (48; fig. 5) for collecting and pulling together open edges of the liner (14, 32) of the one or more containers as the one or more containers move along the conveyor (40, 42) from the vacuum cooling tube (64) or the gas supply system, the sealing apparatus being configured to receive the one or more containers from the collecting apparatus (fig. 5; col. 4 lines 1-38), wherein the collecting apparatus (Blake - 48; fig. 5) is a wheel line (Blake – 78, 80 are rollers, i.e. wheels, in a line) that has clips, grabs, hooks, or bars for collecting the open edges of the liner as the one or more containers move along the conveyor (col. 4 lines 17-31).
Given the teachings of Blake, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Bowden to include a collecting apparatus as in Blake. Bowden is concerned with the problem of sealing off the lose end of a liner. Blake teaches how a liner can be gathered up so that a sealing operation may be quickly and efficiently performed.
Regarding claim 41, Bowden as modified by Borchard discloses wherein the sealing apparatus (Borchard - 50; 172, 174, 178; paragraphs 0063, 0079-0081) is one or more of a heated band sealer, a wide or double seal impulse sealer, or a heat sealer (Borchard - 50; 172, 174, 178; paragraphs 0063, 0079-0081), wherein the gas supply system (Bowden - 150, 160, 170, 180, 190, paragraphs 0086-0087, figs. 11, 14-16; see also #2110, fig. 21, paragraphs 0132-0133; see also #2406, fig. 24, paragraphs 0139-0140; see also #2708 – “injection lines”, figs. 26-27, paragraphs 0143-0144) provides nitrogen and/or other gasses (Bowden - paragraphs 0090, 0102, 0106-0108, 0139, 0159, 0172-0173) to the interior of the partially closed liner of the one or more containers during cooling (Bowden - paragraphs 0163, 0166, 0172; fig. 14 - #220, 240; paragraph 0102) via the vacuum cooling tube, and wherein the gas supply system is configured to provide one or more of a sanitizer or functional substances (Bowden - paragraphs 0090, 0105, 0139, 0159-0160, 0173) along with the modified atmosphere to the interior of the partially closed liner of the one or more containers.
However, Bowden fails to disclose a collecting apparatus for collecting and pulling together open edges of the liner of the one or more containers as the one or more containers move along the conveyor from the vacuum cooling tube or the gas supply system, the sealing apparatus being configured to receive the one or more containers from the collecting apparatus, wherein the collecting apparatus is a wheel line that has clips, grabs, hooks, or bars for collecting the open edges of the liner as the one or more containers move along the conveyor.
However, Blake teaches a collecting apparatus (48; fig. 5) for collecting and pulling together open edges of the liner (14, 32) of the one or more containers as the one or more containers move along the conveyor (40, 42) from the vacuum cooling tube (64) or the gas supply system, the sealing apparatus being configured to receive the one or more containers from the collecting apparatus (fig. 5; col. 4 lines 1-38), wherein the collecting apparatus (Blake - 48; fig. 5) is a wheel line (Blake – 78, 80 are rollers, i.e. wheels, in a line) that has clips, grabs, hooks, or bars for collecting the open edges of the liner as the one or more containers move along the conveyor (col. 4 lines 17-31).
Given the teachings of Blake, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Bowden to include a collecting apparatus as in Blake. Bowden is concerned with the problem of sealing off the lose end of a liner. Blake teaches how a liner can be gathered up so that a sealing operation may be quickly and efficiently performed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Notice of References Cited. The art not relied upon generally pertains to film sealing and atmosphere modification of the package along a conveyor as exemplified by Rundle (US Patent 4,912,913) and Brown et al. (US Patent 5,354,569).
/ANDREW M TECCO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731