DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the instant specification has identified a US Patent application No. 17/625,485 as a parent application, but however, the US Patent application No. 17/625,485 is currently a US Patent. Thus, for a purpose of clarification, it is suggested to amend the instant specification to update the status of the parent application.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites “the first range” in line 7, but however, there is no first range prior to the recitation. Thus, for a purpose of clarification, it is suggested to amend “the first range” in line 7 to “a first range” in line 7. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,267,755 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are within the same scope as set forth below.
Regarding claim 1, although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of the instant application merely broadens the scope of the claim 1 of the U.S. Patent No. 12,267,755 B2 Patent by eliminating the elements and their respective functions of the claims as set forth below.
Claim 1 of Instant application
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,267,755 B2 Patent
A remote services module comprising: a device interface operably coupling the remove services module to: a backbone network comprising an air-to-ground (ATG) network configured to provide backhaul services and network control to operably couple one or more base stations of the backbone network to the Internet, the backbone network operating using first assigned radio frequency (RF) spectrum transmitted from the one or more base stations to communicate with distant aircraft within a first range defined by a communication range of the one or more base stations, and
A system comprising: a backbone network comprising an air-to-ground (ATG) network configured to provide backhaul services and network control to operably couple one or more base stations of the backbone network to the Internet, the backbone network operating using first assigned radio frequency (RF) spectrum transmitted from the one or more base stations to communicate with distant aircraft within a first range defined by a communication range of the one or more base stations;
an antenna assembly disposed at a remote airport to define an airport cell extending beyond the remote airport by a second range defined by a communication range of the antenna assembly that is less than the first range, the antenna assembly being configured to communicate wirelessly with an aircraft located in the airport cell via second assigned RF spectrum that is different than the first assigned RF spectrum, the antenna assembly being operably coupled to the backbone network for backhaul to the Internet by ATG backhaul and network control components common to both the backbone network and the antenna assembly; and
an antenna assembly disposed at a remote airport to define an airport cell extending beyond the remote airport by a second range defined by a communication range of the antenna assembly that is less than the first range, the antenna assembly being configured to communicate wirelessly with an aircraft located in the airport cell via second assigned RF spectrum that is different than the first assigned RF spectrum, the antenna assembly being operably coupled to the backbone network for backhaul to the Internet by ATG backhaul and network control components common to both the backbone network and the antenna assembly; and
processing circuitry operably coupled to the device interface and configuring the remote services module to communicate with the aircraft both in flight and on the ground within the airport cell via Internet connection to the antenna assembly, wherein the processing circuitry further configures the remote services module to provide the aircraft or communication devices thereon with access to obtain airside or landside services associated with the remote airport.
a remote services module accessible by the aircraft both in flight and on the ground within the airport cell via the antenna assembly, the remote services module being operably coupled to the ATG backhaul and network control components via the Internet, wherein the remote services module comprises processing circuitry configuring the remote services module to provide the aircraft or communication devices thereon with access to obtain airside or landside services associated with the remote airport.
In view of the above, it is clear that the conflicting claims are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of the instant application merely broadens the scope of the claim 1 of the U.S. Patent No. 12,267,755 B2 Patent by eliminating the italicized and underlined portions of limitation 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,267,755 B2 Patent’s claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, U.S. Patent No. 12,267,755 B2 Patent further claims wherein a handover of communication between the ATG network and the airport cell is conducted at a boundary of the airport cell (see claim 3).
Regarding claim 3, U.S. Patent No. 12,267,755 B2 Patent further claims wherein the remote airport is an unattended airport, and wherein the remote services module enables a remotely located operator, relative to the unattended airport, to provide tower services to the aircraft via the airport cell (see claim 4).
Regarding claim 4, U.S. Patent No. 12,267,755 B2 Patent further claims wherein the remote airport is an unattended airport, and wherein the remote services module enables a remotely located operator, relative to the unattended airport, to provide instructions to the aircraft for accessing ground based services of the unattended aircraft via the airport cell (see claim 5).
Regarding claim 5, U.S. Patent No. 12,267,755 B2 Patent further claims wherein the remote services module is operably coupled to a sensor network of the remote airport to provide information obtained by the sensor network to the aircraft via the airport cell (see claim 6).
Regarding claim 6, U.S. Patent No. 12,267,755 B2 Patent further claims wherein the information obtained by the sensor network includes weather information, traffic information, parking information, or wake vortex information associated with the remote airport (see claim 7).
Regarding claim 7, U.S. Patent No. 12,267,755 B2 Patent further claims wherein the remote services module is operably coupled to a virtual airport module comprising images, video or models of the remote airport to provide the images, video or models to the aircraft via the airport cell prior to or during takeoff or landing of the aircraft (see claim 8).
Regarding claim 8, U.S. Patent No. 12,267,755 B2 Patent further claims wherein the virtual airport module is accessible via the Internet or an intranet independent of the airport cell, and wherein a pilot of the aircraft is enabled to access the virtual airport module in advance of travel via the Internet independent of the airport cell (see claim 9).
Regarding claim 9, U.S. Patent No. 12,267,755 B2 Patent further claims wherein the virtual airport module is configured to provide an augmented reality view of the remote airport in real time based on position information of the aircraft via the airport cell (see claim 10).
Regarding claim 10, U.S. Patent No. 12,267,755 B2 Patent further claims wherein the remote services module is operably coupled to a scheduling module, and wherein the scheduling module is configured to enable scheduling of an arrival to or departure from the remote airport (see claim 11).
Regarding claim 11, U.S. Patent No. 12,267,755 B2 Patent further claims wherein the remote services module is operably coupled to a scheduling module, and wherein the scheduling module is configured to enable scheduling of services for the aircraft at the remote airport (see claim 12).
Regarding claim 12, U.S. Patent No. 12,267,755 B2 Patent further claims wherein the remote services module is operably coupled to a scheduling module, and wherein the scheduling module is configured to enable scheduling of an operational mode of the remote services module (see claim 13).
Regarding claim 13, U.S. Patent No. 12,267,755 B2 Patent further claims wherein the operational mode is an automated mode via which the remote services module employs programmed rules to interface with the aircraft or communication devices associated therewith (see claim 14).
Regarding claim 14, U.S. Patent No. 12,267,755 B2 Patent further claims wherein the operational mode is an operator controlled mode via which an operator located remotely relative to the remote airport utilizes the remote services module to interface with the aircraft or communication devices associated therewith (see claim 15).
Regarding claim 15, U.S. Patent No. 12,267,755 B2 Patent further claims wherein the remote services module is operably coupled to an external feed module configured to feel data associated with the aircraft to an external entity (see claim 16).
Regarding claim 16, U.S. Patent No. 12,267,755 B2 Patent further claims wherein the remote services module is operably coupled to a plurality of antenna assemblies of a respective plurality of remote airports, and wherein a plurality of instances of the remote services module are employed to interface with groups of airport cells based on traffic volume criteria or geographic criteria (see claims 17 and 18).
Regarding claim 17, U.S. Patent No. 12,267,755 B2 Patent claims a system (see claim 1) comprising:
a backbone network comprising an air-to-ground (ATG) network configured to provide backhaul services and network control to operably couple one or more base stations of the backbone network to the Internet (see claim 1);
an antenna assembly disposed at a remote airport to define an airport cell extending beyond the remote airport by a second range defined by a communication range of the antenna assembly that is less than the first range (see claim 1), the antenna assembly being configured to communicate wirelessly with an aircraft located in the airport cell via separate communication channels, the antenna assembly being operably coupled to the backbone network for backhaul to the Internet by ATG backhaul and network control components common to both the backbone network and the antenna assembly (see claim 1); and
a remote services module accessible by the aircraft both in flight and on the ground within the airport cell via the antenna assembly (see claim 1), the remote services module being operably coupled to the ATG backhaul and network control components via the Internet (see claim 1), wherein the remote services module comprises processing circuitry configuring the remote services module to provide the aircraft or communication devices thereon with access to obtain airside or landside services associated with the remote airport (see claim 1), and
wherein the remote service module coordinates a handover of communication between the ATG network and the airport cell between the separate communication channels at a boundary of the airport cell (see claims 1-3).
In view of the above, it is clear that the conflicting claims are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 17 of the instant application merely broadens the scope of the claim 1 of the U.S. Patent No. 12,267,755 B2 Patent by eliminating portions of U.S. Patent No. 12,267,755 B2 Patent’s claim 1 (...the backbone network operating using first assigned radio frequency (RF) spectrum transmitted from the one or more base stations to communicate with distant aircraft within a first range defined by a communication range of the one or more base stations).
Regarding claim 18, U.S. Patent No. 12,267,755 B2 Patent further claims wherein the remote services module is operably coupled to a sensor network of the remote airport to provide information obtained by the sensor network to the aircraft via the airport cell (see claim 6).
Regarding claim 19, U.S. Patent No. 12,267,755 B2 Patent further claims wherein the information obtained by the sensor network includes weather information, traffic information, parking information, or wake vortex information associated with the remote airport (see claim 7).
Regarding claim 20, U.S. Patent No. 12,267,755 B2 Patent further claims wherein the remote services module is operably coupled to a virtual airport module comprising images, video or models of the remote airport to provide the images, video or models to the aircraft via the airport cell prior to or during takeoff or landing of the aircraft (see claim 8), wherein the virtual airport module is accessible via the Internet or an intranet independent of the airport cell, and wherein a pilot of the aircraft is enabled to access the virtual airport module in advance of travel via the Internet independent of the airport cell (see claim 9).
It has been held that the omission an element and its function is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before. In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184 (CCPA). Also note Ex parte Rainu, 168 USPQ 375 (Bd.App.1969); omission of a reference element whose function is not needed would be obvious to one skilled in the art. Moreover, the doctrine of double patenting seeks to prevent the unjustified extension of patent exclusivity beyond the term of a patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 10-13, 15 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0143405 A1 to Cabos in view of US 2018/0182251 A1 to Burgess et al. (hereafter refers as Burgess) and further in view of US 20060040660 A1 to Cruz et al. (hereafter refers as Cruz).
Regarding claim 1, Cabos teaches a remote services module (flight focus data center 33, Fig. 1-3) comprising:
a device interface (the flight focus data center 33 is configured to communicate with a plurality of devices, Fig. 1-3, thus including a device interface) operably coupling the remove services module to:
a backbone network comprising an air-to-ground (ATG) network (the flight focus data center 33 is coupled with a network of backbone that including at least iridium data center and a plurality of systems, Fig. 1-3, wherein the iridium data center enables a ground to communicate with an aircraft/flight in an air, paragraphs [25-26, 33-34, 36, 46-48, 70-71]) configured to provide backhaul services and network control (provides backhaul service, i.e. provide operation support service for flight(s)/aircraft(s), and a network control to a plurality of systems within the backbone network, paragraphs [26-28, 33-36] and Fig. 1-3) to operably couple one or more stations of the backbone network (to couple one or more stations/systems including the iridium data center, paragraphs [26-26, 33-36, 46-48]) to the Internet (to the Internet, i.e. secure web connection, paragraphs [28, 37] and Fig. 1), the backbone network operating using first assigned radio frequency (RF) spectrum transmitted from the one or more stations to communicate with distant aircraft (wherein the iridium data center is communicate with a distant aircraft via a satellite network communication channel/spectrum, paragraphs [29-30, 32-33] and Fig. 1-3) within a first range defined by a communication range of the one or more stations (wherein the satellite network communication channel/spectrum allow the iridium data center to communicate via a long range, i.e. the range that extended to the flight(s) in the air, Fig. 1-2 and paragraphs [29-30, 32-36]), and
an antenna assembly (antenna 14 and/or antenna 25, Fig. 1) disposed at a remote airport (disposed at airport 35 and airport 36, respectively, Fig. 1 and paragraph [27]) to define an airport cell (wherein the antenna 14 enables communications with aircrafts within the airport 35, Fig. 1 and paragraphs [27-29, 31, 35]) by a second range defined by a communication range of the antenna assembly that is less than the first range (wherein the antenna 14 and/or antenna 25 is able to communicate with aircraft/flight within range/boundary of airport, i.e. Bluetooth channel, thus has a lesser range than the satellite channel, paragraphs [27-28, 31, 33-36]), the antenna assembly being configured to communicate wirelessly with an aircraft located in the airport cell via second assigned RF spectrum that is different than the first assigned RF spectrum (wherein one of the antennas is configured to wirelessly communicates with an aircraft via an Bluetooth communication channel(s), paragraphs [31, 34-35] and Fig. 1), the antenna assembly being operably coupled to the backbone network for backhaul to the Internet by ATG backhaul and network control components common to both the backbone network and the antenna assembly (wherein the antenna 14 is coupled to the network of backbone that including at least iridium data center and a plurality of systems, via the web connection, wherein the backhaul network including a plurality of systems that is used by backbone network and the antenna(s), i.e. airline operations control & other system, Fig. 1-3 and paragraphs [37-38, 49]); and
processing circuitry operably coupled to the device interface and configuring the remote services module (wherein the flight focus data center 33 is configured to perform functions, thus including a processing circuitry, paragraphs [34-35, 45, 64-66]) to communicate with the aircraft both in flight and on the ground within the airport cell via Internet connection to the antenna assembly (communicate with the aircraft/flight both in air and on the ground within the antenna(s) of the airport cell, wherein the flight focus data center is coupled to the backbone that including at least iridium data center and a plurality of systems and the network control components, via the secure web connection to the antenna(s), Fig. 1-3 and paragraphs [34-35, 64-66]),
wherein the processing circuitry further configures the remote services module to provide the aircraft or communication devices thereon with access to obtain airside or landside services associated with the remote airport (to provide aircraft with access to obtain at least landside service(s) and airside, associated with the airport 35, Fig. 1 and paragraphs [34-35, 64-66]).
However, Cabos does not explicitly teach the airport cell “extending beyond” the remote airport.
Burgess teaches a remote services module (air traffic control and/or aircraft communication server, Fig. 3-4B and paragraphs [47-52]) comprising:
a device interface (the computing device to implement the functions of air traffic control and/or aircraft communication server, paragraph [50-51] and Fig. 4A-4B, wherein the computing device includes a network communications interface module 402, Fig. 4A and paragraphs [51, 53]) operably coupling the remove services module to:
a backbone network comprising an air-to-ground (ATG) network (coupled to a backbone network comprising a ground network to communicate to the aircraft in the air, via a big city center, paragraphs [48, 49, 127] and Fig. 8-9B) operably couple one or more stations of the backbone network (coupled to one or more big city center and medium city stations, i.e. air traffic control stations, Fig. 8-9B and paragraphs [48-49, 127-129]) to the Internet (wherein the ground network coupled with the air traffic control and/or aircraft communication server, via the Internet, paragraph [47]), the backbone network operating using first assigned radio frequency (RF) spectrum transmitted from the one or more stations to communicate with distant aircraft (wherein the big city center and/or medium city center use RF carriers/frequencies for communications with an aircraft/flight in the air, paragraphs [161-174] and Fig. 9B) within a first range defined by a communication range of the one or more base stations (wherein the big city center and/or medium city center communicate with the aircraft at higher altitudes and longer range than the airport, Fig. 8-9B and paragraphs [161-174]), and
an antenna assembly disposed at a remote airport (antennas at the airport, i.e. airport tower 810, Fig. 8) to define an airport cell extending beyond the remote airport by a second range (wherein the airport tower 810 is communicates with aircraft while in the airport and after takeoff from the airport, paragraph [129-151] and Fig. 8-9A) defined by a communication range of the antenna assembly that is less than the first range (wherein the airport tower 810 is able to communicate with the aircraft at lower altitude, and is not able to communicate with the aircraft after the aircraft leaving an airport airspace, Fig. 8 and paragraphs [25-26, 129-151] and Fig. 8-9A), the antenna assembly being configured to communicate wirelessly with an aircraft located in the airport cell via second assigned RF spectrum that is different than the first assigned RF spectrum (wherein the airport tower 810 is wirelessly communicate with an aircraft located in the airport cell via the carrier/frequency that is different from the carrier/frequency of the big city center and/or medium city center, paragraphs [129-174] and Fig. 9A-9B); and
processing circuitry operably coupled to the device interface (processor coupled to the network communications interface module 402, Fig. 4A) and configuring the remote services module to communicate with the aircraft both in flight and on the ground within the airport cell via Internet connection to the antenna assembly (communicate with the aircraft both in flight and on the ground within the airport cell via Internet connection to the airport tower 810, paragraphs [129-151]),
wherein the processing circuitry further configures the remote services module to provide the aircraft or communication devices thereon with access to obtain airside or landside services associated with the remote airport (provides to the aircraft an access to airside and landside services associated with the airport, i.e. departure service, landing service and airport weather information, paragraphs [129-151] and Fig. 9A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of the airport cell “extending beyond” the remote airport as taught by Burgess, with the teachings of the airport cell as taught by Cabos, for a purpose of increase safety by ensure that the aircraft is able to communicate with the airport while approaching the airport and while leaving the airport (see Burgess, paragraphs [129-151] and Fig. 9A).
However, the combination of Cabos and Burgess does not explicitly teach the station(s) is a “base” station.
Cruz teaches a backbone network comprising an air-to-ground (ATG) network (ATG network, Fig. 15), one or more base stations of the backbone network (the ATG network comprises one or more BTS/base stations, Fig. 1, 3, 15), the backbone network operating using first assigned radio frequency (RF) spectrum transmitted from the one or more base stations to communicate with distant aircraft (wherein the ATG uses one or more carriers/bands to communicate with distant aircraft, paragraphs [5, 10, 18, 29, 33, 34] and Fig. 3) within a first range defined by a communication range of the one or more stations (wherein the base station of ATG network has a range of 160 to 200 miles, Fig. 4), and
an antenna assembly (antenna of airport cell of Terrestrial network, Fig. 3-4) disposed at a remote airport (disposed at an airport, Fig. 3-4) to define an airport cell (wherein the antenna(s) defines an airport cell, Fig. 3-4) by a second range defined by a communication range of the antenna assembly that is less than the first range (by a second range that is less than the range of base station of ATG network, Fig. 4 and paragraphs [47-49, 66]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of one or more base stations of the backbone network as taught by Cruz, with the teachings of the one or more stations of the backbone network as taught by combination of Cabos and Burgess, for a purpose of increase efficiency in communication with the distant aircraft by simply using the one or more base stations at various location, in the ATG network (see Cruz, paragraphs [33, 34, 47-48, 66] and Fig. 3-4).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Cabos, Burgess and Cruz further teaches wherein a handover of communication between the ATG network and the airport cell is conducted at a boundary of the airport cell (wherein a handover of communication of the aircraft between the network and the airport cell/network is conducted when the aircraft is entering the airport cell/network, see Cabos, paragraphs [34, 65-67], see Burgess, paragraphs [151-155] and Fig. 8-9B, see Cruz, paragraphs [47-48, 66] and Fig. 3-4).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Cabos, Burgess and Cruz further teaches wherein the remote services module is operably coupled to a sensor network of the remote airport to provide information obtained by the sensor network to the aircraft via the airport cell (wherein the computing device/flight focus data center 33 is coupled to a sensor network of the airport to provide weather information and/or sensing information to the aircraft via the airport cell, see Burgess paragraphs [58, 133-134], see Cabos, paragraphs [26, 36, 42, 45, 47, 53]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Cabos, Burgess and Cruz further teaches wherein the information obtained by the sensor network includes weather information (weather information, see Burgess paragraphs [58, 133-134], see Cabos, paragraphs [26, 36, 42, 45, 47, 53]), traffic information (landing and departing runway and all taxiway open, see Burgess, paragraph [134), parking information (all taxiway is open, see Burgess, paragraph [134]), or wake vortex information associated with the remote airport (wind information associated with the airport, see Burgess, paragraph [134]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Cabos, Burgess and Cruz further teaches wherein the remote services module is operably coupled to a scheduling module (the data center is coupled to a flight information service provider, see Cabos, paragraph [61], see Burgess, paragraph [132-134]), and wherein the scheduling module is configured to enable scheduling of an arrival to or departure from the remote airport (providing scheduling of departure and destination points/airports, see Cabos, paragraphs [53, 61, 64-67, 69, 71], see Burgess, paragraph [132-134]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Cabos, Burgess and Cruz further teaches wherein the remote services module is operably coupled to a scheduling module (the data center is coupled to a flight information service provider, see Cabos, paragraph [61], see Burgess, paragraph [132-134]), and wherein the scheduling module is configured to enable scheduling of services for the aircraft at the remote airport (enabling to schedule the departure and arrival of aircrafts at the airport, see Cabos, paragraphs [53, 61, 64-67, 69, 71], see Burgess, paragraph [132-134]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Cabos, Burgess and Cruz further teaches wherein the remote services module is operably coupled to a scheduling module (the data center is coupled to a flight information service provider, see Cabos, paragraph [61], see Burgess, paragraph [132-134]), and wherein the scheduling module is configured to enable scheduling of an operational mode of the remote services module (wherein the flight information service provider schedules the data center to provide operation support to the airports and/or the aircrafts, see Cabos, paragraphs [26-27, 36, 39, 69], see Burgess, paragraph [132-134]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Cabos, Burgess and Cruz further teaches wherein the operational mode is an automated mode (data center is automatically/using program, to operate, see Cabos, paragraphs [44, 71], see Burgess, paragraph [50-51]) via which the remote services module employs programmed rules to interface with the aircraft or communication devices associated therewith (to use programs to provide interface with aircraft, see Cabos, paragraphs [26-27, 36, 39, 69], see Burgess, paragraphs [48, 49, 127] and Fig. 8-9B).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Cabos, Burgess and Cruz further teaches wherein the remote services module is operably coupled to an external feed module (wherein the data center 33 is coupled to interface to communicate with external entity, i.e. www secure web/internet, see Cabos, Fig. 1) configured to feel data associated with the aircraft to an external entity (to feed data of aircraft to airline 40, see Cabos, paragraph [70], see Burgess, paragraphs [193-195]).
Regarding claim 17, Cabos teaches a system (a flight information system, Fig. 1-3) comprising:
a backbone network comprising an air-to-ground (ATG) network (a network of backbone that including at least iridium data center and a plurality of systems, Fig. 1-3, wherein the iridium data center enables a ground to communicate with an aircraft/flight in an air, paragraphs [25-26, 33-34, 36, 46-48, 70-71]) configured to provide backhaul services and network control (provides backhaul service, i.e. provide operation support service for flight(s)/aircraft(s), and a network control to a plurality of systems within the backbone network, paragraphs [26-28, 33-36] and Fig. 1-3) to operably couple one or more stations of the backbone network (to couple one or more stations/systems including the iridium data center, paragraphs [26-26, 33-36, 46-48]) to the Internet (to the Internet, i.e. secure web connection, paragraphs [28, 37] and Fig. 1);
an antenna assembly (antenna 14 and/or antenna 25, Fig. 1) disposed at a remote airport (disposed at airport 35 and airport 36, respectively, Fig. 1 and paragraph [27]) to define an airport cell (wherein the antenna 14 enables communications with aircrafts within the airport 35, Fig. 1 and paragraphs [27-29, 31, 35]) by a second range defined by a communication range of the antenna assembly that is less than the first range (wherein the antenna 14 and/or antenna 25 is able to communicate with aircraft/flight within range/boundary of airport, i.e. Bluetooth channel, thus has a lesser range than a satellite channel, paragraphs [27-28, 31, 33-36]), the antenna assembly being configured to communicate wirelessly with an aircraft located in the airport cell via separate communication channels (wherein one of the antennas is configured to wirelessly communicates with an aircraft via an Bluetooth communication channel(s), paragraphs [31, 34-35] and Fig. 1), the antenna assembly being operably coupled to the backbone network for backhaul to the Internet by ATG backhaul and network control components common to both the backbone network and the antenna assembly (wherein the antenna 14 is coupled to the network of backbone that including at least iridium data center and a plurality of systems, via the web connection, wherein the backhaul network including a plurality of systems that is used by backbone network and the antenna(s), i.e. airline operations control & other system, Fig. 1-3 and paragraphs [37-38, 49]); and
a remote services module (flight focus data center 33, Fig. 1-3) accessible by the aircraft both in flight and on the ground within the airport cell via the antenna assembly, the remote services module being operably coupled to the ATG backhaul and network control components via the Internet (communicate with the aircraft/flight both in air and on the ground within the antenna(s) of the airport cell, wherein the flight focus data center is coupled to the backbone that including at least iridium data center and a plurality of systems and the network control components, via the secure web connection to the antenna(s), Fig. 1-3 and paragraphs [34-35, 64-66]),
wherein the remote services module comprises processing circuitry configuring the remote services module (wherein the flight focus data center 33 is configured to perform functions, thus including a processing circuitry, paragraphs [34-35, 45, 64-66]) to provide the aircraft or communication devices thereon with access to obtain airside or landside services associated with the remote airport (to provide aircraft with access to obtain at least landside service(s) and airside, associated with the airport 35, Fig. 1 and paragraphs [34-35, 64-66]),
wherein the remote service module coordinates communication between the ATG network and the airport cell between the separate communication channels at a boundary of the airport cell (wherein the flight focus data center is communicates with the aircraft via ATG network when the aircraft is outside of the airport cell and communicates with the aircraft via the antenna of airport cell, when the aircraft is within a boundary of the airport cell, via the separate communication channels, paragraphs [31-34, 63, 66]).
However, Cabos does not explicitly teach the airport cell “extending beyond” the remote airport and wherein the remote service module “coordinates a handover of communication”.
Burgess teaches a system (a flight data network 300, Fig. 3) comprising:
a backbone network comprising an air-to-ground (ATG) network (a network of backbone comprising a ground network to communicate to the aircraft in the air, via a big city center, paragraphs [48, 49, 127] and Fig. 8-9B) configured to provide backhaul services and network control (provides backhaul service, i.e. provide operation support service for flight(s)/aircraft(s), and a network control to a plurality of systems within the backbone network, paragraphs [26-28, 33-36] and Fig. 1-3) to operably couple one or more stations of the backbone network (coupled to one or more big city center and medium city stations, i.e. air traffic control stations, Fig. 8-9B and paragraphs [48-49, 127-129]) to the Internet (wherein the ground network coupled with the air traffic control and/or aircraft communication server, via the Internet, paragraph [47]);
an antenna assembly (antennas at the airport, i.e. airport tower 810, Fig. 8) disposed at a remote airport to define an airport cell extending beyond the remote airport by a second range (wherein the airport tower 810 is communicates with aircraft while in the airport and after takeoff from the airport, paragraph [129-151] and Fig. 8-9A) defined by a communication range of the antenna assembly that is less than the first range (wherein the airport tower 810 is able to communicate with the aircraft at lower altitude, and is not able to communicate with the aircraft after the aircraft leaving an airport airspace, Fig. 8 and paragraphs [25-26, 129-151] and Fig. 8-9A), the antenna assembly being configured to communicate wirelessly with an aircraft located in the airport cell via separate communication channels (wherein the airport tower 810 is wirelessly communicate with an aircraft located in the airport cell via the carrier/frequency that is different from the carrier/frequency of the big city center and/or medium city center, paragraphs [129-174] and Fig. 9A-9B); and
a remote services module (air traffic control and/or aircraft communication server, Fig. 3-4B and paragraphs [47-52]) accessible by the aircraft both in flight and on the ground within the airport cell via the antenna assembly, the remote services module being operably coupled to the ATG backhaul and network control components via the Internet (communicate with the aircraft both in flight and on the ground within the airport cell via Internet connection to the airport tower 810, paragraphs [129-151]),
wherein the remote services module comprises processing circuitry configuring the remote services module to provide the aircraft or communication devices thereon with access to obtain airside or landside services associated with the remote airport (provides to the aircraft an access to airside and landside services associated with the airport, i.e. departure service, landing service and airport weather information, paragraphs [129-151] and Fig. 9A), and
wherein the remote service module coordinates a handover of communication between the ATG network and the airport cell between the separate communication channels at a boundary of the airport cell (wherein the air traffic control and/or aircraft communication server, provides handover information between the big city departure/ bit city center and the airport tower 810, via separate communications at a boundary of the airport cell of the airport tower 810, Fig. 9A-9B and paragraphs [144-154, 173-175, 184-190]).
therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of the airport cell “extending beyond” the remote airport and wherein the remote service module coordinates a handover of communication between the ATG network and the airport cell between the separate communication channels at a boundary of the airport cell as taught by Burgess, with the teachings of the airport cell as taught by Cabos, for a purpose of increase safety by ensure that the aircraft is able to communicate with the airport while approaching the airport and while leaving the airport and maintaining the communications with the aircraft throughout the flight (see Burgess, paragraphs [129-154, 173-175, 184-191] and Fig. 9A-9B).
However, the combination of Cabos and Burgess does not explicitly teach the station(s) is a “base” station.
Cruz teaches a system (a flight data communication system, Fig. 1-3, 15) comprising:
a backbone network comprising an air-to-ground (ATG) network (ATG network, Fig. 15), one or more base stations of the backbone network (the ATG network comprises one or more BTS/base stations, Fig. 1, 3, 15), and
an antenna assembly (antenna of airport cell of Terrestrial network, Fig. 3-4) disposed at a remote airport (disposed at an airport, Fig. 3-4) to define an airport cell (wherein the antenna(s) defines an airport cell, Fig. 3-4) by a second range defined by a communication range of the antenna assembly that is less than the first range (by a second range that is less than the range of base station of ATG network, Fig. 4 and paragraphs [47-49, 66]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of one or more base stations of the backbone network as taught by Cruz, with the teachings of the one or more stations of the backbone network as taught by combination of Cabos and Burgess, for a purpose of increase efficiency in communication with the distant aircraft by simply using the one or more base stations at various location, in the ATG network (see Cruz, paragraphs [33, 34, 47-48, 66] and Fig. 3-4).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Cabos, Burgess and Cruz further teaches wherein the remote services module is operably coupled to a sensor network of the remote airport to provide information obtained by the sensor network to the aircraft via the airport cell (wherein the computing device/flight focus data center 33 is coupled to a sensor network of the airport to provide weather information and/or sensing information to the aircraft via the airport cell, see Burgess paragraphs [58, 133-134], see Cabos, paragraphs [26, 36, 42, 45, 47, 53]).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Cabos, Burgess and Cruz further teaches wherein the information obtained by the sensor network includes weather information (weather information, see Burgess paragraphs [58, 133-134], see Cabos, paragraphs [26, 36, 42, 45, 47, 53]), traffic information (landing and departing runway and all taxiway open, see Burgess, paragraph [134), parking information (all taxiway is open, see Burgess, paragraph [134]), or wake vortex information associated with the remote airport (wind information associated with the airport, see Burgess, paragraph [134]).
Claims 3-4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0143405 A1 to Cabos in view of US 2018/0182251 A1 to Burgess et al. (hereafter refers as Burgess) and further in view of US 20060040660 A1 to Cruz et al. (hereafter refers as Cruz) as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 2020/0043347 A1 to Wartofsky.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Cabos, Burgess and Cruz further teaches herein the remote airport is an unattended airport (an airport is an uncontrolled airport, see Burgess, Fig. 6 and paragraphs [80-82, 95-97, 106-110]).
However, the combination of Cabos, Burgess and Cruz does not explicitly teach wherein the remote services module “enables a remotely located operator, relative to the unattended airport, to provide tower services to the aircraft via the airport cell”.
Wartofsky teaches a remote airport is an unattended airport (a remote airport is a non-towered airport with a monitored airspace, Fig. 7 and paragraphs [42, 60-61]), and a remote services module (air-traffic advisory system 100, Fig. 1) enables a remotely located operator (air-traffic advisory system 100 enabling an operator/air traffic controller remotely from the non-towered airport, Fig. 1, and paragraphs [2, 43, 65, 68]), relative to the unattended airport, to provide tower services to the aircraft via the airport cell (to provide tower services to the aircraft, i.e. location and status of the aircraft, by the operator/air traffic controller remoted from the non-towered airport, via the airport cell/network of the non-towered airport, i.e. Fig. 7, airport cell 778, paragraphs [43, 60-61, 65, 68]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of wherein the remote airport is the unattended airport, and wherein the remote services module enables a remotely located operator, relative to the unattended airport, to provide tower services to the aircraft via the airport cell as taught by Warsofsky, with the teachings of combination of Cabos, Burgess and Cruz, for a purpose of enabling the teachings to be compatible with the non-towered airport/unattended airport by providing tower services to the aircraft via the airport cell (see Warsofsky, abstract and paragraphs [41-43, 60-61] and Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Cabos, Burgess and Cruz further teaches herein the remote airport is an unattended airport (an airport is an uncontrolled airport, see Burgess, Fig. 6 and paragraphs [80-82, 95-97, 106-110]).
However, the combination of Cabos, Burgess and Cruz does not explicitly teach wherein the remote services module enables “a remotely located operator, relative to the unattended airport, to provide instructions to the aircraft for accessing ground based services of the unattended aircraft via the airport cell”.
Wartofsky teaches a remote airport is an unattended airport (a remote airport is a non-towered airport with a monitored airspace, Fig. 7 and paragraphs [42, 60-61]), and
wherein the remote services module (air-traffic advisory system 100, Fig. 1) enables a remotely located operator (air-traffic advisory system 100 enabling an operator/air traffic controller remotely from the non-towered airport, Fig. 1, and paragraphs [2, 43, 68]), relative to the unattended airport, to provide instructions to the aircraft for accessing ground based services of the unattended aircraft via the airport cell (to provide tower services to the aircraft for accessing ground based service(s), i.e. traffic(s) around the non-towered airport, remotely from the non-towered airport, via the airport cell/network of the non-towered airport, i.e. Fig. 7, airport cell 778, paragraphs [43, 60-61, 65-68]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of wherein the remote airport is the unattended airport, and wherein the remote services module enables a remotely located operator, relative to the unattended airport, to provide tower services to the aircraft via the airport cell as taught by Warsofsky, with the teachings of combination of Cabos, Burgess and Cruz, for a purpose of enabling the teachings to be compatible with the non-towered airport/unattended airport by providing tower services to the aircraft via the airport cell (see Warsofsky, abstract and paragraphs [41-43, 60-61] and Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Cabos, Burgess and Cruz does not explicitly teach wherein the operational mode is an “operator controlled mode via which an operator located remotely relative to the remote airport utilizes the remote services module to interface with the aircraft or communication devices associated therewith”.
Wartofsky teaches an operational mode is an operator controlled mode (air-traffic advisory system uses operational mode to allow operator/air traffic controller to interface with aircraft at a remote airport, paragraphs [2, 43, 65, 68]) via which an operator located remotely relative to the remote airport (an operator/air traffic controller remotely from the non-towered airport, Fig. 1, and paragraphs [2, 43, 65, 68]) utilizes the remote services module to interface with the aircraft or communication devices associated therewith (uses the air-traffic advisory system 100, to interface/communicate with aircraft, paragraphs [43, 60-61, 65, 68]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of wherein the operational mode is an operator controlled mode via which an operator located remotely relative to the remote airport utilizes the remote services module to interface with the aircraft or communication devices associated therewith as taught by Wartofsky, with the teachings of combination of Cabos, Burgess and Cruz, for a purpose of increase safety for the aircrafts within the remote airport by enabling the operator located remotely relative to the remote airport to provide airport services (see Wartofsky, paragraphs [42, 51, 56, 61]).
Claims 7-9 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0143405 A1 to Cabos in view of US 2018/0182251 A1 to Burgess et al. (hereafter refers as Burgess) and further in view of US 20060040660 A1 to Cruz et al. (hereafter refers as Cruz) as applied to claims above, and further in view of US Patent No. 6,359,583 B1 to Shamee and in view of US Patent No. 6,269,309 B1 to Buckingham.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Cabos, Burgess and Cruz does not explicitly teach “a virtual airport module comprising images, video or models of the remote airport to provide the images, video or models to the aircraft via the airport cell prior to or during takeoff or landing of the aircraft”.
Shamee teaches a remote services module (a hub computer 80, Fig. 10-12) is operably coupled to a virtual airport module (ground station 18 at an airport, Fig. 2 and col. 4, lines 10-20) comprising images or models of the remote airport to provide the images, video or models to the aircraft (wherein the ground station 18 is configured to obtains images and layouts of an airport and to provide the images of the airport to the aircrafts that entering the airport, col. 4, lines 10-22, lines 40-60) via the airport cell (via the ground station located at the airport, Fig. 2) prior to or during takeoff or landing of the aircraft (prior to or during landing of the aircraft, col. 4, lines 40-65).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of operably coupled to a virtual airport module comprising images, video or models of the remote airport to provide the images, video or models to the aircraft via the airport cell prior to or during takeoff or landing of the aircraft as taught by Shamee, with the teachings of combination of Cabos, Burgess and Cruz, for a purpose of aiding a pilot in landing and taxing in poor visibility conditions such as rain, fog, darkness or etc... (see Shamee, col. 4, lines 10-22).
However, the combination of Cabos, Burgess, Cruz and Shamee does not explicitly teach wherein the remote service module “operably coupled” to the virtual airport module.
Buckingham teaches a remote service module (a hub computer 80, Fig. 10-12) operably coupled to a virtual airport module (wherein the hub computer 80 is coupled to an image collection module, Fig. 10, including at least one camera 10, Fig. 1 and 11, col. 4, lines 20-45, col. 5, line 45 – col. 6, line 30) comprising images, video or models of the remote airport to provide the images, video or models to the aircraft (wherein the image collection module provides images, video and layout of a remote airport to an aircraft, via ground base station, Fig. 9 and col. 4, lines 4-60, col. 8, lines 35-40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of a remote service module operably coupled to a virtual airport module comprising images, video or models of the remote airport to provide the images, video or models to the aircraft as taught by Buckingham, with the teachings of combination of Cabos, Burgess, Cruz and Shamee, for a purpose of providing the images, video or models of the remote airport to different users and pilot in advance (see Buckingham, col. 7, lines 40-55, col. 8, lines 35-40).
Regarding claim 8, Buckingham further teaches wherein the virtual airport module is accessible via the Internet or an intranet independent of the airport cell (wherein the image collection module provides images, video and layout of a remote airport to user and/or pilot directly from an Internet, Fig. 10, 11, abstract and col. 6, lines 5-20, col. 8, lines 35-40), and
wherein a pilot of the aircraft is enabled to access the virtual airport module in advance of travel via the Internet independent of the airport cell (wherein a pilot of the aircraft is able to access the images, videos or layout(s) of the airport while in a pilot lounge or at user’s home, via the Internet, col. 7, line 40 – col. 8, line 40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of wherein the virtual airport module is accessible via the Internet or an intranet independent of the airport cell, and wherein a pilot of the aircraft is enabled to access the virtual airport module in advance of travel via the Internet independent of the airport cell as taught by Buckingham, with the teachings of combination of Cabos, Burgess, Cruz and Shamee, for a purpose of providing the images, video or models of the remote airport to different users and pilot via the Internet independent of the airport cell (see Buckingham, col. 7, lines 40-55, col. 8, lines 35-40).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Cabos, Burgess, Cruz, Shamee and Buckingham further teaches wherein the virtual airport module is configured to provide an augmented reality view of the remote airport (providing a reality view of the airport, see Buckingham, Fig. 3-5) in real time (in real time, see Buckingham, abstract and col. 1, lines 20-30, col. 2, lines 62-67) based on position information of the aircraft (when the aircraft is approaching a destination or while airborne, see Buckingham, col. 7, lines 50-55, see Shamee, col. 4, lines 10-22, lines 40-60) via the airport cell (via the ground station located at the airport, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Cabos, Burgess and Cruz does not explicitly teach “a virtual airport module comprising images, video or models of the remote airport to provide the images, video or models to the aircraft via the airport cell prior to or during takeoff or landing of the aircraft”.
Shamee teaches a remote services module (a hub computer 80, Fig. 10-12) is operably coupled to a virtual airport module (ground station 18 at an airport, Fig. 2 and col. 4, lines 10-20) comprising images or models of the remote airport to provide the images, video or models to the aircraft (wherein the ground station 18 is configured to obtains images and layouts of an airport and to provide the images of the airport to the aircrafts that entering the airport, col. 4, lines 10-22, lines 40-60) via the airport cell (via the ground station located at the airport, Fig. 2) prior to or during takeoff or landing of the aircraft (prior to or during landing of the aircraft, col. 4, lines 40-65).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of operably coupled to a virtual airport module comprising images, video or models of the remote airport to provide the images, video or models to the aircraft via the airport cell prior to or during takeoff or landing of the aircraft as taught by Shamee, with the teachings of combination of Cabos, Burgess and Cruz, for a purpose of aiding a pilot in landing and taxing in poor visibility conditions such as rain, fog, darkness or etc... (see Shamee, col. 4, lines 10-22).
However, the combination of Cabos, Burgess, Cruz and Shamee does not explicitly teach wherein the remote service module “operably coupled” to the virtual airport module and wherein the virtual airport module is “accessible via the Internet or an intranet independent of the airport cell and wherein a pilot of the aircraft is enabled to access the virtual airport module in advance of travel via the Internet independent of the airport cell”.
Buckingham teaches a remote service module (a hub computer 80, Fig. 10-12) operably coupled to a virtual airport module (wherein the hub computer 80 is coupled to an image collection module, Fig. 10, including at least one camera 10, Fig. 1 and 11, col. 4, lines 20-45, col. 5, line 45 – col. 6, line 30) comprising images, video or models of the remote airport to provide the images, video or models to the aircraft (wherein the image collection module provides images, video and layout of a remote airport to an aircraft, via ground base station, Fig. 9 and col. 4, lines 4-60, col. 8, lines 35-40),
wherein the virtual airport module is accessible via the Internet or an intranet independent of the airport cell (wherein the image collection module provides images, video and layout of a remote airport to user and/or pilot directly from an Internet, Fig. 10, 11, abstract and col. 6, lines 5-20, col. 8, lines 35-40), and
wherein a pilot of the aircraft is enabled to access the virtual airport module in advance of travel via the Internet independent of the airport cell (wherein a pilot of the aircraft is able to access the images, videos or layout(s) of the airport while in a pilot lounge or at user’s home, via the Internet, col. 7, line 40 – col. 8, line 40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of a remote service module operably coupled to a virtual airport module comprising images, video or models of the remote airport to provide the images, video or models to the aircraft as taught by Buckingham, with the teachings of combination of Cabos, Burgess, Cruz and Shamee, for a purpose of providing the images, video or models of the remote airport to different users and pilot in advance (see Buckingham, col. 7, lines 40-55, col. 8, lines 35-40) while providing the images, video or models of the remote airport to different users and pilot via the Internet independent of the airport cell (see Buckingham, col. 7, lines 40-55, col. 8, lines 35-40).
Claims 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0143405 A1 to Cabos in view of US 2018/0182251 A1 to Burgess et al. (hereafter refers as Burgess) and further in view of US 20060040660 A1 to Cruz et al. (hereafter refers as Cruz) as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 2015/0156601 A1 to Donnellan et al. (hereafter refers as Donnellan).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Cabos, Burgess and Cruz further teaches wherein the remote services module is operably coupled to a plurality of antenna assemblies of a respective plurality of remote airports (the data center is coupled to a plurality of antennas of a respective plurality of remote airports, see Cabos, Fig. 1, see Burgess, Fig. 7-9B).
However, the combination of Cabos, Burgess and Cruz does not explicitly teach wherein a “plurality of instances” of the remote services module are employed to interface with groups of airport cells “based on traffic volume criteria”.
Donnellan teaches a plurality of instances of the module are employed to interface with groups based on traffic volume criteria (a plurality of instances of servers are employed to provide service based on expected traffic volume, paragraph [17]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of a plurality of instances of the module are employed to interface with groups based on traffic volume criteria as taught by Donnellan, with the teachings of combination of Cabos, Burgess and Cruz, for a purpose of increase efficiency in providing services when the traffic volume is high, by providing a plurality of instances of the remote service module based on traffic volume criteria (see Donnellan, paragraph [17]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2020/0378791 discloses provides a real-time IR images of an approaching runway area (See paragraph [26]).
US 2019/0190410 discloses V2V communication between each aircraft (See paragraph [60]).
US 2018/0241463 discloses ground cell communication with airport cell (see Fig. 1).
/DUNG B HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469 September 30, 2026