DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment and/or arguments submitted on 02/03/20226 is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claims 1-20 are pending:
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and/or amendments, with respect to Double Patenting have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Double Patenting of record has been withdrawn.
Rejection of record overcome via amendment.
Applicant’s arguments and/or amendments, with respect to 35 USC 102 and 103 art rejections based on Hall (US 9,925,862) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC 102 and 103 art rejections of record has been withdrawn.
In particular, applicant’s amendments to the independent claims overcome the application of Hall of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hall (US 9,925,862) in view of Chen (JP 2022-57899).
Claim 1
Hall discloses:
“An extraction impeller (Fig7/8, wheel 60) for an axial compressor (Fig6, compressor 16), the extraction impeller comprising:
a body having a rotation axis and a surface perpendicular to the rotation axis (Fig7/8, body 64 of wheel 60 has central rotation axis arranged in the vertical direction with radial surfaces shown perpendicular to rotation axis); and
a plurality of first vanes having an elongated S-shape arranged on the surface (Fig7, primary blades 65), the plurality of first vanes extending radially from an outer flow inlet edge of the body to a flow outlet hub centered on the surface at the rotation axis (Fig6-8, blade 65 extension shown in the flow context of compressor 16), wherein a radially inner end of each of the plurality of first vanes connect at the flow outlet hub in a direction perpendicular to the rotation axis (Fig7-8, blades 65 radially connect to central hub 64 of wheel 60 in the radial direction), …;
wherein the flow outlet hub centered on the surface at the rotation axis has a multi-pointed star shape with each point thereof coupled to the radial inner end of a respective first vane of the plurality of first vanes (best seen Fig7, shape of blades 65 shows a multi-pointed star arrangement).”
Hall is silent to the first vane distal ends being coplanar as claimed.
Chen teaches (Fig3, impeller 1, base 3, vanes 12/11; Claim 3) that it is known in the art to form an impeller 1 to have coplanar flat airfoil surfaces 11/12 as shown by the contact between base 3 and vanes 11/12 in the shown assembled state. Chen further teaches (Background) that the impeller structure provides the advantage of improved performance while not increasing sound production.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the impeller of Hall to have coplanar distal ends of the vanes as taught by Chen, as such a modification would the advantage of improved performance while not increasing sound production, and the resulting arrangement has the reasonable expectation of successfully providing Hall with improved performance while not increasing sound production based on the modifications from Chen.
Claim 2
The modified arrangement of Hall by the teachings of Chen discloses: “The extraction impeller of claim 1, further comprising a plurality of second vanes arranged on the surface (Hall: Fig7/8, secondary blades 66), wherein at least one of the plurality of second vanes is disposed between adjacent first vanes (Hall: arrangement best seen Fig7/8).”
Claim 11
Hall discloses:
“A compressor wheel (Fig7/8, wheel 60) for an axial compressor (Fig5, compressor 16), the compressor wheel comprising:
a wheel body (Fig7/8, body 64 of wheel 60) for coupling to a rotor (Fig6, rotor shaft 42);
a plurality of rotating blades coupled to the main wheel body for compressing air flow in a compressed air passage (Fig6-8, compressor wheel 60 body 64 coupled to primary blades 65 and secondary blades 66); and
an extraction impeller coupled to the wheel body (Fig7/8, wheel 60) and in fluid communication with the compressed air passage (Fig6 shows fluid communication arrangement), the extraction impeller including:
an impeller body having a rotation axis and a surface perpendicular to the rotation axis (Fig7/8, body 64 of wheel 60 has central rotation axis arranged in the vertical direction with radial surfaces shown perpendicular to rotation axis); and
a plurality of first vanes having an elongated S-shape arranged on the surface (Fig7, primary blades 65), the plurality of first vanes extending radially from an outer flow inlet edge of the impeller body to a flow outlet hub centered on the surface at the rotation axis (Fig6-8, blade 65 extension shown in the flow context of compressor 16),
wherein a radially inner end of each of the plurality of first vanes connect at the flow outlet hub in a direction perpendicular to the rotation axis (Fig7-8, blades 65 radially connect to central hub 64 of wheel 60 in the radial direction), … , and
wherein the flow outlet hub centered on the surface at the rotation axis has a multi-pointed star shape with each point thereof coupled to the radial inner end of a respective first vane of the plurality of first vanes (best seen Fig7, shape of blades 65 shows a multi-pointed star arrangement).”
Hall is silent to the first vane distal ends being coplanar as claimed.
Chen teaches (Fig3, impeller 1, base 3, vanes 12/11; Claim 3) that it is known in the art to form an impeller 1 to have coplanar flat airfoil surfaces 11/12 as shown by the contact between base 3 and vanes 11/12 in the shown assembled state. Chen further teaches (Background) that the impeller structure provides the advantage of improved performance while not increasing sound production.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the impeller of Hall to have coplanar distal ends of the vanes as taught by Chen, as such a modification would the advantage of improved performance while not increasing sound production, and the resulting arrangement has the reasonable expectation of successfully providing Hall with improved performance while not increasing sound production based on the modifications from Chen.
Claim 12
The modified arrangement of Hall by the teachings of Chen discloses: “The compressor wheel of claim 11, further comprising a plurality of second vanes arranged on the surface (Hall: Fig7/8, secondary blades 66), wherein at least one of the plurality of second vanes is disposed between adjacent first vanes (Hall: arrangement best seen Fig7/8).”
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bintz (US 2019/0195127) in view of Hall (US 9,925,862) and Chen (JP 2022-57899)
Claim 20
Bintz discloses:
“A gas turbine system (Fig1, gas turbine 20), comprising:
an axial compressor including the compressor wheel (impeller 208 wheel, best seen Fig2) …;
a combustor (Fig1, combustor section 26) operatively coupled to the axial compressor (best seen Fig1/2, combustor 26 is coupled to impeller 208 at outlet region 108); and
a gas turbine operatively coupled to the combustor (Fig1).”
Bintz is silent to the impeller wheel having the features as claimed in claim 11.
The modified arrangement of Hall by the teachings of Chen as applied in claim 11 above teaches that it is known in the art to form an impeller with vane structure as discussed in claim 11 above. For ease of readability, please refer to the discussion in claim 11 above.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform the simple substitution of the impeller structure as taught by Hall into the impeller wheel of the gas turbine of Bintz, as such a modification would merely be the simple substitution of one known in the art impeller vane structure arrangement for another, and the resulting arrangement has the reasonable expectation of successfully providing an equally well performing gas turbine with an alternative known in the art impeller wheel structural arrangement.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3-10, 13-19 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 3
The prior art of record fails to anticipate or render obvious the limitations of the claim, and in particular the limitations of claim 1+2+3 in combination.
Claim 13
The prior art of record fails to anticipate or render obvious the limitations of the claim, and in particular the limitations of claim 11+12+13 in combination.
Claims 4-10, 14-19 would be allowable over art based on dependency.
Conclusion
/JOHN S HUNTER, JR/Examiner, Art Unit 3761