DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-28 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim is directed to a "computer readable storage medium." It is believed that such a "medium" would reasonably be interpreted by one of ordinary skill as the abstract idea of any portion of a communication, including the forms of energy, per se, used in communications. Therefore, the claim in question does not appear to fall within a statutory category of invention as set forth in 35 U.S.C. 101. It is recommended that the claim be amended to recite a “non-transitory computer readable storage medium” or the like.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10, 17, 22, and 25-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McErlane et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2018/0027018), hereinafter referred to as McErlane, in view of Anand et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2014/0018048), hereinafter referred to as Anand.
McErlane disclosed techniques for managing a restricted ecosystem of software applications. In an analogous art, Anand disclosed techniques for coordinating data sharing among applications. Both systems are directed toward the management of data sharing among software applications.
Regarding claim 1, McErlane discloses a method, comprising: at a computer system with one or more input devices and one or more output generation components: detecting, via the one or more input devices, one or more inputs corresponding to a request from outside of a first application to access content corresponding to the first application (paragraph 68, apps pass context or content data when switching); and in response to detecting the request to access the content corresponding to the first application: in accordance with a determination that the first application is in a locked state: requesting authentication information from a user of the computer system; and in response to receiving, via the one or more input devices, the authentication information and in accordance with a determination that the received authentication information is consistent with authorized authentication information, allowing access to the content corresponding to the first application (paragraph 72, authenticates user based on credentials); and in accordance with a determination that the first application is in an unlocked state, allowing access to the content corresponding to the first application without requesting the authentication information from the user of the computer system (paragraph 72, uses credentials to log into target app).
McErlane does not explicitly state allowing access to the content corresponding to the first application without opening the first application. However, coordinating data sharing in such a fashion was well known in the art as evidenced by Anand. Since the inventions encompass the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of McErlane by adding the ability for allowing access to the content corresponding to the first application without opening the first application as provided by Anand (see paragraph 28, first application runs and accesses data of second application). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit that managing data access in this way would assist in enabling applications to directly communicate with each other (see Anand, paragraph 4).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of McErlane and Anand discloses wherein the authentication information comprises biometric information from the user of the computer system (McErlane, paragraph 74, biometric authentication).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of McErlane and Anand discloses, prior to detecting the one or more inputs corresponding to the request to access the content corresponding to the first application, causing presentation, via the one or more output generation components, of a notification from the first application; and wherein the request to access the content corresponding to the first application comprises a user input corresponding to selection of the notification (McErlane, paragraph 54, prompts user for credentials).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of McErlane and Anand discloses wherein the notification includes a subset of notification information from the first application without including other notification information from the first application (Anand, paragraph 27, application reads attribute X differently based on permissions).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of McErlane and Anand discloses wherein: the notification is presented with one or more attributes; in accordance with a determination that the first application is in the unlocked state, the notification is presented with a first set of values for the one or more attributes, the first set of values corresponding to the first application; and in accordance with a determination that the first application is in the locked state, the notification is presented with a set of default values, wherein the set of default values are different than the first set of values (Anand, paragraph 27, application reads attribute X differently based on permissions).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of McErlane and Anand discloses wherein the content corresponding to the first application comprises a file folder (McErlane, paragraph 110, content stored in single repository).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of McErlane and Anand discloses wherein the one or more inputs corresponding to the request to access the content corresponding to the first application corresponds to a request to display a sharing user interface of a second application, and wherein the content corresponding to the first application comprises contact information for one or more potential recipients of shared information (McErlane, paragraph 51, interface for controlling apps).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of McErlane and Anand discloses, in response to receiving, via the one or more input devices, the authentication information and in accordance with a determination that the received authentication information is inconsistent with the authorized authentication information, causing display, via the one or more output generation components, of a user interface that includes an option to retry authentication of the user (McErlane, paragraph 73, requires reauthentication at different security level).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of McErlane and Anand discloses wherein the first application is a files application configured to manage files of one or more other applications, including a third application; and the method further comprises: detecting, via the one or more input devices, one or more inputs corresponding to a second request from within the third application to access one or more files of the third application; and in response to detecting the one or more inputs corresponding to the second request, allowing access to the one or more files of the third application regardless of whether the first application is in the locked state (McErlane, paragraph 110, briefcase for managing content).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of McErlane and Anand discloses wherein the one or more inputs corresponding to the request to access the content corresponding to the first application is a request generated using a digital assistant executing at least in part on the computer system (McErlane, paragraph 3, personal digital assistant).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of McErlane and Anand discloses after authenticating the user, detecting, via the one or more input devices, one or more inputs corresponding to a third request to access the content corresponding to the first application; and in response to detecting the one or more inputs corresponding to the third request: in accordance with a determination that less than a threshold amount of time has passed since authenticating the user, allowing access to the content corresponding to the first application without requesting additional authentication information from the user; and in accordance with a determination that more than the threshold amount of time has passed since authenticating the user: requesting second authentication information from the user; and in response to receiving, via the one or more input devices, the second authentication information and in accordance with a determination that the second authentication information is consistent with authorized authentication information, allowing access to the content corresponding to the first application (McErlane, paragraph 72, automatically log user into app unless specified amount of time has elapsed).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of McErlane and Anand discloses detecting, via the one or more input devices, one or more inputs corresponding to a request to activate the locked state for the first application; in response to detecting the one or more inputs corresponding to request to activate the locked state, causing display, via the one or more output generation components, of a user interface with information indicating a set of applications that use data from the first application (McErlane, paragraph 64, whitelist).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of McErlane and Anand discloses, in accordance with activating the locked state for the first application, activating the locked state for one or more widgets corresponding to the first application (McErlane, paragraph 45, app wheel displays all apps within suite).
Regarding claim 26, the combination of McErlane and Anand discloses detecting, via the one or more input devices, one or more inputs corresponding to a request to perform a system operation for which content corresponding to the first application is contextually relevant; in response to detecting the one or more inputs corresponding to a request to perform the system operation, outputting, via the one or more output generation components, a result of the system operation, including: in accordance with a determination that the first application is in the locked
state, outputting, via the one or more output generation components, a result of the system operation using content from one or more sources other than the first application without using the content corresponding to the first application; and in accordance with a determination that the first application is in the unlocked state, outputting, via the one or more output generation components, a result of the system operation using content from the one or more sources other than the first application and also using the content corresponding to the first application (Anand, paragraph 39, returns only attributes that can be accessed based on permissions).
Regarding claim 27, McErlane discloses a computer system, comprising: one or more input devices; one or more output generation components; one or more processors; and memory storing one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for: detecting, via the one or more input devices, one or more inputs corresponding to a request from outside of a first application to access content corresponding to the first application (paragraph 68, apps pass context or content data when switching); and in response to detecting the request to access the content corresponding to the first application: in accordance with a determination that the first application is in a locked state: requesting authentication information from a user of the computer system; and in response to receiving, via the one or more input devices, the authentication information and in accordance with a determination that the received authentication information is consistent with authorized authentication information, allowing access to the content corresponding to the first application (paragraph 72, authenticates user based on credentials); and in accordance with a determination that the first application is in an unlocked state, allowing access to the content corresponding to the first application without requesting the authentication information from the user of the computer system (paragraph 72, uses credentials to log into target app).
McErlane does not explicitly state allowing access to the content corresponding to the first application without opening the first application. However, coordinating data sharing in such a fashion was well known in the art as evidenced by Anand. Since the inventions encompass the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of McErlane by adding the ability for allowing access to the content corresponding to the first application without opening the first application as provided by Anand (see paragraph 28, first application runs and accesses data of second application). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit that managing data access in this way would assist in enabling applications to directly communicate with each other (see Anand, paragraph 4).
Regarding claim 28, McErlane discloses a computer readable storage medium storing one or more programs, the one or more programs comprising instructions that, when executed by a computer system with one or more input devices and one or more output generation components, cause the computer system to perform operations including: detecting, via the one or more input devices, one or more inputs corresponding to a request from outside of a first application to access content corresponding to the first application (paragraph 68, apps pass context or content data when switching); and in response to detecting the request to access the content corresponding to the first application: in accordance with a determination that the first application is in a locked state: requesting authentication information from a user of the computer system; and in response to receiving, via the one or more input devices, the authentication information and in accordance with a determination that the received authentication information is consistent with authorized authentication information, allowing access to the content corresponding to the first application (paragraph 72, authenticates user based on credentials); and in accordance with a determination that the first application is in an unlocked state, allowing access to the content corresponding to the first application without requesting the authentication information from the user of the computer system (paragraph 72, uses credentials to log into target app).
McErlane does not explicitly state allowing access to the content corresponding to the first application without opening the first application. However, coordinating data sharing in such a fashion was well known in the art as evidenced by Anand. Since the inventions encompass the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of McErlane by adding the ability for allowing access to the content corresponding to the first application without opening the first application as provided by Anand (see paragraph 28, first application runs and accesses data of second application). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit that managing data access in this way would assist in enabling applications to directly communicate with each other (see Anand, paragraph 4).
Claims 11-13, 18-21, 23, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McErlane in view of Anand, further in view of Kumar et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2014/0149998), hereinafter referred to as Kumar.
The combination of McErlane and Anand disclosed techniques for managing a restricted ecosystem of software applications. In an analogous art, Kumar disclosed techniques for interfacing between a plurality of applications. Both systems are directed toward the management of data sharing among software applications.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of McErlane and Anand does not explicitly state detecting, via the one or more input devices, one or more inputs corresponding to a request to activate the first application; and in response to detecting the one or more inputs corresponding to the request to activate the first application: in accordance with a determination that the first application is in the locked state, requiring second authentication information before allowing the first application to activate; and in accordance with a determination that the first application is in the unlocked state, allowing the first application to activate without requesting the second authentication information from the user. However, managing applications in such a fashion was well known in the art as evidenced by Kumar. Since the inventions encompass the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of McErlane and Anand by adding the ability for detecting, via the one or more input devices, one or more inputs corresponding to a request to activate the first application; and in response to detecting the one or more inputs corresponding to the request to activate the first application: in accordance with a determination that the first application is in the locked state, requiring second authentication information before allowing the first application to activate; and in accordance with a determination that the first application is in the unlocked state, allowing the first application to activate without requesting the second authentication information from the user as provided by Kumar (see paragraph 53, activate application, and paragraph 63, prompt user to enter credentials). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit that managing data access in this way would assist in enabling applications to directly interact with each other (see Kumar, paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of McErlane, Anand, and Kumar discloses in response to detecting the one or more inputs corresponding to the request to activate the first application, displaying, via the one or more output generation components, a first portion of an indication that the first application has started to open; and in accordance with the determination that the first application is in the locked state, requiring additional authentication before allowing the first application to activate comprises displaying, via the one or more output generation components, a second portion of the indication that the first application has started to open (Kumar, paragraph 74, display event information, and paragraph 57, releases event notifications after application becomes active).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of McErlane, Anand, and Kumar discloses wherein the second authentication information is biometric authentication information; and the method further comprises, in response to detecting the one or more inputs corresponding to the request to activate the first application and in accordance with the determination that the first application is in the locked state, automatically obtaining the biometric authentication information from the user (Kumar, paragraph 53, activate application, and McErlane, paragraph 72, authenticates user based on credentials, and paragraph 74, biometric authentication).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of McErlane and Anand does not explicitly state while the computer system is in the locked state, requesting biometric information from the user of the computer system in response to detecting, via the one or more input devices, an input corresponding to a request to unlock the computer system; and in response to receiving, via the one or more input devices, the biometric information from the user and in accordance with a determination that the received biometric information is consistent with authorized biometric information, unlocking the computer system and authenticating the user. However, managing system access in such a fashion was well known in the art as evidenced by Kumar. Since the inventions encompass the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of McErlane and Anand by adding the ability for while the computer system is in the locked state, requesting biometric information from the user of the computer system in response to detecting, via the one or more input devices, an input corresponding to a request to unlock the computer system; and in response to receiving, via the one or more input devices, the biometric information from the user and in accordance with a determination that the received biometric information is consistent with authorized biometric information, unlocking the computer system and authenticating the user as provided by Kumar (see paragraph 64, mobile device left idle, where McErlane already teaches biometric authentication as previously cited at paragraph 74). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit that managing data access in this way would assist in enabling applications to directly interact with each other (see Kumar, paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of McErlane, Anand, and Kumar discloses in response to receiving, via the one or more input devices, the biometric information from the user and in accordance with a determination that the received biometric information is not consistent with authorized biometric information, maintaining the computer system in the locked state (Kumar, paragraph 64, deny access after invalid credentials).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of McErlane and Anand does not explicitly state causing display, via the one or more output generation components, of an icon for the first application on a first user interface; detecting, via the one or more input devices, a first user input directed to the icon; and in response to detecting the first user input: in accordance with a determination that the first user input is a first type of input, causing display, via the one or more output generation components, of an option to activate the locked state for the first application; and in accordance with a determination that the first user input is not the first type of input, forgoing causing display of the option to activate the locked state for the first application. However, managing applications in such a fashion was well known in the art as evidenced by Kumar. Since the inventions encompass the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of McErlane and Anand by adding the ability for causing display, via the one or more output generation components, of an icon for the first application on a first user interface; detecting, via the one or more input devices, a first user input directed to the icon; and in response to detecting the first user input: in accordance with a determination that the first user input is a first type of input, causing display, via the one or more output generation components, of an option to activate the locked state for the first application; and in accordance with a determination that the first user input is not the first type of input, forgoing causing display of the option to activate the locked state for the first application as provided by Kumar (see paragraph 66, lock unlocked application). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit that managing data access in this way would assist in enabling applications to directly interact with each other (see Kumar, paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of McErlane and Anand does not explicitly state causing display, via the one or more output generation components, of an icon for the first application on a first user interface; detecting, via the one or more input devices, a first user input directed to the icon; and in response to detecting the first user input: in accordance with a determination that the first user input is a first type of input, causing display, via the one or more output generation components, of an option to activate the locked state for the first application; and in accordance with a determination that the first user input is not the first type of input, forgoing causing display of the option to activate the unlocked state for the first application. However, managing applications in such a fashion was well known in the art as evidenced by Kumar. Since the inventions encompass the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of McErlane and Anand by adding the ability for causing display, via the one or more output generation components, of an icon for the first application on a first user interface; detecting, via the one or more input devices, a first user input directed to the icon; and in response to detecting the first user input: in accordance with a determination that the first user input is a first type of input, causing display, via the one or more output generation components, of an option to activate the unlocked state for the first application; and in accordance with a determination that the first user input is not the first type of input, forgoing causing display of the option to activate the locked state for the first application as provided by Kumar (see paragraph 66, unlock locked application). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit that managing data access in this way would assist in enabling applications to directly interact with each other (see Kumar, paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of McErlane and Anand does not explicitly state wherein the user interface with information indicating the set of applications that use the data from the first application further comprises a set of selectable elements configured to lock respective applications of the set of applications; and the method further includes: detecting, via the one or more input devices, a second user input at a location corresponding to a selectable element for a fourth application; and in response to detecting the second user input at the location corresponding to the selectable element for the fourth application, activating the locked state for the fourth application. However, managing applications in such a fashion was well known in the art as evidenced by Kumar. Since the inventions encompass the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of McErlane and Anand by adding the ability that the user interface with information indicating the set of applications that use the data from the first application further comprises a set of selectable elements configured to lock respective applications of the set of applications; and the method further includes: detecting, via the one or more input devices, a second user input at a location corresponding to a selectable element for a fourth application; and in response to detecting the second user input at the location corresponding to the selectable element for the fourth application, activating the locked state for the fourth application as provided by Kumar (see paragraph 84, lock particular applications and not others). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit that managing data access in this way would assist in enabling applications to directly interact with each other (see Kumar, paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of McErlane and Anand does not explicitly state causing display, via the one or more output generation components, of an icon for the first application on a home screen user interface, wherein: in accordance with a determination that the first application is in the locked state, causing the icon to be displayed with a first set of one or more attributes; and in accordance with a determination that the first application is in the unlocked state, causing the icon to be displayed with a second set of one or more attributes that is different than the first set of one or more attributes. However, managing applications in such a fashion was well known in the art as evidenced by Kumar. Since the inventions encompass the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of McErlane and Anand by adding the ability for causing display, via the one or more output generation components, of an icon for the first application on a home screen user interface, wherein: in accordance with a determination that the first application is in the locked state, causing the icon to be displayed with a first set of one or more attributes; and in accordance with a determination that the first application is in the unlocked state, causing the icon to be displayed with a second set of one or more attributes that is different than the first set of one or more attributes as provided by Kumar (see paragraph 66, lock indicator). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit that managing data access in this way would assist in enabling applications to directly interact with each other (see Kumar, paragraph 2).
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McErlane in view of Anand, in view of Kumar, further in view of Choi (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2022/0116231).
The combination of McErlane, Anand, and Kumar disclosed techniques for managing a restricted ecosystem of software applications. In an analogous art, Choi disclosed techniques for sequential authentication. Both systems are directed toward the management of user authentication for data access.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of McErlane, Anand, and Kumar does not explicitly state, while receiving the second authentication information and/or determining whether the second authentication information is consistent with the authorized authentication information, causing display, via the one or more output generation components, of an authentication status user interface that indicates a status of an authentication process corresponding to the second authentication information. However, managing authentication status information in such a fashion was well known in the art as evidenced by Choi. Since the inventions encompass the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of McErlane, Anand, and Kumar by adding the ability for, while receiving the second authentication information and/or determining whether the second authentication information is consistent with the authorized authentication information, causing display, via the one or more output generation components, of an authentication status user interface that indicates a status of an authentication process corresponding to the second authentication information as provided by Choi (see paragraph 131, authentication status information displayed). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit that managing authentication status in this way would assist in facilitating system-wise security (see Choi, paragraph 4).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of McErlane, Anand, Kumar, and Choi discloses wherein the authentication status user interface is displayed overlaid over at least a portion of a user interface of the first application (Choi, paragraph 131, overlay).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of McErlane, Anand, Kumar, and Choi discloses wherein the authentication status user interface is displayed within a status region that displays information about one or more operations currently being performed by the computer system (Choi, paragraph 131, window).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Awan et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2014/0173700) disclosed techniques for managing application usage controls.
/Victor Lesniewski/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2493