Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dun et al., US PGPUB 20130296045 hereinafter referenced as Dun in view of Kalpaxis, US PGPUB 20080258907.
As to claim 1, Dun discloses a computer implemented method, comprising: determining, for an event signal originating from a first zone server in a service zone server set, a topology propagation path of the event signal in the service zone server set (e.g., the system shown on fig. 1),
wherein: the topology propagation path is based on a preset propagation parameter of the event signal, the topology propagation path is a propagation path from the first zone server to a second zone server in the service zone server set ([0014] FIG. 2 illustrates an example of a stored realm grouping tree for determining which realms are assigned to which instances of a zone),
wherein the second zone server is specified by the first zone server, and the preset propagation parameter indicates at least one of a propagation direction or a propagation mode of the event signal ([0032] For example, all characters from realms A and B that are entering the zone may be assigned to a particular instance of the zone that is hosted in realm A or realm B. This instance of the zone is said to be a cross-realm zone or a zone that is shared by realm A and realm B); and
transmitting the event signal from the first zone server to the second zone server along the topology propagation path ([0038] The virtual servers 104s are in communication with each other to handle the passing off of characters moving between zones, and with other instance server(s) 106, other server(s) 108, and message router 110).
Dun does not specifically disclose the configuration of the topology propagation path.
However, in the same endeavor, Kalpaxis discloses the configuration of the topology propagation path ([0092] In a system network, which is configured as a mesh topology, the propagation path depends on whether the target system node is in range. If the system network target node is in range, only the "final destination" system node address is used).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Dun to further include Kalpaxis’s topology propagation path method, in order to improve the interaction of servers effectively.
As to claim 14, Dun discloses one or more non-transitory computer readable media comprising computer readable instructions which, when executed, configure a data processing system to perform: the topology propagation path is based on a preset propagation parameter of the event signal (e.g., the system shown on fig. 1),
the topology propagation path is a propagation path from the first zone server to a second zone server in the service zone server set ([0014] FIG. 2 illustrates an example of a stored realm grouping tree for determining which realms are assigned to which instances of a zone),
wherein the second zone server is specified by the first zone server, and the preset propagation parameter indicates at least one of a propagation direction or a propagation mode of the event signal ([0032] For example, all characters from realms A and B that are entering the zone may be assigned to a particular instance of the zone that is hosted in realm A or realm B. This instance of the zone is said to be a cross-realm zone or a zone that is shared by realm A and realm B); and
transmitting the event signal from the first zone server to the second zone server along the topology propagation path ([0038] The virtual servers 104s are in communication with each other to handle the passing off of characters moving between zones, and with other instance server(s) 106, other server(s) 108, and message router 110).
Dun does not specifically disclose the configuration of the topology propagation path.
However, in the same endeavor, Kalpaxis discloses the configuration of the topology propagation path ([0092] In a system network, which is configured as a mesh topology, the propagation path depends on whether the target system node is in range. If the system network target node is in range, only the "final destination" system node address is used).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Dun to further include Kalpaxis’s topology propagation path method, in order to improve the interaction of servers effectively.
As to claim 18, Dun discloses a system, comprising: a processor (e.g., processor 504, fig. 5); and
Memory (e.g., memory 506, fig. 5) storing computer readable instructions which, when executed, configure the system to perform: determining, for an event signal originating from a first zone server in a service zone server set, a topology propagation path of the event signal in the service zone server set (e.g., the system shown on fig. 1),
wherein: the topology propagation path is based on a preset propagation parameter of the event signal, the topology propagation path is a propagation path from the first zone server to a second zone server in the service zone server set ([0014] FIG. 2 illustrates an example of a stored realm grouping tree for determining which realms are assigned to which instances of a zone),
wherein the second zone server is specified by the first zone server, and the preset propagation parameter indicates at least one of a propagation direction or a propagation mode of the event signal ([0032] For example, all characters from realms A and B that are entering the zone may be assigned to a particular instance of the zone that is hosted in realm A or realm B. This instance of the zone is said to be a cross-realm zone or a zone that is shared by realm A and realm B); and
transmitting the event signal from the first zone server to the second zone server along the topology propagation path ([0038] The virtual servers 104s are in communication with each other to handle the passing off of characters moving between zones, and with other instance server(s) 106, other server(s) 108, and message router 110).
Dun does not specifically disclose the configuration of the topology propagation path.
However, in the same endeavor, Kalpaxis discloses the configuration of the topology propagation path ([0092] In a system network, which is configured as a mesh topology, the propagation path depends on whether the target system node is in range. If the system network target node is in range, only the "final destination" system node address is used).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Dun to further include Kalpaxis’s topology propagation path method, in order to improve the interaction of servers effectively.
As to claim 2, the combination of Dun and Kalpaxis discloses the method according to claim 1. The combination further discloses configuring, based on the event signal having a specified propagation direction, a type of the event signal; configuring, based on the type of the event signal, a preset propagation parameter; and determining, based on the preset propagation parameter, a topology propagation path of the event signal in the service zone server set (Kalpaxis, [0092] In a system network, which is configured as a mesh topology, the propagation path depends on whether the target system node is in range).
As to claim 3, the combination of Dun and Kalpaxis discloses the method according to claim 2. The combination further discloses the event signal is a diffusion event signal and configuring the preset propagation parameter further comprises: configuring an initial energy value and a termination threshold of the event signal, wherein: the initial energy value represents an initial value of the virtual energy, virtual energy of the diffusion event signal decreases as propagation distance increases , and the termination threshold is an energy threshold, wherein the event signal stops propagating when the virtual energy does not satisfy the termination threshold (Kalpaxis, [0057] The link energy signal is an indication of the signal strength associated with the wireless communications channel between the wireless water wave detector and the Collector/Analyzer system as well as between a first wireless wave detector and other wireless wave detectors).
As to claim 4, the combination of Dun and Kalpaxis discloses the method according to claim 1. The combination further discloses determining the topology propagation path of the event signal in the service zone server set based on the preset propagation parameter further comprises: determining, using the first zone server as a path start point, at least one path waypoint and at least one path end point of the event signal, wherein a termination energy value, obtained after attenuation of the initial energy value when the event signal reaches the at least one path end point, is less than the termination threshold; and determining the topology propagation path of the event signal in the service zone server set based on the path start point, the at least one path waypoint, and the at least one path end point (Dun, [0006] High populations of characters may also be split up among multiple instances of the virtual world in order to accommodate the high populations and to reduce the transactional and computational load on each individual instance of the virtual world, potentially resulting in a better quality of gameplay).
As to claim 5, the combination of Dun and Kalpaxis discloses the method according to claim 4. The combination further discloses determining, using the first zone server as a path start point, at least one path waypoint and at least one path end point of the diffusion event signal further comprises: determining a first-order propagation direction of the event signal, a path waypoint of the diffusion event signal in the first-order propagation direction, and a first-order energy value obtained after attenuation of the initial energy value after the event signal is propagated for the first time in the first-order propagation direction; determining, based on the path waypoint, whether the first-order energy value is not less than the termination threshold; based on the first-order energy value not being less than the termination threshold, determining a second-order propagation direction of the diffusion event signal, a path waypoint of the event signal in the second-order propagation direction, and a second-order energy value obtained after attenuation of the initial energy value after the event signal is propagated for the second time in the second-order propagation direction; and based on the second-order energy value being less than the termination threshold, setting the path waypoint in the second-order propagation direction as the path end point (Kalpaxis, [0039] The system leverages the security concept of a "Trust Center." The "Trust Center" allows system node devices into the network, distribute keys and enables end-to-end security between the wireless water wave detectors 130 and Collector/Analyzer Server 120).
As to claim 6, the combination of Dun and Kalpaxis discloses the method according to claim 3. The combination further discloses transmitting the event signal further comprises: dividing, before transmitting the event signal and based on a quantity of propagation directions, the virtual energy of the event signal into equal parts (Kalpaxis, [0090] The addresses are used in message propagation depends on the system network topology. In the star topology, both system network addresses are needed and the "next hop" address is that of a system network coordinator node as shown in FIG. 12).
As to claim 7, the combination of Dun and Kalpaxis discloses the method according to claim 6. The combination further discloses receiving, at a given path waypoint on the topology propagation path, a plurality of event signals, wherein each event signal is received from a unique propagation direction; and determining, by combining each virtual energy of each of the plurality of event signals, virtual energy corresponding the given path waypoint (Dun, [0055] When characters enter or near the boundary of a cross-realm zone in a direction towards the cross-realm zone, the characters may phase into the cross-realm zone by gradually becoming less transparent).
As to claim 8, the combination of Dun and Kalpaxis discloses the method according to claim 2. The combination further discloses the event signal is a one-way transmission event signal, and wherein configuring a preset propagation parameter further comprises: determining an initial propagation direction and a traversal path information of the event signal, wherein: traversal energy of the event signal decreases as propagation distance increases, the initial propagation direction is specified by the first zone server, and, the traversal path information represents a change rule of a propagation direction in propagation of the event signal (Dun, [0049] For example, the threshold distance may be greater than, less than, or equal to, but near what would be the typical eyesight distance for the character).
As to claim 9, the combination of Dun and Kalpaxis discloses the method according to claim 8. The combination further discloses determining the topology propagation path of the event signal further comprises: predicting, based on the initial propagation direction and the traversal path information and using the first zone server as a path start point, a plurality of waypoints; predicting, based on the plurality of waypoints, an end point, wherein the end point is a waypoint in the plurality of waypoints that satisfies a traversal termination condition; and determining a topology propagation path of the event signal based on the path start point, the plurality of waypoints, and the end point (Dun, [0051] Characters and zone-instance-specific objects such as dropped items and corpses may be loaded from a server that is predicted to host the cross-realm zone for the character).
As to claim 10, the combination of Dun and Kalpaxis discloses the method according to claim 9. The combination further discloses predicting the plurality of waypoints further comprises: determining a first waypoint of the event signal, wherein determining the first waypoint is based on the initial propagation direction and using the first zone server as a path start point; and predicting, based on the first waypoint and the traversal path information, the plurality of waypoints after the first waypoint (Kalpaxis, [0051] FIG. 4 illustrates exemplary process steps taken after system initialization. After system initialization (step 410), any acceleration data (Ax, Ay, Az) cached in memory at the wireless device is A/D converted and transmitted to the Collector/Analyzer Server at step 420).
As to claim 11, the combination of Dun and Kalpaxis discloses the method according to claim 9. The combination further discloses the traversal termination condition is at least one of the following: encountering a traversal obstacle event at a waypoint; traversal energy of the event signal at a waypoint is less than a traversal threshold; a waypoint is not located in the service zone server set; or a quantity limit of traversals of the transmission event signal has been exceeded (Dun, [0081] The signals through the various networks and the signals on network link 520 and through communication interface 518, which carry the digital data to and from computer system 500, are example forms of transmission media).
As to claim 12, the combination of Dun and Kalpaxis discloses the method according to claim 9. The combination further discloses receiving, from a prior waypoint, the one-way transmission event signal at a waypoint along the topology propagation path, and deducting traversal energy from the event signal, wherein the deducted traversal energy corresponds to distance between the waypoint and the prior waypoint (Dun, [0080] Computer system 500 also includes a communication interface 518 coupled to bus 502. Communication interface 518 provides a two-way data communication coupling to a network link 520 that is connected to a local network 522).
As to claim 13, the combination of Dun and Kalpaxis discloses the method according to claim 8. The combination further discloses the event signal corresponds to a cross-zone-server traversal event of a virtual object in the service zone server set (Dun, [0030] In one embodiment, server(s) that host zone instance A are in a set of servers that host instance A of a virtual world, and server(s) that host zone instance B are in a set of servers that host instance B of a virtual world).
As to claim 15, the combination of Dun and Kalpaxis discloses the computer readable media according to claim 14. The combination further discloses computer readable instructions, which, when executed, further configure the data processing system to perform: configuring, based on the event signal having a specified propagation direction, a type of the event signal; configuring, based on the type of the event signal, a preset propagation parameter; and determining, based on the preset propagation parameter, a topology propagation path of the event signal in the service zone server set (Kalpaxis, [0092] In a system network, which is configured as a mesh topology, the propagation path depends on whether the target system node is in range).
As to claim 16, the combination of Dun and Kalpaxis discloses the computer readable media according to claim 15. The combination further discloses the event signal is a diffusion event signal and wherein the computer readable instructions, when executed, further configure the data processing system to configure the preset propagation parameter by: configuring an initial energy value and a termination threshold of the event signal, wherein: the initial energy value represents an initial value of the virtual energy, virtual energy of the diffusion event signal decreases as propagation distance increases, and the termination threshold is an energy threshold, wherein the event signal stops propagating when the virtual energy does not satisfy the termination threshold (Kalpaxis, [0057] The link energy signal is an indication of the signal strength associated with the wireless communications channel between the wireless water wave detector and the Collector/Analyzer system as well as between a first wireless wave detector and other wireless wave detectors).
As to claim 17, the combination of Dun and Kalpaxis discloses the computer readable media according to claim 15. The combination further discloses the event signal is a one-way transmission event signal, and wherein configuring a preset propagation parameter further comprises: determining an initial propagation direction and a traversal path information of the event signal, wherein: traversal energy of the event signal decreases as propagation distance increases, the initial propagation direction is specified by the first zone server, and, the traversal path information represents a
change rule of a propagation direction in propagation of the event signal (Dun, [0049] For example, the threshold distance may be greater than, less than, or equal to, but near what would be the typical eyesight distance for the character).
As to claim 19, the combination of Dun and Kalpaxis discloses the system according to claim 18. The combination further discloses the computer readable instructions, when executed, further configure the system to perform: configuring, based on the event signal having a specified propagation direction, a type of the event signal; configuring, based on the type of the event signal, a preset propagation parameter; and determining, based on the preset propagation parameter, a topology propagation path of the event signal in the service zone server set (Kalpaxis, [0092] In a system network, which is configured as a mesh topology, the propagation path depends on whether the target system node is in range).
As to claim 20, the combination of Dun and Kalpaxis discloses the system according to claim 19. The combination further discloses the event signal is a one-way transmission signal, and wherein configuring the preset propagation parameter further comprises: determining an initial propagation direction and a traversal path information of the event signal, wherein: traversal energy of the event signal decreases as propagation distance increases, the initial propagation direction is specified by the first zone server, and, the traversal path information represents a change rule of a propagation direction in propagation of the event signal (Dun, [0049] For example, the threshold distance may be greater than, less than, or equal to, but near what would be the typical eyesight distance for the character).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yamaguchi, US PGPUB 20130084995 discloses a networked game system of high interest in which a contingency and/or unpredictability intervenes in a data exchange between players in a networked game. When a map item and a character are selected, a game apparatus transmits a data exchange request and character information to a server apparatus (step S2). The received character information is stored in a character management table of the server apparatus (step S4). When a predetermined time elapses after the data exchange request (step S5), other-character information is specified (step S6), and the character management table 40 is updated (step S7). The other-character information is transmitted to the game apparatus (step S9), and the game apparatus updates each table based on the received information (step S11).
/SAHLU OKEBATO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625 9/8/2026