DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1, last two lines, state “wherein the upper region edge of each gradient upper region is concave relative to the brim.” This statement is not present in the text of the originally filed claims, abstract or written specification. Also, it is not shown in the drawings or readily apparent from the drawings to which relative plane of the brim or relative curved surface of the brim upon which concavity is based. The brim has upper and lower horizontal planes to which the upper region edge might be considered concave and the brim has inner and outer curved surfaces to which the upper region edge might be considered concave.
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-10, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, last two lines state “concave relative to the brim.” However, it is not understood to which surface, a horizontal plane surface of the brim or a vertical curved surface of the brim, the concavity is relative.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the upper region edge of each gradient upper region" in the second to last line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The upper region edge 110 is the upper region edge of the valley region as clearly stated in lines 14-15 of claim 1, “an upper region edge coupled to a top end of each valley” and the lower edge of the gradient upper region (GUR). The metes and bounds of the claim can’t be accurately determined. Did applicant mean “an upper edge of each gradient upper region” or “an upper edge of the valley region?” Note that this is similar to the rejection made in the last Office action directed to claim 5. Applicant canceled claim 5 and though that the rejection is moot. However, applicant is placing claim 5 language into claim 1 and doesn’t address the rejection.
Claim 6, lines 6-7 state, “the exterior surface and inner surface each having a constant sidewall radius of curvature with a center at the central axis.” Then states, starting in line 8 that the container has a plurality of scalloped segments with ridges and valleys. How can the radius of curvature of the exterior surface and inner surface be constant with ridges and valleys present? Claim 6 is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 6-10 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Navarro (US 2011/0256492).
Navarro discloses a container, comprising: a brim (upper rim), a floor, and a sidewall coupled to the floor and the brim and arranged to extend about a central axis, the sidewall having an exterior surface facing away from the central axis and an inner surface facing toward the central axis, the exterior surface and inner surface each having a constant sidewall radius of curvature with a center at the central axis because there are no ridges and no valleys in either the exterior or inner surface and because the wall is vertical and not tapered.
The Office doesn’t understand why applicant is claiming a plurality of scalloped segments when the sidewall surfaces have a constant radius of curvature.
Claim(s) 14, 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Liming et al. (US 2022/0041318) (Liming).
Liming discloses a container, comprising: a brim, a floor, and a sidewall coupled to the floor and the brim and arranged to extend about a central axis, and a plurality of ridges (interior peaks 38) coupled to an inner surface of the sidewall, wherein each of the ridges included in the plurality of ridges is spaced a first distance from the central axis and the sidewall (remainder of sidewall at valley) is spaced a second distance from central axis, the first distance being less than the second distance wherein the sidewall further includes a plurality of valleys (interior valleys 40), each valley included in the plurality of valleys being located between two adjacent ridges included in the plurality of ridges, and wherein each of the ridges has an uppermost end spaced a first height from the floor and each of the valleys has an uppermost end, along a centerline of each respective valley, spaced a second height from the floor less than the first height. See annotated Fig. 1 wherein the arrows point to the upper ends of the valleys 40 and ridges 38.
Re claim 17, each of the valleys has a radius of curvature between two adjacent ridges as best shown in Fig. 2B and 3B which shows a much smaller radius of curvature than the curvature of the sidewall or rim. Re claim 18, the center or vertex of the radius of curvature is offset from the center axis and close to the sidewall. Note that radius of curvature is a dimension often schematically represented by a ray or vector that has a vertex.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liming in view of Selina et al. (US 2015/0203238) (Selina).
Re claim 1, Liming discloses a container, comprising: a sidewall extending axially from a brim to a floor; the sidewall and floor defining a storage region; wherein the sidewall has a first radius of curvature (e.g., radius of curvature of brim greatest at outer circumference of brim); wherein an inner surface of the sidewall has a plurality of scallops (interior valleys 40) configured to be scrapable; wherein each scallop of the plurality of scallops is arcuate in shape with a second radius of curvature (inner radius of curvature much less that radius of curvature of brim) and extends circumferentially between adjacent ridges; wherein each ridge of the adjacent ridges has a ridge thickness; a valley located in the scallop and interposed between the adjacent ridges, the valley having a valley thickness; and wherein the second radius of curvature is less than the first radius of curvature, wherein the container further includes at least one gradient upper region interposed axially between the brim and each valley and having an upper region edge coupled to a top end of each valley, and wherein the upper region edge of each gradient upper region is concave relative to the brim (the upper region edge is arcuate insofar as this limitation is understood). Re claims 1 and 16, Liming fails to disclose that valley thickness is less than ridge thickness. Selina teaches a similarly constructed container with inner scallops (concavities 28) alternating with inner ridges, the relative thickness of the scallop (part a in Fig. 5) is less than that of the ridge (part b in Fig. 5). Each ridge of the adjacent ridges has a ridge thickness (see Fig. 5 for maximum ridge thickness); a valley located in the scallop and interposed between the adjacent ridges, the valley having a valley thickness (see Fig. 5 for minimum valley thickness at approximate vertical centerline through concavity which is less than maximum ridge thickness) that is less than the ridge thickness. It would have been obvious to modify the thickness of the valley to be less than the ridge thickness as a convenient manner of making valleys by removing material or thinning the wall by various methods and to conserve of materials because the thinner wall with reinforcing ridges is deemed of sufficient strength.
Re claim 2, Selina fails to teach the radius of curvature (ROC) ratio. A shallower scallop provides more material and a stronger container and a ROC ratio closer to 1.0, while a deeper scallop provides less material and a greater savings in weight and cost savings in that less material is used and a ROC ratio closer to 0.10. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the ROC ratio to be between about 0.6 and about 1.0 to provide an ROC ratio that will make the scallops and ridges stronger as an optimization of strength and savings in weight and cost of material.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liming in view of Selina as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Claydon (GB 2250972).
The combination fails to disclose the change or increase in gradient thickness. Claydon teaches a similarly constructed container with scallops wherein the gradient upper region (GUR)(that portion between the brim and each valley of each scallop) has a gradient thickness that decreases from the brim to the upper edge region (edge between valley and gradient upper region (GUR)) as best shown in Fig. 1-4 (especially thickness graph of Fig. 4). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the gradient thickness of the GUR such that the gradient thickness decreases from the brim to the upper edge region to conserve materials with a thinner wall portion that is still structurally strong due to the presence of reinforcing scallops, valleys and ridges.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liming in view of Claydon.
Liming fails to disclose the change or increase in gradient thickness. Claydon teaches a similarly constructed container with scallops wherein the gradient upper region (GUR)(that portion between the brim and each valley of each scallop) has a gradient thickness that decreases from the brim to the upper edge region (edge between valley and gradient upper region (GUR)). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the gradient thickness of the GUR such that the gradient thickness decreases from the brim to the upper edge region to conserve materials with a thinner wall portion that is still structurally strong due to the presence of reinforcing scallops, valleys and ridges.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection have been made.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
sjc/STEPHEN J CASTELLANO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733