DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2008/0223953 (hereinafter Tomono).
Regarding claim 1, Tomono discloses a fog generator assembly (see Fig. 1) comprising:
a housing (04, 06);
a water vapor generator (09, 19) coupled to the housing;
a fragrance dispenser (10, 11, 12) coupled to the housing; and
an air displacement device (74) coupled to the housing, the air displacement device fluidly coupling the fragrance dispenser to the water vapor generator.
Regarding claim 2, the fog generator assembly of claim 1, wherein the housing defines a mixing area (about 88) downstream from the water vapor generator and the fragrance dispenser, and wherein the mixing area arranged to mix a fog of water vapor from the water vapor generator with a fragrance (perfume) from the fragrance dispenser to produce an aromatic fog (see paras. [0232] to [0236]).
Regarding claim 3, the fog generator assembly of claim 1, wherein the air displacement device is disposed at an opening (about where 20 and “Air” are pointing in Fig. 1) that fluidly couples the water vapor generator to the fragrance dispenser.
Regarding claim 4, the fog generator assembly of claim 1, wherein the water vapor generator comprises:
a fog tank (about 27, 50) disposed within the housing, the fog tank comprising an outer wall defining a cavity (about 27) and an opening (bottom opening of 27) that is fluidly coupled to the cavity, the air displacement device coupled to the fog tank at the opening; and
a nebulizer (40) configured to generate an aerosolized mist from water within the fog tank.
Regarding claim 5, the fog generator assembly of claim 1, wherein the housing comprises:
an elongated vertical support structure (see Fig. 1: vertical portion of 80);
a mounting member (the neck about 85) coupled to a first end (bottom end) of the vertical support structure; and
a discharge structure (the horizontal portion of 80) extending from a second end (top end of vertical portion of 80) of the vertical support structure in a substantially perpendicular orientation relative to the vertical support structure, the discharge structure defining a discharge opening (about 83).
Regarding claim 6, the fog generator assembly of claim 1, wherein the fragrance dispenser forms part of an outer wall of the housing (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, the fog generator assembly of claim 1, wherein the fragrance dispenser comprises a fragrance containing capsule (see Fig. 2: 10, 11, or 12), and wherein the housing includes a cover (04) formed in an outer wall of the housing that is configured to facilitate access to the fragrance containing capsule.
Regarding claim 8, the fog generator assembly of claim 1, wherein the fragrance dispenser comprises a capsule support assembly (see Fig. 1) that is configured to support a plurality of fragrance containing capsules 10, 11, 12) , and wherein the air displacement device (74) is arranged within the housing to move air across at least one of the plurality of fragrance containing capsules, through the air displacement device, and toward the water vapor generator (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, the fog generator assembly of claim 1, wherein the water vapor generator comprises a fog tank (about 27, 50), and wherein the fragrance dispenser comprises a well support assembly (23) that is spaced apart from the fog tank.
Regarding claim 10, the fog generator assembly of claim 1, wherein the housing defines a discharge opening (about 85), wherein the fog generator assembly further comprises a light source (85) disposed within the housing and configured to emit light toward the discharge opening.
Regarding claim 11, the fog generator assembly of claim 1, further comprising an aromatic control system (see paras. [0194] to [0195] and Fig. 16) fluidly configured to allow user selection of a fragrance emitted by the fragrance dispenser.
Regarding claim 12, Tomono discloses a bathing system (see para. [0533]), comprising:
a bath (bathtub); and
a fog generator assembly (see Fig. 1) capable of being disposed adjacent to the bath, the fog generator assembly comprising:
a housing (04, 06);
a water vapor generator (09, 19) coupled to the housing;
a fragrance dispenser (10, 11, 12) coupled to the housing a housing, wherein the fog generator assembly is fully capable of being configured to mix an aerosolized mist of water from the water vapor generator with a fragrance from the fragrance dispenser to produce an aromatic fog, and deliver the aromatic fog above the bath (see paras. [0232] to [0236], and [0533]).
Regarding claim 13, the bathing system of claim 12, wherein the housing defines a discharge opening (about 83) disposed over the bath.
Regarding claim 14, the fog generator assembly of claim 12, wherein the air displacement device is disposed at an opening (about where 20 and “Air” are pointing in Fig. 1) that fluidly couples the water vapor generator to the fragrance dispenser.
Regarding claim 15, the fog generator assembly of claim 14, wherein the water vapor generator comprises:
a fog tank (about 27, 50) disposed within the housing, the fog tank comprising an outer wall defining a cavity (about 27) and an opening (bottom opening of 27) that is fluidly coupled to the cavity, the air displacement device coupled to the fog tank at the opening; and
a nebulizer (40) configured to generate an aerosolized mist from water within the fog tank.
Regarding claim 16, the fog generator assembly of claim 12, wherein the housing comprises:
an elongated vertical support structure (see Fig. 1: vertical portion of 80);
a mounting member (the neck about 85) coupled to a first end (bottom end) of the vertical support structure; and
a discharge structure (the horizontal portion of 80) extending from a second end (top end of vertical portion of 80) of the vertical support structure in a substantially perpendicular orientation relative to the vertical support structure, the discharge structure defining a discharge opening (about 83).
Regarding claim 17, the bathing system of claim 12, wherein the fragrance dispenser is accessible through a chamber cover (04) that forms at least a portion of an outer wall of the housing.
Regarding claim 18, the bathing system of claim 12, further comprising an aromatic control system (see paras. [0194] to [0195] and Fig. 16) fluidly configured to enable user selection of a fragrance emitted by the fragrance dispenser.
Regarding claim 19, Tomono discloses a fog generator assembly (see Fig. 1), comprising:
a plurality of fragrance containing capsules (10, 11, 12);
a water vapor generator (09, 19); and
an aromatic control system (see paras. [0194] to [0195] and Fig. 16) fluidly coupling the plurality of fragrance containing capsules to the water vapor generator, the aromatic control system configured to selectively fluidly couple individual ones (via 101, 111, or 121) of the plurality of fragrance containing capsules to the water vapor generator.
Regarding claim 20, the fog generator assembly of claim 19, wherein the aromatic control system comprises: a flow manifold (101, 111, or 121) having a plurality of inlet channels (see Fig. 2) that are fluidly coupled to respective ones of the plurality of fragrance containing capsules; and a valve member (see para. [0194]: one of the “fluid volume adjusting mechanisms”) disposed within the flow manifold and configured to control flow through individual ones of the inlet channels.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 8, 10-11, 12-13, and 18-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 7, 9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,684,935 (hereinafter Stout ‘935). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are essentially similar to the claims of Stout ‘935 alone or in combination thereof.
Regarding claim 1-3, claim 2 of Stout ‘935 is similar to claims 1-3 of the instant application, wherein the water vapor generator in line 3 of the instant claim 1 is in line 4 of claim 2 of Stout ‘935.
Regarding claim 8, the capsule support assembly in line 2 of claim 8 is similar to the “well support” in line 4 of claim 9 of Stout ‘935, wherein the water vapor generator in line 3 of the instant claim 1 is in line 4 of claim 2 of Stout ‘935.
Regarding claim 10, the light source in line 2 of claim 10 is similar to that in line 2 of claim 7 of Stout ‘935, wherein the water vapor generator in line 3 of the instant claim 1 is in line 4 of claim 2 of Stout ‘935.
Regarding claim 11, the aromatic control system as claimed is similar to lines 11-16 of claim 1 of Stout ‘935, wherein the water vapor generator in line 3 of the instant claim 1 is in line 4 of claim 2 of Stout ‘935.
Regarding claims 12-13, the limitations as claimed are similar to claim 10 of Stout ‘935.
Regarding claim 18, the aromatic control system as claimed is similar to lines 11-16 of claim 1 of Stout ‘935 which is obviously employable to the bathing system of claim 10 to selectively control the fragrances.
Regarding claims 19-20, the water vapor generator in line 3 of claim 19 is in line 4 of claim 2 of Stout ‘935, the capsules in line 2 of claim 19 is similar to the “fluid containing chambers” in line 5 of claim 1 of Stout ‘935, and the aromatic control system in line 4 of claim 19 to claim 20 is similar to lines 11-16 of claim 1 of Stout ‘935.
Claims 1-4, 8-15, and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,364,513 (hereinafter Stout ‘513) in view of Stout ‘935.
Regarding claim 1-2, the claimed limitations are similar to claim 1 of Stout ‘513 except for the limitation of the housing. Stout ‘935 teaches an analogous assembly having a housing in line 2 of claim 1. It would have been obvious to employ the housing of Stout ‘935 in the fog generator assembly of Stout ‘513 in order to mount all the components of the assembly.
Regarding claim 3, the limitation as claimed is similar to claim 3 of Stout ‘513.
Regarding claim 4, the limitation as claimed is similar to claim 1, lines 2-3 of Stout ‘513, wherein the “nebulizer” as claimed is the “ultrasonic device” in line 3 of claim 1 of Stout ‘513.
Regarding claims 8 and 9, claim 10 of Stout ‘513 teaches “fluid containing chamber is one of a plurality of wells” in line 2 but remains silent as to the capsule support assembly in line 2 of claim 8 or the well support assembly in line 2 of claim 9. Stout ‘935 teaches an analogous assembly having “a well support shelf” in line 4 of claim 9 for supporting . It would have been obvious to employ the well support of Stout ‘935 in the fog generator assembly of Stout ‘513 in order to support the plurality of wells of the assembly.
Regarding claim 10, the light source in line 2 of claim 10 is similar to that in line 2 of claim 8 of Stout ‘513.
Regarding claim 11, the aromatic control system as claimed is similar to the “aromatic sequence control system” in lines 2-3 of claim 7 of Stout ‘513.
Regarding claims 12-14, the limitations as claimed are similar to claim 12 of Stout ‘513 except for the limitation of the housing. Stout ‘935 teaches an analogous assembly having a housing in line 5 of claim 10. It would have been obvious to employ the housing of Stout ‘935 in the fog generator assembly of Stout ‘513 in order to mount all the components of the assembly.
Regarding claim 14, the limitation as claimed is similar to claim 1, lines 2-3 of Stout ‘513, wherein the “nebulizer” as claimed is the “ultrasonic device.”
Regarding claim 15, the limitation as claimed is similar to claim 12, lines 5-6 of Stout ‘513, wherein the “nebulizer” as claimed is the “ultrasonic device.”
Regarding claim 18, the aromatic control system as claimed is similar to the “aromatic sequence control system” in lines 2-3 of claim 18 of Stout ‘513.
Conclusion
/TUAN N NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754