DETAILED ACTION
This Non-Final Office Action is in response to Application filed on 03/31/2025.
Claims 1-20 filed on 03/31/2025 are being considered on the merits.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 03/31/2025 are accepted.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 06/22/20226 have been considered. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, an initialed and dated copy of Applicant's IDS form 1449 filed 06/22/20226 are attached to the instant Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8-9 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dysart (US 12621327 B1) in view of Jou (US 20150205954 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Dysart teaches a computer-implemented method (Dysart Abstract and Col. 2 line 42-43 “FIG. 2 shows a flow diagram of a method of detecting anomalous activities in an enterprise network”), comprising:
establishing a first connection with a data resource system, the data resource system delegated by a domain to control data resources of the domain (Dysart Figure 1 illustrates first connection between assets/resources (101, 102, 103) and backend system 110 delegated by an enterprise/domain to perform the process in Figure 2 and control graphs and subgraphs pertaining to assets in the enterprise as disclosed in Col 5 line 7-15, 37-42);
establishing a second connection with a security monitoring system, the security monitoring system providing cybersecurity measures to the domain (Dysart Col. 4 line 2-11 “The cybersecurity components may be distributed across the enterprise network 100 in the form of security appliances that monitor network traffic and enforce network policies, antivirus software running on individual network assets, endpoint agents that run and collect information on network assets, etc. The cybersecurity components 130 may employ conventional algorithms to generate risk assessments of the enterprise network 100.”, where the cybersecurity components 130 provides, via second connection with the assets and the backend system, monitoring and risk assessments to the enterprise/domain);
receiving, from the data resource system, metadata related to data access history of the data resources controlled by the data resource system (Dysart Col. 4 line 52-67 and Col. 5 1-3, Col. line 43-48 “In step 201, network attributes of network assets are collected in a backend system. The collected network attributes include an identification of network assets, network interfaces of the network assets, and connections between network interfaces.”, where the attributes of each asset/resources, related to role, characteristics, and identification of the assets, as disclosed in Col. 3 line 55-65, where steps 201-210 are performed for all existing, i.e. historical, and incoming collected events/activities and attributes, collection by a backend system as disclosed in Col. 5 line 43-46);
receiving, from the security monitoring system, risk related signals associated with data access activities (Dysart Col. 4 line 63-67 and Col. 5 line 1-3 “The events data of activities may be collected by cybersecurity components as part of an extended detection and response (XDR) system, managed detection and response (MDR) system, on premise monitoring system, or other commercially-available event monitoring system. For example, the events data may be from the XDR system of Trend Micro Incorporated.”, Figure 2 206 where events data of activities are eventually collected at the backend system, where the activities correspond to risk related signals as they play a part in determining risk/anomaly score as illustrated in Figure 2 218-219);
generating an access graph comprising graph objects from the metadata received from the data resource system, the access graph comprising the graph objects that are connected by access paths signaling access levels of the data resources controlled by the data resource system (Dysart Col. 5 line 48-58 “In step 202, the collected network attributes are transformed into a network graph that comprises a set of nodes and edges. Network assets are nodes of the network graph. Connections between network interfaces are edges of the network graph. In other words, each node represents a network asset and an edge connecting two nodes represent a connection between network interfaces of two network assets represented by the two nodes. As can be appreciated, the network graph can get very complicated due to the large number of network assets in the enterprise network. ”, Col. 6 line 21-40 “…the activities are transformed into an activity graph. In an activity graph, nodes (i.e. objects) represent logical resources (e.g., users, processes, files, requests) that perform an activity using or through associated network assets. The edges represent causal action or relationship between logical resources, such as a user starting a process, or a process reading/writing to a file or sending a request to another network asset. In step 208, hierarchical subgraphs of the activity graph (“activity subgraphs”) are identified. An activity subgraph is a subset of the activity graph, comprising of a subset of the nodes and a subset of the edges of the activity graph. The activity subgraph maintains the connections that are present in the activity graph. The activity subgraphs are organized in a hierarchical manner, meaning there are multiple hierarchical levels. The causal nature of an activity graph naturally defines a tree-like directed graph, where branches in the tree are subgraphs of the activity graph. The activity subgraphs may thus be readily identified from node connections of the activity graph.”, where the assets/nodes correspond to objects as disclosed in Cpl. 2 line 10-25);
aggregating the metadata from the data resource system, the risk related signals from the security monitoring system, and data associated with the access graph to generate one or more normalized risk signals (Dysart Col. 4 line 20-21 “A risk assessment may be for a particular network asset or an aggregation of risk assessments for a group of network assets.”, Col. 6 line 50-67 and Col. 7 line 1-8 “In step 210, the activity subgraphs are aligned to the network subgraphs (which now includes clusters) to generate an alignment graph based on network assets associated with activities in the activity subgraphs. By alignment, it is meant that an activity subgraph and a network subgraph with similar network assets are mapped to each other. In one embodiment, similarity between an activity subgraph and a network subgraph for alignment purposes is determined by calculating their Jaccard similarity value, and the activity subgraph is aligned to the network subgraph that yields the best Jaccard similarity value. An activity subgraph is discarded (i.e., not aligned) when it is not similar to any of the network subgraphs, i.e., the Jaccard similarity value is zero. As can be appreciated, other suitable similarity algorithm other than Jaccard similarity may also be employed to perform the alignment…given a network subgraph having a first set of network assets consisting of computer A and computer B, and an activity subgraph having a second set of network assets consisting of computer A downloading from computer C, the intersection of the first and second sets is computer A, and the union of the first and second sets is computers A, B, and C. In that example, the Jaccard similarity value between the network and activity subgraphs is the number of intersection elements divided by the number of union elements, i.e., ⅓ (i.e., A/(A+B+C))…It is to be noted that steps 201-210 are performed for all existing and incoming collected events data and collected network attributes.”, where the data of the network assets and their attributes pertaining to the network subgraph and the activities pertaining to the activity subgraph are put together for the eventual similarity calculation, where the process in Figure 2 is iterative process, where the graphs are updated as disclosed in Col. 7 line 13-26, Col. 8 line 1-2 “In step 215, the activity subgraph is scored to generate an activity score (i.e. normalized risk signal)”);
identifying, based on the one or more normalized risk signals, a cybersecurity risk-related instance that is associated with the at least one of the access paths in the access graph (Dysart “…step 215, the activity subgraph is scored to generate an activity score, which is based on the total hit counts. The activity score may be: 1/total samples; newly added activity subgraph sample/total samples; etc., where “total samples” is the total hit counts. In step 216, the activity score is compared to an activity threshold. In step 216 to step 217, the activity subgraph is detected to be normal when the activity score is equal to or greater than the activity threshold. In step 216 to 218, the activity subgraph is detected to be an anomaly when the activity score is less than the activity threshold.”, where the anomaly is identified based on the activity score compared to a threshold and associated with the hit counts and alignment in the subgraphs); and
generating an alert of the cybersecurity risk-related instance in the access graph (Col. 8 line 21—27 “In step 219, an alert is raised in response to detecting the anomaly. The alert may be a notification displayed as a message on a display screen, an email message, or other way to inform security personnel of the enterprise network to further investigate the anomaly. For example, the alert may be a risk assessment that is overlayed on nodes of the network graph on a visualization.”),
Dysart does not explicitly disclose the limit below.
Jou discloses wherein the alert allows a user to adjust access privilege of a data resource associated with the cybersecurity risk-related instance (Jou [0066] “…risk scores may be adjusted automatically or based on operator input. Adjusting risk scores based on operator input may be explicit, for example by directly tuning the risk scores by an administrator, or implicit, for example by adjusting the risk scores based on input or actions. For example, if security personnel dismisses an alert of a potential undesirable event and indicates that the reason is that the underlying file is deemed unimportant, the risk score for that file may be lowered. If, on the other hand, security personnel adds a file to a watch list or performs other security activities around that file, then the risk score may be raised. In some embodiments, the raise may persist even after the security watch or security activities cease.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dysart to incorporate the teaching of Jou to utilize the above feature, with the motivation of managing risks and customizing what is important based on these adjustments, as recognized by (Jou Abstract and [0043]).
Regarding claim 8, claim 8 recites similar limitations to claim 1, therefore rejected with the same rationale/motivation applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 recites similar limitations to claim 1, therefore rejected with the same rationale/motivation applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Dysart in view of Jou teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the graph objects comprise (1) a plurality of named entity nodes, (2) a plurality of application account nodes, and (3) a plurality of resource nodes, wherein (1) a named entity node represents a named entity associated with an organization, (2) an application account node represents an application account associated with the domain, and (3) a resource node represents a data resource associated with the domain (Dysart Col. 3 line 25-54 “The enterprise network 100 (i.e. organization having plurality of named assets/nodes) includes a plurality of network assets 101, 102, 103, etc. that may be deployed across a plurality of geographical regions, a plurality of geographical zones in each geographical region, and one or more subnets in each zone (i.e. domain). A region may be a country, and a zone may be a part of the country (e.g., state, province). The enterprise network 100 is divided into regions, zones, and subnets for illustration purposes only. As can be appreciated, an enterprise network may be divided into different network partitions or segments depending on the particulars of the enterprise network. A network asset is a computing component that has an associated network interface for network communication. The network asset is addressable by way of its network interface address, such as its Internet Protocol (IP) address. The network asset may comprise a hardware computing component, such as a server computer, desktop computer, network appliance (e.g., network address translation (NAT) computer, load balancer (LB) computer, router, gateway), database server, network attached storage, cloud computing infrastructure (e.g., Amazon Web Services™ platform), etc. The network asset may also comprise a virtual computing component that runs on a hardware computing component. For example, the network asset may be a virtual machine instance that is addressable on a virtual computer network that is part of the enterprise network 100.”, where there are different types of assets/nodes illustrated in Figure 1, which are addressable, and belong to the enterprise/organization, where the different types are in different regions and subnets, corresponding to domains).
Regarding claim 9, claim 9 recites similar limitations to claim 2, therefore rejected with the same rationale/motivation applied to claim 2.
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 recites similar limitations to claim 2, therefore rejected with the same rationale/motivation applied to claim 2.
Claims 3, 10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dysart (US 12621327 B1) in view of Jou (US 20150205954 A1) and Prabhu (US 11397808 B1).
Regarding claim 3, Dysart in view of Jou teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 2.
Dysart in view of Jou does not explicitly disclose the limitation below.
Prabhu discloses wherein each access path comprises a set of edges connecting a respective name entity node and a respective resource node, and a thickness of each of the set of edges illustrates an access activity level of the respective edge (Prabhu illustrates in Figure 2 labeled nodes, and Figure 11 graph of nodes/entities and trail or edges between the nodes, score of a trails and their momentums corresponding to thickness of these trails, Col. 2 line 50-56 “ The execution graph comprises a plurality of nodes and a plurality of edges connecting the nodes, each node represents an entity comprising a process or an artifact, each edge represents an event associated with the entity, and each execution trail is associated with a subset of the nodes and edges of the execution graph.”, Col. 13 line 40-67 “To further understand how trail risk transfer is performed, the concept of “risk momentum” will now be explained. Risk momentum is a supplemental metric that describes the risk that has accumulated thus far beyond a current local trail. In other words, it is the total combined score for the global trail. An example of risk momentum is illustrated in FIG. 11. As shown, Local Trail A, Local Trail B, and Local Trail C are connected to form a continuous global execution trail. Using the techniques described above, Local Trail A is assigned a risk score of 0.3 and Local Trail B has a risk score of 3.5. Traversing the global execution trail, the risk momentum at Local Trail B is 0.3, which is the accumulation of the risk scores of preceding trails (i.e., Local Trail A). Going further, the risk momentum at Local Trail C is 3.8, which is the accumulation of the risk scores of preceding Local Trails A and B. It is possible that a local execution trail does not exhibit any risky behavior, but its preceding trails have accumulated substantial risky behaviors. In that situation, the local execution trail has a low (or zero) risk score but has a high momentum. For example, referring back to FIG. 11, Local Trail C has a risk score of zero, but has a risk momentum of 3.8. For this reason, both the risk momentum and risk score are considered when transferring risk to an artifact.”, where the momentum is associated with access activity and their associated risk traversing the trail).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dysart in view of Jou to incorporate the teaching of Prabhu to utilize the above feature, with the motivation of understanding and analyzing the transfer of risks across nodes and edges , as recognized by (Prabhu Col. 13 line 40-67).
Regarding claim 10, claim 10 recites similar limitations to claim 3, therefore rejected with the same rationale/motivation applied to claim 3.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 recites similar limitations to claim 3, therefore rejected with the same rationale/motivation applied to claim 3.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4-7, 11-13 and 18-20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: None of the prior arts of record, individually or in reasonable combination, discloses the limitations recited in the aforementioned claims, in conjunction with the base claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Suh (US 20220292137 A1) discloses method, apparatus, and computer program for providing cyber security by using a knowledge graph.
Gill (US 10019677 B2) discloses automatic identification of control violations and mapping of controls to risks. comprehensive risk analysis, visualization and exception handling.
/BASSAM A NOAMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2497