DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 3/26/2026 has been received and made of record. Note the acknowledged form PTO-1449 enclosed herewith.
Claim Interpretation
Currently no claims are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-13 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Powell et al. (US 2006/0229708) in view of Dubi et al. (US 2010/0022821).
Powell discloses (see Fig. 29) methods and systems for cardiac valve repair comprising the following claim limitations:
(claim 12) A method for treating a heart valve (see Abstract), the method comprising: introducing a delivery system holding a papillary muscle manipulation device (2910, Fig. 29) into a ventricle of a heart (see Abstract and claims 11 and 14; see exemplary Figs. 21-25 for left ventricle delivery; [0009]; [0128]-[0132]), the papillary muscle manipulation device (2910) including a spring (at 2910) (see annotated Fig. 29 below; [0135]), a first arm (see annotated Fig. 29 below; [0135]), and a second arm (see annotated Fig. 29 below; [0135]), the first arm and the second arm projecting from the spring (2910) at a relative angle (Fig. 29 depicts a 180 degree angle with the spring 2910 under tension), the spring (2910) positioned at an apex of the papillary muscle manipulation device (as expressly shown in Fig. 29); deploying the papillary muscle manipulation device (2910) from the delivery system into the ventricle (as shown in exemplary Figs. 21-25 and 29; [0135]); and applying spring tension in the spring (2910) to the first arm and the second arm to cause the first arm and the second arm to reshape ventricular anatomy of the heart (as shown in Fig. 29; [0135]; spring biasing force between papillary muscles is expressly disclosed);
(claim 13) wherein the first arm and the second arm each have a sleeve covering, the sleeve covering comprising at least one of cloth or polymer ([0135]; fabric spring sleeve covering expressly disclosed);
(claim 16) A method for treating a heart valve (see Abstract), the method comprising: introducing a delivery system holding a papillary muscle manipulation device (2910, Fig. 29) into a ventricle of a heart (see Abstract and claims 11 and 14; see exemplary Figs. 21-25 for left ventricle delivery; [0009]; [0128]-[0132]), the papillary muscle manipulation device (2910) including: a spring (at 2910) (see annotated Fig. 29 below; [0135]); a first arm that emanates from a first end of the spring (2910) (see annotated Fig. 29 below; [0135]); and a second arm that emanates from a second end of the spring coil (2910) (see annotated Fig. 29 below; [0135]); deploying the papillary muscle manipulation device (2910) from the delivery system between a first papillary muscle (i.e., “left” PM in Fig. 29) and a second papillary muscle (i.e., “right” PM in Fig. 29) within the ventricle (as shown in Fig. 29); securing the first arm to first papillary muscle anatomy associated with the first papillary muscle (as shown in Fig. 29; [0135]); securing the second arm to second papillary muscle anatomy associated with the second papillary muscle (as shown in Fig. 29; [0135]); and using spring force of the spring (2910) to draw the first arm and the second arm together to thereby draw the first and second papillary muscles together (as shown in Fig. 29; [0135]; spring biasing force between papillary muscles is expressly disclosed);
(claim 17) wherein securing the first arm to the first papillary muscle anatomy involves puncturing the first papillary muscle anatomy with a free end of the first arm (as expressly shown in Fig. 29; [0135]; barbed ends shown puncturing first and second papillary muscles);
(claim 18) further comprising creating a torsion force on the first arm and the second arm using the spring (2910) when the first arm and the second arm are secured to the first and second papillary muscle anatomy (PM), respectively (as expressly shown in Fig. 29; [0135]; biasing force/tension applied to the first and second arms expressly disclosed);
(claim 19) wherein the spring (2910), the first arm, and the second arm are formed of a single unitary wire (as expressly shown in Fig. 29); and
(claim 20) wherein deploying the papillary muscle manipulation device (2910) involves placing the spring (2910) at an internal apex region of the ventricle (as shown in Fig. 29).
Powell, as applied above, discloses methods and systems for cardiac valve repair comprising all the limitations of the claim wherein the use of different springs is further expressly disclosed ([0135]). However, Powell fails to expressly disclose the spring being a spring coil and having a biased U-shape or V-shape.
Dubi teaches (see Fig. 3A) a similar method and system for cardiac valve repair comprising a spring coil (30) having a biased V-shape (at 13a, see Fig. 3A) (see claim 2; [0017]; [0025]; [0080]). Accordingly, Dubi teaches that it is known that a spring coil having a biased V-shape and a semicircular spring having a U-shape are elements that are functional equivalents for providing a biasing force to reshape/repair ventricular anatomy and function in a heart of a patient. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have substituted the spring coil having a biased V-shape taught by Dubi for the semicircular spring having a U-shape of Powell because both elements were known equivalents for providing a biasing force to reshape/repair ventricular anatomy and function in a heart of a patient. The substitution would have resulted in the predictable results of providing a biasing force to reshape/repair ventricular anatomy and function in a heart of a patient to the device of Powell.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-11 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the art of record does not teach or render obvious a method for treating a heart valve as claimed that includes, in combination with the claim(s) as a whole, a spring coil having first and second arms including the steps of wrapping the first arm around first papillary muscle anatomy and wrapping the second arm around second papillary muscle anatomy. The closest prior art appears to be Powell et al. (US 2006/0229708) disclosing methods and systems for cardiac valve repair using different springs, but failing to disclose or teach a spring coil having first and second arms including the steps of wrapping the first arm around first papillary muscle anatomy and wrapping the second arm around second papillary muscle anatomy.
Claims 14-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: see Rafiee et al. (US 2007/0078297) teaching spring coils with opposed arms for providing torsion/tension within the left ventrer5icle to treat valve regurgitation (see Figs. 1-2 and 7-8).
/ROBERT A LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771