Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: a claim cannot be dependent upon itself. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 USC 101 because the claimed invention is directed towards nonstatutory subject matter.
A machine must comprise at least one structural limitation. The claim(s) fail(s) to include at least one structural element/limitation. Therefore the claimed subject matter as whole fails to fall within the definition of a patentable eligible category of subject matter and fails to meet the requirements of 35 USC § 101. Applicant’s specification refers to the claimed elements as embodied entirely in software (see applicant’s specification ¶ 53).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5, 7-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,289,369. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent contains all the elements of the instant application and/or the equivalents.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the plurality of media flows entering the media production facility". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-8, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20100122303 to Maloney.
Regarding claim 1, Maloney teaches a system comprising:
a media production facility in communication with a public cloud network facility via a common carrier (¶ 52-56; fig. 1, 3, 7);
an orchestration layer configured to run in the media production facility and the public cloud network facility over the common carrier (¶ 52-60, fig. 1, 3, 7);
a registration database including a plurality of media flows registered therein, a first location of a first media flow of the plurality of media flows and a second location of a second media flow of the plurality of media flows, the registration database configured to uniquely identify each of the of the plurality of media flows and store respective metadata related to each of the of the plurality of media flows (¶ 53-60, registered flows and location information identifying flows); and
a management system in communication with the registration database and configured to access, via the orchestration layer, the first media flow from the first location identified in the registration database and the second media flow from the second location identified in the registration database (¶ 53-60, accessing flows).
Regarding claim 2,
Maloney teaches:
wherein the respective metadata include: (i) a respective location of each of the plurality of media flows across a media production facility and a public cloud network facility, (ii) whether each of the plurality of media flows is currently being used in a broadcast, and (iii) what other media flows are stored with or are being used with each of the plurality of media flows (¶ 53-54).
Regarding claim 3,
Maloney teaches:
wherein the management system is further configured to generate media by combining the first media flow with the second media flow to provide a combined media flow in real time with respect to identifying the first location of the first media flow and the second location of the second media flow (¶ 54-56, combined flow).
Regarding claim 4,
Maloney teaches:
wherein the management system is further configured to register the combined media flow in the registration database by uniquely identifying the combined media flow in the registration database and storing metadata related to the combined media flow in the registration database (¶ 54-60, information regarding content flows).
Regarding claim 7,
Maloney teaches:
wherein the plurality of media flows include: video segments; audio segments; graphics; content triggers; or usage metadata describing how the plurality of media flows have been used or broadcast (¶ 54-56).
Regarding claim 8,
Maloney teaches:
wherein the management system is further configured to, in response to identifying that the first location of the first media flow is located in the public cloud network facility: retrieve, to the media production facility, the first media flow from the public cloud network facility as a unicast flow; and migrate, within the media production facility, the unicast flow to a multicast flow for use in generating the media (¶ 45, 50, 58, migration from unicast to multicast).
Regarding claim 10,
Maloney teaches:
wherein the metadata further comprises content metadata describing contents of the first media flow or the second media flow (¶ 54).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maloney in view of US 20150117397 to Ofir.
Regarding claim 5,
Maloney teaches:
wherein the management system is further configured to compress the plurality of media flows exiting the media production facility (¶ 61-62, compression; ¶ 44, 75).
Maloney fails to teach decompress the plurality of media flows entering the media production facility. However, Ofir teaches decompression of a plurality of media flows entering a facility (¶ 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teachings of Ofir. The motivation to do so is that the compression and decompression of media flows advantageously reduced overhead and is a standard in the art (Ofir ¶ 6).
Regarding claim 9,
Maloney teaches: wherein the multicast flow is compressed (¶ 61-62, compression). Maloney fails to teach but Ofir teaches a management system is further configured to decompress the multicast flow (¶ 6). Motivation to include Ofir is the same as presented above.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maloney in view of US 11,829,583 to Hawa.
Regarding claim 6,
Maloney fails to teach: wherein the management system is further configured to tally content in the registration database to indicate content that is read-only during broadcast of the content. However, Hawa discloses marking content as read-only (col. 3:1-50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teachings of Hawa. The motivation to do so is that the teachings of Hawa would have been advantageous in terms of facilitating control of shared of content (Hawa, col. 1:25-55, col. 2:1-12, col. 3:1-50).
CONCLUSION
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to RYAN J JAKOVAC whose telephone number is (571)270-5003. The examiner can normally be reached on 8-4 PM EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Oscar A. Louie can be reached on 572-270-1684. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/RYAN J JAKOVAC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2445