DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 41-60 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,582,287 (Morgan et al hereinafter Morgan). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following reason:
Referring to Claim 41. Morgan discloses a method, comprising:
establishing, by a remote management server, a connection between a remote computing device and a host computing device (refer to claim 8);
generating, by the remote management server, a hidden desktop executing on the remote
computing device, the hidden desktop separate from a user desktop displayed to an end user of the remote computing device (refer to claim 1, 6 and 7);
displaying, by the remote management server on the host computing device, the generated hidden desktop (refer to claim 1); and
presenting, by the remote management server, a user interface on the generated hidden
desktop, the user interface comprising an icon that launches a second application of the remote
computing device (refer to claim 1, 6, 7 and 10).
Referring to Claim 42. Morgan disclosed the e method of claim 41, Morgan discloses the user interface comprising a taskbar presenting a plurality of icons that each launch a respective application of the remote computing device within the hidden desktop (refer to claim 10).
Referring to Claim 43. Morgan disclosed the method of claim 41, Morgan discloses comprising presenting, on the host computing device, a second icon in the user interface that presents a menu comprising a list of files stored on the remote computing device (refer to claim 10).
Referring to Claim 44. Morgan disclosed the method of claim 41, Morgan discloses comprising presenting, on the host computing device, a second icon in the user interface that presents a search interface comprising a field that accepts text input (refer to claim 9).
Referring to Claim 45. Morgan disclosed the method of claim 41, Morgan discloses comprising presenting a contextual menu within the hidden desktop having entries to terminate the second application, launch a second instance of the second application, and close the contextual menu (refer to claim 1 and 2).
Referring to Claim 46. Morgan disclosed the method of claim 41, Morgan discloses comprising determining that a permission associated with the host computing device permits access to the hidden desktop (refer to claim 4).
Referring to Claim 47. Morgan disclosed the method of claim 41, Morgan discloses comprising identifying, by the remote management server, the remote computing device based on a support ticket (refer to claim 1).
Referring to Claim 48. Morgan disclosed the method of claim 47, Morgan discloses comprising updating a status of the support ticket based on instructions executed within the hidden desktop on the remote computing device (refer to claim 1).
Referring to Claim 49. Morgan disclosed the method of claim 41, Morgan discloses generating the hidden desktop comprising transitioning a system session executing on the remote computing device from a non-interactive state to an interactive state by modifying a registry of an operating system of the remote computing device (refer to claim 1).
Referring to Claim 50. (New) The method of claim 41, Morgan discloses comprising terminating the hidden desktop in response to a command from the host computing device (refer to claim 1).
Referring to Claims 51-60 are rejected under similar rational as claims 41-50.
Claims 41-60 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,289359 (Morgan et al hereinafter Morgan). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following reason:
Referring to Claim 41. Morgan discloses a method, comprising:
establishing, by a remote management server, a connection between a remote computing device and a host computing device (refer to Claim 1);
generating, by the remote management server, a hidden desktop executing on the remote
computing device, the hidden desktop separate from a user desktop displayed to an end user of the remote computing device (refer to claim 1);
displaying, by the remote management server on the host computing device, the generated hidden desktop (refer to claim 1); and
presenting, by the remote management server, a user interface on the generated hidden
desktop, the user interface comprising an icon that launches a second application of the remote
computing device (refer to claim 1).
Referring to Claim 42. Morgan disclosed the method of claim 41, Morgan discloses the user interface comprising a taskbar presenting a plurality of icons that each launch a respective application of the remote computing device within the hidden desktop (refer to claim 1).
Referring to Claim 43. Morgan disclosed the method of claim 41, Morgan discloses comprising presenting, on the host computing device, a second icon in the user interface that presents a menu comprising a list of files stored on the remote computing device (refer to claim 1 and 2).
Referring to Claim 44. Morgan disclosed the method of claim 41, Morgan discloses comprising presenting, on the host computing device, a second icon in the user interface that presents a search interface comprising a field that accepts text input (refer to Fig 4).
Referring to Claim 45. Morgan disclosed the method of claim 41, Morgan discloses comprising presenting a contextual menu within the hidden desktop having entries to terminate the second application, launch a second instance of the second application, and close the contextual menu (refer to Claim 1 and 5).
Referring to Claim 46. Morgan disclosed the method of claim 41, Morgan discloses comprising determining that a permission associated with the host computing device permits access to the hidden desktop (refer to Fig 6).
Referring to Claim 47. Morgan disclosed the method of claim 41, Morgan discloses comprising identifying, by the remote management server, the remote computing device based on a support ticket (refer to Claim 8).
Referring to Claim 48. Morgan disclosed the method of claim 47, Morgan discloses comprising updating a status of the support ticket based on instructions executed within the hidden desktop on the remote computing device (refer to Claim 7).
Referring to Claim 49. Morgan disclosed the method of claim 41, Morgan discloses generating the hidden desktop comprising transitioning a system session executing on the remote computing device from a non-interactive state to an interactive state by modifying a registry of an operating system of the remote computing device (refer to Claim 9).
Referring to Claim 50. Morgan disclosed the method of claim 41, Morgan discloses comprising terminating the hidden desktop in response to a command from the host computing device. (refer to claim 5)
Referring to Claims 51-60 are rejected under similar rational as claims 41-50.
Claims 41-60 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,005914 (Morgan et al hereinafter Morgan). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following reason:
Referring to Claim 41. Morgan discloses a method, comprising:
establishing, by a remote management server, a connection between a remote computing device and a host computing device (refer to claim 1);
generating, by the remote management server, a hidden desktop executing on the remote
computing device, the hidden desktop separate from a user desktop displayed to an end user of the remote computing device (refer to claim 1);
displaying, by the remote management server on the host computing device, the generated hidden desktop (refer to claim 1); and
presenting, by the remote management server, a user interface on the generated hidden
desktop, the user interface comprising an icon that launches a second application of the remote
computing device (refer to claim 1).
Referring to Claim 42. Morgan disclosed the method of claim 41, Morgan discloses the user interface comprising a taskbar presenting a plurality of icons that each launch a respective application of the remote computing device within the hidden desktop (refer to claim 10).
Referring to Claim 43. Morgan disclosed the method of claim 41, Morgan discloses comprising presenting, on the host computing device, a second icon in the user interface that presents a menu comprising a list of files stored on the remote computing device (refer to claim 6 and 7).
Referring to Claim 44. Morgan disclosed the method of claim 41, Morgan discloses comprising presenting, on the host computing device, a second icon in the user interface that presents a search interface comprising a field that accepts text input (refer to claim 9).
Referring to Claim 45. Morgan disclosed the method of claim 41, Morgan discloses comprising presenting a contextual menu within the hidden desktop having entries to terminate the second application, launch a second instance of the second application, and close the contextual menu (refer to claim 10).
Referring to Claim 46. Morgan disclosed the e method of claim 41, Morgan discloses comprising determining that a permission associated with the host computing device permits access to the hidden desktop (refer to claim 4).
Referring to Claim 47. Morgan disclosed the method of claim 41, Morgan discloses comprising identifying, by the remote management server, the remote computing device based on a support ticket (refer to claim 3).
Referring to Claim 48. Morgan disclosed the method of claim 47, Morgan discloses comprising updating a status of the support ticket based on instructions executed within the hidden desktop on the remote computing device (refer to claim 2).
Referring to Claim 49. Morgan disclosed the method of claim 41, Morgan discloses generating the hidden desktop comprising transitioning a system session executing on the remote computing device from a non-interactive state to an interactive state by modifying a registry of an operating system of the remote computing device (refer to claim 1).
Referring to Claim 50. Morgan disclosed the method of claim 41, Morgan discloses comprising terminating the hidden desktop in response to a command from the host computing device (refer to claim 1).
Referring to Claims 51-60 are rejected under similar rational as claims 41-50.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 41- 60 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kominac et al hereinafter Kominac (US 9,244,912) in view of Divoux et al hereinafter Divoux (US 20190245848).
Referring to Claim 41. Kominac discloses a method, comprising:
establishing, by a remote management server, a connection between a remote computing device and a host computing device (establish remote desktop connection via a server from a client device to a remote machine, refer to Col 8, Lines 15-20);
generating, by the remote management server, a hidden desktop executing on the remote
computing device (generate a display shown a remote view window showing an image of the remote desktop of the remote machine, refer to Col 8, Lines 19-25), the hidden desktop separate from a user desktop displayed to an end user of the remote computing device (refer to Fig 1);
displaying, by the remote management server on the host computing device, the generated hidden desktop (refer to Fig 1); and
presenting, by the remote management server, a user interface on the generated hidden
desktop, the user interface comprising an icon that launches a second application of the remote
computing device (refer to Fig 1).
Dovoux, in analogous art, is introduce to demonstrate the well known in the art limitation “a hidden desktop executing on the remote device (session that access the remote desktop services, refer to Fig 17).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Kominac with Dovoux because Dovoux would allow the system of Kominac to enhance and improve the security when logon to the service.
Referring to Claim 42. Kominac with Dovoux disclosed the method of claim 41, Kominac discloses the user interface comprising a taskbar presenting a plurality of icons that each launch a respective application of the remote computing device within the hidden desktop (icons such as file icons and other icons shown on the brower’s tab , Fig 1).
Referring to Claim 43. Kominac with Dovoux disclosed the method of claim 41, Kominac discloses comprising presenting, on the host computing device, a second icon in the user interface that presents a menu comprising a list of files stored on the remote computing device (folder icons, and shortcut icons refer to Fig 1).
Referring to Claim 44. Kominac with Dovoux disclosed the e method of claim 41, Kominac discloses comprising presenting, on the host computing device, a second icon in the user interface that presents a search interface comprising a field that accepts text input (internet explorer icon activated Brower that accept text input, Fig 1).
Referring to Claim 45. Kominac with Dovoux disclosed the method of claim 41, Kominac discloses comprising presenting a contextual menu within the hidden desktop having entries to terminate the second application, launch a second instance of the second application, and close the contextual menu (terminate the session, pressing the x on the remote machine tabs, click email feature/instance of the second application on the yahoo Microsoft Explorer, close the yahoo internet explorer., refer to Fig 1).
Referring to Claim 46. Kominac with Dovoux disclosed the method of claim 41, Kominac discloses comprising determining that a permission associated with the host computing device permits access to the hidden desktop (allow the remote session must be login first, refer to Col 9, Lines 1-15 and Col 7, Lines 40).
Referring to Claim 47. Kominac with Dovoux disclosed the method of claim 41, Dovoux discloses further comprising identifying, by the remote management server, the remote computing device based on a support ticket (identify the SAML token, refer to par 0188).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Kominac with Dovoux because Dovoux would allow the system of Kominac to enhance and improve the security when logon to the service.
Referring to Claim 48. Kominac with Dovoux disclosed the method of claim 47, Dovoux discloses updating a status of the support ticket based on instructions executed within the hidden desktop on the remote computing device (update as to accept the access to the remote service, refer to par 0188).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Kominac with Dovoux because Dovoux would allow the system of Kominac to enhance and improve the security when logon to the service.
Referring to Claim 49. Kominac with Dovoux disclosed the method of claim 41, Dovoux discloses generating the hidden desktop comprising transitioning a system session executing on the remote computing device from a non-interactive state to an interactive state by modifying a registry of an operating system of the remote computing device (enable the session from the operating system accepted the authentication event, par 0188-0189).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Kominac with Dovoux because Dovoux would allow the system of Kominac to enhance and improve the security when logon to the service.
Referring to Claim 50. Kominac with Dovoux disclosed the method of claim 41, Kominac discloses comprising terminating the hidden desktop in response to a command from the host computing device (close the browser tab to terminate the session, refer to Col 36, Lines 60-65).
Referring to Claim 51-60, claims are rejected under similar rational as claims 41-50
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KAREN C TANG whose telephone number is (571)272-3116. The examiner can normally be reached on 5:30am - 2:30pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Joon H Hwang can be reached on (571) 272-4036. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/KAREN C TANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447