DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “330” has been used to designate both a handle and a limiting member in Figure 4. It appears that the bottom 330 in Figure 4 should be amended to be 310.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the embodiment of claim 15 that has the stem rotatably sleeved on an outer side circumference of the support tube (Note: the embodiment shown in the drawings only supports the stem (100) that contacts an inner side circumference of the support tube (220)) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-11, 13, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2, line 2, recites “the limiting holes” which is indefinite because claim 1, line 2, only discloses a singular limiting hole. Is the limiting hole in claim 1 one of the limiting holes in claim 2? Should claim 1, line 2, be amended to recite --at least one limiting hole-- and should claim 2, line 2, be amended to recite --wherein the at least one limiting hole is comprised of a first limiting hole and a second limiting hole--?
Claim 2, line 3, recites “the locking positions” which is indefinite because claim 1, lines 7-8, only discloses a singular locking position. Is the locking position in claim 1 one of the locking positions in claim 2? Should claim 1, lines 7-8, be amended to recite --at least one locking position-- and should claim 2, line 3, be amended to recite --wherein the at least one locking position is comprised of a first locking position and a second locking position--?
Claim 6, line 3, recites “a groove wall” which is indefinite because it is unclear how the groove wall from claim 6, line 3, is different from or related to the groove wall from claim 5, line 4.
Claim 6, line 5, recites “a groove wall” which is indefinite because it is unclear how the groove wall from claim 6, line 5, is different from or related to the groove wall from claim 5, line 4.
Claim 8, line 2, recites “an outer side circumference of the support tube” which is indefinite because it is unclear how the outer side circumference of the support tube from claim 8, line 2, is different from or related to the side circumference of the support tube from claim 1, line 4. Is the Applicant referring to the same structure in both limitations?
Claim 9, line 2, recites “an avoiding hole” which is indefinite because it is unclear what makes a hole an avoiding hole. What is the hole avoiding? Is the Applicant trying to claim a through hole?
Claim 11, lines 1-2, recites “wherein the limiting member is at least partially matched with the limiting hole” which is indefinite because it is unclear exactly what structure must be present for the limiting member to be viewed as being at least partially matched with the limiting hole. Can any relationship meet the claim limitation?
Claim 11, lines 2-3, recites “the limiting hole is matched with the positioning hole” which is indefinite because it is unclear exactly what structure must be present for the limiting hole to be viewed as being matched with the positioning hole. Can any relationship meet the claim limitation?
Claim 13, line 1, recites “two grips” which is indefinite because claim 1, line 3, only discloses a singular grip. Is the grip in claim 1 one of the two grips in claim 13? Should claim 1, line 3, be amended to recite --at least one grip-- and should claim 13, line 1, be amended to recite --wherein the at least one grip is comprised of two grips--?
Claim 15, lines 1-2, recites “an outer side circumference of the support tube” which is indefinite because it is unclear how the outer side circumference of the support tube from claim 15, lines 1-2, is different from or related to the side circumference of the support tube from claim 1, line 4. Is the Applicant referring to the same structure in both limitations?
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the outer side circumference" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16, lines 1-2, recites “an outer side circumference of the support tube” which is indefinite because it is unclear how the outer side circumference of the support tube from claim 16, lines 1-2, is different from or related to the side circumference of the support tube from claim 1, line 4. Is the Applicant referring to the same structure in both limitations?
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the outer side circumference" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8-14, and 17, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Scholl (DE 102011054696 A1; see provided machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Scholl discloses a handlebar assembly, comprising:
a stem (13), a side circumference (an outer circumference of 13) of the stem being provided with a limiting hole (35; the hole in 13 that 34 goes through in Figure 8);
a handlebar (10) comprising a grip (the left and right sides of 10 in Figure 2) and a support tube (52) fixed to the grip, one of the support tube and the stem being rotatably sleeved with another, and a side circumference of the support tube being provided with a positioning hole (35; the hole in 52 that 34 goes through in Figure 8); and
a limiting structure (33, 34, 45) comprising a limiting member (34) movably connected to the handlebar, the limiting member being capable of moving between an unlocking position (see Figure 10) and a locking position (see Figure 8) relative to the handlebar, wherein when the limiting member is at the locking position, at least a part of the limiting member is inserted into the positioning hole and the limiting hole simultaneously to lock the handlebar and the stem (34 extends through both holes as shown in Figure 8), and when the limiting member is at the unlocking position, the limiting member is disengaged from the limiting hole and the positioning hole (34 is not located in the holes as shown in Figure 10), such that the handlebar is rotatable relative to the stem.
Regarding claim 2, Scholl discloses that the limiting holes comprise a first limiting hole (the hole of 13 that 34 goes through in Figure 8) and a second limiting hole (36), the first limiting hole and the second limiting hole are spaced apart along a circumferential direction (radially along the outer circumference of 13; see Figure 8) of the stem;
the locking positions comprise a first locking position (see Figure 10) and a second locking position (the position where 34 goes through 36), when the limiting member is at the first locking position, the positioning hole is aligned with the first limiting hole, the limiting member is inserted into the positioning hole and the first limiting hole (see Figure 8), and when the limiting member is at the second locking position, the positioning hole is aligned with the second limiting hole, and the limiting member is inserted into the positioning hole and the second limiting hole.
Regarding claim 3, Scholl discloses that an axial extension line (an imaginary line extending vertically from the axial centerline of 18 in Figure 8) of the first limiting hole and an axial extension line (an imaginary line extending horizontally from the axial centerline of 18 to hole 36 in Figure 8) of the second limiting hole are arranged to form an angle.
Regarding claim 4, Scholl discloses that the axial extension line of the first limiting hole and the axial extension line of the second limiting hole are arranged to form the angle of 90 degrees (see Figure 8).
Regarding claim 8, Scholl discloses that the limiting structure further comprises a fixing sleeve (45) sleeved on an outer side circumference of the support tube (see Figure 8), and a handle (33) rotatably connected to the fixing sleeve, and the limiting member is provided on a side of the handle adjacent to the support tube (see Figures 8 and 10).
Regarding claim 9, Scholl discloses that a side circumference of the fixing sleeve is further provided with an avoiding hole (the hole in 45 that 34 passes through as shown in Figure 8; the hole in 45 is shown in Figure 10) aligned with the positioning hole, and when the limiting member is at the locking position, the limiting member at least partially extends through the avoiding hole and the positioning hole, so as to be inserted into the limiting hole (see Figure 8).
Regarding claim 10, Scholl discloses that the limiting member is a pin (34 is viewed as being a pin), and the pin extends through the handle and is fixed to the handle (see Figures 8 and 10).
Regarding claim 11, Scholl discloses that the limiting member is at least partially matched with the limiting hole, and the limiting hole is matched with the positioning hole (see Figure 8).
Regarding claim 12, Scholl discloses that at least a part of the limiting member is cylindrical (see Figure 10).
Regarding claim 13, Scholl discloses that two grips (see Figure 2) are provided, and the two grips are located on two opposite sides of the support tube (see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 14, Scholl discloses that the stem is configured to be connected to a front fork (5) of a bicycle (1), so as to control a travel direction of a wheel (6) connected to the front fork.
Regarding claim 17, Scholl discloses a bicycle (1) comprising a frame (see Figure 1) and the handlebar assembly according to claim 1 connected to the frame.
Claims 1 and 8-14, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Korea (KR 20080004128 U; see provided machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Korea discloses a handlebar assembly, comprising:
a stem (140), a side circumference (an outer surface of 140) of the stem being provided with a limiting hole (the hole in 140 that 230 goes through in Figure 2b);
a handlebar (110, 120) comprising a grip (110) and a support tube (120) fixed to the grip, one of the support tube and the stem being rotatably sleeved with another (140 is sleeved over 120), and a side circumference of the support tube being provided with a positioning hole (the holes in 120 as shown in Figure 1); and
a limiting structure (130, 230) comprising a limiting member (230) movably connected to the handlebar, the limiting member being capable of moving between an unlocking position (the position when 230 does not engage 120) and a locking position (the position of 230 in Figure 2b) relative to the handlebar, wherein when the limiting member is at the locking position, at least a part of the limiting member is inserted into the positioning hole and the limiting hole simultaneously to lock the handlebar and the stem (see Figure 2b), and when the limiting member is at the unlocking position, the limiting member is disengaged from the limiting hole and the positioning hole, such that the handlebar is rotatable relative to the stem (when 230 is pulled backwards and out of 120, 120 and 140 would be rotatable relative to each other because there is no structure keeping them in place).
Regarding claim 8, Korea discloses that the limiting structure further comprises a fixing sleeve (the member that the right side of the spring in Figure 2b directly contacts) sleeved on an outer side circumference of the support tube, and a handle (the member that the left end of 230 is directly connected to in Figure 2b) rotatably connected to the fixing sleeve, and the limiting member is provided on a side of the handle adjacent to the support tube.
Regarding claim 9, Korea discloses that a side circumference of the fixing sleeve is further provided with an avoiding hole (the hole in the viewed fixing sleeve that 230 goes through as shown in Figure 2b) aligned with the positioning hole, and when the limiting member is at the locking position, the limiting member at least partially extends through the avoiding hole and the positioning hole, so as to be inserted into the limiting hole (see Figure 2b).
Regarding claim 10, Korea discloses that the limiting member is a pin (230 is viewed as being a pin), and the pin extends through the handle and is fixed to the handle (see Figure 2b).
Regarding claim 11, Korea discloses that the limiting member is at least partially matched with the limiting hole, and the limiting hole is matched with the positioning hole (230 fits into 120 and 140 thus is viewed as meeting the claim limitation).
Regarding claim 12, Korea discloses that at least a part of the limiting member is cylindrical (230 is a pin thus is viewed as meeting the claim limitation).
Regarding claim 13, Korea discloses that two grips (see Figure 1) are provided, and the two grips are located on two opposite sides of the support tube.
Regarding claim 14, Korea discloses that the stem is **[configured to be connected to a front fork of a bicycle, so as to control a travel direction of a wheel connected to the front fork]**.
**The above statements in brackets are instances of intended use and functional language. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does, see MPEP 2114. It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scholl (DE 102011054696 A1; see provided machine translation) in view of Liang et al. (CN 114056474 A; see provided machine translation).
Regarding claim 5, Scholl discloses all of the claim limitations, see above, but does not disclose that an outer side circumference of the stem is provided with a guide bump, the side circumference of the support tube is provided with a guide sliding groove, the guide bump is slidably provided in the guide sliding groove, the guide bump abuts against a groove wall of the guide sliding groove to limit movement of the support tube in an axial direction of the stem, so as to limit a rotation angle of the support tube in the circumferential direction of the stem.
Liang et al. teaches an outer side circumference (the outer circumferential surface of 1) of a stem (1) is provided with a guide bump (101), a side circumference of a support tube (2) is provided with a guide sliding groove (201), the guide bump is slidably provided in the guide sliding groove (see Figure 8), the guide bump abuts against a groove wall (a wall portion of 201) of the guide sliding groove to limit movement of the support tube in an axial direction of the stem, so as to limit a rotation angle of the support tube in the circumferential direction of the stem (101 abuts the ends of 201 thereby limiting rotation between the parts).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the handlebar assembly of Scholl to have an outer side circumference of the stem be provided with a guide bump, to have the side circumference of the support tube be provided with a guide sliding groove, to have the guide bump be slidably provided in the guide sliding groove, to have the guide bump abut against a groove wall of the guide sliding groove to limit movement of the support tube in an axial direction of the stem, so as to limit a rotation angle of the support tube in the circumferential direction of the stem, as taught by Liang et al., for the purpose of preventing the stem and support tube from rotating to an area beyond where the limiting holes and the positioning hole can be aligned.
Regarding claim 6, Scholl in view of Liang et al. discloses that the guide sliding groove extends along the circumferential direction of the stem, the guide sliding groove has a first end (202 in Figure 8; Liang et al.) and a second end (203 in Figure 8; Liang et al.) in the circumferential direction of the stem, when a groove wall (the wall of 201 where 202 is located; Liang et al.) of the first end of the guide sliding groove abuts against the guide bump, the positioning hole is aligned with the first limiting hole, and when a groove wall (the wall of 201 where 203 is located; Liang et al.) of the second end of the guide sliding groove abuts against the guide bump, the positioning hole is aligned with the second limiting hole (once Scholl is modified by Liang et al., the first and second ends of the guide sliding groove would be located such that the limiting holes and the positioning hole would be aligned in the first and second positions thus aligning for quick adjustment).
Regarding claim 7, Scholl in view of Liang et al. discloses that the guide bump is a screw (101 of Liang et al. is a screw), and the guide bump is threadedly connected to the side circumference of the stem (101 threads into 104 of Liang et al. because 104 is a threaded hole).
Claim 16, as best understood, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scholl (DE 102011054696 A1; see provided machine translation) in view of Burckhardt (CH 176187 A; see provided machine translation).
Regarding claim 16, Scholl discloses that the support tube is rotatably sleeved on an outer side circumference of the stem (see Figures 8 and 10) and a fixing sleeve (45) sleeved on the outer side circumference of the support tube (see Figures 8 and 10).
Scholl does not disclose that the limiting structure further comprises a pressure spring and a fixing sleeve sleeved on the outer side circumference of the stem, a limiting cavity is provided in the fixing sleeve, the limiting member comprises an operating portion, a connecting portion, and a limiting portion that are connected in sequence, the connecting portion extends through the limiting cavity, the pressure spring is provided in the limiting cavity and is sleeved on the connecting portion, one end of the pressure spring elastically abuts against the limiting portion, another end of the pressure spring elastically abuts against an inner wall of the limiting cavity, the limiting portion is inserted into the limiting hole and the positioning hole subjected to an elastic force of the pressure spring, and the operating portion is located outside the limiting cavity and configured to be operated by a user, so as to pull the limiting portion to overcome the elastic force of the pressure spring and is disengaged from the limiting hole and the positioning hole.
Burckhardt teaches a stem (2), a support tube (3), a limiting structure (5-8) comprised of a pressure spring (7) and a fixing member (the protrusion on 3 that 5-7 are located in as shown in Figures 3 and 6) located on an outer side circumference of the support tube, a limiting cavity (the cavity that 5-7 are located in as shown in Figure 6) is provided in the fixing member, the limiting member comprises an operating portion (6), a connecting portion (the part of 6 that 7 is located over), and a limiting portion (6’) that are connected in sequence, the connecting portion extends through the limiting cavity (the phrase “extends through” is broad enough to encompass the structure shown in Figure 6), the pressure spring is arranged in the limiting cavity and sleeves the connecting portion (see Figure 6), one end of the pressure spring elastically abuts against the limiting portion (see Figures 3 and 6), another end of the pressure spring elastically abuts against an inner wall (a wall of 5) of the limiting cavity (see Figures 3 and 6), the limiting portion is inserted into a limiting hole (one of the two holes in 2 as shown in Figure 6) and a positioning hole (a hole in 3 as shown in Figure 6) subjected to an elastic force of the pressure spring, and the operating portion is located outside the limiting cavity and configured to be operated by a user, so as to pull the limiting portion to overcome the elastic force of the pressure spring and is disengaged from the limiting hole and the positioning hole.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the limiting structure of Scholl to comprise a pressure spring and a fixing member located on the outer side circumference of the stem, to have a limiting cavity provided in the fixing sleeve, to have the limiting member comprise an operating portion, a connecting portion, and a limiting portion that are connected in sequence, to have the connecting portion extend through the limiting cavity, to have the pressure spring provided in the limiting cavity and sleeved on the connecting portion, to have one end of the pressure spring elastically abut against the limiting portion, to have another end of the pressure spring elastically abut against an inner wall of the limiting cavity, to have the limiting portion inserted into the limiting hole and the positioning hole subjected to an elastic force of the pressure spring, and to have the operating portion located outside the limiting cavity and configured to be operated by a user, so as to pull the limiting portion to overcome the elastic force of the pressure spring and be disengaged from the limiting hole and the positioning hole, as taught by Burckhardt, for the purpose of providing a biased limiting structure that aids in keeping the member that engages into the limiting hole and the positioning hole from be dislodged during use of the bicycle. Once Scholl is modified by Burckhardt, the fixing member of Burckhardt would be integrated into the limiting structure of Scholl thus would then be viewed as a fixing sleeve.
Claim 15, as best understood, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korea (KR 20080004128 U; see provided machine translation) in view of Burckhardt (CH 176187 A; see provided machine translation).
Regarding claim 15, Korea discloses that the stem is rotatably sleeved on an outer side circumference of the support tube (140 is sleeve over the outer circumference of 120 thus meeting the claim limitation), and that the limiting structure comprises a fixing sleeve (the member that the right side of the spring in Figure 2b directly contacts).
Korea does not disclose that the limiting structure further comprises a pressure spring, a limiting cavity is provided in the fixing sleeve, the limiting member comprises an operating portion, a connecting portion, and a limiting portion that are connected in sequence, the connecting portion extends through the limiting cavity, the pressure spring is provided in the limiting cavity and is sleeved on the connecting portion, one end of the pressure spring elastically abuts against the limiting portion, another end of the pressure spring elastically abuts against an inner wall of the limiting cavity, the limiting portion is inserted into the limiting hole and the positioning hole subjected to an elastic force of the pressure spring, and the operating portion is located outside the limiting cavity and configured to be operated by a user, so as to pull the limiting portion to overcome the elastic force of the pressure spring and is disengaged from the limiting hole and the positioning hole.
Burckhardt teaches a stem (2), a support tube (3), a limiting structure (5-8) comprised of a pressure spring (7) and a fixing member (the protrusion on 3 that 5-7 are located in as shown in Figures 3 and 6) located on an outer side circumference of the support tube, a limiting cavity (the cavity that 5-7 are located in as shown in Figure 6) is provided in the fixing member, the limiting member comprises an operating portion (6), a connecting portion (the part of 6 that 7 is located over), and a limiting portion (6’) that are connected in sequence, the connecting portion extends through the limiting cavity (the phrase “extends through” is broad enough to encompass the structure shown in Figure 6), the pressure spring is arranged in the limiting cavity and sleeves the connecting portion (see Figure 6), one end of the pressure spring elastically abuts against the limiting portion (see Figures 3 and 6), another end of the pressure spring elastically abuts against an inner wall (a wall of 5) of the limiting cavity (see Figures 3 and 6), the limiting portion is inserted into a limiting hole (one of the two holes in 2 as shown in Figure 6) and a positioning hole (a hole in 3 as shown in Figure 6) subjected to an elastic force of the pressure spring, and the operating portion is located outside the limiting cavity and configured to be operated by a user, so as to pull the limiting portion to overcome the elastic force of the pressure spring and is disengaged from the limiting hole and the positioning hole.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the limiting structure of Korea to comprise a pressure spring and a fixing member located on the outer side circumference of the stem, to have a limiting cavity provided in the fixing sleeve, to have the limiting member comprise an operating portion, a connecting portion, and a limiting portion that are connected in sequence, to have the connecting portion extend through the limiting cavity, to have the pressure spring provided in the limiting cavity and sleeved on the connecting portion, to have one end of the pressure spring elastically abut against the limiting portion, to have another end of the pressure spring elastically abut against an inner wall of the limiting cavity, to have the limiting portion inserted into the limiting hole and the positioning hole subjected to an elastic force of the pressure spring, and to have the operating portion located outside the limiting cavity and configured to be operated by a user, so as to pull the limiting portion to overcome the elastic force of the pressure spring and be disengaged from the limiting hole and the positioning hole, as taught by Burckhardt, for the purpose of providing a biased limiting structure that aids in keeping the member that engages into the limiting hole and the positioning hole from be dislodged during use of the bicycle. Once Korea is modified by Burckhardt, the fixing member of Burckhardt would be integrated into the limiting structure of Korea thus would then be viewed as a fixing sleeve.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nelson (CA 2441944 C) discloses a bicycle steering lock that is comprised of a handlebar having a support tube, a stem that the support tube fits into, a locking structure that prevents relative movement between the stem and the support tube, and the locking structure includes a housing, a retractable pin and a biasing spring, and the pin is configured to pass through a positioning hole in the support tube and into a limiting hole in the stem.
Boudreau (US 3,955,828 A) discloses a bicycle handlebar assembly that is comprised of a handlebar having a support tube, a stem that the support tube fits into, a locking structure that prevents relative movement between the stem and the support tube, and the locking structure includes a machine screw that threads into a collar, passes through a positioning hole in the support tube, a limiting hole in the stem, and bears against the support tube.
/ADAM D ROGERS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3617