DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the Application Number 19/095,819 filed on 03/31/2025.
Claims 13 has been amended and is hereby entered.
Claims 1-13 are currently pending and have been examined.
This action is made FINAL in response to the “Amendment” and “Remarks” filed on 09/14/2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 4, line 3-4, “the processor is further configured to change an other” should read “the processor is further configured to change another”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 8, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsunaga (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0242936 A1) in view of Weston (U.S. Pub. No. 2024/0227782 A9).
Regarding Claim 1:
Matsunaga teaches:
A control device for a moving object which autonomously moves from a parking start position to a destined parking position, (See (Matsunaga: Summary of the Invention – 10th-15th paragraphs))
the control device comprising a processor configured to: acquire external environment information related to a surrounding situation of the moving object;, (See (Matsunaga: Detailed Description of the Embodiment – 62nd-72nd and 75th-80th paragraphs, FIG. 1-2))
store at a relevant time route information acquired when the moving object travels from the parking start position to the destined parking position in a storage; and perform travel control of the moving object travelling to the destined parking position based on the external environment information and the route information, wherein in a case where the moving object is not towing the towed vehicle, the processor is further configured to generate, based on the external environment information and the route information stored in the storage, a non-towing travel route along which the moving object travels toward the destined parking position, and performs the travel control based on the non-towing travel route,, (See (Matsunaga: Background of the Invention – 3rd-5th paragraphs, Summary of the Invention – 13th-19th and 23rd-33rd, and Detailed Description of the Embodiment – 124th-136th, 139th-141st, and 174th-176th paragraphs))
Matsunaga does not teach but Weston teaches:
and to which a towed vehicle is connectable,, (See (Weston: Field of the Disclosure – 1st paragraph))
acquire towed vehicle information related to the towed vehicle connected to the moving object;, (See (Weston: Detailed Description – 36th-37th, 44th-45th, 58th-59th, and 70th paragraphs, FIG. 1-3))
and in a case where the moving object is towing the towed vehicle, the processor is further configured to generate, based on the external environment information, the route information stored in the storage, and the towed vehicle information, a towing travel route along which the moving object, to which the towed vehicle is connected, travels toward the destined parking position, and performs the travel control based on the towing travel route., (See (Weston: Detailed Description – 51st-52nd, 61st-62nd, 74th-77th, and 94th paragraphs, FIG. 5))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Matsunaga with these above aforementioned teachings from Weston in order to create a safe control device, method, and non-transitory computer-readable storage medium. At the time the invention was filed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Matsunaga’s parking support apparatus with Weston’s methods and apparatus to monitor and prevent trailer sway of a vehicle and trailer in order to acquire towed vehicle information related to a towed vehicle connected to a moving object and generate a travel route that is a trajectory through which the towed vehicle passes when the moving object travels on a different travel route. Combining Matsunaga and Weston would thus “prevent trailer sway conditions from occurring by predicting trailer sway conditions and reacting to the prediction by activating vehicle controls such as applying a torque to wheels of the trailer coupled to the vehicle” (Weston: Detailed Description – 30th paragraph), thus improving “maneuverability of the vehicle and a reduced need for user input.” (Weston: Detailed Description – 30th paragraph)
Regarding Claim 3:
Matsunaga in view of Weston, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 2. Matsunaga further teaches:
The control device according to claim 2, wherein the processor is further configured to determine, based on the route information, whether or not to travel along the towing travel route,, (See (Matsunaga: Background of the Invention – 3rd-5th paragraphs and Detailed Description of the Embodiment – 124th and 139th-141st paragraphs))
Matsunaga does not teach but Weston teaches:
[…] and the processor is further configured to, in a case where it is determined that it is impossible to travel along the towing travel route, issue a notification for promoting a user to change the route information., (See (Weston: Detailed Description – 38th-39th, 60th, 68th, 124th, 128th, and 134th paragraphs))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Matsunaga with these above aforementioned teachings from Weston in order to create a safe control device, method, and non-transitory computer-readable storage medium. At the time the invention was filed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Matsunaga’s parking support apparatus with Weston’s methods and apparatus to monitor and prevent trailer sway of a vehicle and trailer in order to acquire towed vehicle information related to a towed vehicle connected to a moving object and generate a travel route that is a trajectory through which the towed vehicle passes when the moving object travels on a different travel route. Combining Matsunaga and Weston would thus “prevent trailer sway conditions from occurring by predicting trailer sway conditions and reacting to the prediction by activating vehicle controls such as applying a torque to wheels of the trailer coupled to the vehicle” (Weston: Detailed Description – 30th paragraph), thus improving “maneuverability of the vehicle and a reduced need for user input.” (Weston: Detailed Description – 30th paragraph)
Regarding Claim 4:
Matsunaga in view of Weston, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 3. Matsunaga does not teach but Weston teaches:
The control device according to claim 3, wherein in a case where an operation of changing one of the non-towing travel route and the towing travel route is received from the user, the processor is further configured to change an other one of the non-towing travel route and the towing travel route based on the operation of changing., (See (Weston: Detailed Description – 38th-39th, 51st-52nd, 60th-62nd, 68th, 76th-77th, 94th, 124th, 128th, and 134th paragraphs, FIG. 5))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Matsunaga with these above aforementioned teachings from Weston in order to create a safe control device, method, and non-transitory computer-readable storage medium. At the time the invention was filed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Matsunaga’s parking support apparatus with Weston’s methods and apparatus to monitor and prevent trailer sway of a vehicle and trailer in order to acquire towed vehicle information related to a towed vehicle connected to a moving object and generate a travel route that is a trajectory through which the towed vehicle passes when the moving object travels on a different travel route. Combining Matsunaga and Weston would thus “prevent trailer sway conditions from occurring by predicting trailer sway conditions and reacting to the prediction by activating vehicle controls such as applying a torque to wheels of the trailer coupled to the vehicle” (Weston: Detailed Description – 30th paragraph), thus improving “maneuverability of the vehicle and a reduced need for user input.” (Weston: Detailed Description – 30th paragraph)
Regarding Claim 5:
Matsunaga in view of Weston, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1. Matsunaga further teaches:
The control device according to claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to determine, based on the route information, whether or not to travel along the towing travel route,, (See (Matsunaga: Background of the Invention – 3rd-5th paragraphs and Detailed Description of the Embodiment – 124th and 139th-141st paragraphs))
Matsunaga does not teach but Weston teaches:
[…] and change, in a case where it is determined that it is impossible to travel along the towing travel route, the route information such that the moving object and the towed vehicle are able to travel from the parking start position to the destined parking position., (See (Weston: Detailed Description – 38th-39th, 51st-52nd, 60th-62nd, 68th, 76th-77th, 94th, 124th, 128th, and 134th paragraphs, FIG. 5))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Matsunaga with these above aforementioned teachings from Weston in order to create a safe control device, method, and non-transitory computer-readable storage medium. At the time the invention was filed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Matsunaga’s parking support apparatus with Weston’s methods and apparatus to monitor and prevent trailer sway of a vehicle and trailer in order to acquire towed vehicle information related to a towed vehicle connected to a moving object and generate a travel route that is a trajectory through which the towed vehicle passes when the moving object travels on a different travel route. Combining Matsunaga and Weston would thus “prevent trailer sway conditions from occurring by predicting trailer sway conditions and reacting to the prediction by activating vehicle controls such as applying a torque to wheels of the trailer coupled to the vehicle” (Weston: Detailed Description – 30th paragraph), thus improving “maneuverability of the vehicle and a reduced need for user input.” (Weston: Detailed Description – 30th paragraph)
Regarding Claim 6:
Matsunaga in view of Weston, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1. Matsunaga does not teach but Weston teaches:
The control device according to claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to set, based on the route information, a travel speed of the moving object in a predetermined section among sections to the destined parking position to be lower in a case where the moving object travels while towing the towed vehicle than a case where the moving object travels without the towed vehicle., (See (Weston: Detailed Description – 29th, 39th, 47th, 60th-61st, 76th-78th, 84th, 96th-104th, and 124th-128th paragraphs))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Matsunaga with these above aforementioned teachings from Weston in order to create a safe control device, method, and non-transitory computer-readable storage medium. At the time the invention was filed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Matsunaga’s parking support apparatus with Weston’s methods and apparatus to monitor and prevent trailer sway of a vehicle and trailer in order to acquire towed vehicle information related to a towed vehicle connected to a moving object and generate a travel route that is a trajectory through which the towed vehicle passes when the moving object travels on a different travel route. Combining Matsunaga and Weston would thus “prevent trailer sway conditions from occurring by predicting trailer sway conditions and reacting to the prediction by activating vehicle controls such as applying a torque to wheels of the trailer coupled to the vehicle” (Weston: Detailed Description – 30th paragraph), thus improving “maneuverability of the vehicle and a reduced need for user input.” (Weston: Detailed Description – 30th paragraph)
Regarding Claim 8:
Matsunaga in view of Weston, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1. Matsunaga further teaches:
The control device according to claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to determine, based on the route information, whether or not to travel along the towing travel route,, (See (Matsunaga: Background of the Invention – 3rd-5th paragraphs and Detailed Description of the Embodiment – 124th and 139th-141st paragraphs))
Matsunaga does not teach but Weston teaches:
[…] and perform the travel control for causing the moving object to travel to the destined parking position according to the route information, in a case where it is determined that it is possible to travel along the towing travel route., (See (Weston: Detailed Description – 38th-39th, 51st-52nd, 60th-62nd, 68th, 76th-77th, 94th, 124th, 128th, and 134th paragraphs, FIG. 5))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Matsunaga with these above aforementioned teachings from Weston in order to create a safe control device, method, and non-transitory computer-readable storage medium. At the time the invention was filed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Matsunaga’s parking support apparatus with Weston’s methods and apparatus to monitor and prevent trailer sway of a vehicle and trailer in order to acquire towed vehicle information related to a towed vehicle connected to a moving object and generate a travel route that is a trajectory through which the towed vehicle passes when the moving object travels on a different travel route. Combining Matsunaga and Weston would thus “prevent trailer sway conditions from occurring by predicting trailer sway conditions and reacting to the prediction by activating vehicle controls such as applying a torque to wheels of the trailer coupled to the vehicle” (Weston: Detailed Description – 30th paragraph), thus improving “maneuverability of the vehicle and a reduced need for user input.” (Weston: Detailed Description – 30th paragraph)
Regarding Claim 11:
Matsunaga teaches:
A control method in a control device for a moving object which autonomously moves from a parking start position to a destined parking position, (See (Matsunaga: Summary of the Invention – 10th-15th paragraphs))
wherein a processor of the control device performs the control method comprising: acquiring external environment information related to a surrounding situation of the moving object;, (See (Matsunaga: Detailed Description of the Embodiment – 61st-72nd and 75th-80th paragraphs, FIG. 1-2))
storing at a relevant time route information acquired when the moving object travels from the parking start position to the destined parking position in a storage; performing travel control of the moving object travelling to the destined parking position based on the external environment information and the route information; in a case where the moving object is not towing the towed vehicle, generating, based on the external environment information and the route information stored in the storage, a non-towing travel route along which the moving object travels toward the destined parking position, and performing the travel control based on the non-towing travel route;, (See (Matsunaga: Background of the Invention – 3rd-5th paragraphs, Summary of the Invention – 13th-19th and 23rd-33rd, and Detailed Description of the Embodiment – 124th-136th, 139th-141st, and 174th-176th paragraphs))
Matsunaga does not teach but Weston teaches:
and to which a towed vehicle is connectable,, (See (Weston: Field of the Disclosure – 1st paragraph))
acquiring towed vehicle information related to the towed vehicle connected to the moving object;, (See (Weston: Detailed Description – 36th-37th, 44th-45th, 58th-59th, and 70th paragraphs, FIG. 1-3))
and in a case where the moving object is towing the towed vehicle, generating, based on the external environment information, the route information stored in the storage, and the towed vehicle information, a towing travel route along which the moving object, to which the towed vehicle is connected, travels toward the destined parking position, and performing the travel control based on the towing travel route., (See (Weston: Detailed Description – 51st-52nd, 61st-62nd, 74th-77th, and 94th paragraphs, FIG. 5))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Matsunaga with these above aforementioned teachings from Weston in order to create a safe control device, method, and non-transitory computer-readable storage medium. At the time the invention was filed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Matsunaga’s parking support apparatus with Weston’s methods and apparatus to monitor and prevent trailer sway of a vehicle and trailer in order to acquire towed vehicle information related to a towed vehicle connected to a moving object and generate a travel route that is a trajectory through which the towed vehicle passes when the moving object travels on a different travel route. Combining Matsunaga and Weston would thus “prevent trailer sway conditions from occurring by predicting trailer sway conditions and reacting to the prediction by activating vehicle controls such as applying a torque to wheels of the trailer coupled to the vehicle” (Weston: Detailed Description – 30th paragraph), thus improving “maneuverability of the vehicle and a reduced need for user input.” (Weston: Detailed Description – 30th paragraph)
Regarding Claim 12:
Matsunaga teaches:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a control program of a control device for a moving object which autonomously moves from a parking start position to a destined parking position, (See (Matsunaga: Summary of the Invention – 10th-15th paragraphs))
the control program causing a processor of the control device to: acquire external environment information related to a surrounding situation of the moving object;, (See (Matsunaga: Detailed Description of the Embodiment – 61st-72nd and 75th-80th paragraphs, FIG. 1-2))
store at a relevant time route information acquired when the moving object travels from the parking start position to the destined parking position in a storage; perform travel control of the moving object travelling to the destined parking position based on the external environment information and the route information; in a case where the moving object is not towing the towed vehicle, generate, based on the external environment information and the route information stored in the storage, a non-towing travel route along which the moving object travels toward the destined parking position, and perform the travel control based on the non-towing travel route;, (See (Matsunaga: Background of the Invention – 3rd-5th paragraphs, Summary of the Invention – 13th-19th and 23rd-33rd, and Detailed Description of the Embodiment – 124th-136th, 139th-141st, and 174th-176th paragraphs))
Matsunaga does not teach but Weston teaches:
and to which a towed vehicle is connectable,, (See (Weston: Field of the Disclosure – 1st paragraph))
acquire towed vehicle information related to the towed vehicle connected to the moving object;, (See (Weston: Detailed Description – 36th-37th, 44th-45th, 58th-59th, and 70th paragraphs, FIG. 1-3))
and in a case where the moving object is towing the towed vehicle, generate, based on the external environment information, the route information stored in the storage, and the towed vehicle information, a towing travel route along which the moving object, to which the towed vehicle is connected, travels toward the destined parking position, and perform the travel control based on the towing travel route., (See (Weston: Detailed Description – 51st-52nd, 61st-62nd, 74th-77th, and 94th paragraphs, FIG. 5))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Matsunaga with these above aforementioned teachings from Weston in order to create a safe control device, method, and non-transitory computer-readable storage medium. At the time the invention was filed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Matsunaga’s parking support apparatus with Weston’s methods and apparatus to monitor and prevent trailer sway of a vehicle and trailer in order to acquire towed vehicle information related to a towed vehicle connected to a moving object and generate a travel route that is a trajectory through which the towed vehicle passes when the moving object travels on a different travel route. Combining Matsunaga and Weston would thus “prevent trailer sway conditions from occurring by predicting trailer sway conditions and reacting to the prediction by activating vehicle controls such as applying a torque to wheels of the trailer coupled to the vehicle” (Weston: Detailed Description – 30th paragraph), thus improving “maneuverability of the vehicle and a reduced need for user input.” (Weston: Detailed Description – 30th paragraph)
Regarding Claim 13:
Matsunaga in view of Weston, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1. Matsunaga further teaches:
The control device according to claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to store at a relevant time route information acquired when the moving object, to which the towed vehicle is not connected, travels from the parking start position to the destined parking position in the storage., (See (Matsunaga: Background of the Invention – 3rd-5th paragraphs, Summary of the Invention – 13th-19th and 23rd-33rd, and Detailed Description of the Embodiment – 124th-136th, 139th-141st, and 174th-176th paragraphs))
Claims 2 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsunaga (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0242936 A1) in view of Weston (U.S. Pub. No. 2024/0227782 A9) in further view of Hasejima (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0086756 A1).
Regarding Claim 2:
Matsunaga in view of Weston, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1. Matsunaga does not teach but Weston teaches:
[…] and the towing travel route., (See (Weston: Detailed Description – 39th, 60th, and 142nd paragraphs))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Matsunaga with these above aforementioned teachings from Weston in order to create a safe control device, method, and non-transitory computer-readable storage medium. At the time the invention was filed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Matsunaga’s parking support apparatus with Weston’s methods and apparatus to monitor and prevent trailer sway of a vehicle and trailer in order to acquire towed vehicle information related to a towed vehicle connected to a moving object and generate a travel route that is a trajectory through which the towed vehicle passes when the moving object travels on a different travel route. Combining Matsunaga and Weston would thus “prevent trailer sway conditions from occurring by predicting trailer sway conditions and reacting to the prediction by activating vehicle controls such as applying a torque to wheels of the trailer coupled to the vehicle” (Weston: Detailed Description – 30th paragraph), thus improving “maneuverability of the vehicle and a reduced need for user input.” (Weston: Detailed Description – 30th paragraph)
Matsunaga in view of Weston does not teach but Hasejima teaches:
The control device according to claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to cause a display unit to display the non-towing travel route, (See (Hasejima: Description of Embodiments – 46th and 52nd paragraphs))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Matsunaga in view of Weston with these above aforementioned teachings from Hasejima in order to create a user-friendly control device, method, and non-transitory computer-readable storage medium. At the time the invention was filed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Matsunaga’s parking support apparatus with Hasejima’s parking assistance device in order to display different travel routes and determine whether a towed vehicle is able to travel along a travel route by predicting whether a safe region around the towed vehicle will collide with an obstacle when a moving object to which the towed vehicle is connected travels on the travel route. Combining Matsunaga and Hasejima would thus provide “a parking assistance device for resetting a parking path when there is an obstacle on the parking path.” (Hasejima: Summary of the Invention – 5th paragraph)
Regarding Claim 9:
Matsunaga in view of Weston, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 8. Matsunaga does not teach but Weston teaches:
[…] issue a notification for prompting a user to perform a predetermined operation without performing the travel control for causing the moving object to travel to the destined parking position according to the route information., (See (Weston: Detailed Description – 38th-39th, 60th, 68th, 124th, 128th, and 134th paragraphs))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Matsunaga with these above aforementioned teachings from Weston in order to create a safe control device, method, and non-transitory computer-readable storage medium. At the time the invention was filed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Matsunaga’s parking support apparatus with Weston’s methods and apparatus to monitor and prevent trailer sway of a vehicle and trailer in order to acquire towed vehicle information related to a towed vehicle connected to a moving object and generate a travel route that is a trajectory through which the towed vehicle passes when the moving object travels on a different travel route. Combining Matsunaga and Weston would thus “prevent trailer sway conditions from occurring by predicting trailer sway conditions and reacting to the prediction by activating vehicle controls such as applying a torque to wheels of the trailer coupled to the vehicle” (Weston: Detailed Description – 30th paragraph), thus improving “maneuverability of the vehicle and a reduced need for user input.” (Weston: Detailed Description – 30th paragraph)
Matsunaga in view of Weston does not teach but Hasejima teaches:
The control device according to claim 8, wherein the processor is further configured to, in a case where it is determined that it is impossible to travel along the towing travel route,, (See (Hasejima: Description of Embodiments – 42nd-48th, 114th-116th, and 119th-120th paragraphs))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Matsunaga in view of Weston with these above aforementioned teachings from Hasejima in order to create a user-friendly control device, method, and non-transitory computer-readable storage medium. At the time the invention was filed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Matsunaga’s parking support apparatus with Hasejima’s parking assistance device in order to display different travel routes and determine whether a towed vehicle is able to travel along a travel route by predicting whether a safe region around the towed vehicle will collide with an obstacle when a moving object to which the towed vehicle is connected travels on the travel route. Combining Matsunaga and Hasejima would thus provide “a parking assistance device for resetting a parking path when there is an obstacle on the parking path.” (Hasejima: Summary of the Invention – 5th paragraph)
Regarding Claim 10:
Matsunaga in view of Weston, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1. Matsunaga does not teach but Weston teaches:
The control device according to claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to determine whether the towed vehicle is able to travel along the towing travel route by predicting, based on the route information, whether the towed vehicle, (See (Weston: Detailed Description – 38th-39th, 51st-52nd, 60th-62nd, 68th, 76th-77th, 94th, 124th, 128th, and 134th paragraphs, FIG. 5))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Matsunaga with these above aforementioned teachings from Weston in order to create a safe control device, method, and non-transitory computer-readable storage medium. At the time the invention was filed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Matsunaga’s parking support apparatus with Weston’s methods and apparatus to monitor and prevent trailer sway of a vehicle and trailer in order to acquire towed vehicle information related to a towed vehicle connected to a moving object and generate a travel route that is a trajectory through which the towed vehicle passes when the moving object travels on a different travel route. Combining Matsunaga and Weston would thus “prevent trailer sway conditions from occurring by predicting trailer sway conditions and reacting to the prediction by activating vehicle controls such as applying a torque to wheels of the trailer coupled to the vehicle” (Weston: Detailed Description – 30th paragraph), thus improving “maneuverability of the vehicle and a reduced need for user input.” (Weston: Detailed Description – 30th paragraph)
Matsunaga in view of Weston does not teach but Hasejima teaches:
[…] and a safe region around the towed vehicle collide with an obstacle when the moving object, to which the towed vehicle is connected, travels based on the route information., (See (Hasejima: Description of Embodiments – 56th, 70th, 80th, and 124th-126th paragraphs))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Matsunaga in view of Weston with these above aforementioned teachings from Hasejima in order to create a user-friendly control device, method, and non-transitory computer-readable storage medium. At the time the invention was filed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Matsunaga’s parking support apparatus with Hasejima’s parking assistance device in order to display different travel routes and determine whether a towed vehicle is able to travel along a travel route by predicting whether a safe region around the towed vehicle will collide with an obstacle when a moving object to which the towed vehicle is connected travels on the travel route. Combining Matsunaga and Hasejima would thus provide “a parking assistance device for resetting a parking path when there is an obstacle on the parking path.” (Hasejima: Summary of the Invention – 5th paragraph)
Comment on the Closest Prior Art References
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The allowable subject matter in claim 7 includes a predetermined section including a step, and in the case where the moving object travels while towing the towed vehicle, the processor is further configured to set, based on the towed vehicle information and the route information, the travel speed of the moving object to be lower when the towed vehicle climbs over the step than a moment when the moving object climbs over the step.
Response to Arguments
The 35 U.S.C. 112 rejections set forth in the Non-Final Rejection mailed on June 16th, 2026 have been withdrawn as the “Amendments” and “Remarks” filed by the Applicant on September 14th, 2026 satisfactorily overcome these rejections.
Applicant’s arguments filed on September 14th, 2026 with regard to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
With regard to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection, the limitations are taught in the combination of Matsunaga and Weston as has been set forth above, contrary to the Applicant’s assertions. Therefore, the Applicant’s amendments and arguments are insufficient to overcome these prior art rejections.
More specifically, See (Matsunaga: Background of the Invention – 3rd-5th paragraphs, Summary of the Invention – 13th-19th and 23rd-33rd, and Detailed Description of the Embodiment – 124th-136th, 139th-141st, and 174th-176th paragraphs) In doing so, Matsunaga addresses the Applicant’s limitation of “store at a relevant time route information acquired when the moving object travels from the parking start position to the destined parking position in a storage; and perform travel control of the moving object travelling to the destined parking position based on the external environment information and the route information, wherein in a case where the moving object is not towing the towed vehicle, the processor is further configured to generate, based on the external environment information and the route information stored in the storage, a non-towing travel route along which the moving object travels toward the destined parking position, and performs the travel control based on the non-towing travel route” as set forth in claim 1 and similarly in claims 11-12.
Moreover, See (Weston: Detailed Description – 51st-52nd, 61st-62nd, 74th-77th, and 94th paragraphs, FIG. 5) In doing so, Weston addresses the Applicant’s limitation of “and in a case where the moving object is towing the towed vehicle, the processor is further configured to generate, based on the external environment information, the route information stored in the storage, and the towed vehicle information, a towing travel route along which the moving object, to which the towed vehicle is connected, travels toward the destined parking position, and performs the travel control based on the towing travel route” as set forth in claim 1 and similarly in claims 11-12.
As a result, the combination of Matsunaga and Weston addresses "in a case where the moving object is not towing the towed vehicle, the processor is further configured to generate, based on the external environment information and the route information stored in the storage, a non-towing travel route along which the moving object travels toward the destined parking position, and performs the travel control based on the non-towing travel route, and in a case where the moving object is towing the towed vehicle, the processor is further configured to generate, based on the external environment information, the route information stored in the storage, and the towed vehicle information, a towing travel route along which the moving object, to which the towed vehicle is connected, travels toward the destined parking position, and performs the travel control based on the towing travel route" as set forth by the Applicant in claim 1 and similarly in claims 11-12.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Jeffrey Chalhoub whose telephone number is (571) 272-9754. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 8:30-5:30. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Angela Ortiz can be reached on (571) 272-1206. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/J.R.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ANGELA Y ORTIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663