DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and remarks filed on 07/10/2026 with respect to previous claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and persuasive.
With respect to the newly amended subject matter and applicant’s arguments, the Examiner relies upon newly cited reference Schubert et al (US 9,940,840 B1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 9-10, 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable in view of Schubert et al (US 9,940,840 B1) in view of Morita (WO2020125939A1) in further view of Han et al (US 2022/0017113 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Schubert discloses a platoon control method, wherein the method comprises: obtaining current status data of a platoon, wherein the current status data of the platoon is associated with current power consumption of the platoon (see Schubert col 1, lines 60-67 and col 16, lines 21-42 “The one or more platoon parameters can include at least one of a number of vehicles in the platoon, a number of permissible re-configurations of the platoon, a number of permissible re-arrangements of the platoon, scheduled times of arrival of the platoon at one or more locations, a level of power consumption of one or more vehicles in the platoon, a traveling speed of the platoon, or scheduled separation times for one or more vehicles from the platoon”),
But Schubert fails to explicitly teach the platoon comprises M movable objects, and M is a positive integer greater than or equal to 2; determining a target sensor configuration based on the current status data and delivering corresponding sensor operating frequency information to each movable object in the N movable objects.
However, Morita teaches the platoon comprises M movable objects, and M is a positive integer greater than or equal to 2 (see Morita paras “0012”, “0020” and “0063-0064” “In case the plurality of vehicles drive in a convoy of two vehicles”),
determining a target sensor configuration based on the current status data (see Morita paras “0012”, “0028” and “0063-0064” “in step S2 the first vehicle sends sensor information to the second following vehicle. Based on said sensor information the second vehicle, in particular its (master) ECU la may determine whether it sufficiently overlaps with its own sensor information”),
and delivering corresponding sensor operating frequency information to each movable object in the N movable objects (see Morita paras “0012”, “0028” and “0060-0064” “The first and desirably also the third vehicle 10a and 10c transmit sensor information and/or driving control information to the middle vehicle 10b”, “the first vehicle 10a may send an authorization to the second vehicle 10b to switch to an energy saving mode. It may also send explicit driving control instructions to the second vehicle 10b (in this case the third vehicle 10c desirably does not send any sensor information and/or driving control information to the second vehicle 10b).” and “in step S2 the first vehicle sends sensor information to the second following vehicle. Based on said sensor information the second vehicle, in particular its (master) ECU la may determine whether it sufficiently overlaps with its own sensor information”),
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of modified Schubert for Smart platooning of vehicles “to transmit sensor information and/or driving control information and/or driving control instructions to at least one other vehicle having its automated driving system in the energy saving mod” as taught by Morita (paras. [0012]- [0060-0064]) in order to be capable of controlling the automated driving systems of self-driving vehicles more efficiently, in particular with a reduced power consumption.
but modified Schubert fails to explicitly teach wherein the target sensor configuration comprises sensor operating frequency information of N movable objects in the M movable objects, the target sensor configuration is a configuration capable of implementing safe traveling of the platoon, and N is less than or equal to M and wherein each movable object is operable to adjust an operating frequency of a sensor on that movable object based on the corresponding sensor operating frequency information.
However, Han teaches wherein the target sensor configuration comprises sensor operating frequency information of N movable objects in the M movable objects, the target sensor configuration is a configuration capable of implementing safe traveling of the platoon, and N is less than or equal to M (see Han paras “0005-0007”, “0031-0034” and “0069” “the sensor data processing module can determine attributes for vehicles 110, 112, 114, and 116 that are classified “track less frequently” at a first frequency that is lower than a second frequency used to determine attributes for AOIs classified as “track persistently.” For example, the sensor data processing module can, based on the “track less frequently” classification for vehicles 110, 112, 114, and 116… For example, based on the “track persistently” classification, the sensor data processing module can determine attributes of vehicles 104, 106, 108 at a frequency of 20 times per second”, “the plurality of classifications includes a first classification and a second classification, where the objects located around the autonomous vehicle includes a first object and a second object, where the assigning includes assigning the first classification to the first object and assigning the second classification to the second object, where the first classification indicates that a first set of updated attributes for the first object are determined at a first frequency”),
and wherein each movable object is operable to adjust an operating frequency of a sensor on that movable object based on the corresponding sensor operating frequency information (see Han paras “0005”, “0055” and “0064-0068” “the monitoring the object includes assigning the classification to the object based on the classification policy and based on an attribute of the object, and determining updated attributes of the object by analyzing additional sensor data received after the sensor data is received, wherein the additional sensor data is analyzed using a frequency associated with the classification”),
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of modified Schubert for Smart platooning of vehicles “to obtain data from the sensors on an autonomous vehicle can be used to safely maneuver the autonomous vehicle through traffic or on a highway” as taught by Han (paras. [0055]- [0061-0068]) in order to efficiently manage sensor data processing across multiple vehicles in a platoon.
Regarding claim 2, Schubert fails to explicitly teach wherein the determining a target sensor configuration based on the current status data comprises: determining the target sensor configuration from a plurality of candidate sensor configurations based on the current status data.
However, Morita teaches wherein the determining a target sensor configuration based on the current status data comprises: determining the target sensor configuration from a plurality of candidate sensor configurations based on the current status data (see Morita paras “0028” and “0063-0065” “The reduced distance between the vehicles may be determined by their sensor units, wherein when reaching a predetermined proximity, the vehicles may automatically start to set up a communication procedure via their communications units”, “in step S2 the first vehicle sends sensor information to the second following vehicle. Based on said sensor information the second vehicle, in particular its (master) ECU la may determine whether it sufficiently overlaps with its own sensor information. If the overlap exceeds a predetermined overlapping threshold the ECU la of the second vehicle, the ECU la determines to switch its automated driving system at least partly to an energy saving mode”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of modified Schubert for Smart platooning of vehicles “to transmit sensor information and/or driving control information and/or driving control instructions to at least one other vehicle having its automated driving system in the energy saving mod” as taught by Morita (paras. [0028]- [0060-0064]) in order to be capable of controlling the automated driving systems of self-driving vehicles more efficiently, in particular with a reduced power consumption.
Regarding claim 5, modified Schubert fails to explicitly teach wherein the determining the target sensor configuration from a plurality of candidate sensor configurations based on the current status data comprises: inputting the current status data into a classification model, wherein the classification model outputs the target sensor configuration, wherein: the classification model is configured to: classify input data into one of the plurality of candidate sensor configurations; and output a classification result.
However, Han teaches wherein the determining the target sensor configuration from a plurality of candidate sensor configurations based on the current status data comprises: inputting the current status data into a classification model (see Han paras “0030” and “0065” “The classification policy can include a pre-determined plurality of rules to apply to classify the AOIs located around the autonomous vehicles into a plurality of categories” and “the monitoring the object includes assigning the classification to the object based on the classification policy and based on an attribute of the object, and determining updated attributes of the object by analyzing additional sensor data received after the sensor data is received, wherein the additional sensor data is analyzed using a frequency associated with the classification of the object”),
wherein the classification model outputs the target sensor configuration, wherein: the classification model is configured to: (see Han paras “0030” and “0065” “the monitoring the object includes assigning the classification to the object based on the classification policy and based on an attribute of the object, and determining updated attributes of the object by analyzing additional sensor data received after the sensor data is received, wherein the additional sensor data is analyzed using a frequency associated with the classification of the object… each rule specifies one or more attributes of one object and each rule is associated with one classification, and each classification indicates a frequency with which the updated attributes of the objects are determined.”),
classify input data into one of the plurality of candidate sensor configurations (see Han paras “0030” and “0065” “The classification policy can include a pre-determined plurality of rules to apply to classify the AOIs located around the autonomous vehicles into a plurality of categories” and “the monitoring the object includes assigning the classification to the object based on the classification policy and based on an attribute of the object, and determining updated attributes of the object by analyzing additional sensor data received after the sensor data is received, wherein the additional sensor data is analyzed using a frequency associated with the classification of the object”),
and output a classification result (see Han paras “0030” and “0065” “the monitoring the object includes assigning the classification to the object based on the classification policy and based on an attribute of the object, and determining updated attributes of the object by analyzing additional sensor data received after the sensor data is received, wherein the additional sensor data is analyzed using a frequency associated with the classification of the object… each rule specifies one or more attributes of one object and each rule is associated with one classification, and each classification indicates a frequency with which the updated attributes of the objects are determined.”),
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Schubert for Smart platooning of vehicles “to obtain data from the sensors on an autonomous vehicle can be used to safely maneuver the autonomous vehicle through traffic or on a highway” as taught by Han (paras. [0055]- [0061-0068]) in order to efficiently manage sensor data processing across multiple vehicles in a platoon.
Regarding claim 9, Schubert discloses a platoon control apparatus, comprising: one or more memories configured to store programming instructions; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories and configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to: obtain current status data of a platoon, wherein the current status data of the platoon is associated with current power consumption of the platoon (see Schubert col 1, lines 60-67 and col 16, lines 21-42 “The one or more platoon parameters can include at least one of a number of vehicles in the platoon, a number of permissible re-configurations of the platoon, a number of permissible re-arrangements of the platoon, scheduled times of arrival of the platoon at one or more locations, a level of power consumption of one or more vehicles in the platoon, a traveling speed of the platoon, or scheduled separation times for one or more vehicles from the platoon”),
But Schubert fails to explicitly teach the platoon comprises M movable objects, and M is a positive integer greater than or equal to 2; determine a target sensor configuration based on the current status data and deliver corresponding sensor operating frequency information to each movable object in the N movable objects.
the platoon comprises M movable objects, and M is a positive integer greater than or equal to 2 (see Morita paras “0012”, “0020” and “0063-0064” “In case the plurality of vehicles drive in a convoy of two vehicles”),
determine a target sensor configuration based on the current status data (see Morita paras “0012”, “0028” and “0063-0064” “in step S2 the first vehicle sends sensor information to the second following vehicle. Based on said sensor information the second vehicle, in particular its (master) ECU la may determine whether it sufficiently overlaps with its own sensor information”),
and deliver corresponding sensor operating frequency information to each movable object in the N movable objects (see Morita paras “0012”, “0028” and “0060-0064” “The first and desirably also the third vehicle 10a and 10c transmit sensor information and/or driving control information to the middle vehicle 10b”, “the first vehicle 10a may send an authorization to the second vehicle 10b to switch to an energy saving mode. It may also send explicit driving control instructions to the second vehicle 10b (in this case the third vehicle 10c desirably does not send any sensor information and/or driving control information to the second vehicle 10b).” and “in step S2 the first vehicle sends sensor information to the second following vehicle. Based on said sensor information the second vehicle, in particular its (master) ECU la may determine whether it sufficiently overlaps with its own sensor information”),
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of modified Schubert for Smart platooning of vehicles “to transmit sensor information and/or driving control information and/or driving control instructions to at least one other vehicle having its automated driving system in the energy saving mod” as taught by Morita (paras. [0012]- [0060-0064]) in order to be capable of controlling the automated driving systems of self-driving vehicles more efficiently, in particular with a reduced power consumption.
but modified Schubert fails to explicitly teach wherein the target sensor configuration comprises sensor operating frequency information of N movable objects in the M movable objects, the target sensor configuration is a configuration capable of implementing safe traveling of the platoon, and N is less than or equal to M and wherein each movable object is operable to adjust an operating frequency of a sensor on that movable object based on the corresponding sensor operating frequency information.
However, Han teaches wherein the target sensor configuration comprises sensor operating frequency information of N movable objects in the M movable objects, the target sensor configuration is a configuration capable of implementing safe traveling of the platoon, and N is less than or equal to M (see Han paras “0005-0007”, “0031-0034” and “0069” “the sensor data processing module can determine attributes for vehicles 110, 112, 114, and 116 that are classified “track less frequently” at a first frequency that is lower than a second frequency used to determine attributes for AOIs classified as “track persistently.” For example, the sensor data processing module can, based on the “track less frequently” classification for vehicles 110, 112, 114, and 116… For example, based on the “track persistently” classification, the sensor data processing module can determine attributes of vehicles 104, 106, 108 at a frequency of 20 times per second”, “the plurality of classifications includes a first classification and a second classification, where the objects located around the autonomous vehicle includes a first object and a second object, where the assigning includes assigning the first classification to the first object and assigning the second classification to the second object, where the first classification indicates that a first set of updated attributes for the first object are determined at a first frequency”),
and wherein each movable object is operable to adjusts an operating frequency of a sensor on that movable object based on the corresponding sensor operating frequency information (see Han paras “0005”, “0055” and “0064-0068” “the monitoring the object includes assigning the classification to the object based on the classification policy and based on an attribute of the object, and determining updated attributes of the object by analyzing additional sensor data received after the sensor data is received, wherein the additional sensor data is analyzed using a frequency associated with the classification”),
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Schubert for Smart platooning of vehicles “to obtain data from the sensors on an autonomous vehicle can be used to safely maneuver the autonomous vehicle through traffic or on a highway” as taught by Han (paras. [0055]- [0061-0068]) in order to efficiently manage sensor data processing across multiple vehicles in a platoon.
Regarding claim 10, Schubert fails to explicitly teach wherein, when determining the target sensor configuration based on the current status data, the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to: determine the target sensor configuration from a plurality of candidate sensor configurations based on the current status data.
However, Morita teaches wherein, when determining the target sensor configuration based on the current status data, the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to: determine the target sensor configuration from a plurality of candidate sensor configurations based on the current status data (see Morita paras “0028” and “0063-0065” “The reduced distance between the vehicles may be determined by their sensor units, wherein when reaching a predetermined proximity, the vehicles may automatically start to set up a communication procedure via their communications units”, “in step S2 the first vehicle sends sensor information to the second following vehicle. Based on said sensor information the second vehicle, in particular its (master) ECU la may determine whether it sufficiently overlaps with its own sensor information. If the overlap exceeds a predetermined overlapping threshold the ECU la of the second vehicle, the ECU la determines to switch its automated driving system at least partly to an energy saving mode”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Schubert for Smart platooning of vehicles “to transmit sensor information and/or driving control information and/or driving control instructions to at least one other vehicle having its automated driving system in the energy saving mod” as taught by Morita (paras. [0028]- [0060-0064]) in order to be capable of controlling the automated driving systems of self-driving vehicles more efficiently, in particular with a reduced power consumption.
Regarding claim 13, modified Schubert fails to explicitly teach wherein, when determining the target sensor configuration from the plurality of candidate sensor configurations based on the current status data, the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to: input the current status data into a classification model, and classify input data into one of the plurality of candidate sensor configurations and output a classification result.
However, Han teaches wherein, when determining the target sensor configuration from the plurality of candidate sensor configurations based on the current status data, the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to: input the current status data into a classification model, (see Han paras “0030” and “0065” “The classification policy can include a pre-determined plurality of rules to apply to classify the AOIs located around the autonomous vehicles into a plurality of categories” and “the monitoring the object includes assigning the classification to the object based on the classification policy and based on an attribute of the object, and determining updated attributes of the object by analyzing additional sensor data received after the sensor data is received, wherein the additional sensor data is analyzed using a frequency associated with the classification of the object”),
and classify input data into one of the plurality of candidate sensor configurations (see Han paras “0030” and “0065” “the monitoring the object includes assigning the classification to the object based on the classification policy and based on an attribute of the object, and determining updated attributes of the object by analyzing additional sensor data received after the sensor data is received, wherein the additional sensor data is analyzed using a frequency associated with the classification of the object… each rule specifies one or more attributes of one object and each rule is associated with one classification, and each classification indicates a frequency with which the updated attributes of the objects are determined.”),
and output a classification result (see Han paras “0030” and “0065” “the monitoring the object includes assigning the classification to the object based on the classification policy and based on an attribute of the object, and determining updated attributes of the object by analyzing additional sensor data received after the sensor data is received, wherein the additional sensor data is analyzed using a frequency associated with the classification of the object… each rule specifies one or more attributes of one object and each rule is associated with one classification, and each classification indicates a frequency with which the updated attributes of the objects are determined.”),
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Schubert for Smart platooning of vehicles “to obtain data from the sensors on an autonomous vehicle can be used to safely maneuver the autonomous vehicle through traffic or on a highway” as taught by Han (paras. [0055]- [0061-0068]) in order to efficiently manage sensor data processing across multiple vehicles in a platoon.
Regarding claim 20, Schubert discloses an intelligent driving device, comprising a platoon control apparatus, wherein the platoon control apparatus comprises; one or more memories configured to store programming instructions; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories and configured to execute the instructions to cause the platoon control apparatus to:obtain current status data of a platoon, wherein the current status data of the platoon is associated with current power consumption of the platoon (see Schubert col 1, lines 60-67 and col 16, lines 21-42 “The one or more platoon parameters can include at least one of a number of vehicles in the platoon, a number of permissible re-configurations of the platoon, a number of permissible re-arrangements of the platoon, scheduled times of arrival of the platoon at one or more locations, a level of power consumption of one or more vehicles in the platoon, a traveling speed of the platoon, or scheduled separation times for one or more vehicles from the platoon”),
But Schubert fails to explicitly teach the platoon comprises M movable objects, and M is a positive integer greater than or equal to 2; determine a target sensor configuration based on the current status data and deliver corresponding sensor operating frequency information to each movable object in the N movable objects.
the platoon comprises M movable objects, and M is a positive integer greater than or equal to 2 (see Morita paras “0012”, “0020” and “0063-0064” “In case the plurality of vehicles drive in a convoy of two vehicles”),
determine a target sensor configuration based on the current status data (see Morita paras “0012”, “0028” and “0063-0064” “in step S2 the first vehicle sends sensor information to the second following vehicle. Based on said sensor information the second vehicle, in particular its (master) ECU la may determine whether it sufficiently overlaps with its own sensor information”),
and deliver corresponding sensor operating frequency information to each movable object in the N movable objects (see Morita paras “0012”, “0028” and “0060-0064” “The first and desirably also the third vehicle 10a and 10c transmit sensor information and/or driving control information to the middle vehicle 10b”, “the first vehicle 10a may send an authorization to the second vehicle 10b to switch to an energy saving mode. It may also send explicit driving control instructions to the second vehicle 10b (in this case the third vehicle 10c desirably does not send any sensor information and/or driving control information to the second vehicle 10b).” and “in step S2 the first vehicle sends sensor information to the second following vehicle. Based on said sensor information the second vehicle, in particular its (master) ECU la may determine whether it sufficiently overlaps with its own sensor information”),
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of modified Schubert for Smart platooning of vehicles “to transmit sensor information and/or driving control information and/or driving control instructions to at least one other vehicle having its automated driving system in the energy saving mod” as taught by Morita (paras. [0012]- [0060-0064]) in order to be capable of controlling the automated driving systems of self-driving vehicles more efficiently, in particular with a reduced power consumption.
but modified Schubert fails to explicitly teach wherein the target sensor configuration comprises sensor operating frequency information of N movable objects in the M movable objects, the target sensor configuration is a configuration capable of implementing safe traveling of the platoon, and N is less than or equal to M and wherein each movable object is operable to adjusts an operating frequency of a sensor on that movable object based on the corresponding sensor operating frequency information.
However, Han teaches wherein the target sensor configuration comprises sensor operating frequency information of N movable objects in the M movable objects, the target sensor configuration is a configuration capable of implementing safe traveling of the platoon, and N is less than or equal to M (see Han paras “0005-0007”, “0031-0034” and “0069” “the sensor data processing module can determine attributes for vehicles 110, 112, 114, and 116 that are classified “track less frequently” at a first frequency that is lower than a second frequency used to determine attributes for AOIs classified as “track persistently.” For example, the sensor data processing module can, based on the “track less frequently” classification for vehicles 110, 112, 114, and 116… For example, based on the “track persistently” classification, the sensor data processing module can determine attributes of vehicles 104, 106, 108 at a frequency of 20 times per second”, “the plurality of classifications includes a first classification and a second classification, where the objects located around the autonomous vehicle includes a first object and a second object, where the assigning includes assigning the first classification to the first object and assigning the second classification to the second object, where the first classification indicates that a first set of updated attributes for the first object are determined at a first frequency”),
and wherein each movable object is operable to adjusts an operating frequency of a sensor on that movable object based on the corresponding sensor operating frequency information (see Han paras “0005”, “0055” and “0064-0068” “the monitoring the object includes assigning the classification to the object based on the classification policy and based on an attribute of the object, and determining updated attributes of the object by analyzing additional sensor data received after the sensor data is received, wherein the additional sensor data is analyzed using a frequency associated with the classification”),
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Schubert for Smart platooning of vehicles “to obtain data from the sensors on an autonomous vehicle can be used to safely maneuver the autonomous vehicle through traffic or on a highway” as taught by Han (paras. [0055]- [0061-0068]) in order to efficiently manage sensor data processing across multiple vehicles in a platoon.
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable in view of Morita (WO2020125939A1) in further view of Han et al (US 2022/0017113 A1) in further view of Hoppe et al (US 12,441,359 B1).
Regarding claim 7, modified Schubert fails to explicitly teach wherein: the current status data comprises X status weights that are in a one-to-one correspondence with X statuses, each of the X status weights indicates a complexity degree of a corresponding status, and X is greater than or equal to 1; and the determining a target sensor configuration based on the current status data comprises: determining the target sensor configuration based on the X status weights.
However, Hoppe teaches wherein: the current status data comprises X status weights that are in a one-to-one correspondence with X statuses, each of the X status weights indicates a complexity degree of a corresponding status, and X is greater than or equal to 1; and the determining a target sensor configuration based on the current status data comprises: determining the target sensor configuration based on the X status weights (see Hoppe claim 1 and 12 “using the uncertainty factor as a basis for determining weighting factors for the upcoming profile and for the comparison profile, providing a mixed profile, which is mixed based on the weighting factors of the ego lane for a vehicle guidance function of the transportation vehicle on the roadway, deriving a driving line for the comparison lane from the swarm data, wherein the driving line corresponds to a line on the lane followed by other transportation vehicles that generated the swarm data used to generate the comparison lane, comparing an ego position of the transportation vehicle on the roadway with the driving line for the comparison lane, determining a degree of agreement for the ego position to the driving line for the comparison lane, determining an uncertainty factor and weighting factors based on the degree of agreement, and determining a mixed profile of the ego lane, wherein contents of the mixed profile of the ego lane are determined to include both portions of the ego lane and portions of the comparison lane based on the determined uncertainty factor, wherein, in response to the uncertainty factor being sufficiently low in comparison to a threshold, the mixed profile contains only the ego lane portions, and wherein, in response to the uncertainty factor being sufficiently high in comparison to a threshold, the mixed profile contains only the comparison lane portions”),
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of modified Schubert for Smart platooning of vehicles “to assign a high weighting factor to the drivable path in the case of a high degree of match with the ego position” as taught by Hoppe (claim 1 & 12) in order to estimate the profile of the roadway precisely.
Regarding claim 15, modified Schubert fails to explicitly teach wherein: the current status data comprises X status weights that are in a one-to-one correspondence with X statuses, each of the X status weights indicates a complexity degree of a corresponding status, and X is greater than or equal to 1; and when determining the target sensor configuration based on the current status data, the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to: determine the target sensor configuration based on the X status weights.
However, Hoppe teaches wherein: the current status data comprises X status weights that are in a one-to-one correspondence with X statuses, each of the X status weights indicates a complexity degree of a corresponding status, and X is greater than or equal to 1; and when determining the target sensor configuration based on the current status data, the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to: determine the target sensor configuration based on the X status weights (see Hoppe claim 1 and 12 “using the uncertainty factor as a basis for determining weighting factors for the upcoming profile and for the comparison profile, providing a mixed profile, which is mixed based on the weighting factors of the ego lane for a vehicle guidance function of the transportation vehicle on the roadway, deriving a driving line for the comparison lane from the swarm data, wherein the driving line corresponds to a line on the lane followed by other transportation vehicles that generated the swarm data used to generate the comparison lane, comparing an ego position of the transportation vehicle on the roadway with the driving line for the comparison lane, determining a degree of agreement for the ego position to the driving line for the comparison lane, determining an uncertainty factor and weighting factors based on the degree of agreement, and determining a mixed profile of the ego lane, wherein contents of the mixed profile of the ego lane are determined to include both portions of the ego lane and portions of the comparison lane based on the determined uncertainty factor, wherein, in response to the uncertainty factor being sufficiently low in comparison to a threshold, the mixed profile contains only the ego lane portions, and wherein, in response to the uncertainty factor being sufficiently high in comparison to a threshold, the mixed profile contains only the comparison lane portions”),
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of modified Schubert for Smart platooning of vehicles “to assign a high weighting factor to the drivable path in the case of a high degree of match with the ego position” as taught by Hoppe (claim 1 & 12) in order to estimate the profile of the roadway precisely.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable in view of Schubert et al (US 9,940,840 B1) in view of Morita (WO2020125939A1) in further view of Han et al (US 2022/0017113 A1) in further view of Cheng et al (US 2023/0206769 A1).
Regarding claim 17, modified Schubert fails to explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to: obtain current status information of the sensor of each of the M movable objects; determine an overall energy efficiency ratio of the platoon based on the current status information of the sensor of each of the M movable objects; and switch roles of at least two movable objects in the platoon if the overall energy efficiency ratio is lower than a reference energy efficiency ratio.
However, Hoppe teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to: obtain current status information of the sensor of each of the M movable objects; determine an overall energy efficiency ratio of the platoon based on the current status information of the sensor of each of the M movable objects; and switch roles of at least two movable objects in the platoon if the overall energy efficiency ratio is lower than a reference energy efficiency ratio (see Cheng paras “0002”, “0008” and “0023” “ΔFC is the average fuel savings rate of a truck queue, n is the number of trucks of a truck queue, ΔFC.sub.i is the fuel saving rate of the ith truck in the queue, and FC.sub.i is the fuel consumption of the ith truck… when the truck platooning strategy has not been determined, the method provides a tool for developing an optimal truck platooning strategy to minimize the fuel consumption of the whole truck queue… acquiring the numbers and types of all trucks that used for platooning and the allowed truck number in a truck queue; determining all possible truck platooning queues based on the truck type and the allowed truck number” and “in the step S3, the specific procedure of organizing the trucks successively into the platooning queue with a lower fuel saving rate based on the ranking result of the possible truck platooning queues includes”),
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of modified Schubert for Smart platooning of vehicles “to determine an efficiency metric (e.g., fuel saving rate) for a platoon and organize or reorder vehicles within the platoon based on that metric” as taught by Cheng (paras [0008] – [0023]) in order to improve overall fuel efficiency and operational performance of the platoon.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, 6, 8, 11-12, 14, 16 and 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HOSSAM M ABD EL LATIF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3664