DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on July 25, 2015.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/31/2025 and 04/03/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in claims 1-5, 8-10 and 13-17 . Therefore, the “single stage AC/DC converter”, “a current controller” and “a modulation signal derived from the current command signal by the current controller” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Examiner’s Note: The half bridge receives a rectified signal from the full bridge rectifier 212, this means that these converters are either dc/dc or dc/ac/dc converter not ac/dc converters.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 5 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 5 line 6 recites “a switch node” should be “the switch node”. Claims 7, 12 and 20 lines 1-2 recite “respective high side” should be “of said/the respective high side ”. Claim 7 “corresponding to corresponding” should be “corresponding to”. Claim 9 line 3 recites “of each single stage” should be “of each of the plurality of single stage”. Claim 10 line 11 recites “a switch node” should be “the switch node”. Claim 18 line 5 recites “a switch node” should be “the switch node”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada US 2015/0372614 in view of Zhang US 2021/0408927.
Regarding Claim 1, Yamada teaches (Figures 2) An AC/DC power supply (Fig. 2) comprising: a full wave rectifier (DB) that receives an AC input voltage (from 1) and produces a rectified AC voltage (Vr1); a plurality of AC/DC converter modules (11 and 30); and an inductor (6) that couples the rectified AC voltage to a first converter module (11a) of the plurality of AC/DC converter modules (11 and 30); wherein the plurality of AC/DC converter modules have their inputs connected in series and their outputs connected in parallel (see fig. 2). (For example: Par. 82-87)
Yamada does not teach a plurality of single stage AC/DC converter modules.
Zhang teaches (Figure 13) a plurality of single stage AC/DC converter modules (plurality of converters, fig. 13e).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Yamada to include a plurality of single stage AC/DC converter modules as taught by Zhang to develop a DC/DC converter that is capable of operating in high input voltage and high-power applications.
Regarding Claims 2 and 13, Yamada teaches (Figures 2) wherein the plurality of AC/DC converter modules is two single stage AC/DC converter modules (11a-11b).
Yamada does not teach a plurality of single stage AC/DC converter modules.
Zhang teaches (Figure 13) a plurality of single stage AC/DC converter modules (plurality of converters, fig. 13e).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Yamada to include a plurality of single stage AC/DC converter modules as taught by Zhang to develop a DC/DC converter that is capable of operating in high input voltage and high-power applications.
Regarding Claims 3 and 14, Yamada teaches (Figures 2) wherein the two AC/DC converter modules.
Yamada does not teach wherein the two single stage AC/DC converter modules are driven 180 degrees out of phase with respect to each other.
Zhang teaches (Figure 13) wherein the two single stage AC/DC converter modules are driven 180 degrees (par. 126) out of phase with respect to each other (plurality of converters, fig. 13e).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Yamada to include wherein the two single stage AC/DC converter modules are driven 180 degrees out of phase with respect to each other, as taught by Zhang to develop a DC/DC converter that is capable of operating in high input voltage and high-power applications.
Regarding Claims 4 and 15, Yamada teaches (Figures 2) wherein the plurality of AC/DC converter modules are driven 360/n degrees out of phase with respect to each other (par. 91), where n is a number of single stage AC/DC converter modules in the plurality (par. 91).
Yamada does not teach a plurality of single stage AC/DC converter modules.
Zhang teaches (Figure 13) a plurality of single stage AC/DC converter modules (plurality of converters, fig. 13e).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Yamada to include a plurality of single stage AC/DC converter modules as taught by Zhang to develop a DC/DC converter that is capable of operating in high input voltage and high-power applications.
Regarding Claim 5, Yamada teaches (Figures 2)wherein each of the plurality of AC/DC converter (11 and 30) modules comprises: a switching half bridge including a high side switch and a low side switch (at 11), wherein the switch node of the switching half bridge is an input (see fig. 2) of the AC/DC converter module (11 and 30).
Yamada does not teach a transformer having a primary winding with a first terminal connected to a switch node of the switching half bridge; stacked switching capacitors respectively coupled between the switching half bridge and a second terminal of the primary winding of the transformer; a rectifier half bridge coupled to a first terminal of a secondary winding of the transformer and an output of the single stage AC/DC converter module; and stacked capacitors respectively coupled to the output of the single stage AC/DC converter module and between the rectifier half bridge and a second terminal of the secondary winding of the transformer.
Zhang teaches (Figure 13) a transformer (Tr) having a primary winding (at Tr) with a first terminal connected to a switch node of the switching half bridge (s1-s2); stacked switching capacitors (c1-c2) respectively coupled between the switching half bridge and a second terminal of the primary winding of the transformer; a rectifier half bridge (so1-so2) coupled to a first terminal of a secondary winding (at Tr) of the transformer and an output of the single stage AC/DC converter module (see fig. 13e); and stacked capacitors (Co1-co2) respectively coupled to the output of the single stage AC/DC converter module and between the rectifier half bridge and a second terminal of the secondary winding of the transformer (see fig. 13e).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Yamada to include a transformer having a primary winding with a first terminal connected to a switch node of the switching half bridge; stacked switching capacitors respectively coupled between the switching half bridge and a second terminal of the primary winding of the transformer; a rectifier half bridge coupled to a first terminal of a secondary winding of the transformer and an output of the single stage AC/DC converter module; and stacked capacitors respectively coupled to the output of the single stage AC/DC converter module and between the rectifier half bridge and a second terminal of the secondary winding of the transformer, as taught by Zhang to develop a DC/DC converter that is capable of operating in high input voltage and high-power applications.
Regarding Claims 6, 11 and 19, Yamada teaches (Figures 2) the apparatus.
Yamada does not teach wherein the rectifier half bridge comprises synchronous rectifier switches.
Zhang teaches (Figure 13) wherein the rectifier half bridge comprises synchronous rectifier switches (so1-so2 in fig. 13e).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Yamada to include wherein the rectifier half bridge comprises synchronous rectifier switches, as taught by Zhang to develop a DC/DC converter that is capable of operating in high input voltage and high-power applications.
Regarding Claims 7, 12 and 20, Yamada teaches (Figures 2) the apparatus.
Yamada does not teach wherein respective high side and low side synchronous rectifier switches are driven by signals corresponding to corresponding high side and low side switches of the switching half bridge.
Zhang teaches (Figures 6 and 13) wherein respective high side and low side synchronous rectifier switches (so1-so2) are driven by signals corresponding to high side and low side switches of the switching half bridge (s1-s2). (For example: Par. 121-123)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Yamada to include wherein respective high side and low side synchronous rectifier switches are driven by signals corresponding to corresponding high side and low side switches of the switching half bridge, as taught by Zhang to develop a DC/DC converter that is capable of operating in high input voltage and high-power applications.
Regarding Claims 8 and 16, Yamada teaches (Figures 2-4) comprising control circuitry (Fig. 3) including: a voltage controller (102) that compares a difference between an output voltage of the power supply to a reference voltage to generate an error signal (from 102) provided to a controller (108) that generates a current command signal for a current controller (103-104 and 109); and pulse width modulation circuitry (110-111 and 150) that receives a modulation signal (from 104) derived from the current command signal by the current controller and produces drive signals for switching devices of the plurality of AC/DC converter modules by comparing the modulation signal to a plurality of phase shifted carriers (see fig. 3, 88-90), wherein the plurality of phase shifted carriers are shifted with respect to each other by 360/n degrees (par. 91), where n is a number of single stage AC/DC converter modules in the plurality. (For example: Par. 82-91)
Yamada does not teach a plurality of single stage AC/DC converter modules.
Zhang teaches (Figure 13) a plurality of single stage AC/DC converter modules (plurality of converters, fig. 13e).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Yamada to include a plurality of single stage AC/DC converter modules as taught by Zhang to develop a DC/DC converter that is capable of operating in high input voltage and high-power applications.
Regarding Claims 9 and 17, Yamada teaches (Figures 2) the apparatus.
Yamada does not teach wherein the pulse width modulation circuitry produces complementary drive signals for respective high side and low side switches of each single stage AC/DC converter module.
Zhang teaches (Figure 13) wherein the pulse width modulation circuitry produces complementary drive signals (see fig. 13b) for respective high side and low side switches of each single stage AC/DC converter module. (For example: Par. 177)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Yamada to include wherein the pulse width modulation circuitry produces complementary drive signals for respective high side and low side switches of each single stage AC/DC converter module, as taught by Zhang to develop a DC/DC converter that is capable of operating in high input voltage and high-power applications.
Regarding Claims 10 and 18, Yamada teaches (Figures 2) An AC/DC power supply (Fig. 2) comprising: a full wave rectifier (DB) that receives an AC input voltage (from 1) and produces a rectified AC voltage (Vr1); a plurality of AC/DC converter modules (11 and 30); and an inductor (6) that couples the rectified AC voltage to a first converter module (11a) of the plurality of AC/DC converter modules (11 and 30); wherein the plurality of AC/DC converter modules have their inputs connected in series and their outputs connected in parallel (see fig. 2), wherein each of the plurality of AC/DC converter (11 and 30) modules comprises: a switching half bridge including a high side switch and a low side switch (at 11), wherein the switch node of the switching half bridge is an input (see fig. 2) of the AC/DC converter module (11 and 30) .
Yamada does not teach a plurality of single stage AC/DC converter modules; and the modules comprising: a transformer having a primary winding with a first terminal connected to a switch node of the switching half bridge; stacked switching capacitors respectively coupled between the switching half bridge and a second terminal of the primary winding of the transformer; a rectifier half bridge coupled to a first terminal of a secondary winding of the transformer and an output of the single stage AC/DC converter module; and stacked capacitors respectively coupled to the output of the single stage AC/DC converter module and between the rectifier half bridge and a second terminal of the secondary winding of the transformer.
Zhang teaches (Figure 13) a plurality of single stage AC/DC converter modules(plurality of converters, fig. 13e); and the modules comprising: a transformer (Tr) having a primary winding (at Tr) with a first terminal connected to a switch node of the switching half bridge (s1-s2); stacked switching capacitors (c1-c2) respectively coupled between the switching half bridge and a second terminal of the primary winding of the transformer; a rectifier half bridge (so1-so2) coupled to a first terminal of a secondary winding (at Tr) of the transformer and an output of the single stage AC/DC converter module (see fig. 13e); and stacked capacitors (Co1-co2) respectively coupled to the output of the single stage AC/DC converter module and between the rectifier half bridge and a second terminal of the secondary winding of the transformer (see fig. 13e).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Yamada to include a plurality of single stage AC/DC converter modules; and the modules comprising: a transformer having a primary winding with a first terminal connected to a switch node of the switching half bridge; stacked switching capacitors respectively coupled between the switching half bridge and a second terminal of the primary winding of the transformer; a rectifier half bridge coupled to a first terminal of a secondary winding of the transformer and an output of the single stage AC/DC converter module; and stacked capacitors respectively coupled to the output of the single stage AC/DC converter module and between the rectifier half bridge and a second terminal of the secondary winding of the transformer, as taught by Zhang to develop a DC/DC converter that is capable of operating in high input voltage and high-power applications.
Conclusion
/GUSTAVO A ROSARIO-BENITEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838