909598DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 2018/0055343; hereinafter Yang), in view of Elwood et al. (US 2018/0263799; hereinafter Elwood).
Regarding claim 1, Yang discloses a photoacoustic and ultrasonic endoscopy system. Yang teaches a helical scan photoacoustic-ultrasonic endoscope (see abstract and par. [0076]) comprising: a probe (see 200 in fig. 1; par. [0076]); and a driving unit providing rotational power and pullback translational motion to the probe (see 100 in fig. 1; par. [0076], [0127]) wherein the probe comprises: a catheter tubing extending in one direction (see catheter 220 in fig. 1; par. [0076]) and having an interior that is hollow (fig. 1 shows that catheter 220 is hollow inside), one end of the catheter tubing being closed (see distal end of catheter 220 in fig. 1 which is closed) and the other end of the catheter tubing being open (see proximal end of catheter 220 in fig. 1); a coupler that is coupled to the other end of the catheter tubing (fig. 1 shows that proximal of probe 200 is coupled to prove driving unit 100) and has a through hole corresponding to the interior of the catheter tubing (see fig. 1); a pullback shaft extending into the interior of the catheter tubing through the through hole of the coupler (see par. [0085], [0097]; fig. 1) and having an interior that is hollow (see par. [0085], [0097]; fig. 1); and a radial shaft seal interposed between the coupler and the pullback shaft and surrounding the pullback shaft around a central axis of the through hole of the coupler (see par. [0037], [0085]; fig. 1).
But, Yang fails to explicitly state a fastening nut as the coupler.
Elwood discloses a catheter assembly. Elwood teaches a fastening nut to couple the catheter to drive unit (see par. [0056], [0057]; fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teaching of a fastening nut in the invention of Yang, as taught by Elwood, to provide a better coupling and leak-proof connection.
Regarding claim 2, Yang and Elwood disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Yang shows wherein the driving unit comprises a linear stage (see par. [0064], [0127]) and a rotary transformer (see abstract; par. [0075], [0076], [0078]), mechanically connected to the pullback shaft (see 1 and 12).
Regarding claim 3, Yang and Elwood disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Yang shows wherein the radial shaft seal shields the interior of the catheter tubing from the outside (see par. [0037], [0085]; fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, , Yang and Elwood disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Yang shows a probe-side optical fiber passing through the interior of the pullback shaft and extending in a direction toward the one end of the catheter tubing (see fig. 1; par. [0076]); a torque coil surrounding the probe-side optical fiber (see fig. 4; par. [0102]), and passing through the interior of the pullback shaft and extending in the direction toward the one end of the catheter tubing (see fig. 4); and a scanning tip connected to a part of the torque coil in the direction toward the one end of the catheter tubing (see fig. 1 and 4).
Regarding claim 5, Yang and Elwood disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Yang shows wherein the pullback shaft, the probe-side optical fiber, the torque coil, and the scanning tip are relatively movable with respect to the catheter tubing (see fig. 1 and 4), the coupler (see fig. 1 and 4), and the shaft seal (see fig. 1), in a direction in which the catheter tubing extends and in a direction opposite thereto (see fig. 1), and as stated above in claim 1, Elwood teaches a fastening nut to couple the catheter to drive unit (see par. [0056], [0057]; fig. 4).
Regarding claim 6, Yang and Elwood disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Yang shows further comprising a matching fluid filling the interior of the catheter tubing (see par. p0087]).
Regarding claim 7, Yang and Elwood disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Yang shows further comprising a connector connected to an end of the pullback shaft in a direction facing away from the one end of the catheter tubing (see fig. 1 and 12).
Regarding claim 8, Yang and Elwood disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Yang shows wherein the connector is located in the direction facing away from the one end of the catheter tubing (see fig. 1 and 12), with respect to the shaft seal see par. [0037], [0085]; fig. 1).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 2018/0055343; hereinafter Yang), in view of Elwood et al. (US 2018/0263799; hereinafter Elwood), in view of Reiter (US 2014/018765) and Courtney et al. (US 2012/0197113; hereinafter Courtney).
Regarding claim 9, Yang and Elwood disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Yang shows further comprising a coaxial cable electrically connected to the scanning tip (see par. [0096], 0107], [0161]), and extending to the connector through the interior of the torque coil (see fig. 1, 3 and 12), wherein the connector comprises: a ferrule having a central hole through which the probe-side optical fiber passes (see fig. 1, 3 and 12) and a connector housing surrounding at least a part of the ferrule (see fig. 1, 3 and 12), but fails to explicitly state wherein the connector comprises: a ferrule having a central hole through which the probe-side optical fiber passes; a connector housing surrounding at least a part of the ferrule and having electrical conductivity; a connector nut physically contacting the connector housing and having electrical conductivity; and a connector insulating member interposed between the ferrule and the connector housing to electrically insulate the ferrule from the connector housing, wherein a core part of the micro coaxial cable is electrically connected to the ferrule, and a shield part of the micro coaxial cable is electrically connected to the connector housing, and that the coaxial cable is micro coaxial cable.
Reiter discloses a stepped banded connector for intravascular ultrasound device. Reiter also teaches wherein the connector comprises: a ferrule having a central hole through (see fig. 3, 4, 5, 7); a connector housing surrounding at least a part of the ferrule (see fig. 3, 4, 5, 7). Furthermore, Reiter teaches the connector housing having electrical conductivity (see par. [0052]; see fig. 3, 4, 5, 7); a connector nut physically contacting the connector housing and having electrical conductivity (see par. [0052], [0054], [0055]; see fig. 3, 4, 5, 7); and a connector insulating member interposed between the ferrule and the connector housing to electrically insulate the ferrule from the connector housing (see par. [0052], [0054], [0055]; see fig. 3, 4, 5, 7), wherein a core part of the coaxial cable is electrically connected to the ferrule, and a shield part of the coaxial cable is electrically connected to the connector housing (see par. [0052], [0054], [0055]; see fig. 3, 4, 5, 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teaching of the connector housing having electrical conductivity; a connector nut physically contacting the connector housing and having electrical conductivity; and a connector insulating member interposed between the ferrule and the connector housing to electrically insulate the ferrule from the connector housing, wherein a core part of the coaxial cable is electrically connected to the ferrule, and a shield part of the coaxial cable is electrically connected to the connector housing in the invention of Yang and Elwood, as taught by Reiter, to provide an improved connection assemblies between the imaging sensing catheter and external components receiving data from the sensors.
But, Yang, Elwood and Reiter fail to explicitly state that the coaxial cable is a micro coaxial cable.
Courtney discloses an ultrasonic probe and teaches micro coaxial cable (see par. [0099]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teaching of using a micro coaxial cable in the invention of Yang, Elwood and Reiter, as taught by Courtney, to be able to provide space optimization by avoiding bulky wiring and provide compact design with high flexibility and durability.
Regarding claim 10, Yang, Elwood, Reiter and Courtney disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Yang shows wherein the driving unit comprises an adapter (see fig. 1, 12 and 13), and Reiter teaches wherein adapter comprises: a split mating sleeve into which a part of the ferrule is inserted (see par. [0052], [0054], [0055]; see fig. 3, 4, 5, 7); an adapter frame surrounding at least a part of the ferrule and having electrical conductivity (see par. [0052], [0054], [0055]; see fig. 3, 4, 5, 7); and an adapter insulating member interposed between the split mating sleeve and the adapter frame to electrically insulate the split mating sleeve from the adapter frame (see par. [0052], [0054], [0055]; see fig. 3, 4, 5, 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teaching of wherein adapter comprises: a split mating sleeve into which a part of the ferrule is inserted; an adapter frame surrounding at least a part of the ferrule and having electrical conductivity; and an adapter insulating member interposed between the split mating sleeve and the adapter frame to electrically insulate the split mating sleeve from the adapter frame in the invention of Yang and Elwood, as taught by Reiter, to provide an improved connection assemblies between the imaging sensing catheter and external components receiving data from the sensors.
Conclusion
/SHAHDEEP MOHAMMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797 1