DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
According to the amendment filed October 7, 2026, claims 1, 5-6, 8-12 and 15 have been amended. The objections to the claims and rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in the Office Action mailed June 10, 2026, have been withdrawn accordingly. Claims 1-20 are currently pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brunner (US 2016/0172624 A1) in view of Stauch (US 6,416,516 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Brunner teaches a motorized intramedullary nail (10; Fig. 1; para. 0082) for bone lengthening or transport, of the type comprising:
- a first tubular portion (sleeve 50; Fig. 1; para. 0028) extending in an axial direction aligned with the longitudinal axis of the intramedullary nail;
- a second rod-shaped portion (plunger 60; Fig. 1; para. 0028) telescopically sliding inside said first tubular portion and along said axial direction (as indicated by the bidirectional arrow in Fig. 1; );
- motorized electro-mechanical device (collectively defined by electric motor 35, gearbox 45, lead-screw 48 and nut 49; Fig. 1; para. 0022, 0028) for driving the rod-shaped portion which is inserted inside said first tubular portion (for effecting linear motion between rod-shaped portion/plunger 60 and tubular portion/sleeve 50);
- a power supply (electrical energy source 32; Figs. 1, 2b) with biocompatible features (hermetic capsule 20; Figs. 1, 2b; para. 0023, 0040-0041) for subcutaneous and prolonged implantation (as described in para. 0023), connected to and adapted to provide electrical power to operate said motorized electro-mechanical device (as described in para. 0022),
wherein said power supply comprises a biocompatible casing (20; Figs. 1, 2b; para. 0023) and at least one power supply battery housed in said casing (para. 0022-0023 describe energy source 32 as a stack of lithium cells or another suitable electrical battery, housed in hermetic casing/capsule 20; Figs. 1-2b).
Brunner does not specifically disclose the electro-mechanical device comprising electrical terminals accessible through the proximal part of the nail, and the power supply being an independent disconnectable power supply.
Stauch, in analogous art, is directed towards a motorized intramedullary nail (active medullary nail R1; Fig. 1; column 2, lines 18-35), comprising a tubular portion (1.2; Fig. 1) and a rod-shaped portion (1.1; Fig. 1), and a motorized electro-mechanical device for driving the rod-shaped portion relative to the tubular portion (electrically operated drive means 2, receiving electrical energy via electrical connection lines 3 to move rod-shaped portion 1.2 relative to tubular portion 1.2; Fig. 1; column 2, lines 18-35), and Stauch discloses the electromechanical device comprising electrical terminals (3; Fig. 1) accessible through a proximal part of the nail (electrical connection lines 3 of the electromechanical device described above have contact points 8 defining electric terminals which are accessible via socket 4 located at a proximal part of nail R1; Fig. 1; column 2, lines 18-44), and an independent disconnectable power supply connected to and adapted to provide electrical power to operate said electromechanical device (column 2, lines 27-35, describe “an external power source” connected with energy supply lines and plug element 6, where plug element 6 is disconnectable from socket 4 via opening 5 so that the external power source defines an independent and disconnectable power supply providing electrical power via terminals 8 of the electromechanical device; Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Brunner’s electro-mechanical device, i.e. electrical motor, to have Stauch’s electrical terminals accessible through the proximal end of the drive casing of the nail, i.e. by providing a socket for receiving a plug element that provides power from an independent disconnectable power source in the manner taught by Stauch, because Stauch recognizes that such a configuration is suitable for supplying electrical power to a telescoping intramedullary nail (see Stauch, Fig. 1 and column 2, lines 18-53).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Brunner and Stauch disclose the motorized intramedullary nail according to claim 1, and Brunner discloses [Claim 2] wherein said power supply battery is a lithium battery (para. 0022 describes energy source 32 as a stack of lithium cells, i.e. a lithium battery; Fig. 1), and [Claim 3] wherein said power supply battery is a lithium hydride battery or a lithium ion battery (para. 0040 describes the lithium cells as lithium-ion cells).
Regarding claim 4, Brunner and Stauch disclose the motorized intramedullary nail according to claim 1, and Brunner discloses wherein said casing is a metal or silicone casing (para. 0023 describes hermetic casing/capsule 20 being made of titanium; Figs. 1, 2b).
Regarding claim 5, Brunner and Stauch disclose the motorized intramedullary nail according to claim 4.
Neither Brunner nor Stauch specifically disclose wherein said casing comprises a maximum transversal dimension between 20 mm and 50 mm, a maximum longitudinal dimension between 20 mm and 50 mm, and a maximum depth between 4 mm and 10 mm.
Nonetheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed Brunner’s casing to have maximum transversal and longitudinal dimensions and a depth within the claimed ranges, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CPA 1955).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Brunner and Stauch disclose the motorized intramedullary nail according to claim 1, and Brunner discloses [Claim 6] wherein said motorized electro-mechanical device is coupled to a control unit which is electrically powered and inserted in said casing (external controller 90 and microcontroller 33, coupled to motor 35 of the electro-mechanical device and inserted in casing 20; Figs. 6a-b, 7; para. 0041, 0079), the control unit being adapted to provide power according to a selected operating mode to said electro-mechanical device (via external control unit 90, operable by a user and communicating with microcontroller, thus capable to provide power according to a selected operating mode; Figs. 1, 6a-b, 7; para. 0040-0041), and [Claim 7] further comprising a plurality of displacement sensors, said control unit being programmable and functionally connected to said plurality of sensors for the collection of raw data from said plurality of sensors, the internal processing of said data and sending via a communication protocol to the outside, for the detection of a lengthening or shortening of said intramedullary nail (para. 0034 describes the controllable command circuit, understood to be associated with controllers 90/35, including magnetic field sensors such as hall effect sensors positioned at spaced-apart locations for determining distraction of the device, e.g. by collection of data via the controller(s) from the sensors, processing said data, and capable for sending data; Figs. 1, 6a-b, 7).
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Brunner and Stauch disclose the motorized intramedullary nail according to claim 1, and Brunner discloses [Claim 8] wherein said motorized electro-mechanical device (35, 45, 48, 49; Figs. 1, 2a-b; para. 0028) comprises an electrical motor (35; Figs. 1, 2a-b) or gearmotor and a screw drive (48, 49; Figs. 1, 2a), and [Claim 9] wherein said screw drive comprises an endless screw (48; Fig. 1) and a nut screw (49; Fig. 1), said nut screw being operable in translation with respect to said endless screw, said second rod-shaped portion being integral in translation with said nut screw and said first tubular portion being integral in translation with said endless screw (as described in para. 0028; Figs. 1, 2a-b), or vice versa.
Regarding claim 10, Brunner and Stauch disclose the motorized intramedullary nail according to claim 1, and Brunner discloses wherein the intramedullary nail is of the trochanteric type with the proximal part comprising centrally-obtained transversal and tilted holes for trochanteric screws (see Fig. 1, nail 10 having transversal holes 31, 61; Fig. 1; para. 0021, 0033).
Regarding claim 11, Brunner and Stauch disclose the motorized intramedullary nail according claim 1, wherein said motorized electro-mechanical device for driving the rod-shaped portion is housed in a cartridge or capsule having a bottom or distal wall from which the electrical terminals emerge (Brunner’s electro-mechanical device 32 is housed in hermetic capsule 20, modified as described above so that electrical terminals are accessible via, i.e. emerging from, a bottom wall thereof; see Fig. 1 of Brunner).
Regarding claim 12, Brunner teaches a motorized intramedullary nail for bone lengthening or transport, comprising:
- a first nail tubular portion (sleeve 50; Fig. 1; para. 0028);
- a second rod-shaped portion (plunger 60; Fig. 1; para. 0028) telescopically slidable inside said first nail tubular portion (as indicated by the bidirectional arrow in Fig. 1);
- a motorized electro-mechanical actuator for driving the rod-shaped portion (collectively defined by electric motor 35, gearbox 45, lead-screw 48 and nut 49; Fig. 1; para. 0022, 0028);
- a power supply (electrical energy source 32; Figs. 1, 2b) having biocompatible features (hermetic capsule 20; Figs. 1, 2b; para. 0023, 0040-0041) for subcutaneous and prolonged implantation (as described in para. 0023);
the biocompatible power supply being connected for powering said motorized electro-mechanical actuator (as described in para. 0022).
Brunner does not specifically disclose electrical terminals of said electro-mechanical actuator accessible through the proximal part of the nail, and the power supply being an independent disconnectable power supply.
Stauch, in analogous art, is directed towards a motorized intramedullary nail (active medullary nail R1; Fig. 1; column 2, lines 18-35), comprising a tubular portion (1.2; Fig. 1) and a rod-shaped portion (1.1; Fig. 1), and a motorized electro-mechanical device for driving the rod-shaped portion relative to the tubular portion (electrically operated drive means 2, receiving electrical energy via electrical connection lines 3 to move rod-shaped portion 1.2 relative to tubular portion 1.2; Fig. 1; column 2, lines 18-35), and Stauch discloses the electromechanical device comprising electrical terminals (3; Fig. 1) accessible through a proximal part of the nail (electrical connection lines 3 of the electromechanical device described above have contact points 8 defining electric terminals which are accessible via socket 4 located at a proximal part of nail R1; Fig. 1; column 2, lines 18-44), and an independent disconnectable power supply connected to and adapted to provide electrical power to operate said electromechanical device (column 2, lines 27-35, describe “an external power source” connected with energy supply lines and plug element 6, where plug element 6 is disconnectable from socket 4 via opening 5 so that the external power source defines an independent and disconnectable power supply providing electrical power via terminals 8 of the electromechanical device; Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Brunner’s electro-mechanical device, i.e. electrical motor, to have Stauch’s electrical terminals accessible through the proximal end of the drive casing of the nail, i.e. by providing a socket for receiving a plug element that provides power from an independent disconnectable power source in the manner taught by Stauch, because Stauch recognizes that such a configuration is suitable for supplying electrical power to a telescoping intramedullary nail (see Stauch, Fig. 1 and column 2, lines 18-53).
Regarding claims 13-14 and 16-17, Brunner and Stauch disclose the motorized intramedullary nail according to claim 12, and Brunner discloses [Claim 13] wherein said independent power supply comprises a biocompatible casing (20; Figs. 1, 2b; para. 0023) and at least one power supply battery housed in said casing (para. 0022-0023 describe energy source 32 as a stack of lithium cells or another suitable electrical battery, housed in hermetic casing/capsule 20; Figs. 1-2b), [Claim 14] wherein said casing is a metal or silicone casing (para. 0023 describes hermetic casing/capsule 20 being made of titanium; Figs. 1, 2b), [Claim 16] wherein said motorized electro-mechanical actuator is coupled to a control unit which is electrically powered and inserted in said casing (external controller 90 and microcontroller 33, coupled to motor 35 of the electro-mechanical device and inserted in casing 20; Figs. 6a-b, 7; para. 0041, 0079), adapted to provide power according to a selected operating mode to said electro-mechanical device (via external control unit 90, operable by a user and communicating with microcontroller, thus capable to provide power according to a selected operating mode; Figs. 1, 6a-b, 7; para. 0040-0041), and [Claim 17] further comprising a plurality of displacement sensors, said control unit being programmable and functionally connected to said plurality of sensors for the collection of raw data from said plurality of sensors, the internal processing of said data and sending via a communication protocol to the outside, for the detection of a lengthening or shortening of said intramedullary nail (para. 0034 describes the controllable command circuit, understood to be associated with controllers 90/35, including magnetic field sensors such as hall effect sensors positioned at spaced-apart locations for determining distraction of the device, e.g. by collection of data via the controller(s) from the sensors, processing said data, and capable for sending data; Figs. 1, 6a-b, 7).
Regarding claim 15, Brunner and Stauch disclose the motorized intramedullary nail according to claim 12.
Neither Brunner nor Stauch specifically disclose wherein said casing comprises a maximum transversal dimension between 20 mm and 50 mm, a maximum longitudinal dimension between 20 mm and 50 mm, and a maximum depth between 4 mm and 10 mm.
Nonetheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed Brunner’s casing to have maximum transversal and longitudinal dimensions and a depth within the claimed range, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CPA 1955).
Regarding claims 18 and 19, Brunner and Stauch disclose the motorized intramedullary nail according to claim 12, and Brunner discloses [Claim 18] wherein said power supply battery is a lithium battery (para. 0022 describes energy source 32 as a stack of lithium cells, i.e. a lithium battery; Fig. 1), and [Claim 19] wherein said power supply battery is a lithium hydride battery or a lithium ion battery (para. 0040 describes the lithium cells as lithium-ion cells).
Regarding claim 20, Brunner and Stauch disclose the motorized intramedullary nail according to claim 12, and Brunner discloses wherein said motorized electro-mechanical device (35, 45, 48, 49; Figs. 1, 2a-b; para. 0028) comprise an electrical motor (35; Figs. 1, 2a-b) or gearmotor and a screw drive (48, 49; Figs. 1, 2a).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANNA V. LITTLE/Examiner, Art Unit 3773 /EDUARDO C ROBERT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3773