DETAILED ACTION
The following claims are pending in this office action: 1-20
Claims 1, 8 and 15 are independent claims
Drawings
The drawings filed on 03/31/2025 are accepted.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 03/31/2025, 12/29/2025 and 03/26/2026 have been considered. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, an initialed and dated copies of Applicant’s IDS form 1449 filed 03/31/2025, 12/29/2025 and 03/26/2026 are attached to the instant Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 7-8, 11, 14-15, 17 and 20 is rejected under 35 USC § 102(a)(1) or alternatively under 35 USC § 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yuan et al. (US Pub. 2021/0390171) (hereinafter “Yuan”).
As per claim 1, Yuan teaches a method, applied to an electronic device, the method comprising: ([Yuan, para. 0004] “This application provides for managing ... an electronic device”)
displaying a first interface of an application, ([Yuan, Fig. 6(b); para. 0136] “a map ... appears in the current display interface”) wherein the first interface comprises a system control, ([para. 0146; Fig. 10] “as shown in FIG. 10, the mobile phone may display a dialog box 901, [a system control] and prompt, in the dialog box 901, the user that the map application [an application] currently expects to use the camera function”) the application is run in a first process, ([para. 0104] “In a layered architecture, software is divided into several layers, and each layer has a clear role and task [process]”; [para. 0105-0106] “The application layer [first process] ... include ... applications such as ... maps [application run in a first process]”) and the system control is run in a second process; ([para. 0114] “the application framework layer [second process] ... include ... a notification manager”; [para. 0115] “The notification manager [second process] enables an application to display ... a notification that appears on the screen in a form of a dialog window [system control run in a second process]”)
receiving a first operation on the system control; ([Yuan, para. 0146; Fig. 10] “The mobile phone ... display a dialog box 901 [system control] ... If it is detected that the user taps an “allow” button 903 [receiving a first operation on the system control]”)
in response to receiving the first operation, obtaining first information corresponding to the system control; and ([Yuan, para. 0146] “If it is detected that the user taps an “allow” button 903 [in response to receiving the first operation] ... it indicates that the user has learned of a security risk of using the camera in the current use scenario, and the user is still willing to grant the map application to use the camera in the current use scenario [obtaining first information corresponding to the system control]”)
sending the first information to the application. ([Yuan, para. 0146] “In this case, the mobile phone may grant, to the map application, the application permission ... the permission service may return a permission grant response of PERMISSION_GRANTED [sending the first information] to the map application ... the map application can continue to invoke the camera service ... to capture image information”)
As per claim 4, Yuan teaches claim 1.
Yuan also teaches wherein obtaining the first information corresponding to the system control comprises: ([Yuan para. 0146] “return a permission grant response of PERMISSION_GRANTED to the map application”)
verifying permission of the system control; and ([Yuan para. 0146] “the mobile phone may ask, in the prompt box 901 [of the system control], the user whether the map application is allowed to use the camera this time [verifying permission of the system control]”)
obtaining the first information when the permission of the system control passes. ([Yuan para. 0146] “If it is detected that the user taps an “allow” button 903 ... [when the permission of the system control passes] grant, to the map application, the application permission [obtaining the first information] ... the map application can continue to invoke the camera service ... to capture image information”)
As per claim 7, Yuan teaches claim 1.
Yuan also teaches wherein the first interface further comprises a second application control, and the method further comprises: ([Yuan, para. 0165] “After successfully logging in to the ... application ... mobile phone may display a display interface [the first interface as it also is an interface entered into after log into an application] ... and the display interface 1201 includes a code scanning button 1202 [a second application control]”)
displaying an authorization interface in response to an operation on the second application control, ([Yuan, para. 0165-0166; Fig. 16(a-b)] “If the mobile phone detects that the user taps the code scanning button 1202 [in response to an operation on the second application control] ... the mobile phone may further display a dialog box 1204 [an authorization interface]”) wherein the authorization interface comprises authorization information and a confirmation control; and ([para. 0166; Fig. 16(b)] “in the dialog box 1204, prompt the user that the WeChat application is using the camera function in the code scanning scenario [comprises authorization information], and ask the user whether to allow the WeChat application to use the camera function [a confirmation control]”)
in response to an operation on the confirmation control, granting permission corresponding to the authorization information to the application. ([Yuan, para. 0165-0166; Fig. 16(a-b)] “If the mobile phone detects that the user taps the code scanning button 1202 [in response to an operation on the second application control] ... the mobile phone may further display a dialog box 1204 [an authorization interface]”)
As per claim 8, Yuan teaches an electronic device, comprising: ([Yuan, para. 0047] “FIG. 1 is a schematic structural diagram of an electronic device”)
a display, ([Yuan, para. 0048] “The electronic device 100 ... include a ... display”) configured to display a first interface of an application, ([para. 0070] “The electronic device ... implements a display function by using ... the display”; [para. 0136] “a map ... appears in the current display interface”) wherein the first interface comprises a system control, ([para. 0146; Fig. 10] “as shown in FIG. 10, the mobile phone may display a dialog box 901, [a system control] and prompt, in the dialog box 901, the user that the map application [an application] currently expects to use the camera function”) the application is run in a first process, ([para. 0104] “In a layered architecture, software is divided into several layers, and each layer has a clear role and task [process]”; [para. 0105-0106] “The application layer [first process] ... include ... applications such as ... maps [application run in a first process]”) and the system control is run in a second process; ([para. 0114] “the application framework layer [second process] ... include ... a notification manager”; [para. 0115] “The notification manager [second process] enables an application to display ... a notification that appears on the screen in a form of a dialog window [system control run in a second process]”)
a first receiver; ([Yuan, para. 0048] “The electronic device 100 ... include a ... receiver”)
at least one processor; and ([Yuan, para. 0048] “The electronic device 100 ... include a processor”)
a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions that are executable by the at least one processor to: ([Yuan, para. 0048] “The electronic device 100 ... include ... internal memory”; [para. 0079] “The internal memory ... to store computer-executable program code ... The executable program code includes an instruction ... The processor 110 runs the instruction stored in the internal memory 121 to perform various function applications of the electronic device 100 and process data”)
receive a first operation on the system control; ([Yuan, para. 0146; Fig. 10] “The mobile phone ... display a dialog box 901 [system control] ... If it is detected that the user taps an “allow” button 903 [receiving a first operation on the system control]”)
in response to the first operation, obtain first information corresponding to the system control; and ([Yuan, para. 0146] “If it is detected that the user taps an “allow” button 903 [in response to receiving the first operation] ... it indicates that the user has learned of a security risk of using the camera in the current use scenario, and the user is still willing to grant the map application to use the camera in the current use scenario [obtaining first information corresponding to the system control]”)
send the first information to the application. ([Yuan, para. 0146] “In this case, the mobile phone may grant, to the map application, the application permission ... the permission service may return a permission grant response of PERMISSION_GRANTED [sending the first information] to the map application ... the map application can continue to invoke the camera service ... to capture image information”)
As per claim 11, the claim language is identical or substantially similar to that of claim 4. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale applied to claim 4.
As per claim 14, the claim language is identical or substantially similar to that of claim 7. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale applied to claim 7.
As per claim 15, Yuan teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, comprising computer instructions, wherein when the computer instructions are run on an electronic device, the electronic device is enabled to perform: ([Yuan, para. 0048] “The electronic device 100 ... include ... internal memory”; [para. 0079] “The internal memory ... to store computer-executable program code ... The executable program code includes an instruction ... The processor 110 runs the instruction stored in the internal memory 121 to perform various function applications of the electronic device 100 and process data”)
displaying a first interface of an application, ([Yuan, Fig. 6(b); para. 0136] “a map ... appears in the current display interface”) wherein the first interface comprises a system control, ([para. 0146; Fig. 10] “as shown in FIG. 10, the mobile phone may display a dialog box 901, [a system control] and prompt, in the dialog box 901, the user that the map application [an application] currently expects to use the camera function”) the application is run in a first process, ([para. 0104] “In a layered architecture, software is divided into several layers, and each layer has a clear role and task [process]”; [para. 0105-0106] “The application layer [first process] ... include ... applications such as ... maps [application run in a first process]”) and the system control is run in a second process; ([para. 0114] “the application framework layer [second process] ... include ... a notification manager”; [para. 0115] “The notification manager [second process] enables an application to display ... a notification that appears on the screen in a form of a dialog window [system control run in a second process]”)
receiving a first operation on the system control; ([Yuan, para. 0146; Fig. 10] “The mobile phone ... display a dialog box 901 [system control] ... If it is detected that the user taps an “allow” button 903 [receiving a first operation on the system control]”)
in response to the first operation, obtaining first information corresponding to the system control; and ([Yuan, para. 0146] “If it is detected that the user taps an “allow” button 903 [in response to receiving the first operation] ... it indicates that the user has learned of a security risk of using the camera in the current use scenario, and the user is still willing to grant the map application to use the camera in the current use scenario [obtaining first information corresponding to the system control]”)
sending the first information to the application. ([Yuan, para. 0146] “In this case, the mobile phone may grant, to the map application, the application permission ... the permission service may return a permission grant response of PERMISSION_GRANTED [sending the first information] to the map application ... the map application can continue to invoke the camera service ... to capture image information”)
As per claim 17, the claim language is identical or substantially similar to that of claim 4. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale applied to claim 4.
As per claim 20, the claim language is identical or substantially similar to that of claim 7. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale applied to claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 5, 9-10, 12, 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan as applied to claims 1, 8 and 15 above and further in view of Peterson et al. (US Pub. 2017/0357627) (hereinafter “Peterson”)
As per claim 2, Yuan teaches claim 1.
Yuan also teaches before receiving the first operation on the system control ... receiving a first request sent by the application, wherein the first request requests to load the system control; and ([Yuan, para. 0141] “the map application requests [a first request sent by the application] to use the camera [request to load the system control as the system control is required to use the camera] is the positioning scenario, the mobile phone may determine, by using Table 2, that the positioning scenario is not in the use scenario whitelist corresponding to the application permission to use the camera”; [para. 0146] “if the mobile phone determines [receiving a first request] that a current positioning scenario is not in the use scenario whitelist corresponding to the application permission to use the camera ... the mobile phone may display a dialog box 901, [load the system control] and prompt, in the dialog box 901, the user that the map application currently expects to use the camera function [before receiving the first operation on the system control”)
Displaying a first window ... wherein the system control is displayed in the first window. ([Yuan, Fig. 10] A window/dialog is displayed where the “Allow” button/system control is displayed in the window/dialog)
Yuan does not clearly teach the first request carries attribute information of a first application control corresponding to the system control, and the first application control is in the application and is used to trigger obtaining of the first information; and displaying a first window based on the attribute information of the first application control.
However, Peterson teaches the first request carries attribute information of a first application control ([Peterson, para. 0204] “detecting an autofill request [the first request] ... the initial classifications for the field [attribute information of a first application control] are determined in response to detecting the autofill request [the first request carries]”) corresponding to the system control, ([para. 0227] “the autofill menu [the first request – see para. 0314: “the device detects ... a first autofill input ... select an autofill profile”] ... includes [corresponding to] ... a customization affordance 874d provided to edit the custom data set [the system control]”; [para. 0234; Fig. 8I] “FIG. 8I illustrates a customization menu 876 overlaid on the electronic form 862 [making the buttons within the menu a system control as it is a dialog overlaid on an interface] in response to selection of the customization affordance 874d in FIG. 8H”) and the first application control is in the application and is used to trigger obtaining of the first information; and ([para. 0226; Fig. 8D] “an autofill menu ... overlaid on the electronic form [trigger obtaining of the first information] in response to selection of the last name field [first application control]”; [para. 0228] “when activated ... populate ... the fields [obtaining] ... with a text string [the first information]”)
displaying a first window ([Peterson, para. 0227; Fig. 8I] “the customization affordance 874d is configured to display a customization menu ... the customization menu 876 in FIG. 8I [displaying a first window] ... in response to activation ... a single or double click with the focus selector 802”) based on the attribute information of the first application control. ([Para. 0205] “the method ... includes populating the fields of the electronic form based on the ... classifications [based on the attribute information of the first application control]”; [para. 0326; Fig. 8I] “display a third menu [displaying a first window] in response to selection of the customization affordance ... a custom autofill data set... of telephone, email address, and physical address”; as the custom autofill dataset within the customization menu/third menu/first window are fields of the electronic form and the fields of the electronic form are populated based on the classifications/attribute information, the first window/customization menu are necessarily populated based on the attribute information/classifications)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the elements disclosed by Yuan with the teachings of Peterson to include the first request carries attribute information of a first application control corresponding to the system control, and the first application control is in the application and is used to trigger obtaining of the first information; and displaying a first window based on the attribute information of the first application control. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because by doing so, the user is able to customize an autofill data set on-the-fly without navigating away from the current electronic form, which saves the user time and effort. (Peterson, para. 0326)
As per claim 3, Yuan in view of Peterson teaches claim 1.
Yuan does not clearly teach wherein the attribute information of the first application control comprises at least one of the following: size information of the first application control, a style of the first application control, a type of the first application control, a life cycle of the first application control, or location information of the first application control.
However, Peterson teaches wherein the attribute information of the first application control comprises at least one of the following: ([Peterson, para. 0287] “the content-based classification heuristic determines a classification [the attribute information of the first application control] for each field of the electronic form based on [comprises]; Examiner interprets “at least one of the following ... or” to mean that at least one of the limitations are required to be disclosed)
size information of the first application control, ([Peterson, para. 0287] “size ... a smaller field area-wise [information of the first application control] ... and a larger field area-wise”)
a style of the first application control, ([Peterson, para. 0287] “accompanying markup ... field [of the first application control] ... associated with a drop down menu [style]”)
a type of the first application control, ([Peterson, para. 0287] “field [first application control] identifiers [type] ... named ... in the markup”)
a life cycle of the first application control, or (although this is undisclosed in Peterson, the alternatives are, and so the limitation itself is disclosed; furthermore, an attribute information of an application control is described in para. 0136 of Yuan which indicates a login, icon/keyword, or an absence of a display element [attribute information] may be used to determine whether a map application is in a login scenario, positioning scenario, or running scenario [life cycle of the application/application control])
location information of the first application control. ([Peterson, para. 0287] “location ... field ... at the top of an electronic form”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the elements disclosed by Yuan with the teachings of Peterson to include the first request carries attribute information of a first application control corresponding to the system control, and the first application control is in the application and is used to trigger obtaining of the first information; and displaying a first window based on the attribute information of the first application control. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because using such attributes to fill the text input field saves the user time and effort to correct an otherwise incorrectly auto-filled field. (Peterson, para. 0307)
As per claim 5, Yuan teaches claim 1.
Yuan also teaches wherein the system control comprises a location system control. ([Yuan, Fig. 13(a)] the dialog includes a system control to modify the location provided to the application)
Yuan does not clearly teach the first interface comprises an address input box, and the method comprises: displaying a second interface in response to an operation on the location system control, wherein a plurality of addresses are displayed on the second interface; and in response to an operation on a first address in the plurality of addresses, displaying the first address in the address input box.
However, Peterson teaches the first interface comprises an address input box, and the method comprises: ([Peterson, para. 0225; Fig. 8C] “the electronic form 862 includes [first interface] ... fields 864 ... including: ... a first shipping address field [an address input box]”)
displaying a second interface in response to an operation on the location system control, ([Peterson, para. 0243; Fig. 8P] “FIG. 8P illustrates a field population menu overlaid on the electronic form 862 [displaying a second interface] in response to selection of the first shipping address field [an operation on the location system control]”) wherein a plurality of addresses are displayed on the second interface; and ([para. 0244; Fig. 8P] “the field population menu 886 includes ... a first field population affordance ... a second field population affordance 888b ... a third field population affordance 888c”)
in response to an operation on a first address in the plurality of addresses, displaying the first address in the address input box. ([Peterson, para. 0244] “a first field population affordance 888a, which, when activated ... with a single or double click ... causes the first shipping address field 864e to be populated with ... 123 Applework Circle”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the elements disclosed by Yuan with the teachings of Peterson to include the first interface comprises an address input box, and the method comprises: displaying a second interface in response to an operation on the location system control, wherein a plurality of addresses are displayed on the second interface; and in response to an operation on a first address in the plurality of addresses, displaying the first address in the address input box. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because such modification allows the user to choose between multiple user-specific and third party data sets for populating fields of the electronic form, providing a faster and more efficient method for populating fields of electronic forms. (Peterson, para. 0006; para. 0031)
As per claim 9, Yuan teaches claim 8.
Yuan also teaches wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to: ([Yuan, para. 0079] “The processor 110 runs the instruction stored in the internal memory 121 to perform various function applications of the electronic device 100 and process data”)
receive a first request sent by the application, wherein the first request requests to load the system control; and ([Yuan, para. 0141] “the map application requests [a first request sent by the application] to use the camera [request to load the system control as the system control is required to use the camera] is the positioning scenario, the mobile phone may determine, by using Table 2, that the positioning scenario is not in the use scenario whitelist corresponding to the application permission to use the camera”; [para. 0146] “if the mobile phone determines [receiving a first request] that a current positioning scenario is not in the use scenario whitelist corresponding to the application permission to use the camera ... the mobile phone may display a dialog box 901, [load the system control]”)
wherein the display is further configured to display a first window ... wherein the system control is displayed in the first window. ([Yuan, Fig. 10] A window/dialog is displayed where the “Allow” button/system control is displayed in the window/dialog)
Yuan does not clearly teach the first request carries attribute information of a first application control corresponding to the system control, and the first application control is in the application and is used to trigger obtaining of the first information; and wherein the display is further configured to display a first window based on the attribute information of the first application control.
However, Peterson teaches the first request carries attribute information of a first application control ([Peterson, para. 0204] “detecting an autofill request [the first request] ... the initial classifications for the field [attribute information of a first application control] are determined in response to detecting the autofill request [the first request carries]”) corresponding to the system control, ([para. 0227] “the autofill menu [the first request – see para. 0314: “the device detects ... a first autofill input ... select an autofill profile”] ... includes [corresponding to] ... a customization affordance 874d provided to edit the custom data set [the system control]”; [para. 0234; Fig. 8I] “FIG. 8I illustrates a customization menu 876 overlaid on the electronic form 862 [making the buttons within the menu a system control as it is a dialog overlaid on an interface] in response to selection of the customization affordance 874d in FIG. 8H”) and the first application control is in the application and is used to trigger obtaining of the first information; and ([para. 0226; Fig. 8D] “an autofill menu ... overlaid on the electronic form [trigger obtaining of the first information] in response to selection of the last name field [first application control]”; [para. 0228] “when activated ... populate ... the fields [obtaining] ... with a text string [the first information]”)
wherein the display is further configured to display a first window ([Peterson, para. 0227; Fig. 8I] “the customization affordance 874d is configured to display a customization menu ... the customization menu 876 in FIG. 8I [displaying a first window] ... in response to activation ... a single or double click with the focus selector 802”) based on the attribute information of the first application control. ([Para. 0205] “the method ... includes populating the fields of the electronic form based on the ... classifications [based on the attribute information of the first application control]”; [para. 0326; Fig. 8I] “display a third menu [displaying a first window] in response to selection of the customization affordance ... a custom autofill data set... of telephone, email address, and physical address”; as the custom autofill dataset within the customization menu/third menu/first window are fields of the electronic form and the fields of the electronic form are populated based on the classifications/attribute information, the first window/customization menu are necessarily populated based on the attribute information/classifications)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Yuan and Peterson for the same reasons as disclosed above.
As per claim 10, the claim language is identical or substantially similar to that of claim 3. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale applied to claim 3.
As per claim 12, the claim language is identical or substantially similar to that of claim 5. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale applied to claim 5.
As per claim 16, the claim language is identical or substantially similar to that of claim 9. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale applied to claim 9.
As per claim 18, the claim language is identical or substantially similar to that of claim 5. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale applied to claim 5.
Claims 6, 13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan as applied to claims 1, 8 and 15 above, and further in view of Ofstad (US Pub. 2015/0062114) (hereinafter “Ofstad”).
As per claim 6, Yuan teaches claim 1.
Yuan also teaches wherein the system control comprises a location system control, ([Yuan, Fig. 13(a)] the dialog includes a system control button 1002 to modify the location provided to the application) and the method comprises: displaying a third interface in response to an operation on the location system control. ([Para. 0157] “If the mobile phone detects that the user selects the button 1002 [in response to an operation on the location system control] ... the mobile phone may jump to a management interface 1003 [displaying a third interface] of the application permission to obtain the location information”)
Yuan does not clearly teach the first interface comprises an address input box, and the method comprises: wherein a map is displayed on the third interface; and in response to an operation on a first location on the map, displaying information about the first location in the address input box.
However, Ofstad teaches the first interface comprises an address input box, and the method comprises: ([Ofstad, para. 0027; Fig. 5] “The overlaid textual description may include a search term input box”)
wherein a map is displayed on the third interface; and ([Ofstad, para. 0027; Fig. 5] “an interactive 3D map including geolocated imagery, schematic map data, labels, etc. is displayed via the user interface”)
in response to an operation on a first location on the map, displaying information about the first location in the address input box. ([Ofstad, para. 0034-0035] “at block 106, a selection of a location within the interactive 3D map is received ... At block 112, [in response to the selection/operation on a first location on the map] a message may be received with ... text information for an identified symbolic location... a textual description of the symbolic location is provided [displaying information about the first location]”; [Claim 2] “providing the overlaid textual description includes displaying a window [displaying information] with a search term input box prefilled [in the address input bot] with a search term associated with the symbolic location [information about the first location]”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the elements disclosed by Yuan with the teachings of Ofstad to include the first interface comprises an address input box, and the method comprises: wherein a map is displayed on the third interface; and in response to an operation on a first location on the map, displaying information about the first location in the address input box. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because such a method provides the benefit of efficient retrieval of information related to a symbolic location on a map application. (Ofstad, para. 0014)
As per claim 13, the claim language is identical or substantially similar to that of claim 6. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale applied to claim 6.
As per claim 19, the claim language is identical or substantially similar to that of claim 6. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale applied to claim 6.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kruglick (US Pub. 2014/0173407) discloses an interface of an application, that in response on a location control, displays a plurality of addresses.
Parecki et al. (US Pub. 2014/0059695) discloses receiving user input corresponding to data privacy parameters for geo-location data and controlling transferring of geo-location data to and from mobile applications.
Lucas et al. (US Pub. 2013/0263000) discloses a dynamic map displayed on a mobile application, where the computer receives a selection indication that a graphic displayed on the map indicating the user location, to initiate an interaction with the user.
/ZHE LIU/Examiner, Art Unit 2493