DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The examiner cannot find support for the correlating of the events into sets of trace data by the propagation of the identifiers to downstream computing components. Original claim 7 had the propagation of the headers. This was the only support of “propagation” in the original application as the term is absent from the Specification. The examiner requests the applicant to supply support for the new limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-6, 8-13, 15-20
Claims 1-6, 8-13, 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claims fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter. However, the claimed invention is directed to performing a mental process without significantly more.
The following is an analysis of the claims regarding subject matter eligibility in accordance with the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (2019 PEG):
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis
Step 1: Do the Claims Specify a Statutory Category?
Claims 1-6 describe a method/process, claims 8-13 describe a system, and claims 15-20 describe a non-transitory computer-readable medium, therefore satisfying Step 1 of the analysis.
Step 2 Analysis for Claims 1-6
Step 2A – Prong 1: Is a Judicial Exception Recited?
Claim 1 recites monitoring execution of functions instanced by users, generating trace data corresponding to events that occur during execution, apply identifiers to correlate events into sets of data, and providing a display of the trace data. The examiner interprets these limitations as mere data collection, data analysis, and displaying said data. The limitations describe processes that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations in the human mind but for the recitation of generic computer components (i.e., use of a processor or a generic computer, and a display). That is, nothing in the claim elements preclude the steps from practically being performed in the mind using a computer and display as a tool.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers the practical performance of the limitation in the human mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. See the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
The applicant has amended the claim to cite wherein the correlation comprises propagating the identifiers to downstream components of the platform. With the lack of description of the “computing platform” the examiner interprets this as merely using a generic computer and computing components as a tool to perform a mental process. The correlation can be interpreted as using identifiers of collected downstream “tables” to correlate like data into sets.
Claims 1-3 also recite mere types of data being collected and methods of organizing said data into sets.
Claims 4-6 recite mere types of data being displayed.
Step 2A – Prong 2: Is the Judicial Exception Integrated into a Practical Application?
Claim 1 recites a computing platform and an application monitoring system. Even if the described methods are implemented on a computer, there is no indication that the combination of elements in the claim solves any particular technological problem other than merely taking advantage of the inherent advantages of using existing computer technology in its ordinary, off-the-shelf capacity to apply the identified judicial exceptions. Simply implementing the abstract idea(s) on a general purpose processor or other generic computer component is not a practical application of the abstract idea(s). The platform and system cited in the claim is described at a high level of generality such that it represents no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception on a computer (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). This limitation can also be viewed as nothing more than an attempt to generally link the judicial exception to the technological environment of a computer (see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Claim 1 also recites monitoring execution of functions instanced by users, generating trace data corresponding to events that occur during execution, apply identifiers to collect events into sets of data, and providing a display of the trace data. These limitations describe insignificant extra-solution activity pertaining to mere data collection, data analysis and display of data, without providing any details regarding a specific problem being solved or specific remedial actions being taken. As such, these limitations do not integrate the abstract idea(s) into a practical application.
Claims 2-6 describe further details regarding the data and display of data. These claims contain no additional elements which would integrate the abstract idea(s) into a practical application.
Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the identified abstract idea(s).
Step 2B: Do the Claims Provide an Inventive Concept?
When evaluating whether the claims provide an inventive concept, the presence of any additional elements in the claims need to be considered to determine whether they add “significantly more” than the judicial exception.
In the instant case, as detailed in the analysis for Step 2A-Prong 2, claims 1-7 contain additional elements which require evaluation as to whether they provide an inventive concept to the identified abstract idea. The system, platform, and display recited in the claim describe a generic computer processor and/or computer components at a high level and do not represent “significantly more” than the judicial exception.
The limitations data collection, data analysis and display of data, describe insignificant extra-solution activity and are written at a high level in a generic manner without providing any details regarding a specific problem being solved or specific remedial actions being taken. Therefore, these limitations recite no additional elements that would amount to significantly more than the abstract ideas defined in the claim.
Step 2 Analysis for Claims 8-13
Claims 8-13 contain limitations for a system which are similar to the limitations for the methods specified in claims 1-6, respectively. As such, the analysis under Step 2A – Prong 1, Step 2A – Prong 2, and Step 2B for claims 8-13 is similar to that presented above for claims 1-6.
In light of the above, the limitations in claims 8-13 recite and are directed to an abstract idea and recite no additional elements that would amount to significantly more than the identified abstract ideas(s). Claims 8-13 are therefore not patent eligible.
Step 2 Analysis for Claims 15-20
Claims 15-20 contain limitations for a computer program product which are similar to the limitations for the methods specified in claims 1-6, respectively. As such, the analysis under Step 2A – Prong 1 and Step 2A – Prong 2 for claims 15-20 is similar to that presented above for claims 1-6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claim(s) 1-6, 8-13, 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Goldberg et al. U.S. Patent 9,450,849.
As per claim 1, Goldberg teaches in an environment having a computing platform and an application performance monitoring system, a method comprising: monitoring execution of, by the computing platform, one or more functions instanced by external users for use by the computing platform (column 3, lines 33-45); generating, by the computing platform, trace data corresponding to one or more events that occur during execution of the one or more functions, wherein respective ones of the events indicate diagnostic data for the functions and downstream dependencies (column 4, lines 53-60; column 11, lines 43-53); applying, by the application performance monitoring system, identifiers to correlate the one or more events into sets of the trace data, wherein inclusion in a set is based on function invocation relationships within the environment (column 8, lines 19-58; column 10, lines 19-20); wherein the identifiers include headers and correlating the one or more events into the sets of the trace data comprises propagating the identifiers to downstream computing components of the computing platform (column 10, lines 4-23; column 19, lines 3-29, wherein a root request identifier is propagated to downstream components and downstream trace data is added/corelated to the root request); and providing data, by the application performance monitoring system, configurable to cause display of a first set of the trace data in a hierarchical format indicating a chain of related functions in the first set (column 11, lines 43-53; column 13, lines 57-59).
As per claim 2, Goldberg teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the diagnostic data includes information associated with execution of the one or more functions as the one or more functions are executed in different computing components of the computing platform (column 12, lines 4-7).
As per claim 3, Goldberg teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the sets of the trace data include trees of time segments associated with durations of units of work performed in execution of the one or more functions (column 28, lines 59-62).
As per claim 4, Goldberg teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the display of the first set of the trace data comprises one or more of the time segments (column 28, lines 59-62).
As per claim 5, Goldberg teaches the method of claim 4, wherein the display indicates context and timing of function invocations (column 28, lines 59-62).
As per claim 6, Goldberg teaches the method of claim 1, wherein respective parts of the first set of the trace data in the hierarchical format are associated with component layers or interfaces in the environment (column 13, lines 57-59).
As per claim 8, Goldberg teaches a database system implemented via a server system, the database system configurable to cause: monitoring execution of, by a computing platform, one or more functions instanced by external users for use by the computing platform; generating, by the computing platform, trace data corresponding to one or more events that occur during execution of the one or more functions, wherein respective ones of the one or more events indicate diagnostic data for the one or more functions and downstream dependencies; applying, by an application performance monitoring system, identifiers to correlate the one or more events into sets of the trace data, wherein inclusion in a set is based on function invocation relationships within an environment comprising the computing platform and the application performance monitoring system, wherein the identifiers include headers and correlating the one or more events into the sets of the trace data comprises propagating the identifiers to downstream computing components of the computing platform; and providing data, by the application performance monitoring system, configurable to cause display of a first set of the trace data in a hierarchical format indicating a chain of related functions in the first set (column 3, lines 33-45; column 4, lines 53-60; column 11, lines 43-53; column 8, lines 19-58; column 10, lines 19-20; column 10, lines 4-23; column 19, lines 3-29; column 13, lines 57-59, see claim 1 for mapping).
As per claim 9, Goldberg teaches the database system of claim 8, wherein diagnostic data includes information associated with execution of the one or more functions as the one or more functions are executed in different computing components of the computing platform (column 12, lines 4-7).
As per claim 10, Goldberg teaches the database system of claim 8, wherein the sets of the trace data include trees of time segments associated with durations of units of work performed in execution of the one or more functions (column 28, lines 59-62).
As per claim 11, Goldberg teaches the database system of claim 10, wherein the display of the first set of the trace data comprises one or more of the time segments (column 28, lines 59-62).
As per claim 12, Goldberg teaches the database system of claim 11, wherein the display indicates context and timing of function invocations (column 28, lines 59-62).
As per claim 13, Goldberg teaches the database system of claim 8, wherein respective parts of the first set of the trace data in the hierarchical format are associated with component layers or interfaces in the environment (column 13, lines 57-59).
As per claim 15, Goldberg teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium having computer-readable instructions stored thereon, the computer-readable instructions, when executed by one or more processors, configurable to cause: monitoring execution of, by a computing platform, one or more functions instanced by external users for use by the computing platform; generating, by the computing platform, trace data corresponding to one or more events that occur during execution of the one or more functions, wherein respective ones of the events indicate diagnostic data for the one or more functions and downstream dependencies; applying, by an application performance monitoring system, identifiers to correlate the one or more events into sets of the trace data, wherein inclusion in a set is based on function invocation relationships within an environment having the computing platform and the application performance monitoring system, wherein the identifiers include headers and correlating the one or more events into the sets of the trace data comprises propagating the identifiers to downstream computing components of the computing platform; and providing data, by the application performance monitoring system, configurable to cause display of a first set of the trace data in a hierarchical format indicating a chain of related functions in the first set (column 3, lines 33-45; column 4, lines 53-60; column 11, lines 43-53; column 8, lines 19-58; column 10, lines 19-20; column 13, lines 57-59; column 10, lines 4-23; column 19, lines 3-29, see claim 1 for mapping).
As per claim 16, Goldberg teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the diagnostic data includes information associated with execution of the one or more functions as the one or more functions are executed in different computing components of the computing platform (column 12, lines 4-7).
As per claim 17, Goldberg teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the sets of the trace data include trees of time segments associated with durations of units of work performed in execution of the one or more functions (column 28, lines 59-62).
As per claim 18, Goldberg teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17, wherein the display of the first set of the trace data comprises a one or more of the time segments (column 28, lines 59-62).
As per claim 19, Goldberg teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 18, wherein the display indicates context and timing of function invocations (column 28, lines 59-62).
As per claim 20, Goldberg teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein respective parts of the first set of the trace data in the hierarchical format are associated with component layers or interfaces in the environment (column 13, lines 57-59).
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant's arguments filed 8/31/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant has amended and argues the amendment overcomes the USC 101 rejection as it is not directed to an abstract idea. The examiner respectfully disagrees. As stated in the rejection, with the lack of description of the “computing platform”, the examiner interprets the platform as merely using a generic computer and computing components as a tool to perform a mental process. The correlation can be interpreted as using identifiers of collected downstream “tables” to correlate like data into sets. As was discussed, in the prior Interview, description and support of the components being physical components, e.g. nodes in a physical network, would be beneficial to further examination. As the claim is interpreted now, a “computing platform” can be a generic computer with a GUI display to enable a human to perform a mental process of data correlation.
With respect to the USC 102 rejection, the applicant has amended and argues the amendment overcomes the rejection. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Goldberg teaches, in column 10, lines 4-23, wherein a trace set is accomplished by the interaction of components starting from a root request and is correlated according to the interactions based on a common identifier. This passage coincides with column 11, wherein the interactions are taught as a propagation to upstream or downstream components. Lastly, the root request identifier, as stated prior, can be interpreted as the origin identifier, in column 19, lines 3-28, which is used as the identifier (UUID) used in the interaction of the components/services from the root request.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER S MCCARTHY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2113