DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-8, 12-15 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Weigert et al. (US 2017/0240125).
In regard to claim 1:
A power and communication transmission arrangement (Figs. 1, 2 and 6 Items 20 and 40) comprising: an electronic accessory (Figs. 1, 2 and 6 Items 40, 44a, or 44b i.e. camera) including a first modulator/demodulator (Figs. 1, 2 and 6 Items 40, 42 and Par. [0019] i.e. capable of coding data and receiving data and power signals); and a motor vehicle (Figs. 1, 2 and 6 Item 12 & Par. [0016]) including: a charging system (Figs. 1, 2 and 6 Items 30, 22, 42 & Par. [0019]) configured to provide a power signal to the electronic accessory (Figs. 1, 2 and 6 Items 30, 22, 40, 42, 44a or 44b and Par. [0019] i.e. vehicle battery powers accessory); at least one electrical conductor configured to carry the power signal from the charging system to the electronic accessory (Figs. 1, 2 and 6 Items 30, 60, 52, 42 & Par. [0032]); an infotainment system configured to bi-directionally (Figs. 1, 2 and 6 Items 20, 22, 24, 28 & Par. [0017] i.e. ecu and infotainment system) communicate with the electronic accessory (Figs. 1, 2 and 6 Items 40, 44a, or 44b & Pars. [0017] and [0019] i.e. camera data sent and received to be displayed ); and a second modulator/demodulator (Figs. 1, 2 and 6 Items 20, 22 and Pars. [0012] and [0019] i.e. capable of coding data and receiving data and power signals) configured to modulate the power signal based upon first signals received from the infotainment system to form first modulated power signals such that the first modulator/demodulator demodulates the first modulated power signals to extract the first signals for use in the electronic accessory (Figs. 1, 2 and 6 Items 20, 22, 28, 40, 42, 44a or 44b and Pars. [0012] and [0021-0022] i.e. bi-directional communication between both modems modulating and demodulating signals to be used by accessory and displayed in the vehicle), and wherein the first modulator/demodulator is configured to modulate the power signal based upon second signals from the electronic accessory to form second modulated power signals such that the second modulator/demodulator demodulates the second modulated power signals to extract the second signals for use in the infotainment system (Figs. 1, 2 and 6 Items 20, 22, 28, 40, 42, 44a or 44b and Pars. [0012], [0017] and [0021-0022] i.e. bi-directional communication between both modems modulating and demodulating signals to be used by accessory and displayed in the vehicle).
In regard to claim 5:
The power and communication transmission arrangement of claim 1 wherein the power signal comprises a constant direct current power signal (Figs. 1, 2 and 6 Items 20, 30, 60 and Par. [0032] i.e. Dc power wired and connected).
In regard to claim 6:
The power and communication transmission arrangement of claim 1 wherein the at least one electrical conductor comprises a power wire and a ground wire (Figs. 1, 2 and 6 Items 20, 30, 60 and Par. [0032] i.e. dedicated pins within the known 7-pin SAE connector as shown in Fig. 1).
In regard to claim 7:
The power and communication transmission arrangement of claim 1 wherein the first signals include authentication signals (Figs. 1, 2 and 6 Items 20, 30, 60 and Pars. [0043-0044] i.e. IEEE 802.11 wireless protocol requires authentication to secure access (e.g. open system, shared key, EAP)).
In regard to claim 8:
A power and communication transmission method for a motor vehicle (Figs. 1, 2 and 6 Item 12 & Par. [0016]), the method comprising: carrying a power signal from the motor vehicle to an electronic accessory (Figs. 1, 2 and 6 Items 30, 22, 40, 42, 44a or 44b and Par. [0019] i.e. vehicle battery powers accessory); modulating the power signal based upon first signals received from an infotainment system of the motor vehicle (Figs. 1, 2 and 6 Items 20, 22, 24, 28 & Par. [0017] i.e. ecu and infotainment system) to form first modulated power signals (Figs. 1, 2 and 6 Items 30, 22, 40, 42, 44a or 44b and Par. [0019] i.e. vehicle battery powers accessory); demodulating the first modulated power signals to extract the first signals (Figs. 1, 2 and 6 Items 30, 60, 52, 42 & Par. [0032]); using the first signals in the electronic accessory (Figs. 1, 2 and 6 Items 30, 22, 40, 42, 44a or 44b and Par. [0019] i.e. vehicle battery powers accessory); modulating the power signal based upon second signals from the electronic accessory to form second modulated power signals (Figs. 1, 2 and 6 Items 20, 22, 28, 40, 42, 44a or 44b and Pars. [0012] and [0021-0022] i.e. bi-directional communication between both modems modulating and demodulating signals to be used by accessory and displayed in the vehicle); demodulating the second modulated power signals to extract the second signals (Figs. 1, 2 and 6 Items 20, 22, 28, 40, 42, 44a or 44b and Pars. [0012] and [0021-0022] i.e. bi-directional communication between both modems modulating and demodulating signals to be used by accessory and displayed in the vehicle); and using the second signals in the infotainment system (Figs. 1, 2 and 6 Items 20, 22, 24, 28 & Par. [0017] i.e. ecu and infotainment system).
In regard to claim 12:
The power and communication transmission method of claim 8 wherein the power signal comprises a constant direct current power signal (Figs. 1, 2 and 6 Items 20, 30, 60 and Par. [0032] i.e. Dc power wired and connected).
In regard to claim 13:
The power and communication transmission method of claim 8 wherein the power signal is carried by a power wire and a ground wire (Figs. 1, 2 and 6 Items 20, 30, 60 and Par. [0032] i.e. dedicated pins within the known 7-pin SAE connector as shown in Fig. 1).
In regard to claim 14:
The power and communication transmission method of claim 8 wherein the first signals include authentication signals (Figs. 1, 2 and 6 Items 20, 30, 60 and Pars. [0043-0044] i.e. IEEE 802.11 wireless protocol requires authentication to secure access (e.g. open system, shared key, EAP)).
In regard to claim 15:
A power and communication transmission arrangement (Figs. 1, 2 and 6 Items 20 and 40) comprising: a camera (Figs. 1, 2 and 6 Items 40, 44a, or 44b i.e. camera); a first modulator/demodulator (Figs. 1, 2 and 6 Items 40, 42 and Par. [0019] i.e. capable of coding data and receiving data and power signals); and a motor vehicle (Figs. 1, 2 and 6 Item 12 & Par. [0016]) including: a charging system (Figs. 1, 2 and 6 Items 30, 22, 42 & Par. [0019]) configured to provide a power signal (Figs. 1, 2 and 6 Items 30, 22, 40, 42, 44a or 44b and Par. [0019] i.e. vehicle battery powers accessory); at least one electrical conductor configured to carry the power signal and provide electrical power to the camera from the charging system (Figs. 1, 2 and 6 Items 30, 60, 52, 42 & Par. [0032]); an infotainment system configured to bi-directionally communicate with the camera (Figs. 1, 2 and 6 Items 20, 22, 24, 28 & Par. [0017] i.e. ecu and infotainment system and [0019] i.e. camera data sent and received to be displayed); and a second modulator/demodulator (Figs. 1, 2 and 6 Items 20, 22 and Pars. [0012] and [0019] i.e. capable of coding data and receiving data and power signals) configured to modulate the power signal based upon first signals received from the infotainment system to form first modulated power signals such that the first modulator/demodulator demodulates the first modulated power signals to extract the first signals for use in the camera (Figs. 1, 2 and 6 Items 20, 22, 28, 40, 42, 44a or 44b and Pars. [0012] and [0021-0022] i.e. bi-directional communication between both modems modulating and demodulating signals to be used by accessory and displayed in the vehicle), and wherein the first modulator/demodulator is configured to modulate the power signal based upon video signals from the camera to form second modulated power signals such that the second modulator/demodulator demodulates the second modulated power signals to extract the video signals for use in the infotainment system (Figs. 1, 2 and 6 Items 20, 22, 28, 40, 42, 44a or 44b and Pars. [0012], [0017] and [0021-0022] i.e. bi-directional communication between both modems modulating and demodulating signals to be used by accessory and displayed in the vehicle).
In regard to claim 19:
The power and communication transmission arrangement of claim 15 wherein the power signal comprises a constant direct current power signal (Figs. 1, 2 and 6 Items 20, 30, 60 and Par. [0032] i.e. Dc power wired and connected).
In regard to claim 20:
The power and communication transmission arrangement of claim 15 wherein the at least one electrical conductor comprises a power wire and a ground wire (Figs. 1, 2 and 6 Items 20, 30, 60 and Par. [0032] i.e. dedicated pins within the known 7-pin SAE connector as shown in Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weigert et al. (US 2017/0240125) in view of Kiliman (US 2020/0252588).
In regard to claim 2:
Weigert discloses the power and communication transmission arrangement of claim 1 wherein the electronic accessory comprises a camera (Figs. 1, 2 and 6 Items 20, 30, 44a and 44b, 60 and Pars. [0043-0044] i.e. IEEE 802.11 wireless protocol used within the system).
However, Weigert does not explicitly disclose that the electronic accessory comprises a Wi-Fi camera.
Kiliman teaches the use of a wireless camera (Fig. 1 Item 100 and Par. [0010]) attached to the rear of a trailer (Fig. 1 Item 114 and Par. [0010]) hitched and in communication with a vehicle (Fig. 1 Item 112 and Par. [0010]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the known use of a Wi-Fi camera as taught by Kiliman with the known system for communicating between a vehicle and trailer as disclosed by Weigert as doing so would have yielded the predictable result of a redundant communication system ultimately increasing safety by preventing a break in communication between the imaging sensors and the vehicles driver (Kiliman: Par. [0003]).
In regard to claim 3:
Modified Weigert further teaches the power and communication transmission arrangement of claim 2 wherein the infotainment system (Figs. 1, 2 and 6 Items 20, 22, 24, 28 & Par. [0017] i.e. ecu and infotainment system) includes a display screen (Figs. 1, 2 and 6 Items 20, 22, 24, 28 & Par. [0017] i.e. visual display 28), the second signals include video signals, the infotainment system being configured to present the video signals on the display screen (Figs. 1, 2 and 6 Items 20, 22, 28, 40, 42, 44a or 44b and Pars. [0012], [0017] and [0021-0022] i.e. bi-directional communication between both modems modulating and demodulating signals to be used by accessory and displayed in the vehicle).
In regard to claim 4:
Modified Weigert further teaches the power and communication transmission arrangement of claim 3 further comprising a trailer (Figs. 1, 2 and 6 Item 14) hitched to the motor vehicle (Figs. 1, 2 and 6 Item 12), wherein the Wi-Fi camera is mounted on a rear end of the trailer (Fig. 2 Item 44B and Par.[0041] i.e. rear of hitched trailer).
Claim(s) 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weigert et al. (US 2017/0240125) in view of Kiliman (US 2020/0252588).
In regard to claim 9:
Weigert discloses the power and communication transmission method of claim 8 wherein the electronic accessory comprises a camera (Figs. 1, 2 and 6 Items 20, 30, 44a and 44b, 60 and Pars. [0043-0044] i.e. IEEE 802.11 wireless protocol used within the system).
However, Weigert does not explicitly disclose that the electronic accessory comprises a Wi-Fi camera.
Kiliman teaches the use of a wireless camera (Fig. 1 Item 100 and Par. [0010]) attached to the rear of a trailer (Fig. 1 Item 114 and Par. [0010]) hitched and in communication with a vehicle (Fig. 1 Item 112 and Par. [0010]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the known use of a Wi-Fi camera as taught by Kiliman with the known system for communicating between a vehicle and trailer as disclosed by Weigert as doing so would have yielded the predictable result of a redundant communication system ultimately increasing safety by preventing a break in communication between the imaging sensors and the vehicles driver (Kiliman: Par. [0003]).
In regard to claim 10:
Modified Weigert further teaches the power and communication transmission method of claim 9 wherein the infotainment system (Figs. 1, 2 and 6 Items 20, 22, 24, 28 & Par. [0017] i.e. ecu and infotainment system) includes a display screen (Figs. 1, 2 and 6 Items 20, 22, 24, 28 & Par. [0017] i.e. visual display 28), the second signals include video signals, the step of using the second signals in the infotainment system including presenting the video signals on the display screen (Figs. 1, 2 and 6 Items 20, 22, 28, 40, 42, 44a or 44b and Pars. [0012], [0017] and [0021-0022] i.e. bi-directional communication between both modems modulating and demodulating signals to be used by accessory and displayed in the vehicle).
In regard to claim 11:
Modified Weigert further teaches the power and communication transmission method of claim 10 further comprising: hitching a trailer (Figs. 1, 2 and 6 Item 14) to the motor vehicle (Figs. 1, 2 and 6 Item 12); and mounting the Wi-Fi camera on a rear end of the trailer (Fig. 2 Item 44B and Par.[0041] i.e. rear of hitched trailer).
Claim(s) 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weigert et al. (US 2017/0240125) in view of Kiliman (US 2020/0252588).
In regard to claim 16:
Weigert discloses the power and communication transmission arrangement of claim 15 including the camera (Figs. 1, 2 and 6 Items 20, 30, 44a and 44b, 60 and Pars. [0043-0044] i.e. IEEE 802.11 wireless protocol used within the system).
However, Weigert does not explicitly disclose that the camera is a Wi-Fi camera.
Kiliman teaches the use of a wireless camera (Fig. 1 Item 100 and Par. [0010]) attached to the rear of a trailer (Fig. 1 Item 114 and Par. [0010]) hitched and in communication with a vehicle (Fig. 1 Item 112 and Par. [0010]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the known use of a Wi-Fi camera as taught by Kiliman with the known system for communicating between a vehicle and trailer as disclosed by Weigert as doing so would have yielded the predictable result of a redundant communication system ultimately increasing safety by preventing a break in communication between the imaging sensors and the vehicles driver (Kiliman: Par. [0003]).
In regard to claim 17:
Modified Weigert further teaches the power and communication transmission arrangement of claim 16 wherein the infotainment system (Figs. 1, 2 and 6 Items 20, 22, 24, 28 & Par. [0017] i.e. ecu and infotainment system) includes a display screen (Figs. 1, 2 and 6 Items 20, 22, 24, 28 & Par. [0017] i.e. visual display 28), the infotainment system being configured to present the video signals on the display screen (Figs. 1, 2 and 6 Items 20, 22, 28, 40, 42, 44a or 44b and Pars. [0012], [0017] and [0021-0022] i.e. bi-directional communication between both modems modulating and demodulating signals to be used by accessory and displayed in the vehicle).
In regard to claim 18:
Modified Weigert further teaches the power and communication transmission arrangement of claim 17 further comprising a trailer (Figs. 1, 2 and 6 Item 14) hitched to the motor vehicle (Figs. 1, 2 and 6 Item 12), wherein the Wi-Fi camera is mounted on a rear end of the trailer (Fig. 2 Item 44B and Par.[0041] i.e. rear of hitched trailer).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see attached form PTO-892.
MW
3/20/2026
/DANIEL C PUENTES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2849