DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figs. 1A, 1B, 1C, 1D, 1E, 2A 2B, 3A, 3B, 4A, 4B, 4C, 5, 6, and 7 do not have satisfactory reproduction characteristics due to excessive shading. 37 CFR 1.84 (l) and (m) detail the requirements of drawings:
(l) Character of lines, numbers, and letters. All drawings must be made by a
process which will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined. The weight of all lines and letters must be heavy enough to permit adequate reproduction. This requirement applies to all lines however fine, to shading, and to lines representing cut surfaces in sectional views. Lines and strokes of different thicknesses may be used in the same drawing where different thicknesses have a different meaning.
m) Shading. The use of shading in views is encouraged if it aids in understanding the invention and if it does not reduce legibility. Shading is used to indicate the surface or shape of spherical, cylindrical, and conical elements of an object. Flat parts may also be lightly shaded. Such shading is preferred in the case of parts shown in perspective, but not for cross sections. See paragraph (h)(3) of this section. Spaced lines for shading are preferred. These lines must be thin, as few in number as practicable, and they must contrast with the rest of the drawings. As a substitute for shading, heavy lines on the shade side of objects can be used except where they superimpose on each other or obscure reference characters. Light should come from the upper left corner at an angle of 45°. Surface delineations should preferably be shown by proper shading. Solid black shading areas are not permitted, except when used to represent bar graphs or color.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore:
the “one or more slideable track attachments” (as recited in claim 5) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s);
“moving the support structure assembly into an interior cargo area of a vehicle” (as recited in claim 15);
“attaching one or more of the longitudinal frame members directly to a floor and/or inter wall, and/or other structures of the interior cargo area of the vehicle” (as recited in claim 16); and
“multiple levels of top-side ceiling frame portions to accommodate retraction of a cargo door of the vehicle into the top interior portion of the cargo area,” as recited in claim 17).
No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paragraph [0033], line 3, “the third fourth group of the second frame structure” appears to be an editorial error.
In paragraph [0033], lines 6-7, “the fourth group of longitudinal frame members of the fourth group of longitudinal frame members” appears to be an editorial error.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 3, “the top side frame of the second frame structure” and “the second frame structure” each have no antecedent basis in the claims. It appears that Applicant intended claim 3 to depend from claim 2. For purposes of expediting examination claim 3 will be interpreted as depending from claim 2.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Due to the lack of drawings depicting the cargo door being retracted into the top interior portion of the cargo area claim 17 could not be clearly interpreted.
Due to the above 112(b) rejection of claim 17, prior art could not be applied to claim 17 at this time. Once this objection has been overcome, any relevant prior art will be applied at that time.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 11, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by homesteadonomics (Youtube.com video).
With respect to claim 1, homesteadonomics discloses a vehicle internal support structure assembly, comprising
a first frame structure comprising:
a left-side frame portion comprising: a first group of interconnected vertically oriented and horizontally oriented longitudinal frame members a shown below in the image taken from time 5:30 of the video:
[AltContent: ][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (first group)][AltContent: ][AltContent: ]
a right-side frame portion comprising: a second group of interconnected vertically oriented and horizontally oriented longitudinal frame members as shown in the below image taken from time 13:04 of the video:
[AltContent: textbox (second group)][AltContent: ][AltContent: ][AltContent: ][AltContent: ]
and
a top-side frame portion comprising: a third group of interconnected longitudinal frame members as shown in the below image taken from time 8:47 of the video:
[AltContent: ][AltContent: ][AltContent: ][AltContent: ]
wherein the left-side frame is connected to the top-side frame via a first group of connection members as shown below in the image taken from time 5:30 of the video,
[AltContent: textbox (second group of connection members)][AltContent: ][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (first group of connection members)][AltContent: ][AltContent: ]
and
wherein the right-side frame is interconnected to the top-side frame via a second group of connection members (as indicated above).
With respect to claim 11, homesteadonomics discloses a method of constructing an interior vehicle living space, comprising:
constructing a vehicle internal support structure assembly comprising:
a first frame structure comprising:
a left-side frame portion comprising:
a first group of interconnected vertically oriented and horizontally oriented longitudinal frame members as shown below in the image taken from time 5:30 of the video:
[AltContent: ][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (first group)][AltContent: ][AltContent: ]
a right-side frame portion comprising:
a second group of interconnected vertically oriented and horizontally oriented longitudinal frame members as shown in the below image taken from time 13:04 of the video:
[AltContent: textbox (second group)][AltContent: ][AltContent: ][AltContent: ][AltContent: ]
and
a top-side frame portion comprising: a third group of interconnected longitudinal frame members as shown in the below image taken from time 8:47 of the video:
[AltContent: ][AltContent: ][AltContent: ][AltContent: ]
wherein the left-side frame is connected to the top-side frame via a first group of connection members as shown below in the image taken from time 5:30 of the video,
[AltContent: textbox (second group of connection members)][AltContent: ][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (first group of connection members)][AltContent: ][AltContent: ]
and
wherein the right-side frame is interconnected to the top-side frame via a second group of connection members (as indicated above).
With respect to claim 15, homesteadonomics discloses moving the support structure assembly into an interior cargo area of a vehicle (as shown at time 12:45 of the video).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over homesteadonomics (Youtube.com video).
With respect to claim 2, homesteadonomics discloses the claimed invention except the third group of the third group of the second frame structure including plural connection members in the first and second group of connection members of the third group of interconnected longitudinal frame members. Homesteadonomics discloses a second frame structure comprising:
a left-side frame comprising:
a first group of interconnected vertically oriented and horizontally oriented longitudinal frame members as shown below in the image taken from time 8:46 of the video:
[AltContent: textbox (first group)][AltContent: ][AltContent: ][AltContent: ]
a right-side frame comprising:
a second group of interconnected vertically oriented and horizontally oriented longitudinal frame members as shown in the below image taken from time 9:13 of the video:
[AltContent: textbox (third group)][AltContent: ][AltContent: ][AltContent: ][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (second group)][AltContent: ][AltContent: ][AltContent: ]
a top-side frame comprising:
a third group of interconnected longitudinal frame members (as indicated above);
wherein the left frame is connected to the top frame via a first connection member as shown below in the image taken from time 5:34 of the video:
[AltContent: textbox (first connection member)][AltContent: textbox (second connection member)][AltContent: ][AltContent: ]
, and
wherein the right frame is interconnected to the top frame via a second of connection member (as indicated above).
Although homesteadonomics only teaches a single first and second connection member of the third group, it has been held that the mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (see MPEP§ 2144.04, part VI, B). In this instance, there has been no unexpected result disclosed. In this case, an additional first and second connection member of the third group would simply provide the expected result of making the second frame structure stronger and sturdier.
With respect to claim 4, homesteadonomics disclose that a width of the second frame structure is smaller than a width of the first frame structure, the width of the first frame structure being a distance from the left-side frame and the right-side frame of the first frame structure, and the width of the second frame structure being a distance from left-side frame and the right-side frame of the second frame structure as shown below in the image taken time from 5:34 of the video:
[AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (width of the first frame structure)][AltContent: textbox (width of the second frame structure)][AltContent: ][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over homesteadonomics (Youtube.com video), as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Metsker (US 3,637,252).
With respect to claim 3, homesteadonomics discloses the claimed vehicle internal support structure assembly except for the top-side frame portion of the second frame structure being positioned higher relative to the top-side frame of the first frame structure. However, Metsker teaches a similar vehicle internal support structure assembly including a first frame structure with a top-side frame (including transverse struts 32 and 34 and plates 36) and a second frame with a second top-side structure (including transverse struts 32 and 34 and plates 36) as shown below in the image taken from Fig. 1 of Metsker:
[AltContent: textbox (second frame structure)][AltContent: textbox (first frame structure)]
[AltContent: ][AltContent: ]
[AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect]
Metsker further teaches that the top-side frame of the second frame structure is positioned higher relative to the top-side frame of the first frame structure (as shown above).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to combine the teaching of Metsker with the vehicle internal support structure disclosed by homesteadonomics for the advantage of the additional living space provided by the higher second frame structure.
Claims 8-10, 12, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over homesteadonomics (Youtube.com video), as applied to claims 1 or 11 above, and further in view of Gomez-Espana (WO 2006/016794).
With respect to claim 8, homesteadonomics discloses the claimed vehicle internal support structure except for the multiple insulation panels and electrical wiring. However, Gomez-Espana teaches a similar vehicle internal support structure assembly including multiple insulation panels 15/16/17 (see top of pg. 3 of the machine translation of Gomez-Espana) which in the combination would be attached to the right-side frame portion and/or the left-side frame portion, wherein attached plurality of insulation panels form a channel between the multiple insulation panels; and electrical wiring positioned within the channel (see bottom of pg. 3 of the machine translation of Gomez-Espana).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to combine the teaching of Gomez-Espana with the vehicle internal support structure disclosed by homesteadonomics for the advantage of an integrated power system built into the vehicle structure.
With respect to claim 9, Gomez-Espana teaches that one or more of the multiple insulation panels include sections forming a portal or window (“window panels,” see top of pg. 3 of the machine translation of Gomez-Espana) in the insulation panels.
With respect to claim 10, homesteadonomics discloses the claimed vehicle internal support structure assembly except for the plurality of insulation panels attached to the top-side frame portion. However, Gomez-Espana teaches a similar vehicle internal support structure assembly including a top-side frame 13/14 and a plurality of insulation panels 10 attached to the top-side frame portion (“laminar sections or a single aluminum plate 10 externally, and internally comprising a layer of polyurethane foam 11,” see top of pg. 3 of the machine translation of Gomez-Espana; Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to combine the teaching of Gomez-Espana with the vehicle internal support structure assembly disclosed by homesteadonomics for the advantage of facilitating a comfortable environment inside the vehicle structure.
With respect to claim 11, homesteadonomics discloses the claimed vehicle internal support structure assembly except for the step of attaching insulation panels attached to the support structure assembly. However, Gomez-Espana teaches a similar vehicle internal support structure assembly including insulation panels 15 attached to support structure assembly (see middle of pg. 5 of the machine translation of Gomez-Espana).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to combine the teaching of Gomez-Espana with the vehicle internal support structure assembly disclosed by homesteadonomics for the advantage of facilitating a comfortable environment inside the vehicle structure.
With respect to claim 13, Gomez-Espana teaches, attaching electrical wiring to the support structure assembly, electrical wiring positioned within channels (“hollow posts” with “cavities,” see bottom of pg. 3 of the machine translation of Gomez-Espana) formed between adjacent insulation panels 15 (see bottom of pg. 3 of the machine translation of Gomez-Espana).
. With respect to claim 14, homesteadonomics discloses the claimed method except for the step of attaching panels to the support structure assembly at rectangular positions formed by the intersecting longitudinal frame member. However, Gomez-Espana teaches a similar method including attaching panels to the support structure assembly at rectangular positions formed by intersecting longitudinal frame members (as shown in Fig. 2 of Gomez-Espana).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to combine the teaching of Gomez-Espana with the method disclosed by homesteadonomics for the advantage of the insulated panels which facilitate maintaining a comfortable environment inside the vehicle structure.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over homesteadonomics (Youtube.com video), as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Baines (US 2018/0009361).
With respect to claim 16, homesteadonomics discloses the claimed method except that he is silent on attaching one or more of the longitudinal frame members directly to a floor and/or interior walls, and/or other structures of the interior cargo area of the vehicle. However, Baines teaches a similar method including a attaching a support structure assembly into an interior cargo area of a vehicle (as shown in Figs. 1A and 1B of Baines) including attaching one or more of the longitudinal frame members (in the combination the one or more longitudinal frame members of homesteadonomics would be attached to the cargo bed as taught by Baines) directly to a floor (“The mounting rails 12 are U-shaped with flanges 22 that extend out from each end such that the flanges 22 can be fastened to the bed of a truck using the pilot holes 24 located on the flanges 22,” Baines, paragraph [0028]) and/or interior walls, and/or other structures of the interior cargo area of the vehicle.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to combine the teaching of Baines with the method disclosed by homesteadonomics for the advantage of securely maintaining the support structure assembly in the vehicle.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over homesteadonomics (Youtube.com video) in view of Baines (US 2018/0009361), as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Fujii (JP 2021-187319).
With respect to claim 18, homesteadonomics in view of Baines disclose the claimed method except that they are silent on attaching to one or more longitudinal frame members furniture components. However, Fujii teaches a similar method including a vehicle frame F attaching to one or more longitudinal frame members (a frame inherently includes longitudinal frame members) furniture components 16 (see top of pg. 2 of the machine translation of Fujii; Fig. 9.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to combine the teaching of Fujii with the method disclosed by homesteadonomics in view of Baines for the advantage of stabilizing the furniture so that it does not move around in the vehicle while the vehicle is in motion.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 5-7 have been indicated as containing allowable subject matter primarily for the at least two vertical longitudinal frame members each having a track with one or more slideable track attachments, and at least two horizontal longitudinal frame members each having a track with one or more slideable track attachments.
The closest prior art of record is to Minix which tracks with one or more slideable track attachments. However, Minix does not teach vertical longitudinal frame members including a track with one or more slideable track attachments.
/Daniel J Colilla/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612