DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,636,189 and claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,265,600. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-18 of the instant application are anticipated by the reference claims 1-20 of the parent patent (‘189) and parent patent (‘600).
Claims 1-20 of the ‘189 patent and patent ‘600 disclose the limitations of claims 1-18 as outlined below.
Instant claims ‘189 patent ‘600 patent
1. A computer-implemented method performed via one or more processors, the method comprising: obtaining an indication to provide access to a prescription resource at an electronic computing device associated with a user; identifying, based on device configuration of the electronic computing device or user contextual information associated with an environment of the user, an audio-based authentication mode for providing access to the prescription resource; in accordance with the identified audio-based authentication mode, emitting an audio tone via a speaker of the electronic computing device; and providing access to the prescription resource at the electronic computing device based on an indication of the emitted audio tone being detected at another device associated with the user.
1. A computer-implemented method for authenticating a user to access a prescription resource, the method comprising: obtaining, via one or more processors, from a first electronic computing device associated with a user, an indication of a request to access the prescription resource associated with a patient to whom the prescription was prescribed, the user being a person other than the patient; identifying, via the one or more processors, an authentication action prerequisite to providing access to the requested prescription resource to the user other than the patient, wherein identifying the prerequisite authentication includes identifying a requirement for the user to be in a home of the patient to access the requested prescription resource; responsive to identifying the prerequisite authentication action, identifying, via the one or more processors, a second electronic computing device located in the home of the patient; causing, via one or more processors, an audio tone to be emitted by a speaker of the first electronic computing device associated with the user; causing, via the one or more processors, a microphone of the second electronic computing device to detect the emitted audio tone, the second electronic computing device being associated with the user; obtaining, via the one or more processors, an indication that the second electronic computing device detected the emitted audio tone; and based at least in part upon the detection of the emitted audio tone by the second electronic computing device, authenticating, via the one or more processors, the user other than the patient to access the requested prescription resource.
1. A computer-implemented method performed via one or more computer processors, the method comprising: obtaining an indication of an attempt by a user to access a prescription resource associated with a patient, the user being a person other than the patient, and the indication being received from a first device of the user other than the patient; causing an audio tone to be produced by a speaker in the first device associated with the user; obtaining an indication that a microphone in a second device associated with the patient detected the produced audio tone; and authenticating the user to access the prescription resource based at least in part upon obtaining the indication that the microphone detected the produced audio tone.
2. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the providing access to the prescription resource includes providing one or more graphical user interfaces at the electronic computing device
2. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising providing, via the one or more processors, one or more interactive user interfaces to be provided to the first or second electronic computing device to facilitate access to the requested prescription resource.
2. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising providing one or more interactive user interfaces to be provided to the first device or the second device to facilitate access to the prescription resource.
3. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the providing access to the prescription resource includes providing one or more voice interfaces at the electronic computing device.
3. The computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein providing the one or more user interfaces comprises providing an interactive voice interface to the electronic computing device.
3. The computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein providing the one or more user interfaces comprises providing an interactive voice interface to the first device or the second device.
4. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the audio tone is a non-audible tone.
5. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the emitted audio tone is a non-audible tone.
5. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the audio tone is a non-audible tone.
5. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising causing a microphone of the another device to activate in response to the identifying the audio-based authentication mode or in response to emitting the audio tone.
6. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein causing the microphone of the second electronic computing device to detect the emitted audio tone includes causing the second electronic computing device to activate the microphone.
6. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein causing the microphone of the second device to detect the produced audio tone includes causing the second device to activate the microphone.
6. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the providing access the prescription resource is based on the indication of the emitted audio tone being detected, in combination with one or more further authentication factors.
7. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein authenticating the user to access the requested prescription resource includes using the detection of the emitted audio tone in combination with one or more further authentication factors.
7. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein authenticating the user to access the prescription resource includes using the detection of the produced audio tone in combination with one or more further authentication factors.
Regarding claims 7-12, they are rejected as applied to claims 1-6 because a corresponding system would have been necessitated to carry forth the method steps of claims 1-6. Regarding claims 13-18, they merely recite a computer program that when executed, performs the functional steps of method claims 1-6 and thus, rejected for the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolosewicz (US Pub. 20200059468 A1) and further in view of Khalil et al. (US Pat. 10,410,451 B1)
Wolosewicz discloses the following limitations:
1. A computer-implemented method performed via one or more processors, the method comprising:
obtaining an indication to provide access to a (para. 25- At a first step 302, the method requires the authentication app to be activated by a user desiring to conduct a secure transaction. The authentication app may be run in background or may be started and stopped as desired by a user. At a next step 304, the user invokes the smart speaker to open an authentication session. Thus, in one embodiment, a user may use a voice command such as, “authenticate me,” directed to a smart speaker. Any suitable command may be programmatically enabled in embodiments.);
identifying, based on device configuration of the electronic computing device or user contextual information associated with an environment of the user, an audio-based authentication mode for providing access to the prescription resource (para. 24-25- At a next step 204, the method registers a user. Notably, registering a user may occur regardless of whether there are registered clients as the steps 202 and 204 are independent of one another. Registering a user requires a user to download and run an application on their mobile device (i.e. mobile app) that will enable communication between the user's mobile device and an ASRV.);
in accordance with the identified audio-based authentication mode, emitting an audio tone via a speaker of the electronic computing device (Fig. 3, para. 25-28- At a next step 310, the method plays the sonic OTP on the smart speaker; para. 23- which may provide a one-time password (OTP) via tone); and
providing access to the (para. 28-29- the method receives the sonic OTP by the mobile device and the mobile app. Upon receiving the sonic OTP, the method decodes the sonic OTP to render the OTP at a step 402. At a next step 403, the mobile app transmits the OTP to the ASRV.; At a next step 403, the mobile app transmits the OTP to the ASRV. As such, in the embodiment, the mobile app receives and decodes the sonic OTP that was received from the smart speaker so that the original OTP generated by the ASRV may now be sent back to the ASRV by the mobile app to verify the authenticity of the user.; para. 44 teaches receiving sonic OTP via. microphone)
Wolosewicz does not specifically teach the resource being a prescription resource. However, in the related art of user authorization to access resources, Khalil teaches requiring user authentication/authorization for access to a prescription service (col. 4, line 58- col. 5, line 16- caregiver, Figs. 9A, 9D ), where authentication utilizes smart devices (see col. 16, lines 27-32) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use this teaching of Khalil with the disclosure of Wolosewicz as a known way protecting against unauthorized access to prescription medication.
2. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the providing access to the prescription resource includes providing one or more graphical user interfaces at the electronic computing device. (para. 36-37- Then every time the smart speaker server receives a request for user authentication or whenever it receives a command, which it understands to be a command to activate IoT devices or to perform any action, which should require authentication of user, it may send an SMS to the user's phone to confirm that the user wishes to execute the command. The SMS may include the text of the command for out-of-band command confirmation.)
3. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the providing access to the prescription resource includes providing one or more voice interfaces at the electronic computing device. (para. 25- At a next step 304, the user invokes the smart speaker to open an authentication session. Thus, in one embodiment, a user may use a voice command such as, “authenticate me,” directed to a smart speaker. Any suitable command may be programmatically enabled in embodiments.)
4. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the audio tone is a non-audible tone. (para. 26- the sonic OTP encoding requires that each OTP bit is coded in a narrow band spread spectrum audio signal centered at the far end of the decodable audio spectrum. Note- this would include out of ‘human’ hearing range)
5. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising causing a microphone of the another device to activate in response to the identifying the audio-based authentication mode or in response to emitting the audio tone. (Fig. 1; para. 28-29- the method receives the sonic OTP by the mobile device and the mobile app. Upon receiving the sonic OTP, the method decodes the sonic OTP to render the OTP at a step 402. At a next step 403, the mobile app transmits the OTP to the ASRV.; para. 44 teaches receiving sonic OTP via. microphone)
6. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the providing access the prescription resource is based on the indication of the emitted audio tone being detected, in combination with one or more further authentication factors. (para. 40- In an embodiment, user authentication for voice-controlled systems with added security provided by checking IP based geo-location of the smart speaker and comparing it to the GPS based location of the user's mobile device.)
Regarding claims 8-14, they are rejected as applied to claims 1-7 because a corresponding system would have been necessitated to carry forth the method steps of claims 1-7. The applied prior art also discloses the corresponding architecture.
Regarding claims 15-20, they merely recite a computer program that when executed, performs the functional steps of method claims 1-5, 7 and thus, rejected for the same rationale.
Conclusion
/WILLIAM A CORUM JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2433