DETAILED ACTION
This non-final action is responsive to application filed on 03/31/2025. Claims 1-29 are pending, with claims 1, 28 and 29 being independent.
Priority
This application claims priority to U.S. Provisional Patent Application Serial No. 63/655,937.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/10/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 28 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berlin et al. (US 2016/0359831, published Dec. 8, 2016) and StackOverflow (npl: Popups, published 2023).
As per claim 1, Berlin discloses a method (Berlin Fig. 7A), comprising:
at a computer system that is in communication with one or more display generation components and one or more input devices (Berlin Fig. 1, Portable Multifunction Device 100):
while displaying a credential user interface for a service (Berlin Fig. 7A, Display, On The Display, A Text Entry Field Associated With A Set Of One Or More Restricted Resources And A Credential Affordance Associated With The Text Entry Field at 702), detecting, via the one or more input devices, an input corresponding to a request to perform a respective operation associated with a credential for the service (Berlin par. 215, electronic device and/or browser interface 600 receives a first input 610 corresponding to selection of the credential affordance 620); and
in response to detecting the input corresponding to the request to perform the respective operation associated with the credential for the service, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a notification that indicates that the credential has been saved in a credential management system that is separate from the service for which the credential was created (Berlin par. 232, an appearance of the text entry field 608 (e.g., credential/password field) changes when a credential is saved to indicate that the credential is saved (e.g., change background from white to yellow); an option to view the credential within a credential management user interface for the credential management system that is separate from the service for which the credential was created (Berlin Fig. 6I and par. 220, credential-assistance user interface 630 further includes stored credentials affordance 648, which prompts the display to display a list of stored credentials and associated identifiers).
Berlin discloses the notification and the credential management system with the option to view the credential within a credential management user interface but does not explicitly disclose the notification includes the option.
StackOverflow teaches:
notification includes an option to access credential management system to view the credential (StackOverflow pg. 1, Fig 1 showing pop-up notification with option to access Google Password Manager).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Berlin with the teaching of StackOverflow to incorporate pop-up notification to indicate that the credential is saved, the pop-up notification including an option to access credential management system to view the credential (i.e., the notification includes an option to view the credential within a credential management user interface for the credential management system that is separate from the service for which the credential was created). One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated because it offers the advantage of providing easy access to credential management system and improving user experience.
As per claim 2, Berlin-StackOverflow discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
before detecting, via the one or more input devices, the input corresponding to the request to perform the respective operation associated with the credential for the service, detecting, via the one or more input devices, one or more inputs corresponding to a selection of one or more alphanumeric characters by a user, wherein the credential includes the one or more alphanumeric characters (Berlin par. 229, electronic device configures browser interface 600 to save or otherwise store text entered into text entry field 608 as a credential and into the memory).
As per claim 3, Berlin-StackOverflow discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the input corresponding to the request to perform the respective operation associated with the credential for the service is a request for the credential to be generated (Berlin Fig. 6I, Generate Credential 640), the method further comprising:
in response to detecting the input corresponding to the request to perform the respective operation associated with the credential for the service, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a representation of the credential (Berlin par. 219, credential-assistance user interface 630 further includes generate credential affordance 640, which generates and displays a generated credential (e.g., in concealed form)).
As per claim 4, Berlin-StackOverflow discloses the method of claim 3, further comprising:
in response to detecting the input corresponding to the request to perform the respective operation associated with the credential for the service, forgoing display of, via the one or more display generation components, the credential within the credential user interface (Berlin par. 219, credential-assistance user interface 630 further includes generate credential affordance 640, which generates and displays a generated credential (e.g., in concealed form)).
As per claim 6, Berlin-StackOverflow discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the request to perform the respective operation associated with the credential for the service is a request to create the credential (Berlin Fig. 6I, Generate Credential 640), the method further comprising:
in response to detecting the input corresponding to the request to perform the respective operation associated with the credential for the service and while displaying the notification that indicates that the credential has been saved in a credential management system (Berlin par. 259, the method further includes receiving an input (e.g., input 616, FIG. 6I) corresponding to selection of the save credential affordance (e.g., save credential affordance 642, FIG. 6I); in response to receiving the input corresponding to selection of the save credential affordance, adjusting the text entry field (e.g., text entry field 608, FIG. 6I) from a first appearance (e.g., first color) to a second appearance (e.g., second color) different from the first appearance), displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a representation of the credential (Berlin par. 219, credential-assistance user interface 630 further includes generate credential affordance 640, which generates and displays a generated credential (e.g., in concealed form)).
As per claim 7, Berlin-StackOverflow discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the request to perform the respective operation associated with the credential for the service is a request to access restricted functionality of the service (Berlin par. 209, The electronic device configures browser interface 600 to display a document and/or webpage 604 having a set of one or more restricted resources. In some embodiments, the webpage is a login page for accessing secure content. In particular, in order to provide or grant access to the secure content, the login page requests a user enter an identifier and a credential), the method further comprising:
in response to detecting the input corresponding to the request to perform the respective operation associated with the credential for the service and while displaying the notification that indicates that the credential has been saved in a credential management system (StackOverflow pg. 1, Fig 1 showing pop-up notification; Berlin par. 232, an appearance of the text entry field 608 (e.g., credential/password field) changes when a credential is saved to indicate that the credential is saved (e.g., change background from white to yellow)), displaying, via the one or more display generation components, content corresponding to the restricted functionality of the service (Berlin par. 209, in order to provide or grant access to the secure content, the login page requests a user enter an identifier and a credential. [The citation indicates the system displays the content corresponding to the restricted functionality of the service after entering valid credentials]). The same rationale as in claim 1 applies.
As per claim 8, Berlin-StackOverflow discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the credential user interface includes a text entry field (Berlin Fig. 6I, entry field 608), the method further comprising:
in response to detecting the input corresponding to the request to perform the respective operation associated with the credential for the service, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a representation of the credential for the service within the text entry field of the credential user interface (Berlin Fig. 6I, entry field 608), wherein the notification that indicates that the credential has been saved in the credential management system is displayed concurrently with the text entry field (StackOverflow pg. 1, Fig 1 showing pop-up notification; Berlin par. 232, an appearance of the text entry field 608 (e.g., credential/password field) changes when a credential is saved to indicate that the credential is saved (e.g., change background from white to yellow)).
As per claim 9, Berlin-StackOverflow discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the notification is displayed at a default location for computer system notifications (StackOverflow pg. 1, popup prompts in the right corner). The same rationale as in claim 1 applies.
Claim 28 does not teach or further define over the limitations in claim 1. As such, claim 28 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
Claim 29 does not teach or further define over the limitations in claim 1. As such, claim 29 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berlin et al. (US 2016/0359831, published Dec. 8, 2016), StackOverflow (npl: popups, published 2023) and Alexander (npl: Managing Passwords, published 2019).
As per claim 5, Berlin-StackOverflow discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the representation of the credential is a first representation of the credential credential (Berlin par. 219, credential-assistance user interface 630 further includes generate credential affordance 640, which generates and displays a generated credential (e.g., in concealed form)).
Berlin-StackOverflow does not explicitly disclose the method further comprising:
after displaying the first representation of the credential, detecting, via the one or more input devices, a set of one or more inputs; and
in response to detecting the set of one or more inputs, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a user interface for a section of the credential management system, wherein:
in accordance with a determination that the credential is not saved in association with a domain, the user interface for the section of the credential management system includes a second representation of the credential; and
in accordance with a determination that the credential is saved in association with a domain, the user interface for the section of the credential management system does not include the second representation.
Alexander teaches:
detecting, via the one or more input devices, a set of one or more inputs (Alexander at 2:27-2:34, user scrolls down to Never Saved section); and
in response to detecting the set of one or more inputs, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a user interface for a section of the credential management system (Alexander at 2:35, displaying Never Saved section), wherein:
in accordance with a determination that the credential is not saved in association with a domain, the user interface for the section of the credential management system includes a second representation of the credential (Alexander at 2:35, displaying list of sites that never saved); and
in accordance with a determination that the credential is saved in association with a domain, the user interface for the section of the credential management system does not include the second representation (Alexander at 2:35, not displaying list of sites that were saved).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the method of Berlin with the teaching of Alexander to incorporate Never Saved feature. One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated because it offers the advantage of improving user experience by providing option for user to set which sites to save passwords.
Berlin-StackOverflow-Alexander discloses A (displaying the first representation of the credential) and B (detecting the set of one or more inputs) but does not explicitly disclose performing A then B (i.e., after displaying the first representation of the credential, detecting the set of one or more inputs). However, there are only a finite number of orders that these steps can perform: A then B, A and B at the same time, B then A. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing date of the claimed invention to try these alternatives in an attempt to determine the efficiency of the system.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berlin et al. (US 2016/0359831, published Dec. 8, 2016), StackOverflow (npl: popups, published 2023) and Miki (JP2016178466A, published 2016-10-06).
As per claim 10, Berlin-StackOverflow discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
in response to detecting the input corresponding to the request to perform the respective operation associated with the credential for the service, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a representation of the credential in a text entry field (Berlin par. 219, credential-assistance user interface 630 further includes generate credential affordance 640, which generates and displays a generated credential (e.g., in concealed form)).
Berlin-StackOverflow does not explicitly disclose:
after displaying the representation of the credential in the text entry field and in accordance with a determination that the credential is rejected and that the credential is edited:
changing the appearance of the representation of the credential in the text entry field; and
displaying, via the one or more display generation components, an indication that the edited credential is saved in the credential management system.
Miki teaches:
after displaying the representation of the credential in the text entry field and in accordance with a determination that the credential is rejected and that the credential is edited: changing the appearance of the representation of the credential in the text entry field (Miki par. 23, On screen SC2, object N2 is displayed and field IF5 is highlighted, informing the user that the password may be incorrect).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the method of Berlin with the teaching of Miki to incorporate feature for highlighting credential field when then entered credential is incorrect. One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated because it offers the advantage of informing user the issue so that the user can address accordingly.
Berlin-StackOverflow-Miki discloses:
displaying, via the one or more display generation components, an indication that the edited credential (Miki par. 23, On screen SC2, object N2 is displayed and field IF5 is highlighted, informing the user that the password may be incorrect) is saved in the credential management system (StackOverflow pg. 1, Fig 1 showing pop-up notification; Berlin par. 232, an appearance of the text entry field 608 (e.g., credential/password field) changes when a credential is saved to indicate that the credential is saved (e.g., change background from white to yellow)). The same rationale as in claim 1 applies.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20230084751 A1; User Interfaces For Managing Passwords
The present disclosure relates generally to computer user interfaces, and more specifically to techniques for managing passwords.
US 12182250 B2; Credentials Management And Usage In Application Modernization
This specification describes technologies relating to credentials management and usage in application modernization.
US 11030299 B1; Systems And Methods For Password Managers
The present disclosure generally relates to network security, access control, and authentication and, in particular, to systems and methods for password managers.
/KHANG DO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2492