DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 8,332,905. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because U.S. Patent No. 8,332,905 lists the plurality of management components as an inclusive list (“and” rather than “or”).
Application No. 19/096,217 Claim 1
U.S. Patent No. 8,332,905 Claim 1
A set-top box emulation system for presenting IPTV content to a user on an electronic device, said emulation system comprising
A set-top box emulation system for presenting IPTV content to a user on an electronic device, said emulation system comprising:
i) a middleware component;
a middleware component;
ii) a plurality of management components arranged and configured to emulate the capabilities of a physical set-top box, wherein the plurality of management components comprises at least one of a presentation manager, a codec manager and/or a conditional access manager; and
a plurality of management components arranged and configured to emulate the capabilities of a physical set-top box, wherein the plurality of management components comprising a presentation manager, a codec manager and a conditional access manager,
iii) a plurality of interfaces to enable communication between said plurality of management components and said middleware, wherein the plurality of interfaces comprises at least one of a graphics interface, a MUX interface, a Conditional Access interface, a Media interface, and Events Interface, a System Settings interface and/or a Persistent Storage interface.
a plurality of interfaces to enable communication between said plurality of management components and said middleware, wherein the plurality of interfaces comprises a graphics interface, a MUX interface, a Conditional Access interface, a Media interface, and Events Interface, a System Settings interface and/or a Persistent Storage interface.
Claims 2-20 are similarly unpatentable over claims 2-19 of U.S. Patent No. 8,332,905.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 8,683,543. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because U.S. Patent No. 8,683,543 generally states the function of the plurality of interfaces rather than listing them.
Application No. 19/096,217 Claim 1
U.S. Patent No. 8,683,543 Claim 1
A set-top box emulation system for presenting IPTV content to a user on an electronic device, said emulation system comprising
A set-top box emulation system for presenting IPTV content to a user on a general purpose electronic device, said emulation system comprising:
i) a middleware component;
a middleware component associated with a provider of the IPTV content,
ii) a plurality of management components arranged and configured to emulate the capabilities of a physical set-top box, wherein the plurality of management components comprises at least one of a presentation manager, a codec manager and/or a conditional access manager; and
a plurality of management components arranged and configured to emulate the capabilities of the physical set-top box to the middleware component, wherein the plurality of management components comprises at least one of a presentation manager, a codec manager and/or a conditional access manager;
iii) a plurality of interfaces to enable communication between said plurality of management components and said middleware, wherein the plurality of interfaces comprises at least one of a graphics interface, a MUX interface, a Conditional Access interface, a Media interface, and Events Interface, a System Settings interface and/or a Persistent Storage interface.
and a plurality of interfaces to enable communication between said plurality of management components and said middleware component to thereby allow the middleware component to operate on the general purpose electronic device as if the general purpose electronic device was the physical set top box.
Claims 2-20 are similarly unpatentable over claims 2-20 of U.S. Patent No. 8,683,543.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 10,616,646. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because U.S. Patent No. 10,616,646 states in detail the function of the plurality of interfaces.
Application No. 19/096,217 Claim 1
U.S. Patent No. 10,616,646 Claim 1
A set-top box emulation system for presenting IPTV content to a user on an electronic device, said emulation system comprising
A computer-implemented method of emulating a physical set-top box (STB), comprising:
i) a middleware component;
executing by the electronic device a middleware component
ii) a plurality of management components arranged and configured to emulate the capabilities of a physical set-top box, wherein the plurality of management components comprises at least one of a presentation manager, a codec manager and/or a conditional access manager; and
providing a plurality of STB emulation components to create an emulated STB environment within said electronic device; and executing the middleware component within the emulated STB environment via a plurality of interfaces of the emulated STB environment that enables communication between the plurality of STB emulation components and the middleware component
iii) a plurality of interfaces to enable communication between said plurality of management components and said middleware, wherein the plurality of interfaces comprises at least one of a graphics interface, a MUX interface, a Conditional Access interface, a Media interface, and Events Interface, a System Settings interface and/or a Persistent Storage interface.
managing access by the electronic device to the IPTV content using a Conditional Access (CA) manager and a CA interface between the middleware component and the CA manager;
Claims 2-20 are similarly unpatentable over claims 2-11 of U.S. Patent No. 10,616,646.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,831,952. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because U.S. Patent No. 11,831,952 is drawn to the corresponding method for using the outstanding claimed system.
Application No. 19/096,217 Claim 1
U.S. Patent No. 11,831,952 Claim 1
A set-top box emulation system for presenting IPTV content to a user on an electronic device, said emulation system comprising
A method for presenting internet protocol television (IPTV) content on a software platform executing on an electronic device of an end user that receives the IPTV content via a network, the method comprising:
i) a middleware component;
executing, by the end user's electronic device a cross-platform middleware component to process the selected IPTV content,
ii) a plurality of management components arranged and configured to emulate the capabilities of a physical set-top box, wherein the plurality of management components comprises at least one of a presentation manager, a codec manager and/or a conditional access manager; and
translating, by the cross-platform middleware component, one or more of the DOM requests into an application programming interface (API) request for managing access to the selected IPTV content using the Conditional Access (CA) interface;
iii) a plurality of interfaces to enable communication between said plurality of management components and said middleware, wherein the plurality of interfaces comprises at least one of a graphics interface, a MUX interface, a Conditional Access interface, a Media interface, and Events Interface, a System Settings interface and/or a Persistent Storage interface.
a plurality of interfaces for enabling communication between at least a graphics interface and a conditional access (CA) interface, and a dynamic video source selection (DVSS) mechanism that is configured to select a source of the selected IPTV content from a plurality of different content source providers
Claims 2-20 are similarly unpatentable over claims 2-9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,831,952.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,273,592. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because U.S. Patent No. 12,273,592 is drawn to the corresponding method for using the outstanding claimed system.
Application No. 19/096,217 Claim 1
U.S. Patent No. 12,273,592 Claim 1
A set-top box emulation system for presenting IPTV content to a user on an electronic device, said emulation system comprising
A method for streaming video media on an end user device, comprising:
i) a middleware component;
providing a plurality of management components to create a set-top box (STB) execution environment for a vendor application within the end user device, wherein: the vendor application is associated with a provider of streaming video media;
ii) a plurality of management components arranged and configured to emulate the capabilities of a physical set-top box, wherein the plurality of management components comprises at least one of a presentation manager, a codec manager and/or a conditional access manager; and
he plurality of management components comprises a conditional access (CA) component, a codec component, a decryption component, and a player component;
iii) a plurality of interfaces to enable communication between said plurality of management components and said middleware, wherein the plurality of interfaces comprises at least one of a graphics interface, a MUX interface, a Conditional Access interface, a Media interface, and Events Interface, a System Settings interface and/or a Persistent Storage interface.
providing, to the vendor application, a plurality of interfaces, wherein each interface is an interface to one of the plurality of management components; executing, by the end user device, the vendor application within the STB execution environment; managing access, via the CA component, to the streaming video media of the provider according to the vendor application via a CA interface of the plurality of interfaces;
Claims 2-20 are similarly unpatentable over claims 2-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,273,592.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claims 1-6 and 8-13 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Koved et al. (USPGPUB 2002/0161996) [Koved].
Regarding claims 1, 8-10, and 11-12, Markel discloses a set-top box emulation system for presenting IPTV content to a user on an electronic device, said emulation system comprising
i) a middleware component (Java Runtime Environment or JRE, paragraph 0036);
ii) a plurality of management components arranged and configured to emulate the capabilities of a physical set-top box, wherein the plurality of management components comprises at least one of a presentation manager, a codec manager and/or a conditional access manager (conditional access, paragraph 0038); and
iii) a plurality of interfaces to enable communication between said plurality of management components and said middleware, wherein the plurality of interfaces comprises at least one of a graphics interface, a MUX interface, a Conditional Access interface, a Media interface, and Events Interface, a System Settings interface and/or a Persistent Storage interface (conditional access, paragraph 0038).
Regarding claim 2, Koved discloses the set-top box emulation system of claim 1, wherein at least one of the pluralities of interfaces connects to at least one interface provided by the middleware component (paragraph 0039).
Regarding claim 3, Koved discloses the set-top box emulation system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of management components also includes a browser, said browser being configured for integration with said middleware component (paragraph 0036).
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Koved discloses the set-top box emulation system and method of claims 3 and 12, wherein said middleware component is inserted into the DOM of said browser (paragraph 0036).
Regarding claim 5, Koved discloses the set-top box emulation system of claim 4, wherein said middleware component integrates with said browser via a second plurality of interfaces (paragraph 0039).
Regarding claim 6, Koved discloses the set-top box emulation system of claim 1, wherein a user interface is managed by said middleware component (player app, fig. 5a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 19-20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Koved in view of Markel et al. (provided by applicant) [Markel].
Regarding claims 19 and 20, Koved disclose the method of claim 11, but fails to disclose the IPTV content is video content, and wherein the emulated hardware capabilities includes at least one of video processing of the video content, user interface (UI) layout generation, and remote-control key handling, and wherein the video processing comprises at least one of decoding the IPTV content, video scaling of the IPTV content, video positioning of the IPTV content, chroma keying of the IPTV content, and alpha blending of the IPTV content and wherein the emulated hardware capabilities includes generating a user interface (UI) layout to be presented on the display of the electronic device.
In an analogous art, Markel teaches it was known at the time to emulate an entire STB environment on a separate device for the purpose of physically displaying content in the same manner as the original STB, including video positioning and the user interface layout (fig. 1).
It would have been obvious at the time of invention to include the IPTV content is video content, and wherein the emulated hardware capabilities includes at least one of video processing of the video content, user interface (UI) layout generation, and remote-control key handling, and wherein the video processing comprises at least one of decoding the IPTV content, video scaling of the IPTV content, video positioning of the IPTV content, chroma keying of the IPTV content, and alpha blending of the IPTV content and wherein the emulated hardware capabilities includes generating a user interface (UI) layout to be presented on the display of the electronic device, as suggested by Markel, providing benefits such as remote testing or review of interface elements (see Markel paragraph 0009).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 14-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Said claims are directed towards the specific embodiments previously found allowable over the prior art available at the time of invention, namely that of active source selection and remote provisioning of the interface.
Conclusion
/DOMINIC D SALTARELLI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421