DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
claim 1, line 9 recites “the second end”, which should be changed to “a second end”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0111716 A1 to McKibben et al (hereinafter McKibben) in view of US 2010/0224430 A1 to Bennett, SR. et al (hereinafter Bennett) and further in view of US 5,658,000 A to Boudreaux.
Regarding claim 1, McKibben discloses [a system (498, 120, 54) for weight distribution of a trailer (100) comprising:
[a trailer chassis (120) comprising a vehicle coupler arranged on a first end (193) of the trailer chassis and configured to couple to a tow vehicle (54) ] (Figs. 1, 4, 6; paragraphs 0024, 0034, 0049);
[a battery assembly (197) arranged on the first end of the trailer chassis and configured to transiently install on a left rail (124A) and a right rail (124B) of the trailer over a range of longitudinal positions (126)] (Figs. 5, 6A; paragraphs 0056, 0061);
[a bogie (182A)] (Figs. 6A, 8; paragraphs 0048, 0056, 0068) comprising:
[a chassis (190A, 190B) configured to transiently install on the left rail and the right rail of the trailer over the range of longitudinal positions and arranged on the second end of the trailer chassis opposite the first end] (Figs. 5, 8; paragraphs 0047, 0048); and
[an axle (184) suspended from the chassis] (Figs. 6A, 8; paragraphs 0037, 0049);
[a controller (534) configured to:
at an initial time:
access a specification for the trailer defining a total weight for the trailer and defining a target length between the vehicle coupler and the driven axle] (paragraph 0043, An information system can also receive inputs that enable the electrical circuit system 534 to determine the weight of the cargo trailer assembly 100 (including any load therein)...a slider position sensor can provide an input indicating the current position of the slider assembly 128 relative to the floor structure 108. The electrical circuit system 534 can receive...the position sensor input...and can provide a recommendation to the driver of the truck 50 to adjust the position of the slider assembly 128 relative to the floor structure 108 based on the condition of the vehicle and the local regulations for the current location);
[define a first target tow position of the bogie based on the target length between the vehicle coupler and the driven axle;
define a second target tow position of the battery assembly based on the total weight for the trailer and the first target tow position] (paragraph 0056, ...The battery slider assembly 197 is a slider assembly that allows the position of the battery assemblies...to be selected independently of the relative position of the relative positioning of the van assembly 104 relative to the wheels coupled with the axle bearing 184. This can allow the weight balance to be adjusted as needed, e.g., allowing the wheel base to be selected and thereafter allowing the weight distribution to be separately adjusted by moving the weight of the battery slider assembly 197 relative to the wheels and axles coupled with the axle bearing 184);
[advances the bogie to engage the battery assembly and drive the battery assembly to the second target tow position; and
withdraw the bogie to the first target tow position to balance a weight of the trailer, containing a first load, on the driven axle] (paragraph 0060, ...relative movement between the van assembly 104 and the axle assembly can be provided to achieve a desired relative position. The desired relative position can be based on the weight distribution of the van assembly 104 and the load therein over and wheels coupled with the axle bearing 184. The desired relative position can be based on shortening the wheel-base...; paragraph 0061, ...the relative position of the battery slider assembly 197 can be adjusted along the floor structure 108 by sliding relative to the first body rail 124A, second body rail 124B. The movement of the battery slider assembly 197 can be completed prior to or subsequent to movement of an axle assembly 182A. If the axle assembly 182A is moveable relative to the first body rail 124A and the second body rail 124B multiple sets of stops members can be provided); however McKibben does not appear to explicitly disclose a driven axle or bogie actuator.
Bennet discloses [a trailer (16) comprising:
a trailer chassis (TC) comprising a vehicle coupler (36) arranged on a first end of the trailer chassis and configured to couple to a tow vehicle; and
a bogie (BG) comprising:
a chassis (BC) arranged on a second end of the trailer chassis opposite the first end] (Bennett – Annotated Fig. 1, below; paragraph 0027);
[a driven axle (22) suspended from the chassis;
a motor (28) coupled to the driven axle] (Ann. Fig. 1; Fig. 2; paragraphs 0015, 0016, 0025, 0026);
[a controller configured to enter a tow mode and trigger a battery assembly to supply electrical energy to the motor to output torque to the driven axle] (Fig. 4; paragraphs 0011, 0015, 0027, and paragraph 0029, e.g., an electronically programmed controller).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of McKibben to include Bennett’s motor using known methods because one skilled in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination of the elements as claimed were predictable and each element merely performs the same function as it does separately. Furthermore, one skilled in the art would appreciate that the advantages of Bennett’s teachings at least provide improved fuel efficiency (paragraph 0013) to a McKibben/Bennett system. The modified system of McKibben/Bennett, however, does not appear to explicitly disclose a bogie actuator.
Boudreaux discloses [a bogie actuator (13) configured to longitudinally displace a bogie (5) along a trailer chassis (3)] (Figs. 1, 2; col. 4, lines 10 – 26). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the McKibben/Bennett system to include Boudreaux’s bogie actuator according to the teachings of Boudreaux to create an improved McKibben/Bennett/Boudreaux system because one skilled in the art would have expected nothing but the predictable result of Boudreaux’s actuator shifting the bogie and battery assembly of McKibben smoothly, expeditiously, and safely (Boudreaux – col 2, lines 14 – 17).
Furthermore, one skilled in the art would expect the McKibben/Bennett/Boudreaux system to trigger the bogie actuator to advance the bogie to engage the battery assembly and drive the battery assembly to the second target tow position; and
trigger the bogie actuator to withdraw the bogie to the first target tow position to balance a weight of the trailer, containing a first load, on the driven axle;
at a first time:
detect a first weight of the trailer, containing the first load, on the driven axle; and
in response to the first weight of the trailer falling within a target weight range of the trailer on the driven axle, enter a tow mode and trigger the battery assembly to supply electrical energy to the motor to output torque to the driven axle.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 10,500,975 B1 – discloses a vehicle weight estimation system and related methods comprising a battery assembly and a driven axle;
US 2012/0248729 A1 – discloses a trailer comprising a reconfigurable chassis/bogie arrangement;
US 2011/0094807 A1 – discloses a driven axle for a trailer;
US 2007/0017715 A1 – discloses a system for weight distribution of a trailer;
US 4,836,735 A – discloses a trailer comprising a trailer chassis configured to position a load along a longitudinal axis of the trailer chassis.
/Tyler Ferguson/Examiner, Art Unit 3611 /VALENTIN NEACSU, Ph.D./Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3611