Status of Claims
Currently claims 1-20 are pending and claims 5, 8-20 are withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 5, 8- 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/05/2026. The examiner notes that the plurality of perforations in a sink-facing surface is found in figure 15, and not in the elected species, thus claims 15-20 are withdrawn.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: mounting element in claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hilger (U.S. 3,092,120).
With respect to claim 1, Hilger discloses a vessel rinsing device (see figure 1), comprising:
an escutcheon (see figure 1, having 10/12, being the housing of the device and the shielding about the cup being washed);
a fluid dispersion assembly coupled to the escutcheon (the dispersion assembly having 34 and 14, being the system that has the fluid, 18/14/56, and the nozzle of 34 above it), the fluid dispersion assembly comprising:
a dome (domed nozzle 34) defining a plurality of nozzles (being the plurality of outlets coming out at 34, taking each of the apertures 34 as separate nozzles), and
a trigger mechanism (37/40, see figure 4, showing the valve structure and bellows that when pushed down allow the fluid up) configured to control fluid spray through the plurality of nozzles (column 2 rows 25-35 and column 2 row 65 through column 3 row 11, describes how the trigger mechanism works, pushing down actuates the valve and bellows to spray fluid (water with soap) up to the glassware to be washed); and
a soap dispenser (51/52) configured to introduce soap into the fluid dispersion assembly (see figure 1) to create a fluid and soap mixture sprayed through the plurality of nozzles (see figure 1).
With respect to claim 2, Hilger discloses a mounting element (51) configured to couple the escutcheon to a sink deck (coupling to a sink 52, understood as being configured to couple to a sink deck as well, sink deck being understood as another suitable drainage receptacle that it can then drain into the sink).
With respect to claim 3, Hilger discloses translational movement of the trigger mechanism toward the escutcheon activates fluid spray through the plurality of nozzles (column 2 rows 5-36 and column 2 row 65 through column 3 row 11), and wherein translational movement of the trigger mechanism away from the escutcheon deactivates fluid spray through the plurality of nozzles (as this would then close the valve shown in figure 4 when the depression then deactivates the spraying).
With respect to claim 4, Hilger discloses the trigger mechanism comprises a plurality of arms (24) extending outward from a central connector (being the central part of 23 about 34, that 24 then extend outwardly from).
With respect to claim 6, Hilger dioceses the escutcheon comprises a drain bowl (being the bottom bowl of 25 that 30 extends down from) coupled to a drain channel (30), and wherein the drain channel is configured to provide fluid communication between the drain bowl and a sink (as shown in figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (U.S. 11,771,299) in view of Meilleur (U.S. 5,522,410).
With respect to claim 1, Wu discloses discloses a vessel rinsing device, comprising:
an escutcheon (see figures 1-3 and 10, #10);
a fluid dispersion assembly coupled to the escutcheon (see figure 3, the internal spraying system attached), the fluid dispersion assembly comprising:
a dome (1, being domed shaped) defining a plurality of nozzles (1 having a plurality of orifices, see figure 10), and
a trigger mechanism (see figure 3, having 9) configured to control fluid spray through the plurality of nozzles (column 5 row 41 through column 6 row 9, where the movement down of 9 controls the water moving up the inlet and washing the cup, effectively opening the device to the water source spraying upwards).
Wu fails to disclose a soap dispenser configured to introduce soap into the fluid dispersion assembly to create a fluid and soap mixture sprayed through the plurality of nozzles.
Meilleur discloses, figure 1 and column 5 rows 12-20, include a soap dispenser with soap therein to be supplied to the water mixture and to the spraying system. Allowing for soap to be utilized in not only washing but cleaning the cups.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the soap dispenser of Meilleur into the system of Wu, to not only wash but clean the glassware with soap as desired.
With respect to claim 7, Wu further discloses dome is configured to rotate around the escutcheon (abstract).
Conclusion
/JOSEPH A GREENLUND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752