Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okita USPA_20070119358_A1 in view of Yao USPA_20210245473_A1.
Regarding Claims 1-8, Okita discloses an interlock sewing machine for producing a stitching structure comprising one or more upper threads, a lower thread and a cover thread all together sewn and forming a decorative composite in a straight direction on/into a material(s). Specifically, Okita et al. teach a stitch structure comprising one or more needle threads 1 and 2 (in figure 1, for example) or needle threads 5, 6 and 7 (figure 4) where these threads cooperate with a bottom or looper thread 4 (figure 1) or bottom thread 9 (figure 4) for forming decorative and binding stitches for the materials. The bottom thread(s) 4 and 9 are located on a bottom surface of the material(s) and the upper threads are located on an upper side of the material(s). Further, Okita et al. teach a decorative and binding cover thread or thread body 3 or 8 which is disposed on the front side of the materials and disposed along the sewing direction of the upper threads (especially in the surface direction of threads 1 or 6, for example). This cover thread or thread body moves sequentially between and is pressed by two upper stitch ends for lying flat onto the material but not penetrating the material. The thread body moves from two sides of under the upper thread 1 or 6 (for example) alternately and in sequence.
Okita does not disclose the claimed yarn.
Yao discloses a fiber containing glass microbeads (paragraph 0035) for a safety textile/sewing thread (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the decorative stitch structure, of Okita, with a safety/reflective function, of Yao, would’ve been motivated to use the known glass-microbead reflective fiber/thread as the surface thread/cover thread.
Conclusion
/TAHSEEN KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781 October 25, 2026