DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12265982. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are directed to record exposure measurements that determine ad exposure, collection of IP, and a map to devices tethered to a same IP that are connected to televisions or over the devices linked to video games.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) the following limitations that are considered to be abstract ideas:
Claims 1 and 11
an instance of a request for a video game from an online gaming content server;
transmit, a signal from an instrument in the video game, wherein the signal triggers at an instance that one or more events occur within the video game;
receive, b an advertisement request for displaying advertising via a connected television or an over-the-top device linked to display the video game;
transmit, an advertisement bid response to the advertisement bid request; and
generate an advertising exposure file to record advertising exposure as advertising is displayed via the connected television or the over-the-top device linked to the video game, the exposure file including collection of an IP address relating to connected television or the over-the-top device, and a map to a plurality of devices tethered to the IP address.
The limitations of independent claims 1 and 11 as detailed above, as drafted, falls within “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” specifically commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations) and/or managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions). The applicant’s claims are directed to advertisement bidding and recording exposure with a video game and connected devices. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular the claims recite the additional elements of:
processor
memory
computing device
OTT device
television
server
non-transitory storage medium
computer
The aforementioned additional generic computing elements perform the steps of the claims at a high level of generality (i.e. As a generic medium performing generic computer function of detecting, transmitting, receiving, generating) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept.
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the above-identified judicial exception (the abstract idea). Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of the computer, or to any other technology, or technical field. Their collective functions merely provide generic computer implementation.
Thus, taken individually and in combination, the additional elements do not amount to
significantly more than the above-identified judicial exception (the abstract idea).
The dependent claims 2-10 and 12 -20 appear to merely further limit the abstract and as such, the analysis of dependent claims2-10 and 12 -20 results in the claims “reciting” an abstract idea. The claims the claims do not recite additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application the additional elements do not amount to an inventive concept (significantly more) other than the above-identified judicial exception (the abstract idea).
Thus, based on the detailed analysis above, claims 1-20 are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu. (US 2006/0085261) in view of Moonka et al. (2008/0066107) in view of Ivins (US 2014/0237498)
Claim 1, 11: Chu discloses a method, comprising: in a computing device comprising
a processor and a memory storing executable code with instructions causing the processor to execute one or more control actions via an interface connection to: ([0197], processor)
detect, by the processor, an instance of a request for a video game from an online gaming content server; ([0077], it requests the advertising assets that represent the advertisement. The content of the messages passed between the client and game server may be in one embodiment an XML message containing ad campaign listing metadata)
transmit, by the processor, a signal from an instrument in the video game, wherein the signal triggers at an instance that one or more events occur within the video game; [0043], For example, a player must have accumulated a certain amount of points or playing time before being allowed to view an advertisement for a more sophisticated weapon to be used within the game or a player must 21 years or older to be allowed to view the advertisement that contains a free coupon for a six pack of beer. Such requirements are enforced via encrypted keys or other secure methods to check a users qualification before displaying of certain advertisements)
receive, by the processor, an advertisement request for displaying advertising via a connected television or an over-the-top device linked to display the video game; [0043 and 0044] but does not explicitly disclose
transmit, by the processor, an advertisement bid response to the advertisement bid request; and generate an advertising exposure file to record advertising exposure as advertising is displayed via the connected television or the over-the-top device linked to the video game, the exposure file including collection of an IP address relating to connected television or the over-the-top device, and a map to a plurality of devices tethered to the IP address. However Moonka discloses transmit, by the processor, an advertisement bid response to the advertisement bid request; ([0014, 0062] providing advertisement based on bids)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, Chu to include s transmit, by the processor, an advertisement bid response to the advertisement bid request, in order to determine which advertisements to display. Chu and Moonka do not explicitly disclose generate an advertising exposure file to record advertising exposure as advertising is displayed via the connected television or the over-the-top device linked to the video game, the exposure file including collection of an IP address relating to connected television or the over-the-top device, and a map to a plurality of devices tethered to the IP address. However Ivins discloses generate an advertising exposure file to record advertising exposure as advertising is displayed via the connected television or the over-the-top device linked to the video game, the exposure file including collection of an IP address relating to connected television or the over-the-top device, and a map to a plurality of devices tethered to the IP address. ( [0005]. The first device may comprise a set-top box or an associated display device, and the identifier of the first device may comprise a MAC identifier. A message including an identifier that identifies a second device and indicates that the second device accessed the second content item may be received from the second device, which may be of the second type. The second device may be configured to run a web browser application, and the identifier of the second device may comprise an IP address. Based on the received messages, a report indicating that the first content item and the second content item were accessed may be generated.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, Chu and Mooka discloses to include generate an advertising exposure file to record advertising exposure as advertising is displayed via the connected television or the over-the-top device linked to the video game, the exposure file including collection of an IP address relating to connected television or the over-the-top device, and a map to a plurality of devices tethered to the IP address in order to track and monetize advertising.
Claim 2, 12. Chu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein said signal is generated in a first instance that a user arrives on a landing page of a website hosting the video game and in a second instance that the user downloads the video game from the website hosting the video game. [0047]
Claim 3, 13: Chu discloses the method of claim 2, wherein when the user navigates a web page that is supplied by the website hosting the video game, wherein one or more requests are transmitted to the website hosting the video game for content. [0080]
Claims 4, 14: Chu discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the content includes one or more executable tags that are loaded via a web browser on the connected television or the over-the-top device used by the user, the executable tags notifying an advertisement server than an impression requires filling with the advertising. [0081]
Claims 5, 15: Chu discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the impression is submitted to a real-time bidding market bidding platform, via which one or more advertiser platforms provide one or more bids to fill the impression with the advertising. [0081 and 0082]
Claims 6, 16: Chu discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the real-time bidding market bidding platform conducts a market floor auction event for placement of the advertising via the connected television or the over-the-top device linked to display the video game, wherein the real-time bidding market platform generates an event with information about a context related to the market floor auction event. [0070]
Claims 7, 17: Chu discloses the method of claim 2, wherein an action by the user that downloads the video game links the connected television or the over-the-top device to receive the advertising in the video game. [0079]
Claims 8, 18: Chu discloses the method of claim 2, wherein an action by the user to activate the video game triggers a call signal that sends the IP address, wherein the call signal is configured to trigger via the connected television or the over-the-top device of the user in the instance that the video game is activated, to initiate a linking operation when a defined event occurs and further sets a trigger against the event that specifies different actions that may be achieved by the user during in-game pursuits and an in-game purchase by the user. [0056]
Claims 9, 19: Chu discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the signal is also generated in another instance when one or more defined events occur in the video game as the user is playing it. [0043]
Claims 10, 20: Chu discloses the method of claim 9, wherein an operation is further configured to track the signal generated when the one or more defined events occur in the game as the user is playing it. [0046]
Conclusion
/D.A.P/Examiner, Art Unit 3622
/ILANA L SPAR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3622