DETAILED ACTION
Inventorship
35 U.S.C. 115(a) reads as follows (in part):
An application for patent that is filed under section 111(a) or commences the national stage under section 371 shall include, or be amended to include, the name of the inventor for any invention claimed in the application.
The present application sets forth the incorrect inventorship because the present application is Continuation of application 18/796985 which is a Continuation of 18/382,265, but lists an additional inventor who was not listed in the parent application(s). Specifically, the parent applications 18/382265, 18/091268, 17/586050, 17/030362, and 16/392512 list a single inventor however the current Continuation application lists an additional inventor.
Parent application 18/382,265 is a continuation application in a series of continuation applications, all of which list a single sole inventor. The parent applications 18/382265, 18/091268, 17/586050, 17/030362, and 16/392512 list the sole inventor as Carrie Shaltz Haslup, while the present application lists the joint inventors Carrie Shaltz Haslup and Philip Weldon Shaltz. A continuation application may only name as inventors the same or fewer than all inventors named in the prior application (37 CFR 1.53(b)(1)).
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and 35 U.S.C. 115 for failing to set forth the correct inventorship for the reasons stated above.
This rejection may be overcome by correcting the inventorship on the present application per 37 CFR 1.48, which requires a new ADS listing only the inventor of the parent applications (Carrie Shaltz Haslup) and the required fee.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “attachment mechanisms” in claims 2 and 3, and “attachment mechanism” in claim 8.
Claim Objections
Claims 5-6, 10-11, and 14-15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claims 5, 10, and 14, in order to properly recite the closed Markush group, “from the group of types” should read as “from the group consisting of” (MPEP 2173.05(h)).
In claims 6, 11, and 15, “the garment is placed” should read as “the garment is configured to be placed” in order to clarify that the human body (person) is not being positively claimed.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, line 5, “at the least one second flap” is confusing. It appears that this should read as “the at least one second flap”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sauchelli (US 2007/0289046).
Regarding claim 1, Sauchelli discloses a garment comprising:
a top opening (neck opening seen in Figs. 2-3) with a front (see front panel 12 having a front top opening formed by the neck line 13 of panel 12; Figs. 1-3 and para. 0018) and a back (see back formed by panels 56,58; the back of the top opening is formed by the upper edges of panels 56,58; Figs. 1-4 and paras. 0016-0017);
at least one first flap (18; see Figs. 2-3) configured with the back of the top opening; and
at least one second flap (16; see Fig. 2-3) configured with the front of the top opening;
wherein the at least one first flap (18) and the at least one second flap (16) are joined to form at least one sleeve of the garment (see Figs. 2-3 and 5; paras. 0017, 0019, 0021).
Regarding claim 2, the garment of Sauchelli further comprises attachment mechanisms (20, 22: Fig. 3) configured with the at least one first flap (18) and the at least one second flap (16); see Fig. 3 and para. 0017. The attachment mechanisms of Sauchelli are the same structure (hook and loop material) performing the same function as that of applicant’s “attachment mechanisms” within the meaning of this limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Regarding claim 3, the attachment mechanisms (20, 22) join the at least one first flap (18) to the at least one second flap (16) [0017-0021].
Regarding claim 4, the attachment mechanisms (20, 22) are hook and loop material [0021].
Regarding claim 5, the garment is a shirt (see Fig. 3) or a one piece suit (see the structure shown in Figs. 1 and 3) as claimed.
Regarding claim 6, the recitation that “the garment is placed on the body of a person by placing the person’s feet through the top opening of the garment” amounts to the intended use of the device (or method of use of the device) and does not further define the structure over that of Sauchelli. The garment of Sauchelli could be used in the recited manner if desired. As to claim 7, the recitation of the use of the garment on an infant amounts to the intended use of the device and does not further define the structure over that of Sauchelli. Note that Sauchelli discloses that the garment may be used on a child [0030].
Regarding independent claims 8 and 13, Sauchelli discloses a garment comprising:
a top opening (neck opening seen in Figs. 2-3) with a front (see front panel 12 having a front top opening formed by the neck line 13 of panel 12; Figs. 1-3 and para. 0018) and a back (see back formed by panels 56,58; the back of the top opening is formed by the upper edges of panels 56,58; Figs. 1-4 and paras. 0016-0017);
at least one first flap (18; see Figs. 2-3) configured with the back of the top opening and configured with at least one first section (20; see Fig. 3) of hook and loop material [0017, 0021]; and
at least one second flap (16; see Fig. 2-3) configured with the front of the top opening and configured with at least one second section (22; see Fig. 3) of hook and loop material [0017, 0021];
wherein the at least one first section of hook and loop material (20) and the at least one second section of hook and loop material (22) are joined to join the at least one first flap (18) with the at least one second flap (16) (see Figs. 2-3 and para. 0017); and wherein the joined at least one first flap (18) and at least one second flap (16) form at least one sleeve of the garment (see Figs. 2-3 and 5; paras. 0017, 0019, 0021). The hook and loop material (20, 22) forms first and second attachment mechanisms as in claim 8. The hook and loop material forms “attachment mechanisms” having the same structure (hook and loop material) performing the same function as that of applicant’s “attachment mechanisms” within the meaning of this limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Regarding claim 9, the attachment mechanisms (20, 22) are hook and loop material [0021].
Regarding claims 10 and 14, the garment is a shirt (see Fig. 3) or a one piece suit (see the structure shown in Figs. 1 and 3) as claimed.
Regarding claims 11 and 15, the recitation that “the garment is placed on the body of a person by placing the person’s feet through the top opening of the garment” amounts to the intended use of the device (or method of use of the device) and does not further define the structure over that of Sauchelli. The garment of Sauchelli could be used in the recited manner if desired. As to claims 12 and 16, the recitation of the use of the garment on an infant amounts to the intended use of the device and does not further define the structure over that of Sauchelli. Note that Sauchelli discloses that the garment may be used on a child [0030].
Conclusion
This application is a continuation of applicant's earlier Application No. 18/796,985. All claims are drawn to the same invention claimed in the earlier application and could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the earlier application. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action in this case. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Note the references cited on the attached PTO-892, which disclose garments having flap structures similar to that claimed.
/AMY VANATTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732