Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18 and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marks et al (2017/0354875) hereinafter, Marks in view of Chapman et al (10,553,034) hereinafter, Chapman.
In regards to claim 18, Marks teaches a computer-implemented method comprising (abstract): Examiner notes the European Search Report dated 11.04.2025 and remarks with respect to Marks.
rendering [001-003, 007], to a display device of a first user (fig. 3 (display)), a first user's view into [0016] an extended reality (XR) environment (fig. 1 (102) [0052], the first user's view being generated using a first pose being tracked for the first user (fig. 1 (108) and [0052, 0081-0087];
Examiner notes, fig. 1 the HMD of 102 renders the first user field over view in the XR environment and the camera captures images of the interactive environment [0051], Fig. 2b show an example of a HMD view from the user 100 (see 107 for example) which corresponds with the claims’ first user and also the relationship between the first user and the second users the “spectator” fig. 4 (100 and 150 spectator))
identifying that a first avatar associated with the first user has entered [0017, 022] a shared perspective mode with a second avatar associated with a second user of the XR environment [0023, 0028, 0081-0087] (claim 8 request to spectate and figs. 4/5 avatars),
Examiner notes, the identifying step is the “requests to spectate a virtual environment…” [0017] from the spectator with “…assigning each HMD to one of a plurality of viewing groups, each viewing group defining a spatial arrangement for avatars associated with HMDs that are assigned to the viewing group…”[0017]
Marks fails to expressly teach wherein the shared perspective mode has a single frame of reference in the XR environment that is to be shared by the first user and the second user.
Examiner notes, [0086] “[w]ith continued reference to FIG. 5, the stadium seating structure 506 includes a plurality of locations 508 (which may be seats in the stadium seating structure) which are predefined for placement of spectator avatars. The spectators 504 are conceptually shown including spectators 504a-f, etc. As the virtual environment 500 is not subject to real-world physical constraints, it is possible to provide each of the spectators 504 with the “best seat in the house.” That is, each spectator can spectate from the same preferred location,) Emphasis added.
While this same “preferred location” infers a single view point the teaching fails to expressly state “a single frame of reference”.
However, Chapman teaches wherein a shared perspective mode has a single frame of reference in the XR environment that is to be shared by the first user and the second user. (fig. 1 104)(fig. 2 R1-N1)(fig. 5 (502-510)(fig. 6 (608))Chapman
(22) The main view 104 can correspond to media content including virtual reality video-on-demand (VOD) content or broadcast content (e.g., 3D video of live events). As shown in this example, the view can correspond to a National Football League (NFL) game or soccer game. A co-viewing experience between or among two or more users simultaneously viewing the same media content in the main view 104 using different client devices can be facilitated by at least one of the side views. In this example, right-side view 106 is a virtual pane that facilitates interaction between or among two or more users. As shown in FIG. 1A, right-side view 106 represents a mini game being played between the user and another user using a different device, which may include a virtual reality device, tablet, or other suitable device. View 106 can include a single frame or a video. For example, view 106 can include a list of questions pertaining to the main view 104 that can be answered by the co-viewing users and the user who guesses the answer correctly wins the game. As another example, view 106 can include an avatar or video representing another user who is participating in the co-viewing experience. (col. 4, lines 22-44)…
(36) As shown in FIG. 2, each file 206 can include one or more media fragments. Each media fragment can include a fragment index 210 and frame(s) 208. In this example, file 206-a corresponding to the user selections can include a plurality of sets of frames, where each set of frames corresponds to a different one of a plurality of views of the virtual reality content from a particular position or perspective in the virtual environment. More particularly, each set of frames may correspond to a different face, side, or view of a three-dimensional shape such as a cube or cylinder centered on or including that position. Each set of frames includes one or more frames. For example, a set of frames may be a sequence of frames that includes one or more reference frames and one or more non-reference frames. To simplify the example, each set of frames is shown to include a single reference frame and a single non-reference frame, which are denoted by R and N, respectively. As shown at 206, three sets of frames corresponding to three faces of a virtual cube are represented by frames R1-N1, R2-N2, R3-N3, where R1-N1 corresponds to the main view, R2-N2 corresponds to the left-side view, and R3-N3 corresponds to the right-side view. A reference frame is a frame of a compressed video that is used to define other frames, while a non-reference frame is a frame that is not used to define other frames.(col. 6-7, lines 49-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Marks to further include wherein the shared perspective mode has a single frame of reference in the XR environment that is to be shared by the first user and the second user as taught by Chapman in order to provide a shared experience col. 1, lines 30-67, and provide for fewer disruptions col. 2, lines 45-67 and save bandwidth.
Therefore, Marks in view of Chapman teaches
wherein the shared perspective mode has a single frame of reference in the XR environment that is to be shared by the first user and the second user and corresponds to a shared viewpoint for the first avatar and a second avatar of the second user (fig 1a (104 .(col. 6-7, lines 49-5)) Chapman in view of (fig. 5 (508) Marks; and
Examiner notes, in line with both Marks and Chapman of providing shared perspectives the same viewing experience with Marks focusing on the spectators with a preferred viewing location and Chapman focusing on co-viewing an event while preserving bandwidth (col. 2-3, lines 59-10) with a single frame of reference (col. 6-7, lines 49-5). Furthermore, the claims merely require “corresponds” to a shared viewpoint for first avatar and second avatar which under MPEP 2111 BRI includes spectating a shared perspective view.
performing, while in the shared perspective mode (fig. 5 (502) Mark), the rendering to the display device of the first user by generating the first user's view by applying a perspective (fig. 5 (0086-0087] Mark) transform to the second avatar of the second user based on the single frame of reference (fig. 1 104)(fig. 2 R1-N1)(fig. 5 (502-510)(fig. 6 (608))Chapman and [0087-0095] Marks, a second frame of reference established for the second avatar and a first frame of reference established for the first avatar for the shared perspective mode was entered [0046-0056] Mark and (fig. 1 104)(fig. 2 R1-N1, R2-N2, etc)(fig. 5 (502-510)(fig. 6 (608))Chapman.
Examiner notes, Mark in view of Chapman takes the first user’s view point as frame of reference and transforms it into a shared frame a reference for multiple users. Furthermore, with the teachings of Chapman the spectator’s view is not limited to the single first user’s viewpoint but has side views (fig. 1a-1c (106-108) which still contains the first frame of reference (fig. 1a-1c (104)).
In regards to claim 40, see claim 18 above for notes, Mark teaches a system comprising: a non-transitory storage medium having instructions stored thereon (abstract)
and one or more data processing apparatus configured to run the instructions stored on the non-transitory storage medium (fig. 1 (106, 112)(fig. 12 (1300), thereby causing the one or more data processing apparatus to perform operations comprising [130-140, 145-150]
rendering [001-003, 007], to a display device of a first user, a first user's view into an extended reality (XR) environment, the first user's (fig. 3 (display)), view being generated using a first pose being tracked for the first user (fig. 1 (108) and [0052, 0081-0087],
identifying [0017, 022] that a first avatar associated with the first user has entered a shared perspective mode [0023, 0028, 0081-0087] (claim 8 request to spectate and figs. 4/5 avatars), with a second avatar associated with a second user of the XR environment (fig. 5 (504a-504f)),
Marks fail to expressly teach wherein the shared perspective mode has a single frame of reference in the XR environment that is to be shared by the first user and the second user. Examiner notes [0086]
However, Chapman teaches wherein a shared perspective mode has a single frame of reference in the XR environment that is to be shared by the first user and the second user. (fig. 1 104)(fig. 2 R1-N1)(fig. 5 (502-510)(fig. 6 (608))Chapman
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Marks to further include wherein the shared perspective mode has a single frame of reference in the XR environment that is to be shared by the first user and the second user as taught by Chapman in order to provide a shared experience col. 1, lines 30-67, and provide for fewer disruptions col. 2, lines 45-67.
Therefore, Marks in view of Chapman teaches
wherein the shared perspective mode has a single frame of reference in the XR environment that is to be shared by the first user and the second user and corresponds to a shared viewpoint for the first avatar and a second avatar of the second user, and (fig 1a (104 .(col. 6-7, lines 49-5)) Chapman in view of (fig. 5 (508) Marks; and
performing, while in the shared perspective mode, (fig. 5 (502) Mark), the rendering to the display device of the first user by generating the first user's view by applying a perspective transform (fig. 5 (0086-0087] Mark) to the second avatar of the second user based on the single frame of reference (fig. 1 104)(fig. 2 R1-N1)(fig. 5 (502-510)(fig. 6 (608))Chapman and [0087-0095] Marks, a second frame of reference established for the second avatar and a first frame of reference established for the first avatar for the shared perspective mode was entered. [0046-0056] Mark and (fig. 1 104)(fig. 2 R1-N1, etc)(fig. 5 (502-510)(fig. 6 (608))Chapman
Claim(s) 25-28 and 47-50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marks et al (2017/0354875) hereinafter, Marks in view of Chapman et al (10,553,034) hereinafter, Chapman further in view of Kancharlawar et al (20220109810) hereinafter, Kancharlawar.
In regards to claim 25, Mark and Chapman fail to teach the method of claim 18, wherein the method comprises: identifying that a third avatar of a third user is within a predefined distance threshold of the first and second avatars in the XR environment; and in response to the identification, placing the third avatar associated with the third user into the shared perspective mode with the first and second avatars.
However, Kancharlawar teacches : wherein the method comprises: identifying that a third avatar of a third user is within a predefined distance threshold of the first and second avatars in the XR environment; and in response to the identification, placing the third avatar associated with the third user into the shared perspective mode with the first and second avatars.(abstract) (fig. 1c (users and 102c)) (fig. 3 (306-321) (fig. 5a and 50b (multiple users at least 3 and 101) (fig. 9b 4 users) [0006, 0015, 0021, 0055] claim 4 Kancharlawar.
[0055] Following the execution of the navigation command, the first avatar 101 and second avatar 103 are at a particular distance 102B from each other. Based on a determination that the particular distance 102B satisfies a predetermined threshold (e.g., is less than or equal to a predetermined threshold), the system can generate and present a new video conference to each of the corresponding users. In some embodiments, a particular user within a session is designated as a “presenting user.” A presenting user can be a user that initiated a session (e.g., based on a command, a movement, a predetermined schedule, etc.) or a particular user that is designated by other session-participating users. In some embodiments, the system can automatically designate a presenting user, for example, based on a predetermined schedule, a pseudorandom seed, or an input from the user (e.g., a selection on a user interface or spoken audio from the user). In at least one embodiment, the system can dynamically scale a predetermined threshold for controlling session admission. For example, a first predetermined threshold for generating a session comprising two avatars can be a first magnitude. In this example, upon generating the session, the system can generate a second predetermined threshold for admitting additional avatars that is greater than the first predetermined threshold. In the same example, following admission of at least one additional user, the second predetermined threshold can be increased such that a boundary of the session is increased.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Mark and Chapman to further include wherein the method comprises: identifying that a third avatar of a third user is within a predefined distance threshold of the first and second avatars in the XR environment; and in response to the identification, placing the third avatar associated with the third user into the shared perspective mode with the first and second avatars as taught by Kancharlawar to allow for dynamic and discoverable segmentation [003-006]
In regards to claim 26, Mark in view of Chapman and Kancharlawar teaches the method of claim 25, wherein the method comprises: identifying that a fourth avatar of a fourth user enters the XR environment [0023, 0028, 0081-0087] (claim 8 request to spectate and figs. 4/5 avatars) Mark; and performing rendering to a display device of the fourth user by generating a fourth user's view using a fourth pose being tracked for the fourth user and a perspective transform applied to the first avatar and the second avatar as stacked in the shared perspective mode, wherein the first avatar and the second avatar are rendered in the fourth user's view based on a frame of reference established for the fourth avatar when the fourth avatar had entered the XR environment (abstract) (fig. 1c (users and 102c)) (fig. 3 (306-321) (fig. 9b 4 stack users) [0006, 0015, 0021]. Kancharlawar
In regards to claim 27, Mark in view of Chapman and Kancharlawar that the fourth avatar moves to a location in the XR environment that is within a threshold distance from an area in the XR environment occupied by the first and second avatar in the shared perspective mode, identifying that the fourth avatar has entered the shared perspective mode with the first and second avatars (fig. 5c fourth avatar) Kancharlawr; and performing, while in the shared perspective mode, rendering to the display device of the fourth user of a new fourth user's view by generating the new fourth user's view by repositioning a viewpoint of the fourth avatar of the fourth user to match to the single frame of reference (fig. 1 104)(fig. 2 R1-N1)(fig. 5 (502-510)(fig. 6 (608))Chapman and by applying a perspective transform to avatars in the shared perspective mode based on the single frame of reference (fig. 1 104) single frame of reference) Chapman, a fourth frame of reference established for the fourth avatar and respective frames of reference established for the avatars in the shared perspective mode. (abstract) (fig. 1c (users and 102c)) (fig. 3 (306-321) (fig. 9b 4 stack users) [0006, 0015, 0021]. Kancharlawar and fig. 5 (504a-504f) Marks
In regards to claim 28, Mark in view of Chapman in view of Kancharlawar, see rational of claim 25 the method of claim 18, comprising: in response to identifying that the first avatar moves to a location in the XR environment that is outside of a threshold distance from an area in the XR environment occupied by the first and second avatar when the shared perspective mode was entered, identifying that the first avatar has left the shared perspective mode with the second avatar; .(abstract) (fig. 1d (users and 102c)) (fig. 3 (306-321) (fig. 9b 4 users) [0006, 0015, 0021,0057] claim 4. and performing rendering to the display device of the first user of a new first user's view by generating the new first user's view by repositioning a viewpoint of the first avatar of the first user to match to a frame of reference established for the first avatar based on a first user's device to access the XR environment [0057] Kancharlawar. Examiner notes Kancharalawer teaches avatars can leave according to a threshold distance [0021] and the video feeds is associated the user [111] and the session service can provide a presenting user [0088] Kancharlawar
In regards to claim 47, Mark in view of Chapman in view of Kancharlawar, see rational of claim 25 , teaches the system of claim 40, wherein the operations comprise identifying that a third avatar of a third user is within a predefined distance threshold of the first and second avatars in the XR environment, and in response to the identification, placing the third avatar associated with the third user into the shared perspective mode with the first and second avatars. .(abstract) (fig. 1c (users and 102c)) (fig. 3 (306-321) (fig. 9b 4 users) [0006, 0015, 0021] claim 4 Kancharlawar.
In regards to claim 48, Mark in view of Chapman, see claim 26, in view of Kancharlawar system of teaches, wherein the operations comprise identifying that a fourth avatar of a fourth user enters the XR environment, and performing rendering to a display device of the fourth user by generating a fourth user's view using a fourth pose [0023, 0028, 0081-0087] (claim 8 request to spectate and figs. 4/5 avatars) Mark; being tracked for the fourth user and a perspective transform applied to the first avatar and the second avatar as stacked in the shared perspective mode, wherein the first avatar and the second avatar are rendered in the fourth user's view based on a frame of reference established for the fourth avatar when the fourth avatar had entered the XR environment. (users and 102c)) (fig. 3 (306-321) (fig. 9b 4 stack users) [0006, 0015, 0021]. Kancharlawar
In regards to claim 49, Mark in view of Chapman in view of Kancharlawar see claim 27, teaches system of claim 48, wherein the operations comprise in response to identifying that the fourth avatar moves to a location in the XR environment that is within a threshold distance from an area in the XR environment occupied by the first and second avatar in the shared perspective mode, identifying that the fourth avatar has entered the shared perspective mode with the first and second avatars, and performing, while in the shared perspective mode, rendering to the display device of the fourth user of a new fourth user's view by generating the new fourth user's view by repositioning a viewpoint of the fourth avatar of the fourth user to match to the single frame of reference (fig. 1 104)(fig. 2 R1-N1)(fig. 5 (502-510)(fig. 6 (608))Chapman and by applying a perspective transform to avatars in the shared perspective mode based on the single frame of reference, a fourth frame of reference established for the fourth avatar and respective frames of reference established for the avatars in the shared perspective mode. (abstract) (fig. 1c (users and 102c)) (fig. 3 (306-321) (fig. 9b 4 users) [0006, 0015, 0021] claim 4 Kancharlawar.
In regards to claim 50, Mark in view of Chapman in view of Kancharlawar system of claim 40, see rational of claim 25 and notes in claim 28, wherein the operations comprise in response to identifying that the first avatar moves to a location in the XR environment that is outside of a threshold distance from an area in the XR environment occupied by the first and second avatar when the shared perspective mode was entered (abstract) (fig. 1c (users and 102c)) (fig. 3 (306-321) (fig. 9b 4 users) [0006, 0015, 0021] claim 4 Kancharlawar., identifying that the first avatar has left the shared perspective mode with the second avatar, and performing rendering to the display device of the first user of a new first user's view by generating the new first user's view by repositioning a viewpoint of the first avatar of the first user to match to a frame of reference established for the first avatar based on a first user's device to access the XR environment. [0057] Kancharlawar.
29.-39. (canceled)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 19-24 and 41-46 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/GRANT SITTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622