Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mahalingam et al.(U.S. Pub No.2021/0029658 A1)
Claim 1, Mahalingam teaches a method for communication by a user equipment (UE) comprising; from a network node in communication with the UE [fig 13A par 0168- 0171, 73A shows a communication interaction between a WITRU 1302 and a QNB on a Satellite 1301, and FIG. 13B shows a path of the satellite 1301 as communicates with the WTRU 1302. At 1310 a WTRU 1302 may receive a PSS, SSS, and/or system information from a base station (i.e., gNB on a satellite 1304) that may be in a an orbit around the Earth. At 1311 the WTRU 1302 performs DL synchronization
based on the received information. WTRU 1302 receives system information while the satellite 1301 is as position P1 and determines the propagation delay and distance to the satellite 1301 at time t. At 1202, a WITRU may receive higher layer signaling that indicates associated PRACH resources. . In one scenario, there may be a GPS assisted NTN, and at 1212 the WTRU may derive the uplink timing offset fora PRACH transmission. The estimation of the timing offset for PRACH transmission by the WTRU may be based on one or more of the following: WTRU location information (e.g., GPS or other GNSS services); satellite location/trajectory (e.g., higher layer parameters); distance of the non-terrestrial gNB from Earth; angle of elevation of the satellite; and/or boundaries of the satellite beam footprint]
obtaining, from a network node in communication with the UE, at least one set of pairs each pair comprising time information and configuration information for synchronization[fig 13A, par 0171, At 1310 a WTRU 1302 may receive a PSS, SSS, and/or system information from a base station (i.e., gNB on a satellite 1304) that may be in a an orbit around the Earth. At 1311 the WTRU 1302 performs DL synchronization based on the received information. At 1313 the WTRU 1302 receives system information while the satellite 1301 is as position P1 and determines the propagation delay and distance to the satellite 1301 at time t1]
wherein the time information is transmitted together with the configuration information an indicates time after which the configuration information is to be used [fig 13A, par 0171, At 1315 the WTRU receives system information 1314 from the satellite 1301 at position P2 at time t1+TSIB, and determines propagation delay and distance to satellite. At 1377 the WITRU 1302 receives system information from the satellite 1301 which is at position P3 at time t1+2TSIB, and determines the propagation delay and distance to the satellite. This process of receiving system information and determine the propagation delay and distance to satellite 1301 at increasing times may repeat additional times, which may result in a more accurate picture of the satellite's 1301 movement and ability to predict its position at a future time. At some future point in time the satellite 1301 might be in a position P4. At 1318 the WIRU 1302 may determine the satellite position (e.g., based on techniques described herein) and predict the propagation delay at the next RACH opportunity based on the measurements and information gathered so far. At 1319 the WTRU 1302 may apply the predicted TA. The position information is considered the configuration information based upon applicant spec],
and performing synchronization using the configuration information in case that current time is after the time indicated by the time information [par 0099, 0171, the WTRU 302 may receive system information from the base station 301. The WTRU 302 may perform DL synchronization at 304 and read the master information and system information blocks to determine the viability of the system. At 1311 the WTRU 1302 performs DL synchronization based on the received information. At 1317 the WTRU 1302 receives system information from the satellite 1301 which is at position P3 at time ti +2Tsis. At some future point in time the satellite 1301 might be in a position P4. At 1318 the WIRU 1302 may determine the satellite position (e.g., based on techniques described herein) and predict the propagation delay at the next RACH opportunity based on the measurements and information gathered so far].
Claim 2, Mahalingam disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the configuration information is for non-terrestrial communication [Mahalingam abstract, Methods, systems, and devices for addressing timing advance (TA) in non-terrestrial network communication is disclosed herein].
Claim 3, Mahalingam describes the method according to claim 1, wherein the configuration information is information for synchronization with at least one node [Mahalingam par 0137, 0138, Further, the WIRU may estimate the TA necessary based on absolute Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) corresponding to a {System Frame Number (SFN), Subframe Number (SF)} and the GPS time maintained at the WTRU itself. A NTN (e.g., one or more base stations in an NTN) may broadcast the formatted UTC, as part of a System Information block (SIB), corresponding to the absolute on-air transmission time of the SIB. For 3GPP, a logical synchronization port for phase, time, and frequency synchronization may be necessary at the base station. For E-UTRA, requirements may be specified to ensure eNB phase and timing requirements for TDD, MBSFN, and CoMP features are met with continuous time without leap seconds, traceable to a common time reference of UTC sourced from at least a Stratum 2 level clock].
Claim 4, Mahalingam disclose the method according to claim 3, wherein the at least one node is a target satellite [Mahalingam, par 0171, FIG. 13A shows a communication interaction between a WTRU 1302 and a gNB on a satellite 1301, and FIG. 13B shows a path of the satellite 1301 as communicates with the WIRU 1302. At 1310 a WITRU 1302 may receive a PSS, SSS, and/or system information from a base station (i.e., gNB on a satellite 1304)].
Claim 5, Mahalingam demonstrate the method according to claim 1, wherein the configuration information is set with geographic area information [abstract, The WTRU may determine a timing offset based on a plurality of information, such as the location information and the system information|,
and the method further comprises using the configuration information in case that the UE is further located in the range that is indicated by the geographic area information [par 0166, 0168, For example, the size of sub-regions may be such that the variation of the round-trip time is limited to 0.1 ms which is similar to the CP length and guard time in NR PRACH Format 0, or limited to 0.5 ms which is smaller than the CP length and guard time in NR PRACH Format 3. In this way, the WTRU, based on the knowledge of its location and knowledge of the location or trajectory of the satellite, may adjust the timing of the transmission of its PRACH such that the gNB receives the PRACH within the allocated subframe/subframes/slots for the configured PRACH time resource. The WITRU may derive the timing offset 1006 based on the knowledge of its location and knowledge of the location (or trajectory) of the satellite and may apply it to the PRACH transmission, resulting in 1003 start for PRACH 1010 including the TA 1005 that can be signaled to the WTRU].
Claim 6, Mahalingam discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the configuration information is different from configuration information that is used for current communication and indicates configuration information that is necessary for next communication [par 0171, This process of receiving system information and determine the propagation delay and distance to satellite 1301 at increasing times may repeat additional times, which may result in a more accurate picture of the satellite's 1301 movement and ability to predict its position at a future time. At some future point in time the satellite 1301 might be in a position P4. At 1318 the WITRU 1302 may determine the satellite position (e.g., based on techniques described herein) and predict the propagation delay at the next RACH opportunity based on the measurements and information gathered so far. At 1319 the WITRU 1302 may apply the predicted TA at the next RACH opportunity for the satellite 1301 at position P4, and transmits the RACH preamble using the predicted TA (i.e., timing offset). This process may continue for other types of transmission once a connection is established, for example for managing the TA that may be needed during future data transmission].
Claim 7, Mahalingam demonstrate the method according to claim 1, further comprising starting using the configuration information when the current time is just after the time indicated by the time information [Mahalingam par 0171, At 1315 the WTRU receives system information 1314 from the satellite 1301 at position P2 at time ti+Tsie, and determines propagation delay and distance to satellite. At 1317 the WTRU 1302 receives system information from the satellite 1301 which ts at position P3 at time t1+2Tsie, and determines the propagation delay and distance to the satellite. This process of receiving system information and determine the propagation delay and distance to satellite 1301 at increasing times may repeat additional times, which may result in a more accurate picture of the satellite's 1301 movement and ability to predict its position at a future time].
8, Mahalingam creates a user equipment (UE) comprising at least one processor [par 0212, In addition, the methods described herein may be implemented in a computer program, software, or firmware incorporated in a computer- readable medium for execution by a computer or processor. Examples of computer-
readable media include electronic signals (transmitted over wired or wireless connections) and computer-readable storage media. A processor in association with software may be used to implement a radio frequency transceiver for use in a satellite, WTRU, UE, terminal, base station, RNC, or any host computing device];
configured to obtain from a network node in communication with the UE [fig 13A par 0168- 0171, 73A shows a communication interaction between a WITRU 1302 and a QNB on a Satellite 1301, and FIG. 13B shows a path of the satellite 1301 as communicates with the WTRU 1302. At 1310 a WTRU 1302 may receive a PSS, SSS, and/or system information from a base station (i.e., gNB on a satellite 1304) that may be in an orbit around the Earth. At 1311 the WTRU 1302 performs DL synchronization based on the received information. WTRU 1302 receives system information while the satellite 1301 is as position P1 and determines the propagation delay and distance to the satellite 1301 at time t. At 1202, a WITRU may receive higher layer signaling that indicates associated PRACH resources. . In one scenario, there may be a GPS assisted NTN, and at 1212 the WTRU may derive the uplink timing offset fora PRACH transmission. The estimation of the timing offset for PRACH transmission by the WTRU may be based on one or more of the following: WTRU location information (e.g., GPS or other GNSS services); satellite location/trajectory (e.g., higher layer parameters); distance of the non-terrestrial gNB from Earth; angle of elevation of the satellite; and/or boundaries of the satellite beam footprint],
at least one set of pairs, each pair comprising time information and configuration information for synchronization[fig 13A, par 0171, At 1310 a WTRU 1302 may receive a PSS, SSS, and/or system information from a base station (i.e., gNB on a satellite 1304) that may be in a an orbit around the Earth. At 1311 the WTRU 1302 performs DL synchronization based on the received information. At 1313 the WTRU 1302 receives system information while the satellite 1301 is as position P1 and determines the propagation delay and distance to the satellite 1301 at time t1],
wherein the time information indicates time after which the configuration information is to be used[fig 13A, par 0171, At 1315 the WTRU receives system information 1314 from the satellite 1301 at position P2 at time t1+TSIB, and determines propagation delay and distance to satellite. At 1377 the WITRU 1302 receives system information from the satellite 1301 which is at position P3 at time t1+2TSIB, and determines the propagation delay and distance to the satellite. This process of receiving system information and determine the propagation delay and distance to satellite 1301 at increasing times may repeat additional times, which may result in a more accurate picture of the satellite's 1301 movement and ability to predict its position at a future time. At some future point in time the satellite 1301 might be in a position P4. At 1318 the WIRU 1302 may determine the satellite position (e.g., based on techniques described herein) and predict the propagation delay at the next RACH opportunity based on the measurements and information gathered so far. At 1319 the WTRU 1302 may apply the predicted TA. The position information is considered the configuration information based upon applicant spec],
and perform synchronization using the configuration information in case that current time is after the time indicated by the time information[par 0099, 0171, the WTRU 302 may receive system information from the base station 301. The WTRU 302 may perform DL synchronization at 304 and read the master information and system information blocks to determine the viability of the system. At 1311 the WTRU 1302 performs DL synchronization based on the received information. At 1317 the WTRU 1302 receives system information from the satellite 1301 which is at position P3 at time t1 +2TSIB. At some future point in time the satellite 1301 might be in a position P4. At 1318 the WIRU 1302 may determine the satellite position (e.g., based on techniques described herein) and predict the propagation delay at the next RACH opportunity based on the measurements and information gathered so far].
Claim 9, Mahalingam demonstrates the UE according to the claim 8, wherein the configuration information is for non-terrestrial communication[Mahalingam abstract, Methods, systems, and devices for addressing timing advance (TA) in non-terrestrial network communication is disclosed herein].
Claim 10, Mahalingam reveal the UE according to the claim 8, wherein the configuration information is information for synchronization with at least one node [Mahalingam par 0137, 0138, Further, the WIRU may estimate the TA necessary based on absolute Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) corresponding to a {System Frame Number (SFN), Subframe Number (SF)} and the GPS time maintained at the WTRU itself. A NTN (e.g., one or more base stations in an NTN) may broadcast the formatted UTC, as part of a System Information block (SIB), corresponding to the absolute on-air transmission time of the SIB. For 3GPP, a logical synchronization port for phase, time, and frequency synchronization may be necessary at the base station. For E-UTRA, requirements may be specified to ensure eNB phase and timing requirements for TDD, MBSFN, and CoMP features are met with continuous time without leap seconds, traceable to a common time reference of UTC sourced from at least a Stratum 2 level clock].
Claim 11, Mahalingam conveys the UE according to the claim 10, wherein the at least one node is a target satellite [Mahalingam par 0171, FIG. 183 A shows a communication interaction between a WTRU 1302 and a gNB on a satellite 1301, and FIG. 13B shows a path of the satellite 1301 as communicates with the WTRU 1302. At 1310 a WTRU 1302 may receive a PSS, SSS, and/or system information from a base station (i.e., gNB on a satellite 1304)].
Claim 12, Mahalingam describe the UE according to the claim 8, wherein the configuration information is set with geographic area information [Mahalingam abstract, The WTRU may determine a timing offset based on a plurality of information, such as the location information and the system information|,
and the at least one processor is further configured to use the configuration information in case that the UE is located in a range that is indicated by the geographic area information[par 0166, 0168, For example, the size of sub-regions may be such that the variation of the round-trip time is limited to 0.1 ms which is similar to the CP length and guard time in NR PRACH Format 0, or limited to 0.5 ms which is smaller than the CP length and guard time in NR PRACH Format 3. In this way, the WTRU, based on the knowledge of its location and knowledge of the location or trajectory of the satellite, may adjust the timing of the transmission of its PRACH such that the gNB receives the PRACH within the allocated subframe/subframes/slots for the configured PRACH time resource. The WITRU may derive the timing offset 1006 based on the knowledge of its location and knowledge of the location (or trajectory) of the satellite and may apply it to the PRACH transmission, resulting in 1003 start for PRACH 1010 including the TA 1005 that can be signaled to the WTRU].
Claim 13, Mahalingam creates the UE according to claim 8, wherein the configuration information is different from a configuration information that is used for current communication and indicates a configuration information that is necessary for next communication[Mahalingam par 0171, This process of receiving system information and determine the propagation delay and distance to satellite 1301 at increasing times may repeat additional times, which may result in a more accurate picture of the satellite's 1301 movement and ability to predict its position at a future time. At some future point in time the satellite 1301 might be in a position P4. At 1318 the WITRU 1302 may determine the satellite position (e.g., based on techniques described herein) and predict the propagation delay at the next RACH opportunity based on the measurements and information gathered so far. At 1319 the WITRU 1302 may apply the predicted TA at the next RACH opportunity for the satellite 1301 at position P4, and transmits the RACH preamble using the predicted TA (i.e., timing offset). This process may continue for other types of transmission once a connection is established, for example for managing the TA that may be needed during future data transmission].
Claim 14, Mahalingam discloses a UE according to claim 8, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to start using the configuration information when the current time is just after the time indicated by the time information[Mahalingam par 0171, At 1375 the WTRU receives system information 1314 from the satellite 1301 at position P2 at time t1+TSIB, and determines propagation delay and distance to satellite. At 1317 the WTRU 1302 receives system information from the satellite 1301 which is at position P3 at time t1+2TSIB, and determines the propagation delay and distance to the satellite. This process of receiving system information and determine the propagation delay and distance to satellite 1301 at increasing times may repeat additional times, which may result in a more accurate picture of the satellite's 1301 movement and ability to predict its position at a future time].
Claim 15, Mahalingam demonstrates the non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that are executable by one or more processors of a user equipment (UE) to perform a method [par 0212, In addition, the methods described herein may be implemented in a computer program, software, or firmware incorporated in a computer-readable medium for execution by a computer or processor. Examples of computer-readable media include electronic signals (transmitted over wired or wireless connections) and computer-readable storage media. Examples of computer-readable storage media include, but are not limited to, a read only memory (ROM), a random access memory (RAM), a register, cache memory, semiconductor memory devices, magnetic media such as internal hard disks and removable disks],
the method comprising: obtaining from a network node in communication with the UE [fig 13A par 0168- 0171, 73A shows a communication interaction between a WITRU 1302 and a QNB on a Satellite 1301, and FIG. 13B shows a path of the satellite 1301 as communicates with the WTRU 1302. At 1310 a WTRU 1302 may receive a PSS, SSS, and/or system information from a base station (i.e., gNB on a satellite 1304) that may be in a an orbit around the Earth. At 1311 the WTRU 1302 performs DL synchronization based on the received information. WTRU 1302 receives system information while the satellite 1301 is as position P1 and determines the propagation delay and distance to the satellite 1301 at time t. At 1202, a WITRU may receive higher layer signaling that indicates associated PRACH resources. . In one scenario, there may be a GPS assisted NTN, and at 1212 the WTRU may derive the uplink timing offset fora PRACH transmission. The estimation of the timing offset for PRACH transmission by the WTRU may be based on one or more of the following: WTRU location information (e.g., GPS or other GNSS services); satellite location/trajectory (e.g., higher layer parameters); distance of the non-terrestrial gNB from Earth; angle of elevation of the satellite; and/or boundaries of the satellite beam footprint]
at least one set of pairs each pair comprising time information and configuration information for synchronization[fig 13A, par 0171, At 1310 a WTRU 1302 may receive a PSS, SSS, and/or system information from a base station (i.e., gNB on a satellite 1304) that may be in a an orbit around the Earth. At 1311 the WTRU 1302 performs DL synchronization based on the received information. At 1313 the WTRU 1302 receives system information while the satellite 1301 is as position P1 and determines the propagation delay and distance to the satellite 1301 at time t1],
wherein the time information indicates time after which the configuration information is to be used[fig 13A, par 0171, At 1315 the WTRU receives system information 1314 from the satellite 1301 at position P2 at time t1+TSIB, and determines propagation delay and distance to satellite. At 1377 the WITRU 1302 receives system information from the satellite 1301 which is at position P3 at time t1+2TSIB, and determines the propagation delay and distance to the satellite. This process of receiving system information and determine the propagation delay and distance to satellite 1301 at increasing times may repeat additional times, which may result in a more accurate picture of the satellite's 1301 movement and ability to predict its position at a future time. At some future point in time the satellite 1301 might be in a position P4. At 1318 the WIRU 1302 may determine the satellite position (e.g., based on techniques described herein) and predict the propagation delay at the next RACH opportunity based on the measurements and information gathered so far. At 1319 the WTRU 1302 may apply the predicted TA. The position information is considered the configuration information based upon applicant spec],
Claim 16, Mahalingam teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium according to claim 15, wherein the configuration information is for non-terrestrial communication [Mahalingam abstract, Methods, systems, and devices for addressing timing advance (TA) in non- terrestrial network communication is disclosed herein].
Claim 17, Mahalingam provide the non-transitory computer-readable medium according to claim 15, wherein the configuration information is information for synchronization with at least one node [Mahalingam par 0137, 0138, Further, the WTRU may estimate the TA necessary based on absolute Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) corresponding to a {System Frame Number (SFN), Subframe Number (SF)} and the GPS time maintained at the WTRU itself. A NTN (e.g., one or more base stations in an NTN) may broadcast the formatted UTC, as part of a System Information block (SIB), corresponding to the absolute on-air transmission time of the SIB. For 3GPP, a logical synchronization port for phase, time, and frequency synchronization may be necessary at the base station. For E-UTRA, requirements may be specified to ensure eNB phase and timing requirements for TDD, MBSFN, and CoMP features are met with continuous time without leap seconds, traceable to a common time reference of UTC sourced from at least a Stratum 2 level clock].
Claim 18, Mahalingam and ZHANG describe the non-transitory computer-readable medium according to claim 17, wherein the at least one node is a target satellite [Mahalingam, par 0171, FIG. 13A shows a communication interaction between a WITRU 1302 and a gNB on a satellite 1301, and FIG. 13B shows a path of the satellite 1301 as communicates with the WTRU 1302. At 1310 a WTRU 1302 may receive a PSS, SSS, and/or system information from a base station (i.e., gNB on a satellite 1304)].
Claim 19, Mahalingam and ZHANG defines the non-transitory computer-readable medium according to claim 15, wherein the configuration information is set with geographic area information [Mahalingam abstract, The WTRU may determine a timing offset based on a plurality of information, such as the location information and the system information],
and the method further comprises: using the configuration information in case that the UE is located in a range that is indicated by the geographic area information[par 0166, 0168, For example, the size of sub-regions may be such that the variation of the round-trip time is limited to 0.1 ms which is similar to the CP length and guard time in NR PRACH Format 0, or limited to 0.5 ms which is smaller than the CP length and guard time in NR PRACH Format 3. In this way, the WTRU, based on the knowledge of its location and knowledge of the location or trajectory of the satellite, may adjust the timing of the transmission of its PRACH such that the gNB receives the PRACH within the allocated subframe/subframes/slots for the configured PRACH time resource. The WITRU may derive the timing offset 1006 based on the knowledge of its location and knowledge of the location (or trajectory) of the satellite and may apply it to the PRACH transmission, resulting in 1003 start for PRACH 1010 including the TA 1005 that can be signaled to the WTRU]
Claim 20, Mahalingam disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium according to claim 15, wherein the configuration information is different from configuration information that is used for current communication and indicates configuration information that is necessary for next communication[Mahalingam, par 0171, This process of receiving system information and determine the propagation delay and distance to satellite 1301 at increasing times may repeat additional times, which may result in a more accurate picture of the satellite's 1301 movement and ability to predict its position at a future time. At some future point in time the satellite 1301 might be in a position P4. At 1318 the WTRU 1302 may determine the satellite position (e.g., based on techniques described herein) and predict the propagation delay at the next RACH opportunity based on the measurements and information gathered so far. At 1319 the WTRU 1302 may apply the predicted TA at the next RACH opportunity for the satellite 1301 at position P4, and transmits the RACH preamble using the predicted TA (i.e., timing offset). This process may continue for other types of transmission once a connection is established, for example for managing the TA that may be needed during future data transmission].
Claim 21, Mahalingam discloses a network node comprising at least one processor configured to: 21. provide, to a user equipment (UE) [fig 13A par 0062, 0168- 0171,
The processor 118 may further be coupled to other peripherals 138, which may include one or more software and/or hardware modules that provide additional features, functionality and/or wired or wireless connectivity. For example, the peripherals 138 may include an accelerometer, an e-compass, a satellite transceiver.73A shows a communication interaction between a WITRU 1302 and a QNB on a Satellite 1301, and FIG. 13B shows a path of the satellite 1301 as communicates with the WTRU 1302. At 1310 a WTRU 1302 may receive a PSS, SSS, and/or system information from a base station (i.e., gNB on a satellite 1304) that may be in a an orbit around the Earth],
at least one set of pairs, each pair comprising time information and configuration information for synchronization[fig 13A, par 0171, At 1310 a WTRU 1302 may receive a PSS, SSS, and/or system information from a base station (i.e., gNB on a satellite 1304) that may be in a an orbit around the Earth. At 1311 the WTRU 1302 performs DL synchronization based on the received information. At 1313 the WTRU 1302 receives system information while the satellite 1301 is as position P1 and determines the propagation delay and distance to the satellite 1301 at time t1],
wherein the time information is transmitted together with the configuration information and indicates time after which the configuration information is to be used[fig 13A, par 0171, At 1315 the WTRU receives system information 1314 from the satellite 1301 at position P2 at time t1+TSIB, and determines propagation delay and distance to satellite. At 1377 the WITRU 1302 receives system information from the satellite 1301 which is at position P3 at time t1+2TSIB, and determines the propagation delay and distance to the satellite. This process of receiving system information and determine the propagation delay and distance to satellite 1301 at increasing times may repeat additional times, which may result in a more accurate picture of the satellite's 1301 movement and ability to predict its position at a future time. At some future point in time the satellite 1301 might be in a position P4. At 1318 the WIRU 1302 may determine the satellite position (e.g., based on techniques described herein) and predict the propagation delay at the next RACH opportunity based on the measurements and information gathered so far. At 1319 the WTRU 1302 may apply the predicted TA. The position information is considered the configuration information based upon applicant spec];
and enable the UE to perform the synchronization using the configuration information in case that current time is after the time indicated by the time information[par 0099, 0171, the WTRU 302 may receive system information from the base station 301. The WTRU 302 may perform DL synchronization at 304 and read the master information and system information blocks to determine the viability of the system. At 1311 the WTRU 1302 performs DL synchronization based on the received information. At 1317 the WTRU 1302 receives system information from the satellite 1301 which is at position P3 at time ti +2Tsis. At some future point in time the satellite 1301 might be in a position P4. At 1318 the WIRU 1302 may determine the satellite position (e.g., based on techniques described herein) and predict the propagation delay at the next RACH opportunity based on the measurements and information gathered so far].
Response to Arguments
Zhang does not, however, refer to, e.g, the Tref and the length B of the bitmap being transmitted together. Zhang does not disclose any time information [that indicates time after which configuration information for synchronization is to be used] that is transmitted together with configuration information for synchronization.
In addition, Zhang does not refer to, e.g., the Tref and the length B of the bitmap being obtained as a set of pairs. Rather, as explained above, Zhang merely discloses that both the Tref and the length B of the bitmap are used for determining bitmap mapping offset t, and they do not have a one-to-one correspondence but rather are independently and separately configured.
Therefore, Zhang does not disclose or suggest "obtaining, from a network node in communication with the UE, at least one set of pairs, each pair comprising time information and configuration information for synchronization, wherein the time information is transmitted together with the configuration information," as recited in amended claim 1 (emphasis added).
Zhang does not, however, refer to, e.g, the Tref and the length B of the bitmap being transmitted together. Zhang does not disclose any time information [that indicates time after which configuration information for synchronization is to be used] that is transmitted together with configuration information for synchronization.
In addition, Zhang does not refer to, e.g., the Tref and the length B of the bitmap being obtained as a set of pairs. Rather, as explained above, Zhang merely discloses that both the Tref and the length B of the bitmap are used for determining bitmap mapping offset t, and they do not have a one-to-one correspondence but rather are independently and separately configured.
Therefore, Zhang does not disclose or suggest "obtaining, from a network node in communication with the UE, at least one set of pairs, each pair comprising time information and configuration information for synchronization, wherein the time information is transmitted together with the configuration information," as recited in amended claim 1 (emphasis added).
Further, Mahalingam also fails to disclose that "time information is transmitted together with [] configuration information," as recited in amended claim 1 (emphasis added). Mahalingam also fails to disclose that a UE obtains "at least one set of pairs, each pair comprising time information and configuration information for synchronization," as the recited in amended claim 1 (emphasis added).
In other words, Mahalingam merely discloses that the "system information" is read after DL synchronization is performed, and therefore it is clear that the "system information" described in Mahalingam cannot correspond to "configuration information for synchronization" as recited in claim 1.
Therefore, Mahalingam and Zhang, considered alone or in combination, do not disclose or suggest "obtaining, from a network node in communication with the UE, at least one set of pairs, each pair comprising time information and configuration information for synchronization, wherein the time information is transmitted together with the configuration information and indicates time after which the configuration information is to be used," as recited in amended claim 1 (emphasis added).
The examiner respectfully disagrees in applicant specification para 0059, configuration of resource pools based on location, wherein criteria are compared against the traffic load of each RAT estimated by the node. This may apply for a configured measurement period (e.g., a predetermined length of time) and/or a geographical location.
Therefore the examiner interprets the configuration information in Mahalingam as location information, in paragraph 0171, At 1310 a WTRU 1302 may receive a PSS, SSS, and/or system information from a base station (i.e., gNB on a satellite 1304) that may be in a an orbit around the Earth. At 1311 the WTRU 1302 performs DL synchronization based on the received information. At 1313 the WTRU 1302 receives system information while the satellite 1301 is as position P1 and determines the propagation delay and distance to the satellite 1301 at time t1, the paragraph shows position/location information is sent with time information for the base station to the device for synchronization.
Conclusion
/JASON A HARLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2468