Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/4/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant contends:
Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Kancharlawar teaches a field can be generated with a first avatar at a first current position and a second current avatar at a second position. The first avatar can be associated with a first computing device. Similarly, the second avatar can be associated with a second computing device. Inputs on the computing devices can be used to adjust the current positions of the avatars. A distance between the avatars can be determined. If the distance between the avatars is less than or equal to a predetermined threshold, a multi-media conference can be initiated including the first and second computing device. (abstract).
Kancharlawar fails to teach XR environment,
However, Ren teaches XR environment [0021] and corresponding shared perspective mode (fig. 6a (609’). It would have been well within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Kancharlawar to give the user a more realistic user experience and provide content to in a multi-user communication session [004-005].
Examiner was unable to locate an express definition of “shared perspective mode”. Examiner understands “viewpoint” in math to have a unique to a single point but “viewpoint” in everyday usage is a shared physical exposure. Examiner understands “perspective” to be even broader, “the appearance to the eye of objects in respect to their relative distance and positions”. Examiner notes, “viewpoint” is not used in the claim language argued. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant’s specification appears to state an offset can integrated into the shared perspective. to state [0033] “Thus, sharing the same perspective view for all users in a group while still maintaining the experience of an activity in a group (e.g., in a movie theater or a workshop or at a desk table) together with other people who can be seen as spatially distant can improve the user experience. In accordance with implementations of the present disclosure, a perspective transform can be applied to the shared content or to the avatars presented in the view of a user to improve the experience of users. In some instances, tools and techniques for presenting content (e.g., 2D or 3D content) in a shared mode where the content is presented from the same shared perspective to each user can be provided. With those tools and techniques, the view towards an asset can be with a shared perspective for all users, while the users can still view other user's avatars in the 3D space as spatially distant (and seen from a different angle in each view of the user) to support an immersive experience where some portion of the 3D environment is seen from a shared perspective by all users, while the view of avatars of users is offset to be integrated into each view based on the respective frames of references of each user.
Applicant further contends:
Examiner points to the responses above. Examiner was unable to find an express definition of “stack” and Examiner is unaware of “stack” having an common meaning in the art. Applicant’s specification appears to equate “stack” with “group” (“When a user wants their avatar to join a group of other avatars, the avatar is repositioned to the position of the group (stack).”[0007].) Wherein Examiner contends both Kanacharlawar (fig. 9b 903s) and Ren fig. 6a (619, 617) group avatars.
Applicant further contends:
Examiner notes the remarks above. MPEP 2111 states, the pending claims must be “given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification.” The Federal Circuit’s en banc decision in Phillips v. AWH Corp., 415 F.3d 1303, 1316, 75 USPQ2d 1321, 1329 (Fed. Cir. 2005). The current claim language does not necessitate such a narrow interpretation of “shared perspective mode” and “stack”.
Applicant goes on to state:
However, “viewpoint” is not used in the claims and as noted above it appears the viewpoint is not a mathematical viewpoint but a perspective viewpoint, which could include an offset (Applicant’s specification [0033]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 29, 31-32, 39-40, 42-43 and 50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kancharlawar et al (2022/0109810) hereinafter, Kancharlawar in view of Ren et al (2024/0095984) hereinafter, Ren.
In regards to claim 29, Kancharlawar teaches a system comprising (abstract):
A field can be generated with a first avatar at a first current position and a second current avatar at a second position. The first avatar can be associated with a first computing device. Similarly, the second avatar can be associated with a second computing device. Inputs on the computing devices can be used to adjust the current positions of the avatars. A distance between the avatars can be determined. If the distance between the avatars is less than or equal to a predetermined threshold, a multi-media conference can be initiated including the first and second computing device. abstract
a non-transitory storage medium having instructions of a collaboration application for an stored thereon;(fig. 2 (217/209)) and
Kancharlawar fails to teach extended reality (XR) environment.
However, Ren teaches extended reality (XR) environment.([0021]) and a shared experience (fig. 6a (630)) Ren. Examiner notes Ren expressly shows the shared content and arrangement of avatars while viewing the shared content.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Kancharlawar to further include extended reality (XR) environment as taught by Ren in order to give the user a more realistic user experience and provide content to in a multi-user communication session [004-005].
Therefore, Kancharlawar in view of Ren teaches one or more data processing apparatus [0070-0073] Kancharlawar, configured to run the instructions of the collaboration application to cause the one or more data processing apparatus to implement a shared perspective mode (fig. 6a (630)) Ren Examiner notes shared video content at 630 and fig. 9b (shared perspective of 901 for example) Examiner also notes shared content of the host and avatars Kancharlawar in which a first avatar of a first user is placed into a stack of avatars [112] (fig. 9b 901-903d) Kancharlawar (fig. 6a 630 Ren Examiner notes “stack” does not have an express definition in the specification and according is viewed under MPEP 2111 BRI) in the shared perspective mode with a second avatar of a second user in response to the first avatar (fig. 6a 600a) Kancharlawar and shared view fig. 6 Ren) being moved to be within a distance threshold of the second avatar of the second user in the XR environment (fig. 1A and 1B (103 and 101)(fig. 3 (300)(fig. 5a-5b (101)). Kancharlawar
[0055] Following the execution of the navigation command, the first avatar 101 and second avatar 103 are at a particular distance 102B from each other. Based on a determination that the particular distance 102B satisfies a predetermined threshold (e.g., is less than or equal to a predetermined threshold), the system can generate and present a new video conference to each of the corresponding users. In some embodiments, a particular user within a session is designated as a “presenting user.” A presenting user can be a user that initiated a session (e.g., based on a command, a movement, a predetermined schedule, etc.) or a particular user that is designated by other session-participating users. In some embodiments, the system can automatically designate a presenting user, for example, based on a predetermined schedule, a pseudorandom seed, or an input from the user (e.g., a selection on a user interface or spoken audio from the user). In at least one embodiment, the system can dynamically scale a predetermined threshold for controlling session admission. For example, a first predetermined threshold for generating a session comprising two avatars can be a first magnitude. In this example, upon generating the session, the system can generate a second predetermined threshold for admitting additional avatars that is greater than the first predetermined threshold. In the same example, following admission of at least one additional user, the second predetermined threshold can be increased such that a boundary of the session is increased.- Kancharlawar
In regards to claim 40, Kancharlawar teaches a method comprising (abstract):
determining, by a collaboration application for a shared perspective mode,
Kancharlawar fails to teach extended reality (XR) environment.
However, Ren teaches extended reality (XR) environment.([0021]) and shared perspective (fig. 6a (630)) Ren
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Kancharlawar to further include extended reality (XR) environment as taught by Ren in order to give the user a more realistic user experience and provide content to in a multi-user communication session [004-005].
Therefore, Kancharlawar in view of Ren teaches that a first avatar of a first user in the XR environment has moved to be within a distance threshold of a second avatar of a second user in the XR environment (fig. 1A and 1B (103 and 101)(fig. 3 (300)(fig. 5a-5b (101)) Kancharlawar; and
placing, by the collaboration application for the XR environment in response to the determining, the first avatar of the first user into a stack of avatars in the shared perspective mode (fig. 6a (630)) Ren and fig. 9n 901-903 Kancharlawar with the second avatar of the second user. [112] (fig. 9b 901-903d) Kancharlawar
In regards to claim 31, Kancharlawar in view of Ren teaches the system of claim 29, wherein the instructions of the collaboration application implement the shared perspective mode in which each user's view generated for each user associated with an avatar of avatars in the stack of avatars includes a graphical representation of each other avatar of the avatars in the stack of avatars at a location in each respective user's view (fig. 6a (660 and 617)(615, 619, 617) Ren and fig. 9b avatars) Kancharlawar Examiner notes Ren shows shared perspective of the video media 630 and graphical representations of the avatars 615, 619 and 617) .
In regards to claim 32, Kancharlawar in view of Ren teaches system of claim 29, wherein the instructions of the collaboration application implement the shared perspective mode by causing the one or more data processing apparatus to teleport the first avatar from a current location of the first avatar to a location of the second avatar to join the stack of avatars, wherein the teleporting is responsive to a command received from the first user. (fig.1 and 1b (103 and 101)) [0006, 0096] (switching from fig. 6a to fig. 9a)) updating user interface in response to being within a threshold distance. Kancharlawar
In regards to claim 39, Kancharlawar in view of Ren teaches system of claim 29, wherein the instructions of the collaboration application implement exiting of the shared perspective mode for the first avatar by causing the one or more data processing apparatus to allow the first avatar to leave the stack of avatars in response to movement of the first avatar by the first user a threshold distance away from a central location of the stack of avatars in the XR environment (fig. 1d (two users and line passes through center location of the front facing side of the user) Kancharlawar.
In regards to claim 42, Kancharlawar in view of Ren teaches method of claim 40, comprising generating for each user associated with an avatar in the stack of avatars a graphical representation of each other avatar in the stack of avatars at a location in each respective user's view. (fig. 6a (660 and 617)(615, 619, 617) Ren.
In regards to claim 43, Kancharlawar in view of Ren teaches method of claim 40, comprising: receiving a command from a third user having a third avatar in the XR environment; and teleporting, in response to the command, the third avatar from a current location of the third avatar to a location of the second avatar to join the stack of avatars. (fig.1 and 1b (103 and 101)) [0006, 0096] (fig. 6a to fig. 9a)) updating user interface in response to being within a threshold distance. Kancharlawar
In regards to claim 50, Kancharlawar in view of Ren teaches method of claim 40, comprising allowing the first avatar to leave the stack of avatars in response to movement of the first avatar by the first user a threshold distance away from a central location of the stack of avatars in the XR environment. (fig. 1d (two users and line passes through center location of the front facing side of the user) Kancharlawar.
Claim(s) 30 and 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kancharlawar et al (2022/0109810) hereinafter, Kancharlawar in view of Ren et al (2024/0095984) hereinafter, Ren further in view of Inomata (2018/0120929) hereinafter, Inomata.
In regards to claim 30, Kancharlawar and Ren fail to teach the system of claim 29, wherein the instructions of the collaboration application implement the shared perspective mode by causing the one or more data processing apparatus to move a current location of the first avatar to a location of the stack of avatars at a rate that is slow enough to prevent motion sickness in the XR environment.
However, Inomata teaches wherein the instructions of the collaboration application implement the shared perspective mode by causing the one or more data processing apparatus to move a current location of the first avatar to a location at a rate that is slow enough to prevent motion sickness in the XR environment.(abstract) (fig. 13 and fig. 20 second slower speed)[185-188] Inomata
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Kancharlawar and Ren to further include wherein the instructions of the collaboration application implement the shared perspective mode by causing the one or more data processing apparatus to move a current location of the first avatar to a location of the stack of avatars at a rate that is slow enough to prevent motion sickness in the XR environment in order to less susceptible to VR sickness.
In regards to claim 41, Kancharlawar in view of Ren and Inomata, see rational of claim 30, teaches the method of claim 40, wherein the placing comprises moving a current location of the first avatar to a location of the stack of avatars at a rate that is slow enough to prevent motion sickness in the XR environment. (abstract) (fig. 13 and fig. 20 second slower speed)[185-188] Inomata
Claim(s) 37-38 and 48-49 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kancharlawar et al (2022/0109810) hereinafter, Kancharlawar in view of Ren et al (2024/0095984) hereinafter, Ren further in view of Hassan et al (2023/0403367) hereinafter, Hassan
In regards to claim 37, Kancharlawar in view of Ren fail to teach the system of claim 29, wherein the instructions of the collaboration application implement the shared perspective mode in which an avatar of an active speaker in the stack of avatars is rendered with a three-dimensional model representation of the avatar of the active speaker at a predefined location in each respective user's view.
However, Hassan teaches wherein the instructions of the collaboration application implement the shared perspective mode in which an avatar of an active speaker in the stack of avatars is rendered with a three-dimensional model representation of the avatar of the active speaker at a predefined location in each respective user's view. (fig. 5a-5c (131) [0057-0062] Hassan.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Kancharlawar and Ren to further include wherein the instructions of the collaboration application implement the shared perspective mode in which an avatar of an active speaker in the stack of avatars is rendered with a three-dimensional model representation of the avatar of the active speaker at a predefined location in each respective user's view as taught by Hassan in order to reserve area for active speakers [0051]
In regards to claim 38, Kancharlawar in view of Ren and Hassan teaches, see rational of claim 37, the system of claim 29, wherein the instructions of the collaboration application implement the shared perspective mode in which an avatar of an active speaker in the stack of avatars is rendered with a three-dimensional model of the avatar of the active speaker at a location of the stack of avatars in user views of other users associated with avatars in the XR environment, wherein the stack of avatars is within a field of view of each of the avatars of the other users. (fig. 5a-5c (131) [0057-0062] Hassan.
In regards to claim 48, Kancharlawar in view of Ren and Hassan teaches method of claim 40 see rational of claim 37, comprising rendering an avatar of an active speaker in the stack of avatars with a three-dimensional model representation of the avatar of the active speaker at a predefined location in each respective user's view. (fig. 5a-5c (131) [0057-0062] Hassan.
In regards to claim 49, Kancharlawar in view of Ren teaches and Hassan teaches method of claim 40, see rational of claim 37, comprising rendering an avatar of an active speaker in the stack of avatars with a three-dimensional model of the avatar of the active speaker at a location of the stack of avatars in user views of other users associated with avatars in the XR environment, wherein the stack of avatars is within a field of view of each of the avatars of the other users. (fig. 5a-5c (131) [0057-0062] Hassan.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 33-36, and 44-47 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GRANT SITTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622