This document is responsive to applicant’s claims filed 3/31/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The battery is introduced as “a battery” and the microprocessor is introduced as “a microprocessor”. They are later referred to as “said first battery” and “said first microprocessor”, which lack antecedent basis. See claim 5 for proper claim construction of the limitations. The limitation “a plurality of at least one antenna” is indefinite because it is unclear how a single antenna can be a plurality.
In view of the rejections above under 35 USC § 112, the claims referred to in any and all rejections below are rejected as best understood. Any claims that depend upon claims rejected above are also considered rejected via dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DeLoach (US PG Pub 2021/0141379).
Regarding claim 1, DeLoach discloses:
A self propelled station keeping waterfowl decoy comprising a housing resistant to water entry, with at least a portion of said housing having a form of a waterfowl (see fig 3), a battery (250), a microprocessor (205), a power switch (see paragraph 0089) operably coupled between said first battery and said first microprocessor, a first propulsion motor (225) with a propeller operably coupled thereto, a second rudder motor (230) and a rudder operably coupled thereto (see fig 3), and a plurality of at least one antenna (210, 240), with at least a first antenna from among said plurality configured to receive a GNSS signal (see paragraph 0038).
Regarding claim 2, DeLoach discloses:
The self propelled station keeping waterfowl decoy of Claim 1, further comprising a second antenna for receiving a radio command from a handheld controller (240).
Regarding claim 3, DeLoach discloses:
The self propelled station keeping waterfowl decoy of Claim 2, wherein said handheld controller comprises no more than two command buttons (see fig 8, ref 880C).
Regarding claim 4, DeLoach discloses:
The self propelled station keeping waterfowl decoy of Claim 1, further comprising a status light within said housing and visible from outside said housing (see paragraphs 0068 and 0074).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-10 are allowed. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art of record, Bruns (US PG Pub 2024/0114892), discloses a similar system. The system of Bruns has a virtual homing buoy (406) and does not have the T-array as claimed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is found in the Notice of Reference Cited (PTO-892).
/RICHARD G DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3644