DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues in the response filed 08/12/2026 that the claim amendments would overcome the 112 and 102/103 prior art rejections with respect to de Mestral and Popadiuk. The 112 and 102/103 rejection have been withdrawn.
New rejections with respect to Sung in view of Avelar (and Berndth), and Chang in view of Sung (and Berndth) have been made below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2008/0281357 to Sung in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2013/0226234 to Avelar.
As to claim 1, Sung discloses a device capable of being a lifting line (paragraph 8) , comprising a wire (312, figure 4, 5; 612, figure 9, either of the grasping embodiments can read on the wire ), the wire having a cross-section (paragraph 31, the elongate body can be made from different forms, including extruded monofilament, braided monofilament, and multifilament structure, each of which will have a cross section), a plurality of barbs (328; 628), the plurality of barbs being arranged on the wire (figure 3, 4, 9), the barbs comprising at least one planar surface (figure 3, 4, 9, the top of the shark fin barbs can read on the planar surface) formed on a distal end of the barbs that is spaced from the wire, the at least one planar surface being spaced from and opposite to the wire (figure 3, 4, 9), and a plurality of grooves (650, which will be adjacent to the plurality of barbs), the plurality of grooves being arranged adjacent to one side of the barbs (figure 9), but is silent about the cross-section having a shaped structure having a six-lobed shape.
Sung teaches multiple device that can read on the plurality of barbs, where the barbs have a planar distal surface opposite the wire and a plurality of grooves. The shape of the barbs reduces the insertion forces while maintaining holding strength (paragraph 59). The grooves redistributes the bending stress to reduce the incidence of mechanism failure. Sung also discloses that modifications and variations can be made to the embodiments (paragraph 86). If it wouldn’t be known that Sung would be able to read on an embodiment with a plurality of barbs having a planar surface formed on the distal end spaced from and opposite the wire and a plurality of grooves adjacent to one side of the grooves, it would have been obvious in order for having a device that reduces insertion forces, maintains holding strength, and redistributes the bending stress to reduce the incidence of mechanism failure.
Avelar teaches a similar device (suture, abstract) having a lobed structure (160, figure 1d, each wire 162 can read on the lobe) comprising a plurality of lobes, each lobe defined by a convex curved, the lobes being arranged side by side in a circumferential direction of the wire such that two sides of the convex curve of each individual one of the lobes of the plurality of lobes in the circumferential direction are directly connected to corresponding sides of the convex curves of two adjacent ones of the six lobes (figure 1d) for the purpose of obtaining the flexibility and strength of the wire as desired (paragraph 71). Having a braided wire can allow the device to obtain advantageous mechanical properties (paragraph 68). Avelar is silent about the six lobes/wires. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lobed wire cross section to make it a six lobes as applicant appears to have placed no criticality on the claimed range (see page 7 lines 16-19, of the specification of the present invention indicating the multi-lobed structure “may be four lobed, five-lobed, six-lobed, and so on”) and since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists”. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, Avelar can read on the six lobed cross-section. The braided, multifilament core of Sung can be the six lobed/wire structure of Avelar in order to obtain the desired mechanical properties of the device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the wire cross section of Sung be the six lobed shape as taught by Avelar in order for obtaining the flexibility and strength of the wire as desired.
As to claim 3, with the device of Sung and Avelar above, Sung discloses the plurality of barbs are arranged on the wire in a linear or spiral arrangement (figure 4). Avelar can also further teach/provide evidence on the linear/spiral barb arrangement (figure 1b, 3c).
As to claim 4, with the device of Sung and Avelar above, Sung discloses the plurality of grooves are arranged on the wire in a linear or spiral arrangement (figure 4, 5, 9). The grooves are adjacent to the linear barbs. Therefore the grooves can be arranged in a linear arrangement. Avelar can also further teach/provide evidence on the linear/spiral groove arrangement (figure 1b, 2c, 3c).
As to claim 5, with the device of Sung and Avelar above, Sung discloses the plurality of barbs are arranged on the wire in an equal spacing or an unequal spacing (figure 4). Avelar can also further teach/provide evidence on the equal/unequal spacing (figure 1b, 2c, 3c, paragraph 124).
As to claim 6, with the device of Sung and Avelar above, Sung discloses the plurality of grooves are arranged on the wire in an equal spacing or an unequal spacing (figure 4, 5, 9). Avelar can also further teach/provide evidence on the equal/unequal spacing (figure 1b, 2c, 3c, paragraph 124).
Claims 1, 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2022/0031316 to Chang in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2008/0281357 to Sung.
As to claim 1, Chang discloses a device capable of being a lifting line (paragraph 5), comprising a wire (21, figure 2, 3), the wire having a cross-section having a shaped structure (figure 2,3), having a plurality of lobes, each of which is defined by a convex curve, the lobes being arranged side by side in a circumferential direction of the wire such that two sides of the convex curve of each of the individual one of the lobes in the circumferential direction are directly connected to corresponding sides of the convex curves of two adjacent ones of the lobes (figure 2, 3), a plurality of barbs (30), the plurality of barbs arranged on the wire (figure 2, 3, 9-11), and a plurality of grooves (24), the plurality of grooves being arranged adjacent to one side of the barbs (figure 9-11), but is silent about a six-lobed shape. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lobed wire cross section to have six lobes as applicant appears to have placed no criticality on the claimed range (see page 7 lines 16-19, of the specification of the present invention indicating the multi-lobed structure “may be four lobed, five-lobed, six-lobed, and so on”) and since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists”. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). However, Chang is silent about the barbs comprising at least one planar surface.
Sung teaches a similar device (suture, abstract) having a plurality of barbs (328; 628), the plurality of barbs being arranged on the wire (figure 3, 4, 9), the barbs comprising at least one planar surface (figure 3, 4, 9, the top of the shark fin barbs can read on the planar surface) formed on a distal end of the barbs that is spaced from the wire, the at least one planar surface being spaced from and opposite to the wire (figure 3, 4, 9), for the purpose of reduces the insertion forces while maintaining holding strength (paragraph 59). Sung also further teaches and/or provides evidence on a plurality of grooves (650, which will be adjacent to the plurality of barbs), the plurality of grooves being arranged adjacent to one side of the barbs (figure 9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the plurality of barbs of Chang have the planar surface spaced from and opposite the wire in order for having a device that reduces insertion forces, maintains holding strength.
As to claim 3, with the device of Chang and Sung above, Chang discloses the plurality of barbs are arranged on the wire in a linear or spiral arrangement (figure 9-11). Sung can also further teach/provide evidence on the linear/spiral barb arrangement (figure 4, 5, 9).
As to claim 4, with the device of Chang and Sung above, Chang discloses the plurality of grooves are arranged on the wire in a linear or spiral arrangement (figure 9-11).
As to claim 5, with the device of Chang and Sung above, Chang discloses the plurality of barbs are arranged on the wire in an equal spacing or an unequal spacing (figure 9-11, paragraph 34-35).
As to claim 6, with the device of Chang and Sung above, Chang discloses the plurality of grooves are arranged on the wire in an equal spacing or an unequal spacing (figure 9-11, paragraph 34-35).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2008/0281357 to Sung in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2013/0226234 to Avelar as applied to claims 1, 3-6 above, and further in view of U.S. patent Publication 2011/0276090 to Berndth.
Sung as modified by Avelar discloses the device above but is silent about a distance between one of the barbs and an adjacent one of the barbs is 0.5mm-1.5mm. Berndth teaches a similar device having a distance between one of the barbs and an adjacent one of the barbs is 0.5mm-1.5mm (paragraph 27, 66) for the purpose of optimizing the anchoring ability of the device (paragraph 25). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the distance between one of the barbs and an adjacent one of the barbs is 0.5mm-1.5mm in order for optimizing the anchoring ability of the device.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2022/0031316 to Chang in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2008/0281357 to Sung as applied to claims 1, 3-6 above, and further in view of U.S. patent Publication 2011/0276090 to Berndth.
Chang as modified by Sung discloses the device above but is silent about a distance between one of the barbs and an adjacent one of the barbs is 0.5mm-1.5mm. Berndth teaches a similar device having a distance between one of the barbs and an adjacent one of the barbs is 0.5mm-1.5mm (paragraph 27, 66) for the purpose of optimizing the anchoring ability of the device (paragraph 25). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the distance between one of the barbs and an adjacent one of the barbs is 0.5mm-1.5mm in order for optimizing the anchoring ability of the device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Patent Publication 2007/0257395 to Lindh, U.S. Patent Publication 2008/0255612 to Hunter (as cited reference E in the 892 filed), U.S. Patent Publication 2009/0210006 to Cohen (as cited reference F in the 892 filed), U.S. Patent Publication 2013/0079815 to Hasan, and U.S. Patent Publication 2015/0073474 to Hodgkinson all disclose similar devices capable of disclosing, rendering obvious, and/or providing evidence on the claims of record.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDER J ORKIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771