DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by
Moore (US PGPub. 2016/0332023). Moore describes the same invention as claimed, including:
Regarding claim 1, A towel (para. 117: “A cover, such as a towel or towel like structure, for at least partially covering an article, such as a mat, is described and disclosed”), comprising: a first surface having a surface area of (w × l) − s, wherein w represents the width of the towel, l represents the length of the towel, and s represents an area removed from an initial surface area of w × l to achieve a desired shape or size (Fig. 2A element 201, para. 129: “cover 200 may comprise first surface 201 (which may be a top or an upper surface). In some embodiments, when cover 200 may be in use with article 1700, at least some portions of first surface 201 may be in removable physical contact with user 1900” and para. 126: “cover 200 may cover all of article 1700 (e.g., an exercise mat 1700) except for corners 1702”), wherein the towel is configured to be placed on an exercise mat (Fig. 2A and para. 118: “the cover may comprise a first surface (i.e., an upper surface), a second surface (i.e., a bottom surface), and an article attachment means”).
Regarding claim 2, wherein s is determined as at least one of: (π.a.b)/2, (a.b), or (2a.b – (π.a.b)/4) ÷ 2, wherein a and b are rational numbers, each less than half the measurement of w and l respectively (π. a. b refers to a curved portion, which is taught by at least Figs. 12A-I element 1213b and [0205] “the curve of third trap-side 1213b may curve into segment of material 1201g”.).
Regarding claim 3, wherein at least one corner at a distal end of the towel is at least one of chamfered, scalloped, or fileted (at least Fig. 2A and [0126] “Cover 200 may cover all of article 1700 (e.g., an exercise mat 1700) except for corners 1702”).
Regarding claim 4, wherein the at least one of chamfered, scalloped, or fileted corner is configured to facilitate user contact with a top surface of the exercise mat (at least Fig. 2A and [0126] “Cover 200 may cover all of article 1700 (e.g., an exercise mat 1700) except for corners 1702”).
Regarding claim 5, wherein the at least one chamfered, scalloped, or fileted corner is formed by removing material from the initial surface area, wherein the removed material derives a shape from at least a quarter of a geometric shape, wherein the geometric shape is at least one of an ellipse, rectangle, square, circle, or a combination thereof (at least Fig. 2A and [0126] “Cover 200 may cover all of article 1700 (e.g., an exercise mat 1700) except for corners 1702”).
Regarding claim 6, wherein the at least one chamfered, scalloped, or fileted corner is formed by removing material from the initial surface area, wherein the removed material derives a shape from at least half of a geometric shape, wherein the geometric shape is at least one of an ellipse, rectangle, square, circle, or a combination thereof (at least Fig. 2A and [0126] “Cover 200 may cover all of article 1700 (e.g., an exercise mat 1700) except for corners 1702”).
Regarding claim 7, wherein the surface of the towel is configured to be coupled to the exercise mat by a plurality of fasteners (at least Fig. 6 and [0156] “In some embodiments, means for attaching 550 the at least one segment of material 501 to cover 200 may be selected from one or more of the group comprising: sewn stitching, ultrasonic welding, heat welding, chemical adhesive use, solvent bonding, other mechanical fasteners, and/or the like”.).
Claim(s) 11-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by
Moore (US PGPub. 2016/0332023). Moore describes the same invention as claimed, including:
Regarding claim 11, A towel (para. 117: “A cover, such as a towel or towel like structure, for at least partially covering an article, such as a mat, is described and disclosed”), comprising: means for defining a first surface of the towel body having a surface area of (w × l) − s, wherein: w represents the width of the towel, l represents the length of the towel, and s represents an area removed from an initial surface area of w × l to achieve a desired shape or size (Fig. 2A element 201, para. 129: “cover 200 may comprise first surface 201 (which may be a top or an upper surface). In some embodiments, when cover 200 may be in use with article 1700, at least some portions of first surface 201 may be in removable physical contact with user 1900” and para. 126: “cover 200 may cover all of article 1700 (e.g., an exercise mat 1700) except for corners 1702”), wherein the means for defining the first surface comprises a cutting process that removes area s from the initial surface area, and wherein the towel is configured to be placed on an exercise mat (at least Fig. 2A and [0126] “Cover 200 may cover all of article 1700 (e.g., an exercise mat 1700) except for corners 1702”).
Regarding claim 12, wherein s is determined as at least one of: (π.a.b)/2, (a.b), or (2a.b – (π.a.b)/4) ÷ 2, wherein a and b are rational numbers, each less than half the measurement of w and l respectively (π. a. b refers to a curved portion, which is taught by at least Figs. 12A-I element 1213b and [0205] “the curve of third trap-side 1213b may curve into segment of material 1201g”.).
Regarding claim 13, wherein at least one corner at a distal end of the towel is at least one of chamfered, scalloped, or fileted (at least Fig. 2A and [0126] “Cover 200 may cover all of article 1700 (e.g., an exercise mat 1700) except for corners 1702”).
Regarding claim 14, wherein the at least one of chamfered, scalloped, or fileted corner is configured to facilitate user contact with the top surface of the exercise mat (at least Fig. 2A and [0126] “Cover 200 may cover all of article 1700 (e.g., an exercise mat 1700) except for corners 1702”).
Regarding claim 15, wherein the at least one chamfered, scalloped, or fileted corner is formed by removing material from the initial surface area, wherein the removed material derives a shape from at least quarter of a geometric shape, wherein the geometric shape is at least one of an ellipse, rectangle, square, circle, or a combination thereof (at least Fig. 2A and [0126] “Cover 200 may cover all of article 1700 (e.g., an exercise mat 1700) except for corners 1702”).
Regarding claim 16, wherein the at least one chamfered, scalloped, or fileted corner is formed by removing material from the initial surface area, wherein the removed material derives a shape from at least half of a geometric shape, wherein the geometric shape is at least one of an ellipse, rectangle, square, circle, or a combination thereof (at least Fig. 2A and [0126] “Cover 200 may cover all of article 1700 (e.g., an exercise mat 1700) except for corners 1702”).
Regarding claim 17, wherein the surface of the towel is configured to be coupled to the exercise mat by a plurality of fasteners (at least Fig. 6 and [0156] “In some embodiments, means for attaching 550 the at least one segment of material 501 to cover 200 may be selected from one or more of the group comprising: sewn stitching, ultrasonic welding, heat welding, chemical adhesive use, solvent bonding, other mechanical fasteners, and/or the like”.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moore et al (US 20160129300 A1), in view of Taylor et al (US 20160332023 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Moore does not explicitly teach: wherein at least one of the plurality of fasteners is a hook and loop fastener, and wherein a portion of the hook and loop fastener is coupled to the surface of the towel, and wherein another portion of the hook and loop fastener is coupled to the exercise mat.
Taylor, from the same field of endeavor, teaches: wherein at least one of the plurality of fasteners is a hook and loop fastener (at least [0047] “the attachment mechanisms may be formed from a substantially non-absorbent material such as, but not limited to, various forms of hard plastic, stainless steel, aluminum, magnetic materials, hook and loop fabric”.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the exercise mat taught by Moore with the hook and loop fasteners taught by Taylor because both are directed towards the same field of endeavor of exercise mats and doing so involves combining known prior art elements (hook and loop fasteners taught by Taylor) with known device (exercise mat with fasteners taught by Moore) with predictable results. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “the attachment mechanisms may secure the absorbent cover relative to the surface of the mat” (Taylor [0047]).
Regarding claim 9, Taylor teaches wherein when the portion of the hook and loop fastener is a male component, then the another portion of the hook and loop fastener is a female component, and wherein when the portion of the hook and loop fastener is the female component, then the another portion of the hook and loop fastener is the male component (Taylor [0052] “the male attachment mechanism 502 and the recess 508 of the female attachment mechanism 504”. See rationale in claim 8 above for combining Moore and Taylor).
Regarding claim 10, Taylor teaches wherein at least one of the plurality of fasteners couples the surface of the towel to a distal end of the exercise mat (Taylor Figs. 1A and 1B, see rationale in claim 8 above for combining Moore and Taylor).
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moore et al (US 20160129300 A1), in view of Taylor et al (US 20160332023 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Moore does not explicitly teach: wherein at least one of the plurality of fasteners is a hook and loop fastener, and wherein a portion of the hook and loop fastener is coupled to the surface of the towel, and wherein another portion of the hook and loop fastener is coupled to the exercise mat.
Taylor, from the same field of endeavor, teaches: wherein at least one of the plurality of fasteners is a hook and loop fastener (at least [0047] “the attachment mechanisms may be formed from a substantially non-absorbent material such as, but not limited to, various forms of hard plastic, stainless steel, aluminum, magnetic materials, hook and loop fabric”.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the exercise mat taught by Moore with the hook and loop fasteners taught by Taylor because both are directed towards the same field of endeavor of exercise mats and doing so involves combining known prior art elements (hook and loop fasteners taught by Taylor) with known device (exercise mat with fasteners taught by Moore) with predictable results. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “the attachment mechanisms may secure the absorbent cover relative to the surface of the mat” (Taylor [0047]).
Regarding claim 19, Taylor teaches wherein when the portion of the hook and loop fastener is a male component, then the another portion of the hook and loop fastener is a female component, and wherein when the portion of the hook and loop fastener is the female component, then the another portion of the hook and loop fastener is the male component (Taylor [0052] “the male attachment mechanism 502 and the recess 508 of the female attachment mechanism 504”. See rationale in claim 18 above for combining Moore and Taylor).
Regarding claim 20, Taylor teaches wherein at least one of the plurality of fasteners couples the surface of the towel to a distal end of the exercise mat (Taylor Figs. 1A and 1B, see rationale in claim 18 above for combining Moore and Taylor).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See form PTO-892 for cited art of interest.
/SUNDHARA M GANESAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3784