DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 03/31/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/31/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-8 and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tanaka WO 2023/286549 (US 20240136914 used for translation purposes).
Regarding Claim 1, Tanaka teaches (Figures 1-10) a semiconductor device (at fig. 1) comprising: an internal power supply circuit (1) configured to generate an internal power supply voltage (Vreg) based on an input power supply voltage (Vin); a function circuit (3) configured to operate based on the internal power supply voltage (Vreg); a chassis (at 10, IC package) accommodating the internal power supply circuit and the function circuit; a specific terminal (vin) that is a terminal exposed from the chassis and is configured to be applied with the internal power supply voltage; and a mode setting circuit (5, 2 and uvd signal) configured to set an operation mode of the function circuit according to a terminal current flowing through the specific terminal (input current). (For Example: par. 19-29)
Regarding Claim 2, Tanaka teaches (Figures 1-10) wherein after a generation operation of the internal power supply voltage (Vreg) by the internal power supply circuit begins (at t1, fig. 5), the mode setting circuit (5, 2 and uvd signal) operates based on the internal power supply voltage to generate a determination signal (uvlo-vin) corresponding to the terminal current (input current), and thereafter the function circuit starts up in the operation mode corresponding to the determination signal (with en1 produce based on uvlo-vin). (For Example: par. 41-44)
Regarding Claim 6, Tanaka teaches (Figures 1-10) wherein the mode setting circuit (5, 2 and uvd signal) sets the operation mode of the function circuit (3) by determining whether an external resistor (R1) is connected between the specific terminal and ground outside the semiconductor device (see fig. 2) according to the terminal current (par. 32 and 35-36).
Regarding Claim 7, Tanaka teaches (Figures 1-10) wherein the mode setting circuit (5, 2 and uvd signal) sets the operation mode (fault or no fault) of the function circuit (3) according to the terminal current which depends on a magnitude of a resistance component (of R1) between the specific terminal and ground outside the semiconductor device (par. 32 and 35-36).
Regarding Claim 8, Tanaka teaches (Figures 1-10) wherein the semiconductor device (fig. 1) is a power supply control device configured to control an operation of a power supply device (60), the power supply device comprises regulators of a plurality of channels (par. 32) and executes power conversion of generating an output voltage from an input voltage (Vin) for each channel (par. 32), and the power conversion is controlled by the function circuit for each channel (with 3). (For Example: par. 19-29)
Regarding Claims 12 and 15, Tanaka teaches (Figures 1-10) wherein the mode setting circuit (5, 2 and uvd signal) sets the operation mode of the function circuit to any one of a plurality of modes (start, normal or fault) comprising a first mode and a second mode according to the terminal current (input current), and in a communication between the semiconductor device and another device (30), the function circuit performs the communication recognizing that an address assigned to the semiconductor device is a first address in the first mode (no fault, with Sda and scl), and performs the communication recognizing that the address is a second address in the second mode (fault, with sda and scl). (For Example: par. 19-29 and 77)
Regarding Claim 13, Tanaka teaches (Figures 1-10) wherein the semiconductor device is a power supply control device (see fig. 1) configured to control an operation of a power supply device, the power supply device executes power conversion of generating an output voltage from an input voltage, and the power conversion is controlled by the function circuit(30). (For Example: par. 19-29)
Regarding Claim 14, Tanaka teaches (Figures 1-10) wherein the mode setting circuit (5, 2 and uvd signal) sets the operation mode of the function circuit (3) to any one of a plurality of modes (normal, start or fault) comprising a first mode and a second mode according to the terminal current (input current), and the function circuit causes the output voltage to differ between the first mode and the second mode (see figs. 5, 8 and 10, Vo). (For Example: par. 19-29, 41, 56 and 68)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka in view of Yamaguchi US 2013/0334876.
Regarding Claim 3, Tanaka teaches (Figures 1-10) the mode setting circuit (5, 2 and uvd signal) sets the operation mode of the function circuit (3) based on the output current at a determination timing (see fig. 5, between t2-t3) after beginning of the generation operation of the internal power supply voltage and before startup of the function circuit (see fig. 5 times t1-t5). (For Example: par. 41-44)
Tanaka does not teach wherein the internal power supply circuit comprises an output transistor provided between the specific terminal and a power supply terminal configured to receive the input power supply voltage, and controls an output current flowing to the output transistor such that the internal power supply voltage is stabilized at a specific voltage, the terminal current flows through the output transistor and the specific terminal,
Yamaguchi teaches (Figures 1-7) wherein the internal power supply circuit (200) comprises an output transistor (201) provided between the specific terminal (Vcc) and a power supply terminal (Vreg terminal) configured to receive the input power supply voltage, and controls an output current flowing to the output transistor (control of 201) such that the internal power supply voltage is stabilized at a specific voltage (Vreg stable), the terminal current (input current) flows through the output transistor and the specific terminal (see fig. 1). (For Example: par. 38-39, 45-47 and 91-99)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Tanaka to include wherein the internal power supply circuit comprises an output transistor provided between the specific terminal and a power supply terminal configured to receive the input power supply voltage, and controls an output current flowing to the output transistor such that the internal power supply voltage is stabilized at a specific voltage, the terminal current flows through the output transistor and the specific terminal, as taught by Yamaguchi to provide a stable internal supply voltage.
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka in view of Yamaguchi US 2013/0334876 and further in view of Takuma JP 2019080436.
Regarding Claim 4, Tanaka teaches (Figures 1-10) wherein the mode setting circuit (5, 2 and uvd signal) sets the operation mode of the function circuit (3) based on a reference (with uvlo ref) corresponding to the output current at the determination timing (see fig. 5, times t1-t3).
Tanaka does not teach a reference current.
Takuma teaches (Figures 1-5) a reference current (at 20 with Is). (For Example: see fig. 4 explanation)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Tanaka to include a reference current, as taught by Takuma to provide a faster current control mode.
Regarding Claim 5, Tanaka teaches (Figures 1-10) the device.
Tanaka does not teach wherein the mode setting circuit comprises a sense transistor that constitutes a current mirror circuit together with the output transistor, and the reference current is a current flowing to the sense transistor and proportional to the output current.
Takuma teaches (Figures 1-5) wherein the mode setting circuit (20 and 70) comprises a sense transistor (at 20) that constitutes a current mirror circuit together with the output transistor (10), and the reference current (Is) is a current flowing to the sense transistor and proportional to the output current (see fig. 1). (For Example: see fig. 1 explanation)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Tanaka to include a reference current, as taught by Takuma to provide a faster current control mode, as taught by Takuma to provide a faster current control mode.
Claim(s) 9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka in view of Nagasato US 2011/0307910.
Regarding Claim 9, Tanaka teaches (Figures 1-10) wherein the mode setting circuit (5, 2 and uvd signal) sets the operation mode of the function circuit to any one of a plurality of modes (start, fault or normal) comprising a first mode and a second mode according to the terminal current (input current). (For Example: par. 19-29)
Tanaka does not teach the function circuit causes the output voltage of the regulator of a specific channel to differ between the first mode and the second mode.
Nagasato teaches (Figures 1, 3 and 5-6) the function circuit (40) causes the output voltage of the regulator (10-30) of a specific channel to differ between the first mode and the second mode (normal and fault mode). (For Example: par. 83-85 and 96-98)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Tanaka to include the function circuit causes the output voltage of the regulator of a specific channel to differ between the first mode and the second mode, as taught by Nagasato to provide protection against unwanted conditions.
Regarding Claim 11, Tanaka teaches (Figures 1-10) wherein the mode setting circuit (5, 2 and uvd signal) sets the operation mode of the function circuit to any one of a plurality of modes (start, fault or normal) comprising a first mode and a second mode according to the terminal current (input current). (For Example: par. 19-29)
Tanaka does not teach the function circuit executes power conversion by the regulator of a specific channel in one mode of the first mode and the second mode, and stops power conversion by the regulator of the specific channel in the other mode of the first mode and the second mode.
Nagasato teaches (Figures 1, 3 and 5-6) the function circuit (40) executes power conversion by the regulator of a specific channel in one mode of the first mode and the second mode (normal), and stops power conversion by the regulator of the specific channel in the other mode of the first mode and the second mode (fault mode, figs. 6). (For Example: par. 83-85 and 96-98)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Tanaka to include the function circuit executes power conversion by the regulator of a specific channel in one mode of the first mode and the second mode, and stops power conversion by the regulator of the specific channel in the other mode of the first mode and the second mode, as taught by Nagasato to provide protection against unwanted conditions.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka in view of Segawa US 202/0068199.
Regarding Claim 10, Tanaka teaches (Figures 1-10) wherein the mode setting circuit (5, 2 and uvd signal) sets the operation mode of the function circuit to any one of a plurality of modes (start, fault or normal) comprising a first mode and a second mode according to the terminal current (input current). (For Example: par. 19-29)
Tanaka does not teach the function circuit begins power conversion by the regulator of a second channel after beginning power conversion by the regulator of a first channel in one mode of the first mode and the second mode, and begins the power conversion by the regulator of the first channel after beginning the power conversion by the regulator of the second channel in the other mode of the first mode and the second mode.
Segawa teaches (Figures 2-4) the function circuit (50) begins power conversion by the regulator of a second channel after beginning power conversion by the regulator of a first channel in one mode of the first mode and the second mode (see fig. 3, the Vdd1 is stable before the Vdd2), and begins the power conversion by the regulator of the first channel after beginning the power conversion by the regulator of the second channel in the other mode of the first mode and the second mode (see fig. 2, the Vdd2 is stable before the Vdd1). (For Example: par. 46-55)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Tanaka to include the function circuit begins power conversion by the regulator of a second channel after beginning power conversion by the regulator of a first channel in one mode of the first mode and the second mode, and begins the power conversion by the regulator of the first channel after beginning the power conversion by the regulator of the second channel in the other mode of the first mode and the second mode, as taught by Segawa to avoid an unstable and transient fluctuation of an output voltage.
Conclusion
/GUSTAVO A ROSARIO-BENITEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838