DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a capacitance divider configured to; a signal controller configured to in claims [1 and 16].
A review of the specification shows the claimed capacitance deriver to be the structure 142 as depicted in fig. 3 and described in the text of paragraph [0032]; and the claimed signal controller to be the structure 175 as depicted in fig. 1 and described in the text of paragraph [0117]. And the program being the steps as depicted in fig. 7A.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) [1 and 11-14] is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a1) as being anticipated by Ham (US. 2007, 0046513).
Reclaim [1], Ham discloses an image sensing device (see fig. 1) comprising: a ramp generator configured to generate a ramp signal (see 140 fig. 1); a capacitance divider (see the CDS circuit array, 300, as depicted in fig. 3, is equated to the claimed capacitance deriver by the virtue of adjusting a voltage signal of the pixels output from the pixel array as for example disclosed in paragraph 0035]) configured to output a first adjustment pixel signal by adjusting a voltage level range of a pixel signal to a first voltage level range value in a first analog gain mode (see figs. 1-3 and ¶¶0037, 0040, the analog gain has to be large under low illumination and small under high illumination), or configured to output a second adjustment pixel signal by adjusting a voltage level range of the pixel signal to a second voltage level range value in a second analog gain mode (see figs. 1-3 and ¶¶0037, 0040, the analog gain has to be large under low illumination and small under high illumination)); and a signal controller configured to control the ramp generator so that a waveform of the ramp signal has a first slope in each of the first analog gain mode and the second analog gain mode (see ¶0040, The ramp signal generator 140, according to an exemplary embodiment of the present invention calibrates the slope of a second ramp signal VRAMP2 used in the CDS circuit array 130 in a non-linear manner in response to illumination [the ramp signal generator 140, by the virtue of calibrating the slope ramp signal in anon-linear manner is equated to the claimed signal controller]).
Reclaim [11], Ham further discloses, wherein the second voltage level range value is greater than the first voltage level range value (see ¶0040, see figs. 1-3, and ¶ 0040, the analog gain has to be large under low illumination and small under high illumination).
Reclaim [12] Ham further discloses, wherein: the first analog gain mode corresponds to a first illuminance environment (see ¶ 0040, the analog gain has to be large under low illumination and small under high illumination); and the second analog gain mode corresponds to a second illuminance environment, (see ¶0040, the analog gain has to be large under low illumination), and wherein illuminance corresponding to the first illuminance environment is higher than illuminance corresponding to the second illuminance environment (see ¶0040, the analog gain has to be large under low illumination and small under high illumination [the higher equated to first illuminance and the lower illumination equated to the claimed second illuminance]).
Reclaim [13] Ham further discloses , wherein: the capacitance divider is configured to output the second adjustment pixel signal by adjusting a voltage level range of the pixel signal to the second voltage level range value in a third analog gain mode (see figs. 1-3 and ¶0040, the analog gain has to be large under low illumination and small under high illumination, to prevent data loss even when the scene dynamic range is equal to the maximum sensor dynamic range); and the signal controller is configured to control the ramp generator so that a waveform of the ramp signal has a second slope in the third analog gain mode (see¶0040, the analog gain has to be large under low illumination).
Reclaim [14] Ham further discloses, wherein the second slope is gentler than the first slope (see ¶0040, the analog gain has to be large under low illumination, [by the virtue of the analog gain being larger]) .
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims [16-20] are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Reclaims [16] none of the prior arts on the record either singularly or in combination teaches or reasonably suggests: An image sensing device comprising: a comparator configured to generate comparison data by comparing one of the first adjustment pixel signal or the second adjustment pixel signal with the ramp signal; in conjunction with the other limitation of the claim.
Claims[ 17-20] are allowed due to their direct or indirect dependency on claim [1].
Claims [2-10 and 15] objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Reclaims [2] none of the prior arts on the record either singularly or in combination teaches or reasonably suggests: The image sensing device according to claim 1, wherein the capacitance divider includes: a first capacitor connected between a first node and a second node, each of which receives the pixel signal as an input signal; a second capacitor connected to a ground terminal; and a first switch connected between the second node and the second capacitor, and configured to control a switching operation of the first switch in response to a first switch control signal.
Claims [3-7] are allowed due to their direct or indirect dependency on claim [2].
Reclaims [8 ] none of the prior arts on the record either singularly or in combination teaches or reasonably suggests. The image sensing device according to claim 1, wherein the capacitance divider includes: a first capacitor connected between a first node and a second node, each of which receives the pixel signal as an input signal; a fourth capacitor connected to a ground terminal; a first switch connected between the second node and the fourth capacitor, and configured to control a switching operation of the first switch in response to a first switch control signal; a third capacitor connected between a third node and a fourth node, each of which receives the ramp signal as an input signal; a fifth capacitor connected to the ground terminal; a second switch connected between the fourth node and the fifth capacitor, and configured to control a switching operation of the second switch in response to a second switch control signal; and a shared line configured to connect the fourth capacitor to the fifth capacitor.
Reclaims [9-10] are allowed due to their direct or indirect dependency on claim [8].
Reclaim [15] none of the prior arts on the record either singularly or in combination teaches or reasonably suggests.: The image sensing device according to claim 1, further comprising: a comparator configured to generate comparison data by comparing one of the first adjustment pixel signal or the second adjustment pixel signal with the ramp signal; and a counter configured to count the comparison data based on a counter enable signal.
Examiner note the claimed ramp generator ; counter and comparator in claims [1 and 15-16] are a well-known structure in the art, and thus don’t invoke 112 (6).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Sato (US. Pat. No. 11,496,704) discloses for example, the comparator unit 42 on each column of the comparator circuit 40 may be formed of a differential input type comparator 44, capacitors C0, C1, and C2, and switches SW1 and SW2. In col. 5 lines 51-54.
Lim (US. Pat. No. 8,395,539) discloses: a schematic block diagram illustrating an embodiment of analog-to-digital conversion using analog CDS in a CMOS image sensor. In col. 9 lines 16-17.
/AHMED A BERHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639