DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 10-20 in the reply filed on 8/28/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that groups I and II are different definitions of the same invention. This is not found persuasive because group I is missing a defined apparatus of a latch enclosure. Rather claims 1-9 appears to be directed to control rather than latch structure. Control systems for a device are classified separately.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: Regarding claim 10 it is unclear how a controller, which is a thing that directs or regulates something based on input. In an of itself a controller cannot perform any of the following: determine an angular distance that the motor travels relative to an end position based on a time lapse since a departure from the end position; detect a cinch status; and activate an obstacle detection technique in response to the angular distance and the detection of the cinch status. A controller cannot spontaneously act without some manner of input and exert control over anything without outputting. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated Cumbo (US 2021/0301562).
Regarding claim 10, Cumbo discloses a system comprising:
a motor (100) operational to pull a panel towards a body (11, abstract mounting on a closure panel of a vehicle); wherein:
a striker (7) is attached to the panel or the body and is operational to interact with a latch on the body or the panel;
the panel is held against the body in a closed condition while the striker is fully engaged to the latch (Fig.5); and
the panel is moveable relative to the body while in an open condition; and
a controller (144) operational to: determine that the motor travels relative to an end position based on a time lapse (analog voltage time) since a departure from the end position ([0055], [0056]);
detect a cinch status; and
activate an obstacle detection technique in response to the angular distance and the detection of the cinch status([0040], l.10-12).
Regarding claim 11, Cumbo discloses the system according to claim 10, further comprising: an angular sensor (148,[0056]) coupled to the motor and operational to determine the angular distance as a measurement of the angular distance from the end position (148,[0056]).
Regarding claim 12, Cumbo discloses the system according to claim 10, wherein: the controller(144) is further operational to determine the angular distance as an estimation of the angular distance from the end position ([0056]).
Regarding claim 13, Cumbo discloses the system according to claim 10, wherein the controller(144) is further operational to: compare the angular distance to a distance threshold (148,[0056]), wherein: the activation of the obstacle detection technique in response to the angular distance relative to the distance threshold.
Regarding claim 14, Cumbo discloses the system according to claim 10, wherein the controller is further operational to: generate a cross-correlation value of a current signal through the motor (voltage and current inputs into ECU 144 with a voltage signal applied to the motor to detect the cinch status (cinch is detected through motor signals including voltage and current ([0040]).
Regarding claim 15, Cumbo discloses the system according to claim 14, wherein: the cross-correlation value is determined by the current signal and a predefined cinch detection time trace ([0056]) time marked by current spike) to quantify a similarity of the current signal and the predefined cinch detection time trace.
Regarding claim 16, Cumbo discloses the system according to claim 15, wherein: an engagement time of a cinch engagement occurs where the cross-correlation value exceeds a correlation threshold (aforementioned current spike).
Regarding claim 17, Cumbo discloses the system according to claim 16, wherein: the correlation threshold determines a sufficient similarity of the current signal and the predefined cinch detection time trace to activate the obstacle detection technique trace ([0056]) time marked by current spike).
Regarding claim 18, Cumbo discloses the system according to claim 17, wherein the controller (144) is further operational to: normalize the current signal prior to generating the cross-correlation value to increase a sensitivity of the cross-correlation trace ([0056]) time marked by current spike).
Regarding claim 19, Cumbo discloses a vehicle comprising:
a body (11);
a panel (14) moveably coupled to the body;
a striker(7) or a latch attached to the panel and operational to interact with the latch or the striker on the body, wherein the panel is: held against the body in a closed condition while the striker is fully engaged to the latch([0003]); and
moveable relative to the body while in an open condition;
a motor (100) operational to pull the panel towards the body; and
a controller (144)operational to:
determine an angular distance that the motor travels from an end position based on a time lapse since a departure from the end position;
detect a cinch status([0055], [0056]); and
activate an obstacle detection technique in response to the angular distance and the detection of the cinch status ([0005]).
Regarding claim 20, Cumbo discloses the vehicle according to claim 19, wherein the panel is one of a door, a hood, a sliding door, a decklid, an end gate, a tailgate, a liftgate, a movable partition panel (abstract),a sunroof, and a power window.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as it may affect the patentability of applicant’s claimed invention is listed on the attached PTO-892.
/T. L. N./
Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/KRISTINA R FULTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675