DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 9 July 2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 4 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments the Claims overcome each and every objection and 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 20 May 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the pump" in line 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, “the pump” will be interpreted as relating to the pump axis.
Claims not specifically referenced are rejected as being dependent on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bao et al (WO 2024002153; provided by Applicant on the IDS dated 6 Jan 2026 with references taken from Applicant provided English Machine Translation of 6 Jan 2026) in view of Pawellek (US 20220333597).
Regarding Claim 1, Bao et al disclose a manifold (Figures generally 1000 and 2000). The manifold comprising:
a housing (10 generally; Figure 6) having a plurality of flow paths (Figures 7-8 between and among the ports) and an input port (from fluid connections to 161 or 11 shown in Figure 13) that receives a fluid flowing into the flow paths (to 132 of Figure 10),
a pump (30) in the housing (Figure 10 within 10) and configured to send the fluid flowing in from the input port to the flow paths (from 132; Figure 10),
a flow path switching valve (21) in the housing (Figure 10 within 10) and configured to control a flow of the fluid flowing through the flow paths (Figure 10), and
a control unit (43, 35 and 42 together) that is integrated with the housing (Figure 5 and closed shown in Figure 2), wherein
the pump (30) includes a pump body (310) that rotates about a pump axis (along 37),
the flow path switching valve (21) includes a valve body (211) that rotates about a valve axis along 212),
the valve axis and the pump are parallel to each other (Figure 10; where the axis along 37 of the pump 30 and the axis along 212 and 211 of the valve 21 are parallel to each other),
the control unit (43, 35 and 42 together) includes one control case (44) that contains a pump drive unit (41) configured to drive and rotate the body about the pump axis (¶ 27), a valve drive unit (45) configured to rotationally drive the valve body about the valve axis (¶ 27), and a control board (43) configured to control operations of the pump drive unit and the valve drive unit (¶ 48), and
the pump body is in the housing (within 10; Figure 6) but outside of the control case (outside 44; Figure 4),
but fails to expressly disclose where the pump is a screw pump, the screw pump includes a screw body that rotates about a pump axis.
Pawellek teaches a fluid circuit (¶ 6) with a pump that is a screw pump (Figure 1; ¶ 20), the screw pump (Figure 1; ¶ 20) includes a screw body (2a) that rotates about a pump axis (the axis along 32 of Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pump of Bao et al with the screw pump as taught by Pawellek for the advantage of delivering a more uniform delivery behavior when compared to impeller pumps, as taught by Pawellek (¶ 20).
Regarding Claim 4, Bao et al disclose where the control board (43) includes a pump drive circuit that is configured to supply power from a power supply to the pump drive unit (via 42 and 35; ¶ 45), and a valve drive circuit configured to supply power from the power supply to the valve drive unit (via 42 and 21; ¶ 46).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
First, Applicant argues that in Bao et al there is no distinction between the housing and the control case and therefore Bao et al does not disclose “the screw body is in the housing but outside of the control case” as recited in amended Claim 1.
However as discussed above, Bao et al discloses a housing (10) and a control case (44) which are separate and distinct elements and therefore Bao et al disclose the pump body is in the housing (within 10; Figure 6) but outside of the control case (outside 44; Figure 4).
Therefore, this argument is unpersuasive.
Next, Applicant argues that modifying the manifold of Bao et al to incorporate the teachings of Pawellek would be contrary to the intended purpose of Bao et al since incorporating a screw pump would increase pumping distance and therefore increase pumping flow resistance. However, providing a screw pump as taught by Pawellek instead of an impeller pump would lower pressure fluctuations and deliver a more uniform delivery behavior when compared to impeller pumps, as taught by Pawellek (¶ 20). This would further the intended purpose of Bao et al by reducing pumping flow resistance. Therefore, this argument is unpersuasive.
Applicant further argues that modifying the manifold of Bao et al to incorporate the teachings of Pawellek would change the principle of operation of Bao et al since incorporating a screw pump would increase pumping distance and therefore increase pumping flow resistance. However, providing a screw pump as taught by Pawellek instead of an impeller pump would lower pressure fluctuations and deliver a more uniform delivery behavior when compared to impeller pumps, as taught by Pawellek (¶ 20). This would further the intended purpose of Bao et al by reducing pumping flow resistance. Therefore, this argument is unpersuasive.
Applicant further argues that modifying the manifold of Bao et al to incorporate the teachings of Pawellek would render Bao et al unsuitable for it’s intended purpose since incorporating a screw pump would increase pumping distance and therefore increase pumping flow resistance. However, providing a screw pump as taught by Pawellek instead of an impeller pump would lower pressure fluctuations and deliver a more uniform delivery behavior when compared to impeller pumps, as taught by Pawellek (¶ 20). This would further the intended purpose of Bao et al by reducing pumping flow resistance. Therefore, this argument is unpersuasive.
Therefore, these arguments are unpersuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICOLE GARDNER/
Examiner, Art Unit 3753