DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Johnson (US 20250145025)
Re Claim 1, 11; Johnson discloses an electric vehicle self-charging system comprising (Fig. 1):
a first rechargeable battery (102) and a second rechargeable battery (104);
an electric generator (118) configured to convert kinetic energy of motion of a vehicle into electrical energy; (Par 0030) and
a battery monitoring module; (onboard computer management system 120)
wherein said battery monitoring module is coupled to said first rechargeable battery and said second rechargeable battery; wherein said battery monitoring module directs electrical energy from said electric generator to said charging one of said first rechargeable battery and said second rechargeable battery; (Fig. 1)
wherein at least one of said first rechargeable battery and said second rechargeable battery actively providing power to an electric vehicle; (Fig. 1)
wherein at least one of said first rechargeable battery and said second rechargeable battery actively autonomously charging; (Par 0011)
wherein said electrical energy generated by said electric generator recharges one of said first rechargeable battery and said second rechargeable battery; (Par 0011) and
further wherein simultaneously one of said first rechargeable battery and said second rechargeable battery is operating while the other one of said first rechargeable battery and said second rechargeable battery is charging. (Par 0031)
Re Claim 2; Johnson discloses wherein said electric generator coupled to a wheel and brake system of the vehicle. (Fig. 2)
Re Claims 3 and 12; Johnson discloses wherein said electrical generator connected to at least one of a wheel and a brake of the vehicle to harness said kinetic energy of motion from rotation of said wheel and braking of said brake of the vehicle. (Fig. 2, Par 0030)
Re Claim 4; Johnson discloses wherein said battery monitoring module is coupled to said first rechargeable battery and said second rechargeable battery. (Fig. 1)
Re Claim 5; Johnson discloses wherein said battery monitoring module directs electrical energy from said electric generator to said charging one of said first rechargeable battery and said second rechargeable battery. (Par 0031)
Re Claims 6 and 13; Johnson discloses wherein said battery monitoring module monitors a battery charge level of an operating one of said first rechargeable battery and said second rechargeable battery. (Par 0031, Fig. 4, 5)
Re Claims 7 and 14; Johnson discloses wherein said operating one of said first rechargeable battery and said second rechargeable battery powers the electric vehicle. (Par 0031, Fig. 4, 5)
Re Claims 8 and 15; Johnson discloses wherein said battery monitoring module monitors a battery charge level of said operating one of said first rechargeable battery and said second rechargeable battery, and further wherein said battery monitoring module switches from said operating one of said first rechargeable battery and said second rechargeable battery to another of said first rechargeable battery and said second rechargeable battery when a threshold charge level of said operating one of said first rechargeable battery and said second rechargeable battery falls below a predetermined threshold charge level. (Par 0031, Fig. 4, 5)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9, 10, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson
Re Claim 9; Johnson discloses wherein said predetermined threshold charge level.
Johnson does not disclose is 10%.
However, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have chosen a value of 10%, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Re Claim 10 and 17; Johnson discloses wherein said switching is real-time to provide uninterrupted power to the vehicle. (Par 0031, Fig. 4, 5)
Re Claim 18; Johnson discloses An electric vehicle self-charging system comprising: a first rechargeable battery and a second rechargeable battery; an electric generator configured to convert kinetic energy of motion of a vehicle into electrical energy; and a battery monitoring module; wherein at least one of said first rechargeable battery and said second rechargeable battery actively providing power to an electric vehicle; wherein at least one of said first rechargeable battery and said second rechargeable battery actively autonomously charging; wherein said electrical energy generated by said electric generator recharges one of said first rechargeable battery and said second rechargeable battery; wherein said battery monitoring module is coupled to said first rechargeable battery and said second rechargeable battery; wherein said battery monitoring module directs electrical energy from said electric generator to said charging one of said first rechargeable battery and said second rechargeable battery; wherein simultaneously one of said first rechargeable battery and said second rechargeable battery is operating while the other one of said first rechargeable battery and said second rechargeable battery is charging; and
further wherein one of said first rechargeable battery and said second rechargeable battery is a Li-Ion battery and another of said first rechargeable battery and See the rejection above.
Johnson does not disclose said second rechargeable battery is a solid-state battery.
However, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have used second rechargeable battery is a solid-state battery since it’s functional equivalent as the battery used by Johnson
Re Claim 19; Johnson discloses wherein said electrical generator connected to at least one of said wheel and said brake of the vehicle to harness said kinetic energy of motion from rotation of said wheel and braking of said brake of the vehicle. (Fig. 2, Par 0030)
Re Claim 20; Johnson discloses wherein said battery monitoring module monitors a battery charge level of said operating one of said first rechargeable battery and said second rechargeable battery, and further wherein said battery monitoring module switches from said operating one of said first rechargeable battery and said second rechargeable battery to another of said first rechargeable battery and said second rechargeable battery when a threshold charge level of said operating one of said first rechargeable battery and said second rechargeable battery falls below a predetermined threshold charge level. (Fig. 2, Par 0030)
Claim(s) 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson in view of Bae et al. (US 2021/0151992)
Re Claim 16; Johnson discloses wherein said first rechargeable battery and said second rechargeable battery
Johnson does not disclose selectively rechargeable with another power source selected from the group consisting of a battery charging station and a solar panel.
However, Bae disclose selectively rechargeable with another power source selected from the group consisting of a battery charging station and a solar panel. (Par 0075, 100)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have used the solar panel to charge the battery as shown by Bae in order to charge the battery when the vehicle is parked to provide constant power to the user and also limit the reliance of fossil fuel.
Conclusion
/DANIEL KESSIE/
02/09/2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836