DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “202” has been used to designate both the housing and the retention cap in figure 2C. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoshida et al (US 20080084046 A1).
Annotated Figure 6 of Yoshida
Regarding claim 1, Yoshida discloses a cable retention and tensioning mechanism (12, electrical cable tensioning assembly), comprising: a housing (34, cable receiving portion) having an outer surface, an inner surface (paragraph 28, lines 1-6), a first end surface (annotated figure 6), and a second end surface (annotated figure 6) opposite the first end surface (annotated figure 6), the inner surface defining an opening (44, aperture) partially through the housing (34, cable receiving portion); a carrier body (70, tensioning body) shaped to be received by (paragraph 39) the opening (44, aperture) partially through the housing (34, cable receiving portion), wherein the carrier body (70, tensioning body) includes: a first opening (80, hollow interior) through the carrier body (70, tensioning body), the first opening (80, hollow interior) having a first axis (annotated figure 6); and a threaded second opening (78, threaded aperture) through the carrier body (70, tensioning body) having a threaded inner surface (threaded aperture) interfaced with a threaded tensioning rod (F, fastener), the threaded second opening (78, threaded aperture) having a second axis (annotated figure 6), wherein the second axis (annotated figure 6) is offset from the first axis (annotated figure 6); locking jaws (82, wedge members) shaped to be received by the first opening (80, hollow interior) through the carrier body (70, tensioning body); and a retention cap (88, end cap) configured to bias the carrier body (70, tensioning body) including the locking jaws (82, wedge members) and the threaded tensioning rod (F, fastener) in the housing; wherein the locking jaws (82, wedge members) are configured to retain a cable (58, electric cable) and the threaded tensioning rod (F, fastener) is configured to tension (paragraph 36) the cable (58, electric cable).
Regarding claim 2, Yoshida discloses the first axis (annotated figure 6) and the second axis (annotated figure 6) are offset from each other so as to isolate the locking jaws (82, wedge members) from rotation of the threaded tensioning rod (F, fastener).
Regarding claim 3, Yoshida discloses the first end surface (annotated figure 6) of the housing (34, cable receiving portion) further includes a cable opening (annotated figure 6) extending from the first end surface (annotated figure 6) to the opening (44, aperture) through the housing (34, cable receiving portion), wherein the cable opening (annotated figure 6) is configured to receive the cable (58, electric cable).
Regarding claim 4, Yoshida discloses the first opening (80, hollow interior) of the carrier body (70, tensioning body) is coaxially aligned with the cable opening (annotated figure 6) such that the locking jaws (82, wedge members) are configured to receive the cable (58, electric cable) through the cable opening (annotated figure 6) and the first opening (80, hollow interior).
Regarding claim 5, Yoshida discloses the locking jaws (82, wedge members) are configured to be horizontally translated (paragraph 50) by the cable (58, electric cable) from a first position (closed) in a first direction (D2, second direction) inside the first opening (80, hollow interior) such that the locking jaws (82, wedge members) radially expand inside the first opening (80, hollow interior) until the cable (58, electric cable) is received by the locking jaws (82, wedge members) at a second position (open).
Regarding claim 6, Yoshida discloses the carrier body (70, tensioning body) further includes a spring (84, biasing spring) in the first opening (80, hollow interior) such that: the spring (84, biasing spring) is configured to bias (paragraph 49, lines 8-12) the locking jaws (82, wedge members) in the first position (closed) in the first opening (80, hollow interior); and the spring (84, biasing spring) is configured to horizontally translate (paragraph 49) the locking jaws (82, wedge members) from the second position (open) to the first position (closed) in a second direction (D1, first direction) to cause the locking jaws (82, wedge members) to clamp onto the cable (58, electric cable) to retain the cable (58, electric cable) in response to the locking jaws (82, wedge members) receiving the cable (58, electric cable).
Annotated Figure 5 of Yoshida
Regarding claim 8, Yoshida discloses the carrier body (70, tensioning body) includes an outer surface (annotated figure 5), a first end surface (annotated figure 5), and a second end surface (annotated figure 5).
Regarding claim 9, Yoshida discloses the first end surface (annotated figure 5) of the carrier body (70, tensioning body) faces the first end surface (annotated figure 6) of the housing (34, cable receiving portion).
Regarding claim 10, Yoshida discloses the second end surface (annotated figure 5) of the carrier body (70, tensioning body) faces the second end surface (annotated figure 6) of the housing (34, cable receiving portion).
Regarding claim 11, Yoshida discloses the tapered cross-section (92, tapered portion) of the first opening (80, hollow interior) is tapered such that the tapered cross-section (92, tapered portion) of the first opening (80, hollow interior) gets larger from the first end surface of the carrier body (annotated figure 5) towards the second end surface of the carrier body (annotated figure 5).
Regarding claim 12, Yoshida discloses the threaded tensioning rod (F, fastener), the carrier body (70, tensioning body), and the locking jaws (82, wedge members) are fully located inside the housing (34, cable receiving portion).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida et al (US 20080084046 A1) as applied to claim 1 above in view of Lipscomb (WO 2023049179 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Yoshida discloses a cable retention and tensioning mechanism (12, electrical cable tensioning assembly) where the threaded tensioning rod (F, fastener) causing the carrier body (70, tensioning body) to translate in a first direction (D2, second direction) when rotated.
Yoshida does not explicitly disclose the threaded tensioning rod being configured to be rotated in response to the locking laws retaining the cable.
Regarding claim 7, Lipscomb teaches a cable retention and tensioning mechanism (10, cable tensioning assembly) wherein in response to the locking jaws (24, 26, gripping arrangements) retaining the cable (14, elongate member), the threaded tensioning rod (30, connector) is configured to be rotated to cause (paragraph 47, lines 1-4) the carrier body (34, 38, clamping members) to translate in a first direction (figures 19A-19B) along the threaded tensioning rod (30, connector) within the housing (12, case) to tension the cable (14, elongate member).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the cable receiving portion (34) of Yoshida to include the connector (30) as taught by Lipscomb. One would be motivated to make this modification in order to have a cable tensioning assembly where the cable can be tightened by tightening the connecting screw as taught by Lipscomb (paragraph 17).
Regarding claim 12, Yoshida in view of Lipscomb discloses the threaded tensioning rod (30, connector of Lipscomb), the carrier body (70, tensioning body of Yoshida), and the locking jaws (82, wedge members of Yoshida) are fully located inside the housing (34, cable receiving portion of Yoshida).
Claims 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida et al (US 20080084046 A1) as applied to claim 1 above in view of Lipscomb (WO 2023049179 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Yoshida discloses a cable retention and tensioning mechanism (12, electrical cable tensioning assembly), comprising: a housing (34, cable receiving portion) having an outer surface, an inner surface (paragraph 28, lines 1-6), a first end surface (annotated figure 6), and a second end surface (annotated figure 6) opposite the first end surface (annotated figure 6), wherein: the inner surface defines an opening (44, aperture) partially through the housing (34, cable receiving portion); and the first end surface (annotated figure 6) includes a cable opening (annotated figure 6) extending from the first end surface (annotated figure 6) to the opening (44, aperture) through the housing (34, cable receiving portion); a carrier body (70, tensioning body) shaped to be received by (paragraph 39) the opening (44, aperture) partially through the housing (34, cable receiving portion), wherein the carrier body (70, tensioning body) includes: a first opening (80, hollow interior) through the carrier body (70, tensioning body) coaxially aligned with the cable opening (annotated figure 6), wherein the first opening (80, hollow interior) includes a spring (84, biasing spring) and a cap (88, end cap) and has a first axis (annotated figure 6); and a threaded second opening (78, threaded aperture) through the carrier body (70, tensioning body) having a threaded inner surface (threaded aperture), the threaded second opening (78, threaded aperture) having a second axis (annotated figure 6), wherein the second axis (annotated figure 6) is offset from the first axis (annotated figure 6); locking jaws (82, wedge members) located in the first opening (80, hollow interior) and biased to a first position (closed) by the spring (84, biasing spring) and the cap (88, end cap), wherein: the locking jaws (82, wedge members) are configured to be horizontally translated (paragraph 50) by a cable (58, electric cable) received through the cable opening (annotated figure 6) and the first opening (80, hollow interior) from the first position (closed) in a first direction (D2, second direction) inside the first opening (80, hollow interior) such that the locking jaws (82, wedge members) radially expand inside the first opening (80, hollow interior) until the cable (58, electric cable) is received by the locking jaws (82, wedge members) at a second position (open); and the spring (84, biasing spring) is configured to horizontally translate (paragraph 49) the locking jaws (82, wedge members) from the second position (open) back to the first position (closed) in a second direction (D1, first direction) to cause the locking jaws (82, wedge members) to clamp onto the cable (58, electric cable) to retain the cable (58, electric cable); a threaded tensioning rod (F, fastener) interfaced with the threaded inner surface (threaded aperture) of the threaded second opening (79, threaded aperture), wherein the threaded tensioning rod (F, fastener) is configured to be rotated to cause the carrier body (70, tensioning body) to translate in a first direction (D2, second direction); and a retention cap (88, end cap) configured to bias the carrier body (70, tensioning body) including the locking jaws (82, wedge members) and the threaded tensioning rod (F, fastener) in the housing; wherein the first axis (annotated figure 6) and the second axis (annotated figure 6) are offset from each other so as to isolate the locking jaws (82, wedge members) from rotation of the threaded tensioning rod (F, fastener).
Yoshida does not explicitly disclose the threaded tensioning rod (F, fastener) being configure to be rotated to cause the carrier body (70, tensioning body) to translate in a first direction (D2, second direction) along the threaded tensioning rod (F, fastener) within the housing (34, cable receiving portion) to tension the cable (58, electric cable).
Regarding claim 13, Lipscomb teaches a cable retention and tensioning mechanism (10, cable tensioning assembly) wherein in response to the locking jaws (24, 26, gripping arrangements) retaining the cable (14, elongate member), the threaded tensioning rod (30, connector) is configured to be rotated to cause (paragraph 47, lines 1-4) the carrier body (34, 38, clamping members) to translate in a first direction (figures 19A-19B) along the threaded tensioning rod (30, connector) within the housing (12, case) to tension the cable (14, elongate member).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the cable receiving portion (34) of Yoshida to include the connector (30) as taught by Lipscomb. One would be motivated to make this modification in order to have a cable tensioning assembly where the cable can be tightened by tightening the connecting screw as taught by Lipscomb (paragraph 17).
Regarding claim 14, Yoshida in view of Lipscomb discloses the opening (cable opening of annotated figure 6 of Yoshida) partially through the housing (34, cable receiving portion of Yoshida) and the carrier body (70, tensioning body of Yoshida) are shaped such that the opening (cable opening of annotated figure 6 of Yoshida) partially through the housing (34, cable receiving portion of Yoshida) prevents the carrier body (70, tensioning body of Yoshida) from rotating when the threaded tensioning rod (F, fastener) is rotated (paragraph 39).
Regarding claim 15, Yoshida does not explicitly disclose carrier body or housing opening being oblong shapes.
Regarding claim 15, Lipscomb teaches the carrier body (34, 38, clamping members) is an oblong shape (figure 13A) and the opening (64, exit hole) partially through the housing (12, case) has a complementary oblong shape (figure 4).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the tensioning body (70) of Yoshida to be shaped like the clamping members (34, 38) as taught by Lipscomb. One would be motivated to make this modification in order to have a cable tensioning assembly with clamping members (34, 38) having a recess (52) to make it easier to grip the cable as taught by Lipscomb.
Regarding claim 16, Yoshida in view of Lipscomb the locking jaws (82, wedge member of Yoshida) are in a shape of a conical frustum (figure 5b of Yoshida) having an opening therethrough and are comprised of a first locking jaw and a second locking jaw (figure 5b of Yoshida); and the first locking jaw and the second locking jaw (82, wedge members of Yoshida) are configured to radially expand away from each other (paragraph 53 of Yoshida) when the locking jaws (82, wedge members of Yoshida) are horizontally translated (paragraph 50 of Yoshida) by the cable (58, electric cable of Yoshida) from the first position (closed of Yoshida) to the second position (open of Yoshida) such that the cable (58, electric cable of Yoshida) becomes located in the opening (80, hollow interior of Yoshida) of the conical frustum (annotated figure 5 of Yoshida).
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida et al (US 20080084046 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 13 above in view of Lipscomb (WO 2023049179 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Yoshida discloses a cable retention and tensioning mechanism (12, electrical cable tensioning assembly), comprising: a housing (34, cable receiving portion) having an outer surface, an inner surface (paragraph 28, lines 1-6), a first end surface (annotated figure 6), and a second end surface (annotated figure 6) opposite the first end surface (annotated figure 6), wherein: the inner surface defines an opening (44, aperture) partially through the housing (34, cable receiving portion); and the first end surface (annotated figure 6) includes a cable opening (annotated figure 6) extending from the first end surface (annotated figure 6) to the opening (44, aperture) through the housing (34, cable receiving portion); a carrier body (70, tensioning body) shaped to be received by (paragraph 39) the opening (44, aperture) partially through the housing (34, cable receiving portion), wherein the carrier body (70, tensioning body) includes: a first opening (80, hollow interior) through the carrier body (70, tensioning body) coaxially aligned with the cable opening (annotated figure 6), wherein the first opening (80, hollow interior) includes a spring (84, biasing spring) and a cap (88, end cap) and has a first axis (annotated figure 6); and a threaded second opening (78, threaded aperture) through the carrier body (70, tensioning body) having a threaded inner surface (threaded aperture), the threaded second opening (78, threaded aperture) having a second axis (annotated figure 6), wherein the second axis (annotated figure 6) is offset from the first axis (annotated figure 6); locking jaws (82, wedge members) in a shape of a conical frustum (figure 5) and located in the first opening (80, hollow interior) and biased to a first position (closed) by the spring (84, biasing spring) and the cap (88, end cap), wherein: the locking jaws (82, wedge members) are configured to be horizontally translated (paragraph 50) by a cable (58, electric cable) received through the cable opening (annotated figure 6) and the first opening (80, hollow interior) from the first position (closed) in a first direction (D2, second direction) inside the first opening (80, hollow interior) such that the locking jaws (82, wedge members) radially expand inside the first opening (80, hollow interior) until the cable (58, electric cable) is received by the locking jaws (82, wedge members) at a second position (open); and the spring (84, biasing spring) is configured to horizontally translate (paragraph 49) the locking jaws (82, wedge members) from the second position (open) back to the first position (closed) in a second direction (D1, first direction) to cause the locking jaws (82, wedge members) to clamp onto the cable (58, electric cable) to retain the cable (58, electric cable); a threaded tensioning rod (F, fastener) interfaced with the threaded inner surface (threaded aperture) of the threaded second opening (79, threaded aperture), wherein the threaded tensioning rod (F, fastener) is configured to be rotated to cause the carrier body (70, tensioning body) to translate in a first direction (D2, second direction); and a retention cap (88, end cap) configured to bias the carrier body (70, tensioning body) including the locking jaws (82, wedge members) and the threaded tensioning rod (F, fastener) in the housing; wherein the first axis (annotated figure 6) and the second axis (annotated figure 6) are offset from each other so as to isolate the locking jaws (82, wedge members) from rotation of the threaded tensioning rod (F, fastener).
Yoshida does not explicitly disclose the threaded tensioning rod (F, fastener) being configured to be rotated to cause the carrier body (70, tensioning body) to translate in a first direction (D2, second direction) along the threaded tensioning rod (F, fastener) within the housing (34, cable receiving portion) to tension the cable (58, electric cable).
Regarding claim 17, Lipscomb teaches a cable retention and tensioning mechanism (10, cable tensioning assembly) wherein in response to the locking jaws (24, 26, gripping arrangements) retaining the cable (14, elongate member), the threaded tensioning rod (30, connector) is configured to be rotated to cause (paragraph 47, lines 1-4) the carrier body (34, 38, clamping members) to translate in a first direction (figures 19A-19B) along the threaded tensioning rod (30, connector) within the housing (12, case) to tension the cable (14, elongate member).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the cable receiving portion (34) of Yoshida to include the connector (30) as taught by Lipscomb. One would be motivated to make this modification in order to have a cable tensioning assembly where the cable can be tightened by tightening the connecting screw as taught by Lipscomb (paragraph 17).
Regarding claim 18, Yoshida/Lipscomb the cap (88, end cap of Yoshida) biases the spring (84, biasing spring of Yoshida) inside of the first opening (80, hollow interior of Yoshida) such that the spring (84, biasing spring of Yoshida) compresses against (paragraph 49 of Yoshida) the cap (88, end cap of Yoshida) as the locking jaws (82, wedge members of Yoshida) are horizontally translated by the cable (58, electric cable of Yoshida) from the first position (closed) to the second position (open).
Regarding claim 19, Yoshida/Lipscomb discloses a retention plate (85, spring cap of Yoshida) having an opening (paragraph 44, lines 3-4 of Yoshida) therethrough, wherein the opening of the retention plate (85, spring cap of Yoshida) is coaxially located with the threaded second opening (28, central cavity of Lipscomb) through the carrier body (70, tensioning body of Yoshida).
Regarding claim 20, Yoshida/Lipscomb discloses the first end surface (annotated figure 6 of Yoshida) comprises a protrusion (42, recess of Yoshida) configured to interface with an opening (annotated figure 6 of Yoshida) in a post to prevent the housing (34, cable receiving portion of Yoshida) from rotating when the threaded tension rod (30, connector of Lipscomb) is rotated.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Tjader (US 20100178113 A1) teaches a cable holding device.
Hall (US 5015023 A) teaches a cable gripping device with a threaded interior.
/K.J.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/SPE, Art Unit 3677