DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tan, et al. (CN212074186U).
Tan discloses a sliding mechanism 4 comprising a track body 6 and two sliders 61, 62, wherein the track body is a frame structure, two opposite sides of the track body each have a groove via 4, and each slider is embedded in a corresponding groove, such that each slider slides along the corresponding groove. Inherently, the sliding mechanism is applicable to a shopping cart, a baby stroller, an industrial cart, a pet stroller, and a human-pet shared stroller.
Tan discloses a cart body with a sliding mechanism, comprising a front wheel set W1, wherein the front wheel set is disposed in front of the cart body; a rear wheel set, wherein the rear wheel set W2 is disposed behind the cart body, and the rear wheel set and the front wheel set are respectively disposed on two opposite sides of the cart body; a lower frame 2, wherein two front wheel pivot seats 11 and two rear wheel pivot seats 12 are disposed at corners of the lower frame, the front wheel pivot seats are respectively connected to two opposite sides of the front wheel set, the rear wheel pivot seats are respectively connected to two opposite sides of the rear wheel set, and the lower frame 2, 61, 62 is configured for mounting the front wheel set and the rear wheel set; a front support rod set, comprising two front support rods and a handle (see Figure 2), wherein one end of each front support rod is connected to a respective front wheel pivot seat via a front connector, and two ends of the handle are respectively connected to the other ends of the front support rods extending therefrom; a rear support rod set 3, comprising two rear support rods, wherein each rear support rod is connected to a respective rear wheel pivot seat via a rear connector, the front support rod is connected to the rear support rod via a folding unit 5, and the folding unit drives the rear support rod to slide along the front support rod; a pair of latches via 4, each disposed at an extending end of a respective front support rod, wherein the latch latches onto the front connector to fix the front support rod; an upper frame 62, comprising two support arms and two protruding shafts on a lower front side, wherein each support arm is slidably disposed on a respective front support rod via the folding unit, and a rear side of the upper frame is pivotally connected to the front support rods on two sides; and a sliding mechanism 4, wherein the sliding mechanism comprises a track body (see Figure 2)and at least one slider, wherein the track body is an enclosed frame, with a groove on an inner side, and each slider is embedded in the track body, such that each slider slides along the track body. Two adjustment knobs are respectively disposed at joints between the front support rods and two ends of the handle, see Figure 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tan, et al. (CN212074186U) in view of Taylor, et al. (2023/0219611).
Tan teaches the claimed invention except for a brake pedal, a canopy and a ratchet apparatus. Taylor discloses a stroller system comprising rear wheels provided with brake pedals (see paragraph [0077]), a canopy 122 further comprising a rotating mechanism 1030 wherein the rotating mechanism comprises two bases 952 and a canopy frame 910 and further comprises a ratchet apparatus 1016 (see Figures 10A-11A). Taylor also discloses each base of the rotating mechanism disposed in the middle of two opposite sides of a track body wherein the two ends of the canopy frame are pivotally connected to the bases.
Based on the teachings of Taylor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cart body to include brake pedals to facilitate stopping the cart and a canopy comprising the described particulars to provide a movable cover disposed on the track body for protection.
With respect to the location of the brake pedals, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the brakes disposed between the rear wheels since it has been held that the location of a essential working part of a device involves only routine skill in the art. Further, the location of the brake pedals would not change the function of the device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art recited discloses common inventive concepts as the claimed present invention.
/FAYE M FLEMING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612