DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Double Patenting
Claims 1-17 and 24-26 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12, 16-17 and 19-20 of copending Application No. 18/736,657 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference application disclose all the limitations of claims 1-6, 17, 24-26 and because the limitations of claims 7-16 such as a third chamber, liquid and solid components and multiple compartments are obvious over the claims of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-17 and 24-26 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of copending Application No. 18/736,692 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference application disclose all the limitations of claims 1-6, 12, 15, 17 and 24-26 and because the limitations of claims 7-11, 13-14, 16 as a third chamber, solid components and multiple compartments are obvious over the claims of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-17 and 24-26 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13, 16-17 and 19-20 of copending Application No. 18/736,640 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference application disclose all the limitations of claims 1-6, 11, 14, 17, 24-26 and because the limitations of claims 7-11, 12-13, 15 as a third chamber, liquid components and multiple compartments are obvious over the claims of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-17 and 24-26 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 and 16-19 of copending Application No. 18/736,668 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference application disclose all the limitations of claims 1-3, 11-12, 14-15, 17, 24-26 and because the limitations of claims 4-10, 13 and 16 such as a third chamber, dimensions, multiple compartments are obvious over the claims of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-17 and 24-26 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 6-13, 16-17 and 19-20 of copending Application No. 18/736,629 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference application disclose all the limitations of claims 1-6, 11-12, 14-15, 17, 24-26 and because the limitations of claims 7-10, 13 and 16 such as a third chamber, multiple compartments are obvious over the claims of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-17 and 24-26 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13, 16-17 and 19-20 of copending Application No. 18/736,650 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference application disclose all the limitations of claims 1-6, 17, 24-26 and because the limitations of claims 7-16 such as a third chamber, liquid and solid components, multiple compartments are obvious over the claims of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-17 and 24-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP 1375637.
As to claims 1 and 24:
EP 1375637 teaches a pouch as claimed.
The pouch comprises a water-soluble film with multiple chambers (with 2-5 chambers exemplified). See at least Figures 1a-g, 2 and the related description and the description at [0001], [0011-14],
The chambers are disclosed as connected by a linking portion of the water-soluble film (inner seal web and the third chamber) with the length that clearly envisages the claimed length (at least [0016]).
The chambers are disclosed as provided with detergent compositions.
AS to claims 2-3:
The length as claimed is clearly envisaged form the disclosure at [0016].
As to claims 4-6:
The dimensions as claimed are clearly envisaged form the disclosure at [0016-24].
As to claim 7:
The claimed at least one hole will be inherently present during the use of the disclosed pouch since the pouch is made of a water-soluble material.
As to claims 8-10 and 25-26:
Since EP 1375637 teaches pouches with multiple compartments/chambers with up to 5 compartments exemplified, the limitations of claims 8-10 are met by the disclosure of EP 1375637 since the disclosed compartments are readable on both claimed chambers and compartments.
As to claims 11-16:
EP 1375637 teaches the detergent compositions in both liquid and solid forms (at least [0002-3], [0032-36]).
As to claim 17:
The claimed PVA is disclosed at least at [0061-63].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicants amended the claims, cancelled claims 21-23 and filed new claims 24-26.
The amended and new claims have been examined and are addressed in the rejections above.
The teaching of EP 1375637 has been used to show that the pouches as claimed were known in the art.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER MARKOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711