DETAILED ACTION
Notice relating to Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Status of the Claims
Applicant’s original claims (dated 01 APRIL 2025) are the current ones being examined. The status of the claims is as follows: Claims 1-23 are currently pending in the application.
Examiner’s Note
It is noted to Applicant that possible Allowable subject matter might be indicated in related Applications 18/179,210 and 18/666,558. Applicant is suggested to try and incorporate similar content into the current Application’s claims to try and move prosecution forward to an Allowance. Applicant is also cautioned not to repeat allowable subject matter in a manner that could lead to a double patenting rejection. This is just a note and suggestion by the Examiner, any amendments made by Applicant will be searched thoroughly before a final indication on Allowability is made.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 5, 12, and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities: the claims all state “…memory and a second a plurality of shortform video previews…”. The Examiner believes this is a typographical error and should actually state “…memory and a second plurality of shortform video previews…”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Warnings
Applicant is advised that should claims 2, 5, 9, 12, 17/19, and 20 be found allowable, claims 3, 6, 10, 13, 18, and 21 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 8-11, 15-19, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DOMM et al., US 2020/0304863 in view of Donoghue, US 2012/0291056.
Regarding claim 1, DOMM discloses a system configured to provide distribution of video content over a network (for streaming/downloading video content; page 9, paragraph 111, and page 31, paragraph 264, and page 70, paragraph 502, and wherein with at least network; page 4, paragraph 46, and page 14, paragraph 154), the system comprising:
a computer device (with at least device; page 14, paragraphs 154-155, and Fig. 5A, element 500);
a network interface (network interface; page 14, paragraph 154, and Fig. 5A, element 502); and
non-transitory computer readable memory having program instructions stored thereon that when executed by the computer device cause the system to perform operations (including memory which can be at least non-transitory memory having executable instructions; page 14, paragraph 154, and Fig. 5A, element 506, and page 15, paragraph 159) comprising:
cause a first user interface to be rendered on a user device (with user interface being displayed; page 19, paragraph 190, and Fig. 6J, element 610), the first user interface comprising thumbnail representations of longform content items arranged in a plurality of rows (with rows of content; Fig. 6J, elements 625 and 626, and with representations corresponding to movies, television shows, etc., i.e. longform content; page 20, paragraph 202, and page 23, paragraph 220, and page 24, paragraph 226, and including at least thumbnails/images; page 16, paragraph 172, and page 33, paragraph 274, and with use of thumbnail(s); page 44, paragraph 339), wherein a first row comprises a first set of thumbnail representations of longform content items identified as a first category (can include at least a first row corresponding to a first genre/category; page 19, paragraph 190, and Fig. 6J, elements 625 and 626, and page 27, paragraph 244, and again with representations corresponding to movies, television shows, etc., i.e. longform content; page 20, paragraph 202, and page 23, paragraph 220, and page 24, paragraph 226, and including at least thumbnails/images; page 16, paragraph 172, and page 33, paragraph 274, and with use of thumbnail(s); page 44, paragraph 339) and a second row comprises a second set of thumbnail representations of longform content items identified as a second category (can include at least a second row corresponding to a different/second genre/category; page 19, paragraph 190, and Fig. 6J, elements 625 and 626, and page 27, paragraph 244, and again with representations corresponding to movies, television shows, etc., i.e. longform content; page 20, paragraph 202, and page 23, paragraph 220, and page 24, paragraph 226, and including at least thumbnails/images; page 16, paragraph 172, and page 33, paragraph 274, and with use of thumbnail(s); page 44, paragraph 339);
detect a user selection of the first category (detection of selectable options corresponding to a category, i.e. such as a first genre/category; page 21, paragraph 209, and page 22, paragraph 211, and page 24, paragraph 230, and page 31, paragraph 264);
load to the user device a plurality of shortform video previews corresponding to at least a portion of the longform content items identified as the first category (receiving information about content, i.e. loading, from a plurality of providers; page 16, paragraph 174, and pages 23-24, paragraph 225, and page 44, paragraph 338, and information can include at least previews/trailers, i.e. shortform video previews, for the longform content; page 16, paragraph 172, and page 44, paragraph 338, and page 46, paragraph 351, and page 67, paragraph 479, and page 77, paragraph 559, and again with at least the first category; page 19, paragraph 190, and Fig. 6J, elements 625 and 626, and page 27, paragraph 244); and
at least partly in response to the user selection of the first category, automatically cause operations to be performed (performing a display operation in response to selection of a particular category; page 31, paragraph 264, and again with at least the first category; page 19, paragraph 190, and Fig. 6J, elements 625 and 626, and page 27, paragraph 244).
While DOMM does again disclose shortform video of a plurality of shortform video previews (at least previews/trailers, i.e. shortform video previews, for the longform content; page 16, paragraph 172, and page 44, paragraph 338, and page 46, paragraph 351, and page 67, paragraph 479, and page 77, paragraph 559), longform content items (movies, television shows, etc., i.e. longform content; page 20, paragraph 202, and page 23, paragraph 220, and page 24, paragraph 226), and at least partially in response to a user interaction, cause the second content item to be streamed to and displayed by the user device (display in response to selection, i.e. interaction; page 44, paragraph 341, and page 46, paragraph 353, and page 48, paragraph 365, and with streaming to the user device; page 9, paragraph 111, and page 31, paragraph 264, and page 70, paragraph 502), DOMM does not explicitly disclose in response to an operation, playing of a first video of a plurality of video previews at a first position of a display of the user device, the first video corresponding to a first content item;
automatically cause playing of a second video of the plurality of video previews at the first position of the display after the playing of the first video of the plurality of video previews has completed, the second video corresponding to a second content item; and
in response to a user interaction while the second video of the plurality of video previews is displayed, cause the second content item to be displayed by the user device.
In a related art, Donoghue does disclose load to the user device a plurality of shortform video previews (device can receive/load previews from at least server; page 3, paragraph 35);
in response to an operation, playing of a first video of a plurality of video previews at a first position of a display of the user device, the first video corresponding to a first content item (in response to at least user input, causing a first preview of a content item to be displayed at a particular location/position on the display; page 6, paragraphs 61-63 and 65, and Fig. 3, element 348);
automatically cause playing of a second video of the plurality of video previews at the first position of the display after the playing of the first video of the plurality of video previews has completed (can automatically advance to a second preview to be displayed at the particular location/position on the display; page 6, paragraphs 63 and 65, and Fig. 3, element 348), the second video corresponding to a second content item (preview(s) correspond to various programs, i.e. including at least a second; page 4, paragraph 43, and page 6, paragraph 63); and
in response to a user interaction while the second video of the plurality of video previews is displayed, cause the second content item to be streamed and displayed by the user device (user can select control/button to add to cart and/or order the content corresponding to the currently playing preview/clip, i.e. such as at least a second; page 6, paragraph 69, and page 7, paragraphs 78-79, and Fig. 3, elements 350 and 356, and Figs. 5 and 6, and wherein completing order will terminate the preview process for the content and will proceed to playback the ordered media; page 6, paragraph 69, and wherein content can be displayed in full screen mode; Fig. 7, and with streaming; page 3, paragraph 35, and page 4, paragraph 42).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the prior art of DOMM and Donoghue by allowing previews of content to automatically be played to a viewer, in order to provide an improved system and method for providing previews of program material, and more particularly to providing a sequence of automatic, interactive previews of media items in a set of content assets (Donoghue; page 1, paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 3, DOMM in view of Donoghue discloses the first shortform video and the second shortform video are respectively displayed via an automatically and manually scrollable vertically oriented carousel (DOMM; vertically scrollable interface via manual scrolling; page 66, paragraph 476, and page 69, paragraph 493, and page 70, paragraph 501, and again with at least previews/trailers, i.e. shortform video previews, for the longform content; page 16, paragraph 172, and page 44, paragraph 338, and page 46, paragraph 351, and page 67, paragraph 479, and page 77, paragraph 559, and Donoghue; automatically or manually advancing, i.e. scrolling, in a vertically oriented interface filmstrip, i.e. carousel, for the previews; page 5, paragraph 59, and page 6, paragraphs 63 and 65, and Fig. 2, element 240, and Fig. 3, elements 240 and 348).
Regarding claim 4, DOMM in view of Donoghue discloses the first shortform video and the second shortform video are respectively displayed via a scrollable carousel, wherein automatically causing playing of the second shortform video of the plurality of shortform video previews after the playing of the first shortform video of the plurality of shortform video previews has completed further comprises auto-scrolling the scrollable carousel from the first shortform video to the second shortform video (Donoghue; automatically advancing, i.e. scrolling, for the previews; page 5, paragraph 59, and page 6, paragraphs 63 and 65, and Fig. 2, element 240, and Fig. 3, elements 240 and 348).
Claim 8, which discloses a method, is analyzed with respect to the citations and/or rationale provided in the rejection of similar claim 1. The following additional limitations are also disclosed:
a computer system comprising a processing device (DOMM; with at least device/computer having at least a processor for performing operations; page 12, paragraph 144, and page 14, paragraphs 154 and 155, and Fig. 5A, element 504, and page 15, paragraph 158, and Fig. 5C, element 516, and page 32, paragraph 269, and page 40, paragraph 309); and
playing of a second video of the plurality of video previews in response to a first event (Donoghue; system can play different/other preview(s) in response to user input selecting/highlighting other content; page 6, paragraph 65).
Regarding claim 9, DOMM in view of Donoghue discloses the first shortform video and the second shortform video are respectively displayed via an automatically and/or manually scrollable carousel (DOMM; vertically scrollable interface via manual scrolling; page 66, paragraph 476, and page 69, paragraph 493, and page 70, paragraph 501, and again with at least previews/trailers, i.e. shortform video previews, for the longform content; page 16, paragraph 172, and page 44, paragraph 338, and page 46, paragraph 351, and page 67, paragraph 479, and page 77, paragraph 559, and Donoghue; automatically or manually advancing, i.e. scrolling, in a vertically oriented interface filmstrip, i.e. carousel, for the previews; page 5, paragraph 59, and page 6, paragraphs 63, and Fig. 2, element 240, and Fig. 3, elements 240 and 348),
wherein in response to a user gesture on the display of the user device while the carousel is displayed, a plurality of shortform video previews corresponding to at least a portion of the longform content items identified as the second category are loaded to the user device and are used to populate at least a portion of a second carousel displayed on the user device (Donoghue; while filmstrip, i.e. vertical carousel is displayed, in response to user selection of different keyword(s), i.e. categories, system can redisplay filtered filmstrip, i.e. second vertical carousel with content for that keyword/category; page 5, paragraphs 57-58, and again with previews for the content in the filmstrip; page 6, paragraph 63, and with receiving/loading previews from at least server; page 3, paragraph 35, and DOMM; vertically scrollable interface via manual scrolling; page 66, paragraph 476, and page 69, paragraph 493, and page 70, paragraph 501, and again with at least previews/trailers, i.e. shortform video previews, for the longform content; page 16, paragraph 172, and page 44, paragraph 338, and page 46, paragraph 351, and page 67, paragraph 479, and page 77, paragraph 559, and receiving information about content, i.e. loading, from a plurality of providers; page 16, paragraph 174, and pages 23-24, paragraph 225, and page 44, paragraph 338, and input/selection via user touch gesture(s); page 7, paragraph 68, and page 11, paragraph 141, and page 13, paragraph 151).
Claim 10, which discloses a method, is analyzed with respect to the citations and/or rationale provided in the rejection of similar claim 3.
Claim 11, which discloses a method, is analyzed with respect to the citations and/or rationale provided in the rejection of similar claims 3 and 4.
Regarding claim 15, DOMM in view of Donoghue discloses the first event comprises a user gesture while the first shortform video is playing (Donoghue; system can play different/other preview in response to user input selecting/highlighting other content while a preview is currently playing; page 6, paragraph 65, and DOMM, input/selection via user touch gesture(s); page 7, paragraph 68, and page 11, paragraph 141, and page 13, paragraph 151).
Claim 16, which discloses a non-transitory computer readable memory, is analyzed with respect to the citations and/or rationale provided in the rejection of similar claims 1 and 8.
Claim 17, which discloses a non-transitory computer readable memory, is analyzed with respect to the citations and/or rationale provided in the rejection of similar claim 9.
Claim 18, which discloses a non-transitory computer readable memory, is analyzed with respect to the citations and/or rationale provided in the rejection of similar claim 3.
Claim 19, which discloses a non-transitory computer readable memory, is analyzed with respect to the citations and/or rationale provided in the rejection of similar claims 3 and 4.
Claim 23, which discloses a non-transitory computer readable memory, is analyzed with respect to the citations and/or rationale provided in the rejection of similar claim 15.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DOMM et al., US 2020/0304863 in view of Donoghue, US 2012/0291056 and further in view of Yamamoto et al., US 2013/0176244.
Regarding claim 2, DOMM in view of Donoghue discloses all the claimed limitations of claim 1, as well as the first shortform video and the second shortform video are respectively displayed via an automatically and manually scrollable vertically oriented carousel (DOMM; vertically scrollable interface via manual scrolling; page 66, paragraph 476, and page 69, paragraph 493, and page 70, paragraph 501, and again with at least previews/trailers, i.e. shortform video previews, for the longform content; page 16, paragraph 172, and page 44, paragraph 338, and page 46, paragraph 351, and page 67, paragraph 479, and page 77, paragraph 559, and Donoghue; automatically or manually advancing, i.e. scrolling, in a vertically oriented interface filmstrip, i.e. carousel, for the previews; page 5, paragraph 59, and page 6, paragraphs 63, and Fig. 2, element 240, and Fig. 3, elements 240 and 348), wherein in response to input while the vertically oriented carousel is displayed, a plurality of shortform video previews corresponding to at least a portion of the longform content items identified as the second category are loaded to the user device and are used to populate at least a portion of a second vertically oriented carousel (Donoghue; while filmstrip, i.e. vertical carousel is displayed, in response to user selection of different keyword(s), i.e. categories, system can redisplay filtered filmstrip, i.e. second vertical carousel with content for that keyword/category; page 5, paragraphs 57-58, and again with previews for the content in the filmstrip; page 6, paragraph 63, and with receiving/loading previews from at least server; page 3, paragraph 35, and DOMM; vertically scrollable interface via manual scrolling; page 66, paragraph 476, and page 69, paragraph 493, and page 70, paragraph 501, and again with at least previews/trailers, i.e. shortform video previews, for the longform content; page 16, paragraph 172, and page 44, paragraph 338, and page 46, paragraph 351, and page 67, paragraph 479, and page 77, paragraph 559, and receiving information about content, i.e. loading, from a plurality of providers; page 16, paragraph 174, and pages 23-24, paragraph 225, and page 44, paragraph 338).
While DOMM in view of Donoghue does disclose horizontal scrolling (DOMM; page 66, paragraph 477, and page 67, paragraph 480, and page 73, paragraph 525), DOMM in view of Donoghue does not explicitly disclose in response to a horizontal user gesture on the display of the user device, displaying content items identified as a second category.
In a related art, Yamamoto does disclose in response to a horizontal user gesture on the display of the user device, displaying content items identified as a second category (can detect specific touch input on display panel, wherein in response to a horizontal swipe input, can display a different, i.e. second, category of content; page 2, paragraph 35, and page 3, paragraph 47, and page 5, paragraph 64).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the prior art of DOMM, Donoghue, and Yamamoto by allowing specific user touch inputs to be utilized for performing various interface display operations, such as changing a category displayed, in order to provide an improved system and method for display control which makes it easier to perform operations using the features of a touch-screen display (Yamamoto; page 1, paragraphs 2 and 5).
Claims 5-6, 12-13, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DOMM et al., US 2020/0304863 in view of Donoghue, US 2012/0291056 and further in view of Lim et al., US 2008/0276276.
Regarding claim 5, DOMM in view of Donoghue discloses all the claimed limitations of claim 1, as well as viewing and/or scrolling though a first quantity of shortform videos, and a first quantity of shortform videos (Donoghue; user can view at least a plurality, i.e. quantity of previews based on automatically scrolling through them; page 5, paragraph 59, and page 6, paragraphs 63 and 65, and Fig. 2, element 240, and Fig. 3, elements 240 and 348, and DOMM; with at least previews/trailers, i.e. shortform video previews, for the longform content; page 16, paragraph 172, and page 44, paragraph 338, and page 46, paragraph 351, and page 67, paragraph 479, and page 77, paragraph 559, and detection of selectable options corresponding to a category, i.e. such as a first genre/category; page 21, paragraph 209, and page 22, paragraph 211, and page 24, paragraph 230, and page 31, paragraph 264), and the second plurality of shortform video previews (Donoghue; in response to user selection of different keyword(s), i.e. categories, system can redisplay with content for that keyword/category; page 5, paragraphs 57-58, and again with previews for the content; page 6, paragraph 63, and DOMM; with at least previews/trailers, i.e. shortform video previews, for the longform content; page 16, paragraph 172, and page 44, paragraph 338, and page 46, paragraph 351, and page 67, paragraph 479, and page 77, paragraph 559, and detection of selectable options corresponding to a category, i.e. such as a second genre/category; page 21, paragraph 209, and page 22, paragraph 211, and page 24, paragraph 230, and page 31, paragraph 264).
DOMM in view of Donoghue does not explicitly disclose in response to a user operation, at least a portion of content are deleted from user device memory and a second portion of content are loaded to the user device.
In a related art, Lim does disclose in response to a user operation, at least a portion of content are deleted from user device memory and a second portion of content are loaded to the user device (upon a user viewing a certain amount of content, i.e. screen/page, and/or navigating/scrolling to a new screen/page of content, system will request, i.e. load, new/second portion of content and delete at least a portion of the previous/first content; page 6, paragraphs 94-97).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the prior art of DOMM, Donoghue, and Lim by allowing content to be continuously updated/refreshed in storage, such as with the reception and storage of DOMM and Donoghue, in order to provide an improved system and method for receiving an electronic program guide (EPG), such that EPG information is provided to users within a short time period, and such that only necessary EPG information is stored using a small storage capacity (Lim; page 1, paragraphs 9-10).
Regarding claim 6, DOMM in view of Donoghue discloses all the claimed limitations of claim 1, as well as the user viewing and/or scrolling though a first quantity of shortform videos, and at least a portion of the first quantity of shortform videos (Donoghue; user can view at least a plurality, i.e. quantity of previews based on automatically scrolling through them; page 5, paragraph 59, and page 6, paragraphs 63 and 65, and Fig. 2, element 240, and Fig. 3, elements 240 and 348, and DOMM; with at least previews/trailers, i.e. shortform video previews, for the longform content; page 16, paragraph 172, and page 44, paragraph 338, and page 46, paragraph 351, and page 67, paragraph 479, and page 77, paragraph 559).
DOMM in view of Donoghue does not explicitly disclose in response to a user operation, at least a portion of content are deleted from user device memory.
In a related art, Lim does disclose in response to a user operation, at least a portion of content are deleted from user device memory (upon a user viewing a certain amount of content, i.e. screen/page, and/or navigating/scrolling to a new screen/page of content, system will request, i.e. load, new/second portion of content and delete at least a portion of the previous/first content; page 6, paragraphs 94-97).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the prior art of DOMM, Donoghue, and Lim by allowing content to be continuously updated/refreshed in storage, such as with the reception and storage of DOMM and Donoghue, in order to provide an improved system and method for receiving an electronic program guide (EPG), such that EPG information is provided to users within a short time period, and such that only necessary EPG information is stored using a small storage capacity (Lim; page 1, paragraphs 9-10).
Claim 12, which discloses a method, is analyzed with respect to the citations and/or rationale provided in the rejection of similar claim 5.
Claim 13, which discloses a method, is analyzed with respect to the citations and/or rationale provided in the rejection of similar claim 6.
Claim 20, which discloses a non-transitory computer readable memory, is analyzed with respect to the citations and/or rationale provided in the rejection of similar claim 5.
Claim 21, which discloses a non-transitory computer readable memory, is analyzed with respect to the citations and/or rationale provided in the rejection of similar claim 6.
Claims 7, 14, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DOMM et al., US 2020/0304863 in view of Donoghue, US 2012/0291056 and further in view of Sriraman et al., US 2015/0373392.
Regarding claim 7, DOMM in view of Donoghue discloses all the claimed limitations of claim 1, as well as auto-advance of scrolling via a shortform video carousel (Donoghue; DOMM; vertically scrollable interface; page 66, paragraph 476, and page 69, paragraph 493, and page 70, paragraph 501, and again with at least previews/trailers, i.e. shortform video previews, for the longform content; page 16, paragraph 172, and page 44, paragraph 338, and page 46, paragraph 351, and page 67, paragraph 479, and page 77, paragraph 559, and Donoghue; automatically advancing, i.e. scrolling, in a vertically oriented interface filmstrip, i.e. carousel, for the previews; page 5, paragraph 59, and page 6, paragraphs 63 and 65, and Fig. 2, element 240, and Fig. 3, elements 240 and 348).
DOMM in view of Donoghue does not explicitly disclose providing a control via which the user can control whether auto-advance of scrolling is enabled.
In a related art, Sriraman does disclose providing a control via which the user can control whether auto-advance of scrolling is enabled (system can utilize control input(s) in order to allow, i.e. enable, for auto scrolling and/or discontinue auto scrolling; page 1, paragraph 14, and page 3, paragraph 34).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the prior art of DOMM, Donoghue, and Sriraman by allowing certain controls to be utilized with the various operations that the system of DOMM in view of Donoghue were already performing, in order to provide an improved system and method for automatically scrolling through an interactive program guide, which results in fewer button presses on an accessory device used to scroll through the program guide, improves user's experience, and reduces power consumption on the accessory device (Sriraman; page 1, paragraph 12).
Claim 14, which discloses a method, is analyzed with respect to the citations and/or rationale provided in the rejection of similar claim 7.
Claim 22, which discloses a non-transitory computer readable memory, is analyzed with respect to the citations and/or rationale provided in the rejection of similar claim 7.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Chatterjee (US 9,582,157), describing a user interface in which categories and channel menus are made available as a scrollable carousel (see col. 13, lines 37-61).
/RANDY A FLYNN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424